Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Love and War Devotional for Couples The 8-Week Adventure That Will Help You

WaterBrook Press Love and War Devotional for Couples The 8-Week Adventure That Will Help You

In the midst of marital conflict, it's easy to start believing your spouse is the enemy but your true adversary is Satan. And the key to overcoming is Christ! John and Stasi's 8-week devotional features insights, Scriptures, and practical exercises that will help you develop a "battle plan" and fight for a stronger relationship. Hardcover gift book.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love and War Devotional for Couples The 8-Week Adventure That Will Help You
Review 1 for Love and War Devotional for Couples The 8-Week Adventure That Will Help You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good, honest devotional guide for couples

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
tatripp5
Location:Cincinnati, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In "Love and War Devotional for Couples" John and Stasi Eldredge take an honest look at marriage for what it is. Often devotional books tend to focus on growth and spiritually deepening a relationship. This book is written for those who are struggling with the reality of making the two become one. They take an honest approach and are up front about the fact that marriage can be difficult and cause unhappiness. They acknowledge the reality of conflict, struggle and pain as a part of God's plan for helping us to become what he has created us to be. The authors self disclose some of their own experiences with the difficulties of marriage but also share the blessings of patience and hard work. I found this to be a good devotional guide especially for couples who are going through that "working phase" of marriage and may feel they are the only ones experiencing the struggle. I used the book for a Marriage Mentoring program, taking quotes from the book for challenging discussion starters. I really like the fact that the chapters are short but packed with challenging discussion oriented content. Each chapter closes with a prayer and a scripture for consideration. I know it will be a blessing to many.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love and War Devotional for Couples The 8-Week Adventure That Will Help You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
rwaugh
Location:Marion, IA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this couple's books. So when I had the opportunity to get this devotional I jumped on it. My husband and I have benefited from the 8 weeks that we went through the book. We don't get a lot of time together so it was perfect. Each day we took time to go through it together and we learned so much about each other as well as who we are together. I would recommend this to everyone!
~I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love and War Devotional for Couples The 8-Week Adventure That Will Help You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nuggets of Wisdom for Your Marriage

Date:May 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Urailak
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love & War Devotional for Couples is the 8-week devotional for couples based on John & Stasi Eldredge's book, Love & War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of. If you've read Love & War, you will find the content in this devotional familiar. It's the concise version with the addition of a prayer at the end of each day's reading and an exercise at the end of each week's readings. Also, each reading starts and ends with Scriptures. This devotional can be read together as a couple or read individually. The authors offer bite-sized nuggets of wisdom to help readers grow in their relationship with God and with his/her spouse. John and Stasi Eldredge tell you upfront that marriage is hard and that we live in a love story set in the midst of a war (not against our spouse but against the devil). However, don't lose heart; God is here to help you and your spouse fight for a fulfilled marriage that glorifies Him. I enjoyed reading this devotional even though I already read the book Love & War because it's good to be reminded again of all the important stuff in marriage by focusing on Scripture. I especially loved the prayers; they're from the heart and to the point.
~I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love and War Devotional for Couples The 8-Week Adventure That Will Help You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love & War Devotional for Couples

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Theorybell
Location:WI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
John and Stasi Eldredge have put together an 8-week devotional book. Five days a week, one can read the devotional for the day. Each day begins and ends with a Scripture verse, with the exception of a few that contain a quote from a reputable source. Also included each day is a prayer based on the subject of the day. The devotional is short and will not take much more than 5 minutes to read per day.
The subject matter of the book is what I would have expected from it, based on the summary published on the back of the book and what one would read if looking up the book. It is different from other marriage books in that it did not just have a section on communication, money, sex, etc. It went deeper than that. There was not much new to me in here, but I am pretty well read on the subject. There might be some new ideas to some people. There were some excellent reminders though, such as Satan is the enemy in your marriage, not your spouse. Or, you can never be completely fulfilled by your spouse, only God can do that. The book did admit that couples will have problems in marriage, that it is not easy. A lot of books don't do that. It gave one a real perspective on marriage.
While I think the book is a good read and could be helpful, I would have liked them to go a little deeper. I would have also liked more personal examples from the Eldredge's lives. The cover of the book states, “The 8-week adventure that will help you find the marriage you always dreamed of.” With a statement like that, I hoped for great things, but I don't think it delivered on that. This book could be helpful to a marriage, but seems a far cry from helping the marriage become the one you've always dreamed of.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love and War Devotional for Couples The 8-Week Adventure That Will Help You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great short devotions.

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
erikaivory
Location:Florence, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We do family devotions together every day and try to do a couple's devotion once a week (at least that is the plan:). We have done several that we liked by people like Tony Evans and James Dobson.
John and Stasi Eldredge are the authors of Wild at Heart, which we have both read, and Captivating which I have read several times. Both books are easy to read and full of original and insightful truths. Love & War Devotional for Couples is described as "the 8-week adventure that will help you find the marriage you always dreamed of." It is a small book and each week has five daily devotions. Each devotion starts with a Scripture and ends with a prayer and another Scripture. The readings are short and non-intimidating, but give you a nugget to take with you and meditate upon.
We aren't done with the book yet. It is designed to do 8-weeks straight but we are taking much longer:) If you are looking to start doing a devotion time together as a couple this would be a great book for you. I am thankful that this terrific book is now available in devotion form.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love and War Devotional for Couples The 8-Week Adventure That Will Help You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

don't go thru another year of marriage without it!

Date:January 8, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love & War Devotional for Couples," by John and Stasi Eldredge, bills itself as an 8-week adventure to find the marriage you dream of. Over the course of the five 10-minute readings per week, the Eldredges present insights and exercises that offer a scripture-based Christian alternative to secular marriage-help books.
This book surprised and changed me in ways I hadn't before known to seek. Rather than presenting readers with a "christianized" version of a secular series of steps for a better marriage, the "Love & War Devotional" simply challenges our way of looking at marriage, at ourselves, at our spouses, and at God's involvement.
At first I was surprised, and even disappointed, the Eldredges weren't giving me their concrete formula for marital success. I had been looking forward to learning how to "do" Christian marriage better. Instead, what "Love and War Devotional" offered was a series of assumptions to break, and then the Biblical alternatives. I can't pretend it was easy to part ways with each and every former assumption; some had been like lifelines, keeping me "right" and protected. But it becomes clear quickly that those premises to which we hold tightest are those with the greatest potential for harm. And so, over the 8 weeks, we shot 'em all down (or at least got a good start on it).
Freeing myself thus of society's limiting and discouraging ideas has given me a greater understanding of the Biblical truths of marriage. This new look at God's intention for marriage has allowed me already to feel more fulfilled and joyful, and gives me reason to expect continued spiritual and marital growth in the years ahead.
I should mention that my husband did participate in this devotional with me. When I first received it for review, I asked him if he would mind trying just the first 5 days with me, to give it a fair chance, and then he could ditch if it didn't seem worth the time. Well, already on the first night, it was clear to us both that this book would be worth every minute of our time! And so it was.
I was provided this book for free by Waterbrook Press (publisher). I am not required to give a positive review. The opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love and War Devotional for Couples The 8-Week Adventure That Will Help You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must have

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tracy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love & War Devotional for Couples by John & Stasi Eldredge is an "8 week adventure that will help you find the marriage you always dreamed of". This book provides couples with 8 weeks of daily devotionals along with an activity to complete at the end of each week. During this journey you will cover topics such as "Remembering what we wanted", "Your spouse is not your enemy" and "The most excellent way". From beginning to end this devotional will fill you with hope and strength.
I will be very truthful with everyone. The day this book came in the mail for my review, I was packing to leave my marriage after several months of struggle. I didn't want to read or even look at this book, but someone else did. My husband only had to read the first devotional and was willing to talk and try to work on things. So after agreeing to work things out I picked up and read the first day. "Romance meets Reality" this was just a wonderful start to a wonderful and sometimes painful journey me and my husband were about to be on. John & Stasi do not sugar coat anything in this book there will be time when you squirm (you all know what I mean). The most joyful part of this book were the end of the week exercises that really opened up me and my husband's eyes. I would recommend this book for any married couple, also anyone that is about to give up read this before throwing the towel in.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love and War Devotional for Couples The 8-Week Adventure That Will Help You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Devotional for Couples

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary hess
Location:Summerville, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a big John & Stasi Eldredge fan, so I was all about getting this book to review! This 8 week devotional is geared for the couple to read 5 nights a week with an exercise to perform on night 5. If you've ever read Wild At Heart and/or Captivating (as well as Love & War), this book is a combination of all the great things you've read in those books. With practical application as well as real-life examples, you and your spouse will be glad you took a few moments each evening to reconnect and explore your marriage!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love and War Devotional for Couples The 8-Week Adventure That Will Help You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Book Lover
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love and War: Devotional for Couples by John and Stasi Eldredge is a short book designed for couples to read together during an 8 week period . I look forward to going through it with my husband. Reading through it, I found it interesting enough, but something seemed to be missing. Then I realized that the authors have written a book called Love and War that this devotional is based off of. I am guessing that the two books would go well together, but I have yet to read the original book.
This book stresses the importance of first having a close relationship with Jesus Christ, which is something that is absolutely vital to enjoying marriage the way God intended. It stresses the importance of commitment to your marriage, and committing yourself to making your marriage all it can be. It reminds us that falling in love is only the beginning- we need to choose, over and over, to love our spouse, even when it’s not easy. Men and women are so different that we can’t expect marriage to be easy, but our differences complement each other, and we complete one another.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love and War Devotional for Couples The 8-Week Adventure That Will Help You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great devotion book for all couples!

Date:December 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marissa
Location:Racine, WI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes it is really hard to find a really good devotion book that not only holds a couple's attention, but relates to their life! I definitely found both of those in the devotion book: Love and War Devotional for Couples!
I love that each chapter is relevant to the struggles all couples go through and they are concise and to the point!
I recommend this devotion book to all couples! It will bring you closer to God and to each other!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love and War Devotional for Couples The 8-Week Adventure That Will Help You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good devotional, should accompany book

Date:December 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
So Mommy
Location:Hartselle, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recently joined the Blogging for Books program through WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group, and the first book I received for review was "Love and War: Devotional for Couples" by John and Stasi Eldredge.
First off, I love devotional books, especially devotionals for couples. My husband and I both love to read, so this gives us a way to strengthen and discuss our faith together while sharing our love for reading. Over the last year we have read several books together (we usually read a chapter or devotion after Sydney goes to bed). So, of course, I was excited to be able to review a couples devotional.
Awhile back, I reveiwed "Wild at Heart" by John Eldredge, and really enjoyed it, so I had high expectations for this devotional. "Love and War" was written by John & Stasi Eldredge to help couples "Capture the Vision of a Love Worth Fighting For." The book gives new insightsand practical exercises to help you grow a more vibrant marriage. The 8-week (5 days a week) devotional was written to accompany the book and help couples go a little deeper into the study. Their hope is that the devotional will be a daily reminder that marriage is work - every day.
I enjoyed reading the devotional even though I haven't read the book. I did find the devotional by itself a little repetitive (though sometimes we need that)! I'm sure if I had been reading the book along with the devotional, the differences would have been more clear to me. The devotional focuses mainly on reminding you that marriage is work. We aren't all princess marrying princes, and if we were it would still be work (remember one of them had to leave their home and usually their country). The thing to remember is that God is there to help you along the way. He wants your marriage to work! Even though the world is telling you that divorce is easy and common and completely ok, God wants to help you try to make it work (obviously, I'm not talking about abusive relationships - those are never ok)! I plan to read their book, "Love and War" soon, and when I do...I'll let you all know about it!
**I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. See full disclaimer for more information. www.somommy.blogspot.com**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.