Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print #3: Sharpshooter in Petticoats, Large Print

Center Point Large Print #3: Sharpshooter in Petticoats, Large Print

Sharpshooter Mandy McClellen Keating is a self-sufficient widow who wants nothing more than to live on her mountain and raise her children--alone. But how long can she hold off outlaws determined to steal her gold? Tom Linscott has his hands full with breeding horses and raising cattle. Yet when he hears outlaws have Mandy trapped, he's danged if he's gonna leave her to fend for herself. But how can you rescue a woman who refuses to be saved? Who will win this battle of wills--Mandy, Tom, or the outlaws who want nothing better than to silence them both?
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
29 out of 3291%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #3: Sharpshooter in Petticoats, Large Print
Review 1 for #3: Sharpshooter in Petticoats, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A bang of a finish to a great series

Date:April 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yep, Mary has ended this series with a bang. All I can say is that I'm glad she still has some books that I haven't read yet because I really do enjoy her writing. Throughout this series she expresses faith just through the few thoughts each woman has when they get in a difficult situation. You can just tell when they each repeat their own special thoughts (words of faith asking God to protect them and their loved ones) to themselves that they know God is with them. In this book also she shows how close a family can be even though they are miles apart and only feelings and emotions to communicate one of them needs help. This book seemed to be the most action packed and the best one of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #3: Sharpshooter in Petticoats, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This product was corny

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marie
Location:MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I know that this was just a story, but I could not understand Mandy's reluctance to leave the Mountain and I thought what Tom had to do to get her to come down was real corny. There were too many extremes in this story that kept me from enjoying it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #3: Sharpshooter in Petticoats, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME STORY!

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
ladybady
Location:Clarksville, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the last of a series and another great story! The characters seem to come to life and make you wish they were your relatives!
Strong women characters who rely on God to make it through!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #3: Sharpshooter in Petticoats, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the books

Date:September 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
myhorsetails
Location:Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
I love all the books I have ordered; great service too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #3: Sharpshooter in Petticoats, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Weak and spiritually immature plot

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
singer
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There was a lot of needless repetition of a very weak and immature plot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #3: Sharpshooter in Petticoats, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:June 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rosa Boyer
Location:Taylorsville, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great read! Conneally weaves a great story. I've greatly enjoyed all her books. A little humor thrown in makes it fun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #3: Sharpshooter in Petticoats, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read & fun!

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
KATHY
Location:Reedsburg, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is the crowning end to all of Mary's trilogy's.
i loved all her books in her western series and in this one she ties them all together! excellent
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #3: Sharpshooter in Petticoats, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book holds humor and truths.

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Denise
Location:Langley, BC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
A fantastic book with a dry humor that kept me laughing nonstop. At the same time, this author hides truths that makes this book wonderfully down to earth revealing a God who accepts us flawed humans and loves us with our shortcomings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for #3: Sharpshooter in Petticoats, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
julieb
Location:Vancouver,Wa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book is the weakest of the three in this series. The plot was not only unbelievable but it failed to hold my interest and I struggled to finish it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for #3: Sharpshooter in Petticoats, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Too much unbelievable action for my tastes

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
dn65
Location:Georgia, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
All through this book the reader keeps wondering how long Mandy is going to continue to cow-tow to her no good husband. She hunts, dresses game, tans leather, chops wood and all this while tending to 2 small toddlers and expecting a third. The scene where she is chopping wood and her water breaks prior to her baby's birth is really out in left field to me. She seems to be getting more and more paranoid as the book goes along and I wonder at the wisdom of Tom's continuing to pursue her. The book has a few unexpected turns which prove interesting, but the ending is not quite what I expected. It was sort of lack-luster after the buildup in the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for #3: Sharpshooter in Petticoats, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janet
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all of Sophies daughters and all Montana marriages, they are really good. Mary Connealy makes every character so real and her humor is great. I couldn't stop laughing out loud at some of the conversations and the quiet thoughts of all of them. Red thought that the safest place to stand was in front of the target when Cassie was throwing the knife at it. I'm planning to buy more of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for #3: Sharpshooter in Petticoats, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a great story

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
eagleent
Location:Roswell, NM
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book, well written and answers questions about what happened to Sophie's daughters from a previous story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for #3: Sharpshooter in Petticoats, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great writing talent. Like the tough girl series

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
katlo
Location:Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the way Mary Connealy writes with her tough girl series. Enjoyed the read and will share with others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for #3: Sharpshooter in Petticoats, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
RaeH
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is the third in the Sophie's daughters series. This author keeps a fast paced story with characters you easily love and bad guys you easily hate. I could barely put the book down, reading several nights well into the middle of the night. Well worth the buy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for #3: Sharpshooter in Petticoats, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great from start to finish

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mommy of 6
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this whole series of Mary Connealy books. They get you laughing from start to finish. Tough women can do anything they set their minds to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for #3: Sharpshooter in Petticoats, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:September 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Dayton, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best books I have read in a long time. I thought about it for days after I finished it and discovered that it was the last of a 9 book series and ordered the whole set.
You can't help but fall in love with all the characters! It makes you laugh, cry and rejoice! This is a book you'll read over again many times!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for #3: Sharpshooter in Petticoats, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
wese
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoy all of her books, this was an enjoyable series to read, very easy to follow
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for #3: Sharpshooter in Petticoats, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:July 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Dayton, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just loved how real the people became, it was funny, serious, charming and all without a dull moment. When I was finished I was sad to find it was the last of a series so I called and order all the rest andl fell in love with them all over again. A great read by itself but if you are a lover of books get the whole series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for #3: Sharpshooter in Petticoats, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Stories Tie Together

Date:July 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mandy’s scoundrel husband, Sidney Gray, has been dead for a year, but fear and three small children have kept Mandy barricaded on the Montana mountaintop where Sidney had built Gray Tower. The Cooter family has declared a feud against the Grays and, even though Mandy is the fastest and most accurate gunslinger in the west, she refuses to take her children into danger.
Until Tom Linscott, whom she’s known since arriving in Montana with Sidney, climbs the cliff one starlit night to claim Mandy as his bride. Sparks begin to fly immediately, as Mandy is no push-over. Neither is Tom, who takes Mandy’s rifle then casually bundles up the children and begins to ride away, knowing Mandy will follow. As they ride the several day journey to Tom’s ranch, he teaches the children to call him Pa, to Mandy’s disgust. She’s loved Tom much longer than she ought to have, but can’t bear to put him in danger from the Cooter feud.
For indeed, the Cooters are coming from all across the land to join up and kill off the Grays–and anyone who stands by them. Tom Linscott has bought himself a barrelful of trouble, but he wouldn’t have it any other way.
Not only the Cooters are coming, but so are Mandy’s family, the McLennans, in this final novel in the historical western series Sophie’s Daughters. Sharpshooter in Petticoats is not a stand-alone book and (apparently) not only the closing tale to Sophie’s Daughters but to two other series Lassoed in Texas and Montana Marriages which I haven’t read. As such, things got a bit confusing for me when characters old and new poured onto the stage in the final chapters. Still, Connealy’s witty writing style made this a book I thoroughly enjoyed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for #3: Sharpshooter in Petticoats, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FUN, FAMILY AND PETTICOATS GALORE!!

Date:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Julie Lessman
Location:St. Louis
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hear me on this: Nobody writes historical romance with humor like Mary Connealy!! How do I know? Because I read A LOT and few authors are able to set my fingers atingle at the mere touch of their books like Ms. Connealy. Why you may ask? Because this woman is supremely capable of making me laugh, swoon and palpitate—and that’s just on the first page! From there it’s a high-speed chase with horses and buggies through a plot as wild as a bucking bronc and a love story just as crazy and fun. Which means on a sigh-worthy scale of one to ten, a Connealy love story is usually a twenty.
Who knows, maybe a twenty-five for her latest series entitled “Sophie’s Daughters,” which captures the romantic pursuits of the grownup McClellen daughters from another Connealy classic, Petticoat Ranch. It’s hard to say which of the three books in this series is the best—Doctor in Petticoats, Wrangler in Petticoats or Sharpshooter in Petticoats— because this is clearly Connealy’s pinnacle work so far, in my humble opinion, and trust me on this—the woman just gets better and better! So if you like lots of laughs, thrills and … ahem … gentle passion in your romance, pick up some petticoats and “slip” into a great time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>