Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print Books Angel Sister, Large Print

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Center Point Large Print Books Angel Sister, Large Print

It is 1936 and Kate Merritt, the middle child of Victor and Nadine, works hard to keep her family together. Her father slowly slips into alcoholism and his business suffers during the Great Depression. As her mother tries to come to grips with their situation and her sisters seem to remain blissfully oblivious to it, it is Kate who must shoulder the emotional load. Who could imagine that a dirty, abandoned little girl named Lorena Birdsong would be just what the Merritts need?
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Angel Sister, Large Print
Review 1 for Angel Sister, Large Print
This review is fromAngel Sister.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Story, Well Written

Date:February 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
AJH
Location:CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Angel Sister is a fantastic Book! The Story of Kate and little Lorena is adorable, and the family and what they go through together is a great story. I saw some reviews about how it's so "christian" well hello? It's a Christian book, the way a Christian book should be written. Our book club did this and they LOVED it, couldn't put it down some of them said. I was also fortunate to meet Ann Gabhart and she is such a sweet lady with a great gift. I've already ready the next book in the series and it was just the same, so now our ladies are passing that one around. Highly Recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Angel Sister, Large Print
This review is fromAngel Sister.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Angel Sister - Don't Miss This One!

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Victor, Nadine, and Kate Merritt are the main characters in this book. The story revolves around their past and present lives. Victor has a drinking problem which started when he was serving in WWI. I strongly suspect that Preston Merritt, Victor's Father, played a big part in it too. Preston was a man that his son could never please. Victor could do nothing right in his Father's eyes; the reason goes back to when Victor was growing up.
Nadine Merritt is the Daughter of Preacher Reece. She too could never live up to her Father's expectations. Her Father was always praying over her and quoting scriptures at her. She could do nothing right in his eyes.
Victor and Nadine married against both their Father's wishes. They were so happy early on in their marriage. Soon after marriage, Victor went off to fight in the war. Their lives would never be the same.
Kate Merritt is fourteen years old and the middle daughter in the family of three girls. Her mother depends on Kate to take over and help her father when he comes home drunk and to help her mother with household chores and other problems that might crop up. Kate never quibbles about it. She just does it.
This story goes back and forth between the past and present telling both sides of Victor and Nadine's life. This is a necessary part of this book. It has to happen this way in order to get the full picture of what happened and why.
A five year old girl named Lorena Birdsong is found by Kate sitting on the steps of Grandfather Reece's church. Her parents couldn't care for her and that is where they left her. Lorena sees Kate as her Angel. Has Lorena been sent from God to rescue the Merritt family from destruction?
This book is about unconditional love, hanging on to faith, and the ability to forgive. The Author, Ann H. Gebhart takes you through a variety of emotions. I felt their joy, their happiness, their anger and their pain. I lived it with them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Angel Sister, Large Print
This review is fromAngel Sister.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After reading the summary of this book, I was intrigued. Interesting story line, gripping events, and a wonder of the unknown (what will happen in the book) made me pick this book out to read and review. Unfortunately, I could not get into the book. I believe it was more a "this isn't my style of book" rather than the author's writing. Many others seem to enjoy this book. And, I would say it was the story line, but I tried reading another of this author's books, and had the same problem.
In conclusion, I applaud the author for writing such a gripping tale. I only wish that it would have wrapped itself around me and pulled me in for the ride.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Angel Sister, Large Print
This review is fromAngel Sister.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compelling! Heart-warming!!! Satisfying!!!

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
patti lacy
Location:Normal, Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kate Merritt, a fun-loving teenager who prefers to gig frogs and roam the woods near Rosey Corner, a sleepy Kentucky town, grapples with the tension in her family. When World War I demons and the threat of poverty send her father reeling toward booze, her mother sinking into fearfulness, Kate vows to protect those she loves.
Then a mysterious little girl named Lorena Birdsong tiptoes into Kate's world...and rocks the conservative congregation, led by Kate's grandfather, to which the Merritts belong. Somehow a dirty orphan manages to rip off the scabs of ugly feuds and long-buried secrets and sets off a cauldron of new problems in an already pressured family.
Can God teach Kate how to trust Him...and lead her into a world full of forgiveness and fresh starts? Can Kate's parents reclaim the hope and love that kindled their marriage in its early days?
Writers and readers alike, don't miss this chance to "sit at the feet" of master Gabhart, who brilliantly weaves a two-generational story into a compelling novel that oozes with God's grace, mercy, and His plans to prosper. I loved this book and hated to leave my new "friends" when the last page was turned.
Read Angel Sister, which Gabhart considers the "novel of her heart." Then go back and discover Ann's other best-selling works, one wonderful volume at a time!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Angel Sister, Large Print
This review is fromAngel Sister.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A heart warming novel

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lois
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I really liked this novel. It has alot of different emotions and everyday problems in that we all deal with. From the irritating people in our lives to the ones we can always count on. My only negative comment would be the author's overuse of the word "mashing". lol seems it was used too much, several times in one chapter even. There has to be more verbs to describe the way one closes their mouth. other than that, an excellent book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Angel Sister, Large Print
This review is fromAngel Sister.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book that will leave your heart smiling!!

Date:March 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kate Merritt is not the older sister, nor is she the younger sister. She is the middle sister who holds it all together. A family living in 1936 that is struggling financially through the depression and is emotionally being held together at the seams. Kate's father, Victor, is an alcoholic. Both her grandfathers are pastors and very set in their ways. Her mother, Nadine, is a loving mother, but she is missing something. The love of the husband who once embraced her and now embraces the bottle. The war and his past have become his enemy as they eat away at him through drink. He is struggling to find peace, but first he must find humility. This family is not wealthy, but even though they have very little in this world, they have heart. Kate seems to be a strength for her mother and a hope for her father as she is the example for her sisters.
One day as Kate is on her way to church to drop off some preserves for her grandfather she finds a little girl sitting on the church steps. Little Lorena Birdsong. A child who has been abandoned by her parents. Parents who love her, but cannot afford to care for her, so they placing all hope in the church. An angel perhaps. As Kate finds her, Lorena, knows this is an answer of God. This one little girl will bring a new hope, a new life and change they never saw coming. As Lorena was looking for an angel she didn't know that is exactly what God had in mind for this family.
Struggle is not over when, Lorena, is found. Some struggles are just beginning, but God has a purpose and plan through all. Blessings are about to erupt through each life that these pages hold. There are many twists and turns throughout the pages of this wonderful book. This is one that will take you back in time and allow your heart to grow in love and wonder through the lives of these characters. Characters that are real and heart warming. Those who struggle just as we still struggle today. This is a story of hope, forgiveness and restoration.
I loved this book. It was a precious read and one that I will pass on.
This book was a gift from Revell for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Angel Sister, Large Print
This review is fromAngel Sister.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fANTASTIC A MUST READ

Date:March 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Fond du Lac WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"ANGEL'S SISTER" is a fantastic book, it shows you love and forgiveness, and all of the Bible passage are wonderful, it is a must read for everyone, you ae going to fall in love with the whole family and especially Kate and Lorena Birdsong, just the name will make you love her
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Angel Sister, Large Print
This review is fromAngel Sister.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Angel Sister

Date:March 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Woods Fisher
Location:San Francisco, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ann Gabhart has written a lovely story of endurance during the Great Depression. "Angel Sister" is based on a humble family, the Merritts, who are coping with all kinds of pressures--some of the pressures come from sharing small town living with extended family, some pressures come from unresolved issues inside the home. When a little girl is abandoned on the church steps and ends up in the care of the Merritt's, simmering hostilities reach a boiling point. And ultimately results in so much good! This is a book with a recurring theme running through it--how can a person overcome the pain and damage his/her father caused in a childhood? You won't want to miss this well researched and carefully constructed novel by such a talented author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Angel Sister, Large Print
This review is fromAngel Sister.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A heartwarming story

Date:February 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Oregon
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Angel Sister is set in 1936 in the little town of Rosey Corner, Kentucky, where Kate Merritt is the middle child in a family of three daughters. Gabhart’s skillful writing puts the reader in the midst of this community and its characters—we know the people, and we feel the heat of a Kentucky summer.
Kate is the responsible sister who feels it’s up to her to keep her family together. The task she takes onto her fourteen-year-old shoulders is a daunting one. Her father is sliding into alcoholism and her mother is trying desperately to keep food on the table. Kate’s sisters are no help—the older one is a prima donna and the younger girl is just, well, too young. Throw in a couple of disagreeable grandfathers and you can see what Kate faces daily.
One day, on her way to visit one of her grandfathers, Kate is stopped by the sight of a little girl alone and crying on the steps of Kate’s grandfather’s church. How Lorena Birdsong’s arrival affects the Merritt family and the community of Rosey Corner is the catalyst for this all-consuming story.
Gabhart does a masterful job of weaving plot lines together as Angel Sister rolls to a suspenseful conclusion.
This book is on my “keeper” shelf for re-reading. I loved the characters and will want to visit Rosey Corner again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Angel Sister, Large Print
This review is fromAngel Sister.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Poignant historical fiction about forgiveness

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Angel Sister by Ann Gabhart is a poignant story of love and forgiveness in a Southern small town. Kate Merritt is the responsible one of three sisters. As her father, Victor, has slipped further and further into alcoholism, she has picked up more and more burdens around the house. At fourteen, she isn't lovestruck like older sister Evie nor does she want to go fishing all the time like little sister Tori. Kate tries to take care of her father as he stumbles in drunk night after night while her family refuses to discuss what is going on. Lorena Birdsong's parents have abandoned her on the church steps of Rosey Corner in the hopes of a family taking her in and caring for her. Her mother tells her that she will be found by an angel, so when Kate discovers Lorena, the girl is certain that Kate is her angel. Lorena is quickly adopted by the Merritt family, and her presence heals some of the wounds that have been festering, until the town decides that Victor can barely take care of his own daughters because of his drinking, so Lorena must be placed with a different couple. This course of action will put the town on a collision course where the Merritts will be forced to face the past and deal with the ghosts that have been haunting them for thirty years. Gabhart is best known for her historical fiction about the Shakers, but with this novel she has shown readers that she is one of the best writers in Christian fiction today. Kate is a heroine in the vein of Scout from To Kill a Mockingbird, and readers will fall in love with this young woman who will stop at nothing to save her family. When her faith is shattered by a terrible act, I couldn't help but cry the tears she refused to shed. It's her will that pulls her family back together piece by piece. Every character is fully fleshed and remarkably real. I will miss these characters now that the book is done; that is a testament to Gabhart's writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Angel Sister, Large Print
This review is fromAngel Sister.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A MUST READ!A STORY OF LOVE,FAITH AND PERSEVERANCE

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Henderson, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
ANGEL SISTER by Ann H. Gabhart is a wonderful inspirational historical fiction set in 1936 Kentucky. It is well written with inspiration,depth,and details. It has alcoholism,family, forgiveness,perseverance, faith, community,secrets,family issues,strength,rural living, fear of the preacher,fear of the town leader,family rejection,and tumultuous decisions and time. The main characters are heartwarming,tender,caring,have strong feelings of faith even through difficult times.The secondary characters help to carry the story along.There are many characters in this story. The story entwines families together,their lives,their failures,their strengths and their weakness. This is an intense,powerful story of love,faith,forgiveness, changes and moving forward from dark secrets of the past to a bright hopeful future and the power of prayer. It is about true love,freedom after forgiveness and the strength of perseverance.The author has entwined some facts of her own family with the story and developed an intense,powerful,a times heartbreaking story. You will laugh and cry with the characters.If you enjoy a deep family and community story with intense emotions you will enjoy this story. I would recommend this story for it shows the power of prayer,love and forgiveness.This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group and My Book Addiction and More.
**Available February 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell,a division of Baker
Publishing Group.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Angel Sister, Large Print
This review is fromAngel Sister.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

True Love and Faith in Troubling Times

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not ever hearing anyone personally share the difficult times of the 1930s, I found Ann H. Gabhart’s book, Angel Sister, one extremely interesting and touching book.
I was so moved by the issues (what we now call PTSD) that Victor struggled with, and how he used alcohol to drown out the horrors from war and the rejection of his father, though he hated himself while doing it. I could empathize with the distress that Nadine, his wife, went through with his bouts of alcoholism. Though her love didn’t seem to waver, the relationship was strained. Katie, the middle daughter, takes on the brunt of the issues, while her older and younger sisters seem more oblivious to the turmoil. How Victor and Nadine tenderly nurtured their children in midst of the difficult circumstances really touched my heart. That does not always happen in difficult times!
I, personally, had to question my own faith when the faith of each main character was severely challenged in ways that would make them either call out to God or walk away. The faithful prayers of friends and family, along with gentle confrontation, showed the changes only God could produce. Was it then all rose-colored glasses and happily-ever-after? No, but deep character, true love, the process of forgiveness, and the ability to persevere through difficult circumstances were honestly displayed.
The day Katie finds abandoned, five-year-old Lenora Birdsong on the steps of the church, life for the Victor Merritt family changes–some for the better and others in heartbreaking, tumultuous decisions. Ann had me rooting for our modern-day rules to override what actually takes place.
Although Angel Sister is an emotionally-charged book to read, Ann shares how to handle life’s difficult challenges through love and prayer. Definitely a great book for anyone to read!
This book was provided by Donna Hausler, Publicity Assistant at Baker Publishing Group, in exchanged for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Angel Sister, Large Print
This review is fromAngel Sister.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intense Story

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Clarksville, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
War is never over it sometimes seems. Young men, young women go to war and come home with images and horror stories that those who haven't been there will never understand. This is what happened with Victor Merritt after the big war. Set in 1936 Victor's family is falling apart. His wife resents him because he has turned to the bottle, the dreams that plague him in his sleep cause him to turn to the bottle, and his family suffers through all of it. His middle daughter seems to be the one who feels things the deepest, at fourteen, she is at an age that is hard enough, but a father who is drinking and a mother who is worried about that is making life hard for Kate Merritt.
Then an 'angel sister' comes into their lives. A little girl was left on the church steps and Kate found her, and it was instant love. Kate felt like God purposely sent her to the church that day to find little Lenora. However that was not the way her grandfathers saw it. They were both, for different reasons, determined that Lenora would not stay with Kate and her family.
A tale that will have you in tears, ensues from this point. I cried and laughed with this story, through the pages, you feel the dispair of the family and the hurt of Kate. I did not put this book down until I finished it. It was a intense story. You will grieve for this broken family as they struggle through their hurts. A wonderful book, that you will want to read. 403 pages US $14.99 5 stars.
This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
Angel Sister is available February 2011 from your favorite seller of Revell Books a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.