Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life

WaterBrook Press The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life

Most Christians can grasp God as Father and Jesus as his Son, but where does the Holy Spirit fit in? Clearing up the mystery surrounding the Trinity's Third Person, Morris explains the Spirit's role in the believer's life and reveals the qualities that make him such a great friend---compassion, helpfulness, sensitivity, wisdom, empathy, and more. 224 pages, hardcover from Waterbrook.
Average Customer Rating:
3.897 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
2
23 out of 2979%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life
Review 1 for The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent, easy, informative.

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
seashell
Location:Cape Cod
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Morris does excellent service to sharing both his personal growth and revelation with the Holy Spirit as well as foundational and Scriptural information revealing God's Spirit which we have the honor to host. Great book. Highly recommended for anyone at any level. He covers many questions we've all had. Plus there's a supplemental study guide to enhance your personal development. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good book

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
paulette
Location:cols, oh
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i am still reading it and it has open my eyes to the Holy Spirit's true nature and how i have been guided and looked after all my life. read it, it is well written and a great value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:South Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been telling all the ladies in our
bible study class to order this book. That they will see the Holy Spirit in a new way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Arely
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to read direct to the point and explicit ...I am delighted to read it on my way in and back to work ....many people have asked me about .....also my 12 year old son read the book and started talking to the HOLY SPIRIT IN AMAZING WAYS... AM JUST BLESSED... I HAVE REALIZED THAT MY EXPERIENCE WITH HOLY SPIRIT IS DIFFERENT..... WE ARE "BEST FRIENDS" GREAT PERSON TO MEET::: HOLY SPIRIT .. ..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good beginning book

Date:January 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mongens
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great start for understanding the Holy Spirit from one who did not start out as Pentecostal or Charismatic...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
jerrycan
Location:canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This has been one of the best explanations of the ministry
of the HOLY SPIRIT that I have read in a very long time.
Robert has explained a lot of misconstrewed ideas and I
would highly recommend this book to anybody that might
have any doubts about the HOLY SPIRIT,S ministry in their lives.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good plan, sound teaching and interpretation.

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
ibwan
Location:Abbotsford, BC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over several weeks our care group reviewed the video plus I have read the book. Very good teaching. Not difficult to understand. Insightful. Sound interpretation of scripture fundamentals. It has made a great impact on our care group. Many people are afraid of the Holy Spirit. Robert Morris overcomes those fears.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
anag
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good anointed and informational book. Makes you look and the Holy Spirit in a new way, He is God!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An easy read with greath depth of understanding.

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Buddy
Location:Montgomery, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This should be required reading for all new Christians. It presents what the Holy Spirit is really about, beginning with who the Holy Spirit is and then making the case for why we need and benefit from our relationship with the Holy Spirit.
This book does not require a theological degree to understand the truths presented.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Maillady
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book. Great price. Great service and delivery
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book

Date:May 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kenneth
Location:Syracuse,NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great book, I have not finished it, but definitely worth reading. It is very helpful.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book to know how to know the holy spirit in

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
pancho
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great book to know how to know the holy spirit in a must deeper level. halleluhaj
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Holy Spirit is a friend we should seek

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pete
Location:Montreal, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The release of this book was very timely. Our Men's Ministry was looking for some reference material on the Holy Spirit and the content has been well received. The author is very candid and provides clear teaching on the role and the personhood of the Holy Spirit. He addresses the controversial aspects of the giftings but does not spend enough time on the fruit of the Spirit. The DVD series is very complementary to the contents of the book and helps facilitate group discussions
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Charismatic pastoral study

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book is built around the story of a man who was raised in a church that was afraid of the Holy Spirit. This church hardly mentioned the Holy Spirit. Therefore, the author grew up without knowing much about the Holy Spirit. This is the God he never knew. The title was confusing to the writer of this review at first. The reviewer was raised in church that talked and sought to live out the leading of the Holy Spirit in every day life. So, what God did the author not know??? He shares his journey and his experience with the third person of the Trinity.
His section on the Trinity is very helpful teaching. His discussion on the attributes of God is clear and practical. His emphasis on the Holy Spirit not only being God but personal is good. The Holy Spirit is a person, not an “it” or “neutral force.” The benefits of the Holy Spirit at work in our hearts and for us is comforting and strengthening. The Holy Spirit is our friend, as is the Father and Jesus.
The main concern that this reviewer has is that the author teaches that all should have the same gift. God does speak to his people in many different ways. The author has experienced God giving him knowledge about people or circumstances that he could not know otherwise. But God does not do this with every one of his children. The Holy Spirit gives gifts as He wills. We can desire certain gifts. But the Holy Spirit gives as He wills for the good of his child and the good of the church.
This book is a pastoral study on the Holy Spirit written from a mainline Charismatic theological viewpoint. He encourages one to become personally acquainted with the Holy Spirit and to experience all that God has for his children. His emphasis on the supernatural is good. However, God cannot be put into a box by any theological structure, even a “charismatic” one.
If you want a concise and simple understanding of the teaching of the charismatic movement, this book is helpful. His pastoral heart pours out to the reader.
This book was received free from Waterbrook Mulnomah Publishing Group for review.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The God I Never Knew

Date:August 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wendy Douglas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently read this book by Pastor Robert Morris. I had read his previous book The Blessed Life and was really looking forward to this one about the Holy Spirit.
He begins by sharing that most people are misinformed about or misunderstand the Holy Spirit. That describes me. As a child I didn't learn much about the Holy Spirit in Sunday school and the only reference I remember in our church service was calling Him "the Holy Ghost." That wording alone made the Holy Spirit more of a scary thing rather than a person that I could have a relationship with.
In the first chapter the author talks about who the Holy Spirit is. He is our Helper and Friend. He goes on in the next chapter to discuss the personality of the Holy Spirit. These are things that I am learning as an adult and want so much to pass on to my children as well as in our children's ministry.
Pastor Robert Morris wrote:
"If you don't see the Holy Spirit as a person, you'll never have a personal relationship with Him."
This really is the first step in the path of understanding the Holy Spirit and having a relationship with Him.
I highly recommend this book for all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

interesting & theologically sound - not memorable

Date:July 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
pastor2519
Location:West Point, UT
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For Robert Morris, the God he never knew, but fortunately has come to know very well, is the Holy Spirit. And Mr. Morris isn’t selfish when it comes to this relationship… he wants each of us to be able to experience that same joy that he has found with this relatively recent friendship.
Depending on the denomination or even the congregation to which you belong, those two words, Holy Spirit, might excite you, intrigue you, or possibly even terrify you. And that’s because He is probably the least well understand of the three persons who make up the Trinity.
Morris tells how he was warned, when he went away to seminary, to stay away from those people who talk about the Holy Spirit. And therein lays the problem. The majority of Christians either try to quietly skip over His name when it appears in the Gospel reading, or, in the name of the Holy Spirit, they act in such a way that makes the rest of us want to skip over His name and run from him.
And so to counteract this plethora of misinformation, Morris has written this book. It’s filled with anecdotes about his experience with the Holy Spirit, and shows how he has been able to move from acknowledging the Spirit as a mere acquaintance to warmly embracing Him as a friend. And as he relives that journey, Morris invites his readers to join him on the trip.
We learn a lot about the Spirit, His attributes, His power, and how He is there for us. But Morris doesn’t just scribble out his impressions, he carefully points us to the Scriptures, those passages of The Word of God, that tell us about this remarkable personage.
I certainly agree with the thrust of the subtitle of this book: “How Real Relationship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life” but I was left looking for the “How’ The personal stories are there, the Scripture references are there, the reasons to have the relationship are there, but I think Morris could have done a better job offering tips on how to develop the relationship. Yes it will be individualized and personal for each of us, but this is more like an outline of the speech that will be given later.
Lots of good information, just not presented in a way that will help me remember this book as a memorable one. 3½ of 5 stars
I received a copy of this book free from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Third Person explained

Date:July 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
jatsold3
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The God I Never Knew by Robert Morris had one goal which was to show “how real friendship with the Holy Spirit can change your life.” The author further explains that his ultimate goal is to “stimulate you hunger for God.” Both of these goals were met and exceeded.
Robert Morris explains the who, the what and the how of the Holy Spirit. Throughout the book he uses biblical references to show the promise of His coming and how He works through us once received. He also uses personal reflections and experiences regarding the Holy Spirit.
The author makes a clear distinction between the two ways of receiving the Holy Spirit through baptism and confirmation. Most Christians regard baptism as a necessary sacrament to be received, however confirmation, baptism of the Holy Spirit, is disregarded. Robert Morris is thorough in his explanation about the importance and need for baptism of the Holy Spirit. At the end of each chapter he challenges the reader to reflect on his/her baptism of the Holy Spirit.
Overall, Robert Morris is successful in inciting the curiosity of the reader to learn more about the Holy Spirit and His work. This book will definitely open the eyes of the reader while leaving him/her wanting more.
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy read, enlightening & encouraging

Date:July 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
makuahine
Location:Kapolei, HI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“The God I Never Knew” by Robert Morris sheds light on questions and misconceptions many Christians have about the Holy Spirit. Using Scripture and various testimonies, Robert Morris presents a clear and easy to read book for both new and mature believers who wonder about the third person of the Holy Trinity. At the end of each chapter, Robert Morris asks the reader to evaluate his/her own personal relationship and experience with the Holy Spirit. There is also a discussion guide at the end of the book which can be used for personal devotions and/or small group discussions.
Overall, “The God I Never Knew” is both encouraging and enlightening, and it will persuade readers to prayerfully further examine the Scriptures themselves and see what God’s Word has to say about the Holy Spirit and God’s other promises. I would definitely recommend this to other Christians who have questions about the Holy Spirit and our relationship with Him.
I received this book for free from Water Brook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a thoroughly charismatic view

Date:July 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like meeting a sibling he never knew existed, Morris discovered the Holy Spirit. He had grown up in a church but one that avoided the Holy Spirit as much as possible. Now he has had twenty five years to develop an intimate relationship with God in the person of the Holy Spirit.
Morris is the founding pastor of a sixteen thousand member church in the Dallas/Fort Worth area. He knows that the “fruits and gifts and fellowship of the Holy Spirit are all available for us today...” (68)
Morris suspects that most Christians have been misinformed about the Holy Spirit. He has written this book so others can experience the amazing relationship with Him too.
He introduces the Holy Spirit as the Helper. He dwells in the believer so that we are never alone. He helps you know what to say and what is sinful. He is your Friend. “[A] real friendship with Him can change your life.” (21)
Morris explains how the Holy Spirit talks and how to listen. He reminds us the Holy Spirit is a person and reveals His personality. The Holy Spirit has all the attributes God has.
He says, “The reason more Christians don't know the will of God is that they don't have a friendship with the Holy Spirit...” (47) The Holy Spirit knows everything and He has committed Himself to be your teacher. The Holy Spirit can be grieved.
Morris spends some time explaining Pentecost and that the experience is available today. He speaks of the baptism of the Holy Spirit (regeneration) water baptism, and the baptism in the Holy Spirit (Jesus baptizes into the Holy Spirit). He reviews the biblical evidence for the three baptisms in the New Testaments and the foreshadowing and symbolism in the Old Testament.
He asks, “Have you ever experienced an immersion in the Holy Spirit that brought supernatural power and help into your life?” (108)
He explains the meaning of charismatic, “Charisma is the instantaneous enablement of the Holy Spirit in the life of any believer to exercise a gift for the edification of others.” (123) He looks at the categories of gifts and then explains the operation of the gifts, paying extra attention to tongues, including his own experience.
Many Christians living a life of defeat and failure are living without the power of the Holy Spirit. Morris encourages the reader to allow the Holy Spirit to be your friend.
A discussion guide is included.
I received an advanced reading copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The God I Never Knew: How Real Friendship with the Holy Spirit Can Change Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spiritually encouraging and edifying!

Date:July 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
LaTawnia Kintz
Location:Forest Grove, Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first saw this book I was intrigued with the subject of a real friendship with the Holy Spirit.
I was a bit skeptical at first, namely because there is so much misguided teaching about the third person of the Godhead. However, I found this to be one of the more biblical sound teachings.
The book is broken into seven parts that teach who the Holy Spirit is, what He is like, how He empowered the early Christians (Peter and the rest of the disciples) on the day of Pentecost, and Pastor Morris even talks about the difference in baptism in the Holy Spirit and baptism of the Holy Spirit.
Pastor Morris isn't afraid to get into the tough areas that surround this wonderful Friend, the Holy Spirit. Areas that include speaking in tongues, what Charismatic, Pentecostal and Spirit-filled is really about.
Through-out the book Pastor Morris talks about his own personal experiences about and with the Holy Spirit. For example, he came up in a church that thought it was best to leave that subject completely alone and was warned to stay away from people who talked about Him.
Yet because of his yearning to know and have more of God and to his desire to be complete in Him, God led him to a church and pastor who was able to guide him to a wonderful relationship with the One who will guide and direct him, the Holy Spirit.
Verse after verse, scripture after scripture, Pastor Morris guides and leads us into a better understanding of not only who the Holy Spirit is, but His ministry and how He came to help us in our daily walk with God so we can in turn help others.
When it came to the controversial subject of the gift of tongues and our personal prayer language, Pastor Morris teaches with much love and gentle explanations that anyone reading it cannot be offended, but indeed will be greatly encouraged to seek this gift as well as all of the others the Holy Spirit has for us.
Not until I had read this book, did I find an equal to the one Jack Hayford wrote many years ago, "Though I Speak With Tongues;" and no wonder, because Jack Hayford was a great influence on Pastor Morris.
If you or someone you know has questions about the Holy Spirit and all of the marvelous gifts He has for you, then I would definitely recommend this book. You not only will learn about the various gifts, but also how the Holy Spirit is your comforter, helper, friend, counselor, and much more.
This is one book that I will read over and again because it is so full of the Holy Spirit. Even though I have been walking with the Lord for a long time and have been baptized in the Holy Spirit, there is still much for me to learn about this wonderful Friend. You will learn much, as well.
This book was provided by WaterBrook Press for the purpose of review. I am under no obligation to write anything positive. Everything I have said is of my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>