Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Eye of the Sword, Angelaeon Circle Series #2

WaterBrook Press Eye of the Sword, Angelaeon Circle Series #2

Although Trevin cannot profess his love for Princess Melaia because of his lowly rank, he vows to serve her forever. When the king challenges him to prove his worth, he embarks on a search to retrieve the harps Melaia needs to restore the stairway to heaven. Will his past prevent him from fulfulling his quest?
Average Customer Rating:
4.278 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 out of 3694%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Eye of the Sword, Angelaeon Circle Series #2
Review 1 for Eye of the Sword, Angelaeon Circle Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Read with descretion

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a hard review for me to write, because there were so many things that I loved about this book yet there were other elements that bothered me greatly. But hopefully my review is helpful :)
Trevin is a Comain (Captain) in the service of King Laetham of Camrithia. Trevin also happens to be in love with the King's daughter, Melaia. To prove himself he takes on two difficult quests, one to find the lost Comains of Camrithia, and the other to find the two remaining harps of a mystical threesome. Will Trevin be able to succeed against the many odds?
While I haven't read the first book and was unfamiliar with what was going on, I found myself rapidly caught up in the story.
Ms. Henley did an outstanding job of creating engaging characters and the lush world in which they dwelled. I thought the plot was engaging and fast moving, making the book difficult to put down.
Now comes the tough part. While I thought that this book was well written and engaging, there were elements that I had trouble with, and dangerous ground was tread upon with the use of angels. This is my personal opinion, but I feel that it is dangerous to portray angels as walking the earth and intermarrying with humans. Also I had an especially hard time with the book's constant messages or reminders, if you will, to "Trust yourself" or to look inward to find your true identity. Those things made me take a step back.
So overall while this book was well written, with great characters--I really thought that Trevin was an excellent main character because he was noble, yet was flawed and knew it--and a well paced plot, there were things that I struggled with. I guess that for me, I would not classify this book as Christian. So as you can see I have rather mixed feelings about this book. But what really struck me about this book was how I could never see what was up ahead, definitely unpredictable! So in closing I would say that this book should be read with a healthy dose of discretion.
I received this book from the publisher through CSFF in return for an honest review. Thank you!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Eye of the Sword, Angelaeon Circle Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Quest, Redemption And High Adventure

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karyn Henley in her new book “Eye of the Sword” Book Two in the Angelaeon Circle series published by Waterbrook Press brings us the adventures of Trevin.
From the back cover: Where angels walk the ground and the future is told in song, does a man of low rank have a chance at love with a princess?
In Camrithia, a land of shadows and mystical secrets, Trevin lives to serve King Laetham. But his heart belongs to the princess, Melaia. When the King sends Trevin on on a dangerous quest to find the missing comains—captains in the king’s army—he must leave Melaia to the advances of a swaggering Dregmoorian prince.
Challenged to prove his worth, Trevin throws himself into his quest. Striving to prove his love, Trevin undertakes a second mission—find the harps Melaia seeks in order to restore the stairway to heaven. Through fire caves, rogue winds, and murderous threats, Trevin remains steadfastly dedicated to his quest—even when he is falsely accused of a heinous crime. As Trevin’s time runs out, he realizes he must face the shame and horror of his own past and the nightmare that has come to life. Will he have the courage to finish what he has started?
I liked Tolkien’s, “Lord of the Rings” trilogy and I liked C. S. Lewis’ Narnia novels as well. Therefore it should go without saying that I liked “Eye of the Sword” as well. It used to be that I did not like allegory but when an author knows how to write as well as Ms. Henley it is not so difficult to follow. There is the Quest, no fantasy series should be exempt from the quest and this is done wonderfully. Then there is also the search for redemption as Trevin has had a tainted past that is now haunting him. “Eye of the Sword” is a fantasy adventure where the battle for good and evil has never been so important. This is a page turning thriller as Trevin battles to complete his missions and return home. I liked “Eye of the Sword” and am impatiently waiting for the next book in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: In conjunction with the CSFF Blog Tour, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Eye of the Sword, Angelaeon Circle Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful follow-up in the series.

Date:July 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book two of the Angelaeon Circle series follows Trevin. Now a supporter and servant of King Laetham, Trevin is on a quest to find the king’s missing comains. He is also searching for the harps Melaia needs to help her rebuild the stairway to heaven. Villains lurk at every turn with traps and plots. Trevin is running out of time to complete his mission, and prove himself in the process.
I enjoyed the first book of the series, Breath of Angel, but this one is better. While Melaia’s story was interesting and made for an excellent start to the series, Trevin’s past makes him a much deeper character. Character-driven stories, in my opinion, are always the best. They keep the reader interested. They make us care. Mission accomplished here. Trevin is a character you truly pull for. New characters are also introduced. Ollena is a personal favorite. We also learn a lot more about the Angelaeon: who’s who, what they can do.
If the rest of the series continues on this level, it will be a great series. I can’t wait for the third one.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes from WaterBrook Multnomah.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Eye of the Sword, Angelaeon Circle Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is such an amazing series!

Date:April 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 Kingdoms sit on the threshold of an upcoming prophecy. There are those that are working hard to make sure that it comes true and those that will stop at nothing to prevent its fulfillment. Legend has it that every 200 years, the stars will come into a perfect alignment and as long as the three legendary harps are collected, the stairway to heaven will be restored. Once that happens the souls of those that have died on Earth that are supposed to be in heaven will be taken by the angels to their final resting place.
But since the First Born and Second Born interferred many years ago, that stairway has been sealed with no hope of reopening it except by the one the prophecy calls for that can complete this process, one born with the breath of angel and blood of man. Now Melaia has been searching to unite the harps if she can find them with the help of Trevin, a man who vows to serve her until the very last breath he has.
Only Melaia's father, King Laetham has promised her hand in marriage to Prince Varic of the Dregmoors in hopes of securing an alliance between the two kingdoms, but Melaia has given her heart to another along time ago. King Laetham will only allow a man of royal blood to marry his daughter Princess Melaia and with time running out, he sees no alternative but to allow the marriage between Varic and Melaia to take place. Will Trevin be able to locate the missing two harps before the marriage vows are complete or will he fall victim to the evil plots of the First Born who is set on making sure the stairway remains sealed forever?
I received Eye of the Sword by Karyn Henley compliments of WaterBrook Multnomah for my honest review. Karyn captured my heart in this incredible new series combining medieval fantasy along with some mythical creatures and an entire race of angels with her first book, Breath of Angel. When I saw that this book was finally available, I had to review this one. I was not disappointed. The quest for the harps continues in Eye of the Sword and we get a more in depth look at the character of Trevin and his family history as it's uncovered chapter by chapter. We also uncover a bit more of the legend of the Wisdom Tree and the restoration of the stairway to heaven that is nearly all possible signs towards the timing this possible prophecy to be fulfilled. As a reader, I am completely sold on the world that Karyn has so elaborately created and know I'll be waiting on pins and needles until the final book is complete and ready to read.
I rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars and those looking for an amazing Christian action-adventure story dealing with angels and the fight between evil and good, then this is a must read for you. I would recommend the first book in the Angelaeon Circle series first, Breath of Angel to get an understanding of Melaia's character and why the need for the quest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Eye of the Sword, Angelaeon Circle Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Definately worth it

Date:April 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bookworm
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Eye of the Sword by Karyn Henley was a great sequel to Breath of Angel; I really enjoyed it. This story is from the point of view of Trevin as he becomes a Comain and searches for the missing comains.
I think some of the writing is weak, and a bit of the dialouge. The suspence, however, was masterfully done. His journey, both physical and in his character, was believable and realisic. I think in general the story is well done and I would recommend this book for others to read; although I do recommend reading the first one before you read this one.
I got this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing in return for my own opinion in this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Eye of the Sword, Angelaeon Circle Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth The Read

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
MoriahN
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the second book of the Angelaeon Circle series, the struggle to find the three harps continues. Trevin, now a comain in the service of King Laetham, is on an important mission for the king. He is also on a personal mission to find the rest of Melaia’s harps. When he is falsely accused of murder and put to trial, the eye of the sword reflects an astonishing view of Trevin’s character. He is set free and returns to searching for the harps- his chance of proving to Melaia’s father that he is worthy of a princess’s love. But time is running out. Melaia is betrothed to Varic, a shady Dregmoorian prince. Faced with startling facts of his heritage, the only way for Trevin to complete what he has started is to face nightmares from his past.
The point that this book brought home to me was that the truth is what sets you free. I enjoyed “Eye of the Sword” even more than “Breath of Angel”, and I’m hoping there are more in the Angelaeon Circle series!
I revieved "Eye of the Sword" free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishers in exchange for my honest review. Thanks for reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Eye of the Sword, Angelaeon Circle Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I could not put it down!

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Smoothie71
Location:Alabama
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the first book, 'Breath of Angel' and it was soo good so needless to say I was really excited for this one!
In this book one of the characters, Trevin, goes through many challenges to not only win the heart of the princess, but also to find out who he is and why he is here.
I identified with him very well because just like him we all go through those times where we need to find out who we are. And while trying to find out who we are we usually face a few obstacles along the way.
This book is so beautifully written and will definitely leave you on the edge of your seat! I found myself just waiting to see what was gonna happen next! If you like adventure mixed with a little love and lots fascinating story-telling you'll enjoy this book. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Eye of the Sword, Angelaeon Circle Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This was an enjoyable book.

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christine
Location:Chicago
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Eye of the Sword by Karyn Henley. This is Book 2 in the Angelaeon Circle Series.
If you enjoy fantasy fiction, you will enjoy this book. I found it to be entertaining and captivating. I did not have a hard time following the plot even though I had not read the first book.
The main character, Trevin, sets out on a quest and along the way comes face to face with himself. He learns that despite the mistakes in his past, he has the strength of character to move forward.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Eye of the Sword, Angelaeon Circle Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

"Eye of the Sword" is Fun, Fast-Paced Fantasy

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
BethStrand
Location:Oregon City, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First, let me say that Fantasy is not usually my genre but I was in the mood to try something new and I wasn't disappointed. The story revolves around a young man with a previously dark past who must prove himself to the King in hopes of someday winning the princess. The princess, however, has a quest of her own...to reunite three harps that will restore the connection between Heaven and Earth. The planets are aligning to make the reunion possible, an event that will only happen once every two hundre years. Trevin and Melaia's hopes seem destined to failure when the evil prince of Dregmoor convinces Melaia's father to consider a marriage to bring peace and protection to Camrithia.
This book will take you on a wild ride of hope, despair, desparation and courage. Just when things look their blackest, changes will occur. Though I enjoyed the book (and plan to go back and read the first one) I still have a question about the Fantasy genre. It seems to me that so much time is taken up creating the world that the story doesn't flow as well as it could. For instance, the character of Trevin becomes a "Comain" which, it turns out, is pretty much a knight. Given the option, I'd rather my stories didn't require so much in the way of new language and, instead, focused on giving more of what "Eye of the Sword" did well...strong characters, interesting plot twists and turns and good prose.
I think this series would be a hit with Junior High grades and up, but I would hesitate to recommend it for any younger as there is a fair amount of violence and darkness.
This book was provided to me for this review by Waterbrook Press, I am not required to give a favorable review, just my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Eye of the Sword, Angelaeon Circle Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Book!

Date:March 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dianna
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In book One, Breath of Angel we learn about the Angelaeon, how Melaia is the daughter of Dreia, the guardian of the wisdom tree and stairway to heaven, and how she is to restore the stairway to heaven. In this book Melaia does not come out that much anymore, instead we are taken on a journey about the life of Trevin, we learn about his past and future.
I read the first book, Breath of Angel, which was awesome so, I couldn't wait for the second book to come out. Of course when I found out that the book would not be from Melaia's point of view I was a little disappointed. I was not so interested in knowing about Trevin's life but, when the more I read the more I realized how wrong I was. The second was even better than the first! There were so many turns and twists; I was shocked so many times through out the whole book! It never got boring. I rate this book 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Eye of the Sword, Angelaeon Circle Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riveting Story With Good Themes

Date:March 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nikole Hahn
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only negative for me in this book was when I read these words: ‘”Tell me,” said Nevius, “where was the Most High when the Tree was destroyed? During the Angel Wars, where was our creator? Our father-mother left us abandoned. Orphaned.”’ I’m not sure if Nevius stated a fact when he described the god of this fictional world or a truth, but most Christian fantasy make God male. In this sentence, Nevius expresses doubt as fear of another war makes him and the other Archons nervous. I did not deduct a star for this because the work is a work of fiction. We can get away with most anything in fiction because the world is made up, and because I want to read book one and the book following two, I give this novel five stars for a riveting story.
*Book given by publisher to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Eye of the Sword, Angelaeon Circle Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Eye of the Sword!

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jaguar Hero
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eye of the Sword is book two in the Angelaon Circle by Karyn Henley. It follows the newly appointed comain of the King of Camrithia, Trevin, on his adventures. He is assigned with the task of finding the missing comains (captains of the king's army). He, also, goes out of his way to help Princess Melaia find the other two harps that legend tells will restore the stairway to heaven. Trevin faces many trials, such as being accused for a deadly crime, a villain trying to slip his way into Princess Melaia's heart, and his dark past that threatens to return to haunt him.
At first, I wasn't sure what to think. I have not read the first book, and I was suddenly dropped into this strange world where angels are visibly present and interactive with humans. Very soon, I was wrapped up in the characters and the tale. I thought the whole land of the Three Kingdoms was clearly developed with the unique terminology, creatures, domination governments, and the somewhat fairy tale, somewhat medieval like setting. I felt like I had been transported to this strange world of angels, kingdoms, and magical harps. It was interesting.
I, also, enjoyed Trevin's character. He has an unfortunate past of mistakes and dark times However, he proves his new found loyalty time and time again. He does have a bit of spontaneous actions that puts him hard spots, but he has a longing heart to become a better person.
I didn't quite understand everything going on, mainly due to the fact I hadn't read book one first. The angels on earth thing, along with the immortal Firstborns, are still a little sketchy in my mind. However, I was able to get past it and enjoy the story. I, also, though the love angel between Trevin and Princess Melaia was a bit cliche. It could have been displayed better, especially since Trevin came across a little too needy of being with her.
Other than that I rather enjoyed the book and all its mysterious twists that were revelead about Trevin's dark past. And I'm going to get my hands on the first book so I can find out what I missed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Eye of the Sword, Angelaeon Circle Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Plenty of action, excitement, & fantasy elements!

Date:March 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gillian
Where angels walk the ground and the future is told in song, does a man of low rank have a chance at love with a Princess?
Trevin has just been appointed Comain of the realm of Camrithia. Along with his new title, the King assigns him to an important quest to find six missing Comains, who have recently disappeared. Trevin, however, has a mission of his own in mind. He seeks to find the two missing harps that the Princess Melaia requires to restore the stairway to heaven. Perhaps then, he will be able to prevent her arranged marriage to the Dregmorian Prince Varic – a man Trevin knows to be a villain.
When Trevin is falsely accused of a horrible crime, he fears that his past will rise to condemn him. And time is running out if he hopes to locate the harps before the opportunity is lost.
Eye of the Sword is the second book in the Angelaeon Circle by Karyn Henley. Although I would have liked to read the first book before this one, I did not have any problem jumping in and was able to follow the storyline from the start.
Overall I enjoyed the story. It kept my interest piqued and made me want to keep reading to find out what happened next. Interesting fantasy elements like winged horses, powerful harps, and a sword that reveals the true character of whoever looks into it drew me into the story.
However, I am generally wary of books that deal with angels as characters. Given the fact that this book is a work of fantasy, I soon forgot that they were supposed to be angels and viewed them as I would any other fantasy creature. Still, I found the few references to the Most High (obviously God) as the “father-mother” of the universe more than a little disturbing. I believe that Jesus referred to God as His Father, for a reason.
There were also several priests and priestesses in the story. I am assuming that they served the Most High, but I found it odd that although they played key characters in the story, no mention was made of this fact. Perhaps this was maybe clear in the previous book. I understand that blending fantasy and Biblical themes is often difficult, but the fact that God was so little acknowledged in a story about angels bothered me.
All in all, despite those few things that bothered me, I enjoyed reading about Trevin and his journey and would be interested in reading the next book in the series when it is released.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Eye of the Sword, Angelaeon Circle Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great epic tale

Date:March 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
OceanDreamer
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having to leave Princess Melaia, the woman he loves behind, Trevin embarks on his King's mission to find the missing
Camrithian comains. Knowing the princess will be left in the company of a seedy Dregmoorian prince, he hopes to make this
mission a short one. But he has acquired another quest. Procure the stolen harps Melaia needs in order to restore the stairway to heaven.
Trevin's journey isn't without it's dangers. With increased uneasiness, he traverses unfamiliar territory, and right into the arms of a murder
that may determine the rest of his future. Struggling with doubts about his colorful past, he tries desperately to clear his name and
finds himself faced with questions he doesn't know the answer to. Who was he? And who is he to become?
In a world full of angels and mystical creatures, malevolents lurk in the shadows,maintaining the unquestionable battle of good verses evil.
Caught in it's crossfires, Trevin experiences a level of grace he never imagined himself to be worthy of. And just in time, as his whole future depends
on it.
I very much enjoyed this book! It was so wonderful to be transported into another world. I stopped several times to marvel at the
imagination of the writer. It was very easy to read pages upon pages without knowing I'd read so many. This being the second in the series,I
was glad I'd read the first one; but only for the want of gleaning more of the story, as the author did a great job making this book understandable for
those who haven't yet had the pleasure of reading the other. I already have a list of those I know I will be lending this to. And I am very excited to
read the next installment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Eye of the Sword, Angelaeon Circle Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book two of The Angelaeon Circle series

Date:March 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
AmberlySays
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Book one focuses on Melaia's story, how she found she was born to bridge the gap between Heaven and earth by restoring the stairway to Heaven. To do so, she was find and gather three lost harps that will give her the power that only she can do as she is "breath of angel, blood of man". In this book we are introduced to Trevin, a man who is working for the wrong side but for the right reasons. He both aides and foils Melaia's plans while falling in love with her. By the end of this book, Melaia is crowned princess and restored to her earthly throne and Trevin has been elevated to the status of Kingsman.
Book two is all about Trevin. When the King sends Trevin on on a dangerous quest to find the missing comains—captains in the king’s army—he must leave Melaia to the advances of a questionable Dregmoorian prince.
I like the offical synopsis of what the meat of the book is about so I will keep it:
*"Challenged to prove his worth, Trevin throws himself into his quest. Striving to prove his love, Trevin undertakes a second mission—find the harps Melaia seeks in order to restore the stairway to heaven. Through fire caves, rogue winds, and murderous threats, Trevin remains steadfastly dedicated to his quest—even when he is falsely accused of a heinous crime. As Trevin’s time runs out, he realizes he must face the shame and horror of his own past and the nightmare that has come to life. Will he have the courage to finish what he has started?"*
My personal opinion of the book is that it was well written and much more enjoyable than the first. Only because I find Trevin was a more strong minded character and his viewpoint was so gratifying to read. He is flawed but he wants so much to prove his worth and be honorable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Eye of the Sword, Angelaeon Circle Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Follow Up To “Breath Of Angel”

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Location:Michigan
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This past weekend I had the awesome privilege to review the book “Eye of the Sword” by Karyn Henley. It is a fantastic fantasy story filled with adventure, danger, and a little bit of romance. Once you get into the book you will not be able to put it down.
“Eye of the Sword” is book 2 of the Angelaeon Circle series and picks up where “Breath of Angel” book 1 of the Angelaeon Circle series left off. If you have had the chance to read the first book then you will defiantly want to put book 2 on your reading list. Eye of the Sword is very well written and Karyn Henley does a fantastic job carrying on the story with a new exciting perspective.
Karyn Henley shifts the focus of the main character from Melaia in book 1 to Trevin in book 2. In the second book “Eye of the Sword” the story circles around Trevin as he figures out who he is and what his destiny is and how it involves Melaia and her destiny to restore the Wisdom Tree. In the book Karyn brings back all of the characters you have come to love and continues to grab your attention from the start as the story unfolds and grows in front of you.
I was very satisfied with how she ended the book and can’t wait to see if and how she continues the story of the Angelaeon Circle series.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Eye of the Sword, Angelaeon Circle Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It was a good read

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
TheHappyHomeschoolTeen
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had the privilege to review the first book in the Angelaeon Circle series, and so I was very happy to discover that the second was also available for review.
The novel picks up several months after the first one ended, but this time instead of Melaia being the main character, a person we saw for only a short period of time in Breath of Angel, Trevin, takes the stage so to speak.
He has just been appointed comain, which is a captain in the Kings army. Several days before his ceremony, however, he finds his drunken brother in a tavern surrounded by three strangers. Several unfortunate things happen to Trevin, and by the time he returns to the castle he smells like a pile of dung. Also, upon returning he discovers that his tormentors are in the castle on official business, for one of the three is the Prince of the Dregmoors.
Not only does the Dregmorian prince seek an aliance with Camrithia, he seeks the hand of the Nephili (half-human, half-angel) Melaia, whose father is the King of Camrithia. Trevin, who is in love with Melaia does everything he can to stop the wedding, until he is forced to flee do to being accused of a murder one of the Prince's henchmen committed. His flee for his life turns into a quest to find himself and save his love. Will Trevin succeed, clear his name, and get to be with Melaia?
I liked the sequel better then the firs. For one thing, the flow of the book is slower, and doesn't seem as rushed. And in Eye of the Sword, you are shown and taken to more locations in this world then in Breath of Angel. Also, you get a better look at Trevin the you did in the prequel, and also a better understanding of his character.
While the book was a bit slower than the last one, it still was a little fast and that disappointed me because it could've had more content. Also, it could have had more of the original characters included in the text. All in all, however, I enjoyed it as much as I usually do.
It was well written, and an excellent sequel, that had a good ending that left me wanting more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Eye of the Sword, Angelaeon Circle Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Story

Date:February 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dalyn
Location:Yakima, Wa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A fantasy, a love story, adventure with all you would expect- villians, battles, intrigue, plot twists and more. I had a hard time getting into this book, not having read the first one. (This is book 2 in the series) I'm also not a fan of this genre but it looked good so I thought I'd read it and see. Once I acclimated my mind to the foreign terms, I got more interested. There are angelic beings, harps, trees, a princess and an evil prince or two...winged horses- it was quite a tale. My sons are next in line to read this, and I don't think they'll be disappointed. I'm still not a fan of this genre, but overall it was a story that draws you in, and that's what we like, right?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Eye of the Sword, Angelaeon Circle Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Eye of the Sword

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
DSafford
Location:Western MA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Trevin and Melaia love each other, but Trevin serves King Laethan. When the king sends him on a quest, they are separated and Trevin sets off to find the missing army captains the King seeks. When he sees competition for Melaia's love, Trevin decides to go in quest of the missing harps Melaia seeks. But there is so much more to this story! Time is definitely against Trevin at times, he is accused of a horrible crime, and he feels Melaia slipping from his grasp. Can their love survive the battles and tests? Will Trevin be found guilty or innocent of the crime he is accused of committing? Will he find the captains and the harps?
This is the second book in the Angelaeon Circle series by Karen Henley. While I enjoyed reading it, I think it would be better reading the series in order so that you get the characters and plot correct from the beginning. This YA fantasy series will make a great gift for the YA (or older adult) reader in your life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Eye of the Sword, Angelaeon Circle Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
elinsmom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I recently read Eye of the Sword by Karen Henley. I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah for the purpose of review.
Eye of the Sword is a YA Fantasy novel. It is the second book in the Angelaeon Circle. Unfortunately, I did not read the first book in the series. This made it difficult for me to follow what was going on. It was obvious I missed a lot of back story. I thought the plot moved well, and the author did a good job with the characters. It was very well written. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys YA Fantasy stories. I would, however, recommend reading the previous book in the series first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>