Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Everything Christmas

Random House, Inc Everything Christmas

Find a cozy spot by the fire and enjoy this potpourri of Yuletide delights! Starting on December 1st and culminating on Dececember 24th, each day brings you stories, carols, poetry, and recipes - all in one attractive volume. Jacketed hardcover gift book with presentation page.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Everything Christmas
Review 1 for Everything Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT book for a gift

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
justlilme
Location:Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am having church friends over for a Christmas celebration early in Dec and had ordered this book previously for someone. It was such a great book that I had to order more. It has a little of everything in it, plus a nice presentation page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Everything Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:January 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ihopeyoudance
Location:Kansas
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Picture Credit

Everything Christmas by David Bordon and Tom Winters was a delightful read! I received the book after Christmas so I didn't read the book like its supposed to be read. I had no idea what this book would be like and I am really excited to use it this upcoming Christmas. The book is set up as if reading a chapter daily for 25 days in anticipation for the big day. Each chapter includes a story that relates to the holiday, quotes, fun facts, recipes, crafts, and Bible verses. Each day a person can make those goodies or ponder on the story that is read while preparing for Christmas.
This was such a fun book! I highly reccomend!!!
Check out this website if you want to read more AND there is a free printable under the "News and Video" tab.
Here is also a link to the authors website.
"I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review."

0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Everything Christmas
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Resource Chocked Full of Ideas

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
A House Reviews
Location:Colorado
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received Everything Christmas published by Waterbrook Press just a few weeks before Christmas and have enjoyed reading through it these past few weeks.
Yes, I know it's a little late to get this review to you, but this book is a great one to have on hand all year. There are recipes and ideas that make this book worth referring to long before the Advent/Christmas season.
This book is organized by the days of Advent from December 1 through to Christmas. There are readings, stories, family activity ideas, trivia, and recipes that can be used each day to enhance your family's celebration of Advent. It is chocked full!
While our family uses our own set of books with more serious reflections during the Advent season, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and grabbed quite a few ideas that I hope to implement next year.
I think you will enjoy this book entirely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Everything Christmas
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angel
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I recently received a copy of Everything Christmas by David Bordon and Thomas J. Winters from Waterbrook publishers.
This is a gorgeous hardcover book that would make a beautiful gift, or look lovely on a coffee table. It includes Christmas themed stories, recipes, the history behind traditions, carols and poems, gift giving ideas and so much more. It also gave Christmas menus for various countries, which I found very interesting. The book is divided into 25 readings, one chapter for each day, beginning with December 1st.
While there were Bible verses throughout, and references to Christ, I prefer a book to be more about making the holidays about Christ, instead of just including Him a little bit, as more of an afterthought.
The publishers have also made the first chapter available online, so you can get a sneak peak of what this book contains!
They have also made beautiful printable Christmas recipe Cards available here.
As a blogger for Multnomah publishers I am writing this review and the opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Everything Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sonya Brown
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything Christmas by David Bordon and Thomas J. Winters is a compilation of exactly what the title says, Everything Christmas! If you want to know the origin of a certain Christmas song, food, tradition, story, etc., it's in there. It's packed full of delightful recipes, traditional Christmas songs, little Christmas tidbit facts.... it even has Christmas jokes! I especially like reading the history of many of our favorite Christmas songs, although several of them have an unknown author. The book is set up to be able to read something everyday in December. Overall I am pleased with this book. It is something I will use for many Christmas's to come. It would also make a great Christmas gift. I recommend it to anyone who loves Christmas as much as I do!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Everything Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what the title says! Everything Christmas.

Date:November 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
jb05
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have been looking for a book about Christmas hymns, traditions, history and recipes look no further!! This book has it all. I can't wait to go through this book in depth starting December 1. This book can be used as a count down to Christmas. It begins with December 1 and goes thru December 24. You will also learn about the different ways other countries celebrate Christmas.
I can not say enough good things about this book. It's full of heartwarming stories that can be read aloud to your children around the fireplace drinking hot cocoa. I love anything and everything about history. I enjoy reading how something came to be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Everything Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christmas Reference

Date:November 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
The title for this volume says it all: Everything Christmas. This 312-page book is chock full of anything you might wonder about and many more things about Christmas that you never realized. It contains all of the answers.
With a section for every day of December, I can see it being used for daily devotions. Families who celebrate Advent will find it extremely useful. Anyone who celebrates Christmas, would enjoy this perfect reference.
Here's a listing of the extensive index:
Christmas Crafts and Decorations
Christmas Dinners (listed by countries)
Christmas Gifts
Christmas Memories, Letters, and Reflections
Christmas Poems
Christmas Quotations (listed by names)
Christmas Recipes
Christmas Scriptures
Christmas Songs, Carols, and Hymns
Christmas Stories
Christmas Traditions
Christmas Trivia and Humor
A presentation page is included which makes this a perfect gift idea.
Thank you to FirstWildCard and Staci Carmichael, Marketing and Publicity Coordinator, Doubleday Religion / Waterbrook Multnomah, Divisions of Random House, Inc. for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Everything Christmas
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Packed with Christmas Lore, Facts and Recipes

Date:November 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
tweezle
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Everything Christmas" is a wonderful hardbound book just packed with ideas and facts about Christmas. The pages are white with red and green print and graphics giving the book a lovely Christmas "feel".
Based on the advent calendar, the sections are the 24 days before Christmas, and each focuses on a different country and how Christmas is celebrated there. Each section contains a story, recipes, facts, carols, and so much more! I had a wonderful time going through this book and the recipes (Christmas Wassil, Gingersnaps and Christmas Breakfast Casserole) I tried were delicious. There are a number that I still want to try this holiday season.
This is a fantastic book to add to your Christmas collection. It is one that will be used year after year and one the whole family will enjoy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Everything Christmas
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Christmas reference book

Date:November 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wynd
Location:Saskatchewan Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is set up like an advent book. Each day from December 1-24th contains a reading such as a poem or Christmas carol, a story, some recipes, some quizzes, and a historical article about Christmas such as how a certain country usually celebrates it or a biblical story. Each day is approximately 20 pages and there is an extensive index in the back so if you want a search for a specific idea for gifts or decorations or the exact words to a carol, it is easily found. An excellent little book to refer to for ideas or to read stories and put one in the Christmas mood.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.