Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Thirty-one Days of Drawing Near to God: Resting Securely in His Delight

Multnomah Books Thirty-one Days of Drawing Near to God: Resting Securely in His Delight

Are you ready to experience the fulfillment that comes from pursuing God's love above all else? Drawn from her own personal experience, Myers's 31-day devotional helps you identify areas in your life where contentment is lacking, and reveals how God's all-sufficient love meets even your deepest needs. Previously titled The Satisfied Heart. 192 pages, softcover from Multnomah.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thirty-one Days of Drawing Near to God: Resting Securely in His Delight
Review 1 for Thirty-one Days of Drawing Near to God: Resting Securely in His Delight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Personal Devotional--Enjoyed thoroughly

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sophie and Momma
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I was skeptical as to how this book would impact me. I felt like this would be a typical 31 days of devotionals. I found myself drawn deeper and deeper into the truth of 1.) Who we are in Christ and 2.) How God our Heavenly Father views us.
I really appreciate how Ruth draws from her own life experience and is very transparent and almost "face to face" to me as the reader. She is very personal and that is something I was not expecting in a devotional book--I love it! Her faith in God is not fake. Her faith and trust in the Word of God is seen as well. I am encouraged by how deep her relationship is with God, and really hope that day by day I can draw closer to God until he comes.
Ruth includes a lot of verses that are meaningful to her and with each day reveals Scripture that is relevant for that Chapter/Day. She offers up a prayer and space at the end of the book to where we can write what verse sticks out and is meaningful to us that day.
I really enjoy this book, and recommend it for those desiring a closer relationship, deeper and more intimate relationship with Him.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Thirty-one Days of Drawing Near to God: Resting Securely in His Delight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Practical for Praise and Adoration

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Happy Heart
Location:Pekin, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Who wouldn't want to draw nearer to God? Ruth Myers subtitle lures you in even further--"Resting Securely in His Delight." 31 Days will be a book you will keep on your shelf to read again and again. I plan to make it part of my regular devotions as I follow the ACTS plan--adoration, confession, thanksgiving, and supplication." Adoration includes praising God for Who He is, not what He has done for me--that is thanksgiving. This books breathes adoration. Scriptures pour forth from the book describing the one-of-a-kind intimate walk God desires to have with each of us. Ruth doesn't use her opinions. She quotes the real truth. Each day she weaves the Word with threads of gold and silver masterfully picturing the treasure God sees in each of us. A prayer summarizes the chapter's focus. Chapters range from "His Love for Me Is Lavish" to "He Is Always in Control." At the end of each chapter, there are Scriptures to explore, and then an interactive question to ask yourself., "Which of these verses catches my attention most?" At the bottom of the page or in a noteboook or journal you are encouraged to record your thoughts.
This book came out of her own journaling and recording her thoughts. I like that. This quote from it seems to me to be the crux of it all: The secret of a satisfied heart is not the pursuit of satisfaction or happiness. Satisfaction and happiness are by-products of the pursuit of God. Discovering God and HIs love not just in our minds but also in our actual experience--this is the basis of true joy in life. It is alo the basis for true growth in Christlikeness, which, in turn, brings us still greater joy."
At the end of my 31-day journey, I truly had drawn nearer to God, and rested more securely in His delight.
I received this book for free from Multinomah as part of their blogging for books program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Thirty-one Days of Drawing Near to God: Resting Securely in His Delight
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Refreshing

Date:April 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pilar Arsenec
Location:New Jersey
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review and it was a pleasant surprise. I really enjoyed reading this every morning for 31 days. I especially loved reading about author's life and experiences. I've always enjoyed reading about people's lives and their struggles, especially those whom are believers. How they deal with adverse situations with faith and endurance; it encourages me. This book was refreshing as it contained many spiritual nuggets. I was left meditating and contemplating on the truths I received from this devotion. Ruth Myers prolifically draws you in with her life experience and spiritual wisdom. This book did exactly what the title suggests... if you are going through a period of time that is difficult or you feel the Lord is distant, I would encourage you to read this book. It was very refreshing spiritually.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Thirty-one Days of Drawing Near to God: Resting Securely in His Delight
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Rich is wisdom & experience

Date:April 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Cope
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In each of the thirty-one devotionals, Ruth Myers both reveals herself and reveals God. She had refreshing authenticity and wisely chose to tell about herself at the very beginning of the book to connect herself to her readers. She succeeded.
As I was reading this book, it felt “rich” with wisdom. The author truly knew the Lord, not just about the Lord, and this fact shown through brightly. She also did not have a “bed of roses” life which also made this book “rich” with experience.
It was not at all about performing for God or about earning His love. Instead it was about, resting securely in His delight—as the subtitle says—or resting securely in His love.
I loved every prayer she included and read every single one out loud as my own. I also looked up every scripture verse recommended and I would recommend that any other reader do the same. Those two things greatly enriched the experience—the experience with God.
I felt like I would have really liked Ruth Myers if I had ever had the chance to meet her and felt led to look her up online. I was greatly saddened to learn of her passing from this earth just a few months ago. Such a loss for earth and such a gain for heaven. I truly thank God that much of her godly wisdom is preserved in her earthly literary contributions. I am going to purchase some of her other works.
In conclusion, this book is highly recommended if you are a Christian woman looking for a devotional to help you draw nearer to God.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group as part of their Blogging For Books program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16CFR, Part 225:”Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Thirty-one Days of Drawing Near to God: Resting Securely in His Delight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great way to spend time with God

Date:March 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sharding
Location:Tell City, Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I chose to review a book by Ruth Myers because I was very touched when I used 31 Days of Praise several years ago as a daily devotion. I thought 31 Days of Drawing Near to God would enhance my relationship with our God and Savior. This book did not disappoint.
As she did with 31 Days of Praise, Myers opens the book with a brief history of her relationship and growth in Christ. While this section is not needed for the devotional part of the book, it adds to our understanding of her perspective and opens the reader’s eyes to alternate ways of seeing God. The author mentions aspects of her life that prompted some of her thought process and how she has changed over time.
When reading this devotional, have a highlighter and a Bible handy. The author references Bible passages frequently, many without including the verse in the text. References are to a variety of different Bible translations, which I think is refreshing. The author quotes many other writers and writings throughout the book which provides the reader with more potential resources. The highlighter is for all the bits of wisdom and insight that mean something to the reader’s heart.
This devotional is not a one page read then-put-it-down. The author provides much scripture to read and urges the reader to choose the passage that helps the most. This gives the reader the opportunity to not just read the devotional, but strive to apply it by devoting time to reflection on the lesson. The author also notes various “how-tos” throughout the book. For example she uses a red notebook for “recording truths about God” where she uses a system for recording and understanding personal truths as she discovers them. Her use of a variety of Bible translations gives us a glimpse of how she uses and reflects upon scripture.
If you want to draw nearer to God, this book will enable you to do that by erecting some direct links over or through the walls you have erected. God loves us individually, personally, intimately and desires us the same way. The reader cannot miss truth that after reading this book. As the author put it, “When I get lukewarm or sidetracked by lesser pursuits (even in my quiet time), nothing does more to rekindle my heart than remembering how much the Lord desires fellowship with me.”
One potentially negative comment is the author’s use of Bible translations that the reader has likely never heard of such as the Moffatt Bible, The Living Bible, and a New Testament translation by J.B. Phillips. While this isn’t a bad thing, it could be a distraction. I added some links to some of those for quick reference.
I very much liked this book. It has opened my eyes to areas of my faith that are not as developed as they should be. I know that God loves me but never spent the time to understand exactly what that means. Do I qualify for God's love? (See Day 25) Why does God love me? (See Day 21) This book will expand your relationship with our loving God.
"This book was provided for review by WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Thirty-one Days of Drawing Near to God: Resting Securely in His Delight
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

31 Days

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
apple blossom
Location:Grand Forks, ND
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Walk with Ruth Myers as she takes you on a 31 Day journey drawing nearer to God. Myers helps her readers rest in God as she shares inspirational devotions in her book 31 Days of Drawing Near to God. She shares the riches of God's love for you and helps the reader find their true identity in God. You'll find these devotionals life changing as you get rooted firmly in your relationship with God. What better way to start a day than drawing near to God in your relationship.
a copy of this book was provided by Blogging for Books for this review purpose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Thirty-one Days of Drawing Near to God: Resting Securely in His Delight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Love of God

Date:March 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pam M
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought I would read this small book as a devotional each day. After reading the forward and the first chapter, I kept reading and reading because it was like a long cool drink of water in the desert. This book focuses our attention on the love of God, something we as Christians know but (as for me) perhaps do not spend enough time thinking about.
God's love for us is uncomparable to any earthly love we have ever experienced. We all have a deep desire and need for love that can only be filled by Him.
This book reminds us with clarity and Scripture of how our Lord feels about us, which is a wonderful encouragement.
The week I read this book two people dear to me were grieving over the deaths of loved ones. I think this book would make an excellent token of sympathy. The love of God fulfills and never disappoints. His love for us is personal, deep and eternal. This little book is a perfect reminder of that.
I received this book free to review from Waterbrook Press and have not been obligated to provide a positive review.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Multnomah Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Thirty-one Days of Drawing Near to God: Resting Securely in His Delight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!!!

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laurie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful book! I loved it from the beginning to the end! The book is the perfect size. Small, but not too small. I like that's it's wider than a normal smaller book. The font size is not too small either. It was an easy read, but a challenging one. Ruth Myers started out with her personal story, which I found captivating.
This leads into the 31 days section. Each day has a theme, be it Day 1 with I Must Have Love, Day 6 How I Give God Pleasure, Day 10 In All My Joys and Trials, or Day 31 He Satisfies My Heart. Each day's entry has words or a story to ponder, then ends with God's words of love for me today...and a space to write those down or just the little nugget of them that sticks with you. I found that it was nice to have those places to seek those words from God specifically related to the day's theme...and those nuggets indeed stick with you!
Check this book out... you won't be sorry you did!
**Disclaimer- As part of the Waterbrook Multnomah Blogging for Books program, I was given a copy of 31 Days of Drawing Near to God in exchange for my honest opinion**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Thirty-one Days of Drawing Near to God: Resting Securely in His Delight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reminders of His Love

Date:February 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
MommyMeg
Location:VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Myers starts with a moving introduction by telling "her story." She gives an overview of her life up to now with it's many ups and downs including the ups and downs of her faith. Her daily devotions include more details of her story that point to who He is and who we are in Him. The subtitle of the book is "Resting Securely in His Delight" and Myers gives wonderful examples in scripture that show we truly are His delight. The book is full of reminders about the true relationship that we should have with the Father and of our identity as His chosen and cherished children. I really enjoyed each day of finding or rediscovering the overwhelming love He has for me. The devotions were just the right length as were the suggested scripture readings. I would recommend this to anyone, but especially to anyone who is feeling distant from the Lord or who would like to be reminded of His love and drawn closer to Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Thirty-one Days of Drawing Near to God: Resting Securely in His Delight
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Encouraging

Date:January 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
cowgirlsmom
Location:Nebraska
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a book that I would normally not pick out but glad I did.The book is about the Lord being our "first love" and how much God loves us. It encourages us to look to God to fill the places in our heart and life that we often look to others to fill. The author shares from her personal life experiences and how God filled the places of her life with His love through His Word to her. This book is more of a love story that we all can have with the Lord when we remember who are first love is and should remain being in our life, the Lord Jesus Himself.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.