Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Windblown Media The Shack

Windblown Media The Shack

When Mack Philips's youngest daughter, Missy, is abducted during a family vacation---and later presumed murdered---he thinks life can't get any worse. Then he receives a note, supposedly from God, inviting him back to the scene of the crime. If he returns to the place of his darkest nightmare, will he find despair---or hope? 272 pages, hardcover from Windblown.
Average Customer Rating:
3.369 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(2241 Reviews) 2241
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (2,241 reviews)
5 stars
1,164
4 stars
167
3 stars
57
2 stars
37
1 star
816
89 out of 10386%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Shack
Review 1 for The Shack
This review is fromThe Shack.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent story line!

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pam E
Location:Hampton, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this book so much a ordered a copy for two of my friends!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Shack
This review is fromThe Shack.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
ShellyFrancis
Location:Roswell, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful book! I've purchased several more for friends!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Shack
This review is fromThe Shack.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book at a great price!

Date:January 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
JoeM
Location:Bloomfield, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this book for my wife. I fully intend to read it myself as soon as I get to it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Shack
This review is fromThe Shack.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the way God is taken "out of the box"

Date:October 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
follower of the Christ
Location:Goose Creek, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Many days we, as Christians, place God in our own borders and say THIS IS GOD... Sadly, this is dangerous. God tells us in His Word, His ways are not our ways. So in saying this, I LOVED this book. Is God embodied in my own defined borders? NO. Is the LOVE, MERCY and GRACE he calls us to embrace as we walk with Him evident in the words of this book, ABSOLUTELY! Why would any person seek a relationship with someone if we knew everything about them? Don't you still enjoy the mystery of getting to know your spouse? Realizing the amazing person your child is developing into that you never saw? and seeing that God's mercies are greater than the borders you once held Him in? Do I take this book as necessary as the Word of God? Not particularly, but do I LOVE the way that the concepts and truths of the Holy Bible are shown in the story of how God beckons to meet our needs in the season we find ourselves? Aboslutely!
I read this book as I was trying to forgive my own father for hurts that cut me as deeply as Mack's father. Through God's mercy displayed in the book, prayers with God and my loving husband, I was able to forgive.
I wouldn't take the book as fact, but if you are able to extend the borders that you have placed on God, it is a good read to stretch your mind beyond itself.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Shack
This review is fromThe Shack.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it.

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
MJAN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Shack made me look at myself in a whole new way. I loved it so much that I bought 5 copies to give to family.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Shack
This review is fromThe Shack.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Was great!

Date:September 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lanzino
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I personally loved this book! I gave it to my lady friends for Christmas and all loved it! It's great how it takes heartache and portrays gods healing power in our lives. Also Gods faithfulness and desire to be close to us dispute us pushing him away. Must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Shack
This review is fromThe Shack.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An awesome read.

Date:September 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Houston, TX
As I read through the book, so many things were revealed concerning myself that you don't really see about yourself. Shows us the man/woman in the mirror.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Shack
This review is fromThe Shack.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I weep because of this book

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
AR Reid
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm sure Mr. Young's motive for writing The Shack was a good one. But as a Bible-believing Christian I'm troubled that he felt the need to picture God in such an outrageously unbiblical fashion. He certainly did not need to do that to get this story on the "Best-Sellers" list. The storyline is intriguing, and his writing style is engaging, but some of his ideas cross the line between taking fictional liberties with biblical concepts in order to write a novel, and grossly twisting fundamental biblical truths. For example, Mr. Young's portrayal of God as a female is an enormous step away from how God clearly reveals himself in the Bible.
I can only guess Mr. Young's religious motive for writing this book was to shock lethargic Christians out of their stereotypical concepts of God, but what he ends up doing, I think, is telling his readers (both Christian and non-Christian) that the Bible's depiction of God is inaccurate, thus giving potential friends of the faith, as well as outright enemies of Christianity, another reason to dismiss the Bible as little more than a fairytale, and an outdated, non-authoritative one, at that.
Friend, if you're going to read this book, keep in mind that it is a work of fiction and in no way represents an accurate view of the heavenly Father of Christianity taught by Jesus Christ and his Apostles. My prayer is that Mr. Young will rethink his position and use his incredible skills to write a sequel to The Shack that better represents the God of the Bible.
+7points
15of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Shack
This review is fromThe Shack.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Conqueror
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has some unexpected twists, it kept my attention the whole time - it is a great new way of looking at God
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Shack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very intersting perspective on God,

Date:May 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeannie
Location:Nova Scotia, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read The Shack beofre..loaned it to someone and never got it back, so I wanted to read it again. why I bought a new copy. I just find the author has an interesting perspective on God, on the Blessed Trinity. He helps me appreciate God's love and his relationship with each unique aspect of His personality. Interesting.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Shack
This review is fromThe Shack.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read - Hard to put this book down.

Date:June 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beanie Moore
Location:Cayce, Mississippi
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Captivated my interest in the very first chapter. Mack asked questions of God that I know many have wondered about and ask over and over, for I have, The whole thing is the learning to accept God as a loving God and not the misconceptions most of us have today. The important thing is learning that we all belong to God and He loves us the same. But mostly to forgive all no matter how bad the offence, which will open our souls up to total peace that we can only find when we do forgive. I would encourage anyone to read this book.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Shack
This review is fromThe Shack.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Authentic Read

Date:November 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesusIsLord
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book by far exceeds the expectations given of it. Amazing how the story goes without referrencing scriptures but there is no doubt that The Word is in it. Loved it and would read it again!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Shack
This review is fromThe Shack.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read if you have an open mind

Date:October 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jack
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I totally agree with Eugene Peterson. This book will go down in history as a Christian classic. It is fiction so you have to read it with your imagination. It is not meant to be read or interpreted as formal doctrine or theology. It is simply meant to stretch your interpretation of doctrine and religious traditions. I have walked this walk of faith in Christ for thirty years and I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone, including young Christians.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Shack
This review is fromThe Shack.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A Shift in Thinking-My Big Mistake

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
June
I was led to "The Shack" by a relative who considers herself to be a Christian. She highly praised this book. I found the audio version at our library and listened for days while home cooking and cleaning.
Initially, I was excited by this unconventional depiction of God. What if everything that I had been told about God was a lie and the Holy Bible isn't the true word of God? I began to wonder if Christianity itself was just a mere construction to control the masses and to comfort the weak. Had I become nothing more than an indentured servant tied to a home and children-a virtual slave to my husband? What if instead of being saved out of living a homosexual lifestyle in my youth, I was merely misunderstood?
If the bible isn't the inerrant word of God, maybe God is female as well as male, so maybe I was really born that way instead of being in rebellion to God's word. Why should I struggle with conquering "sin" in my flesh when there is no wrong for me to repent of? What if salvation itself is not necessary, because there is no judgement by an all-powerful God, and a sentence to burn in everlasting hellfire?
The shack abandons the world of absolutes in favor of foolishness that chips away at a Christian's foundation-his/her belief in the God of the bible. Instead, God becomes a black woman, an Asian woman and a Latino carpenter-those 3 in one. If a Christian is defined as being Christ-centered, then this is not it.
I regret ever taking the advice to let "the Shack" into my consciousness. I left my home and my husband and tried to return to my old ways, but God loved me enough not to let me get too far with that. He closed off every door and lovingly showed me the truth (in his word, the KJV, for myself). It was a hard road back, I thank God for everyday that he has restored to our family.
If it was only to keep someone from a similar fate-please don't take that first step into The Shack's "alternate world." I wish I could give negative stars...Please be warned, this can really ruin your life.
-8points
26of 60voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Shack
This review is fromThe Shack.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read!

Date:October 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Saved by Grace
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book after hearing about it in weekly Bible Study. I heard that some people criticized it, but after reading through it, I cannot find any fault in it. It is fiction, Christian fiction, with an excellent story of forgiveness, redemption, and love. Some people put God "in a box" to fit their perception of him. The author of "The Shack" shows us that all of our perceptions are just that - perceptions. God is love.
I plan to read this book again, more slowly, to make sure that I did not miss something. This book has made me want to buy one for all of my family members to read. As a believer, I seek a relationship with the Father through His word - the Holy Bible. As a believer, I read this book, and I was pleasantly surprised and very much entertained.
I recommend this book of Christian fiction. It is something that I will not forget. If you buy it and read it, you will not forget it either. There are many kernels of wisdom in "The Shack", and many comforting thoughts, as well.
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Shack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent

Date:June 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sammy2006
Location:Salix, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has a great message. I have recommended this book to others.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Shack
This review is fromThe Shack.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:July 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Leah
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldn't put the book down. The author keeps you on the edge of your seat and with each turn of the page brings home his point. Keeps you thinking for a long time.
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Shack
This review is fromThe Shack.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very uplifting!

Date:July 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jewel
Location:USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Though this book is purely fiction I found it to be very uplifting and glorifying to the Lord. It takes God out of the box we so often try to put Him in. Obviously, the Bible is still the best resource for learning about our Mighty Savior but I found this book to be wonderfully inspirational-bear in mind of course that the subject matter is very heavy, but sadly, that's life.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Shack
This review is fromThe Shack.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best book I have read in years

Date:July 3, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the book starts slow and i did not think i would finish it.So glad I did ! a must read! awesome.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Shack
This review is fromThe Shack - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More then I expected. Service is incredable.

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pat1
Location:Iowa
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Ebook was top quality. I have read the book, but want to read it again. Ebook condition is the same as the book Top Quality. Thanks Again for your site.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12345 ...113Next >>>