Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press God Gave Us Love

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

WaterBrook Press God Gave Us Love

Little Cub has questions about love---and Grampa Bear has answers! He explains that Mama and Papa's love is different from Little Cub's feelings for her friends. And that God gave us the biggest love---his Son! With charming illustrations and simple text, Bergren's toddler-friendly book will become a favorite of your own little cubs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.062 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God Gave Us Love
Review 1 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathy G
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A cute little book to read to your kids. But not quite attention grabbing as I thought it would be for my 4 and 6 year old.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Angel
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely loved reading this book to my grandchildren!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is good one!

Date:May 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Koada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is good for three years niece. They are twin, and one boy.
They are same age. I hope they will share this book.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We love this book!

Date:March 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Abby
Location:Owenton, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this author. These books help my daughters understand God's love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

God Gave Us Love

Date:September 12, 2012
This wonderfully illustrated board book is all about love - God's love for us and our love for others. The most important message of the book is of Salvation, given in a simplified version for younger children. Adult readers are given a starting point in the book, "But most of all, "Grampa said, "we know God loves us because he sent his Son to save us..." It's up to them to discuss this more at the child's level of understanding.
The main characters, Grampa and Little Cub, encounter otters while fishing. The playful otters annoy Little Cub. Grampa explains that God wants us to show others love, even when they annoy us. He also explains the different kinds of love for family and friends.
The target audience for God Gave Us Love is 3 years and up. This book has too much to take in for younger children. I think the only thing a 3 year old would remember about this book would be polar bears and love. I found out at the very end that Little Cub was a girl. This could be confusing for a child, since it appears by her clothes and the lack of wording with "he" or 'she" that Little Cub is a boy.
The illustrations in God Gave Us Love are downright cute, 5 star worthy. The colors are comforting. Your heart will be warmed by the cozy winter scenes with this caring polar bear family. The love the characters have for each other is shown through the drawings. I would recommend this book for it's illustrations and the message of God's love.
Lisa Tawn Bergren is a best-selling author of more than thirty books, including The Captain's Bride, The Busy Mom's Devotional, and the God Gave Us children's book series. She and her husband, Tim, live in Colorado Springs, Colorado with their three children.
Please rate my review for Blogging For Books. When you rate any Blogging for Books review, you will automatically be entered to win a free copy of the book that you reviewed. Blogging for Books is giving 50-100 free copies of various titles each month. I have been notified that one person who rated one of my reviews has won a copy of the book. Be sure to check your email to do a one time verification that you rated a Blogging For Books review or your rating(s) will not show up.
I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah for my honest review.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good explanation of love...

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
DavidsMom
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 3 year old was excited when a book that he could hold and read came in the mail! He loved sitting and letting me read it to him over and over. The only negative I could say is it has a lot of words on it and he would be ready for me to turn the before I finished reading.
I loved the way it gave all the meanings of love and all the types of love - mommy/daddy love, loving even when we might not like someone, grandparent love, and esp. God's love! It talks about sharing God's love, and how love makes us better people and better as a family. I loved all the meanings the book gave and a way a child can understand.
I received this book free from WaterBrook Press a division of WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group as part of their Blogging For Books Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I was a little disappointed.

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nel Fastenau
Location:Willard, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
God Gave Us Love is a cute board book by Lisa Tawn Bergren. This book addresses the issue of love from a kid’s point of view. It discusses the fact that God loves everyone and everything and wants us to do the same. The storyline is supposedly about Little Cub and Grandpa Bear’s fishing trip, which in interrupted by the otter’s escapades.
The illustrations throughout this little book are outstanding. They are colorful and kid friendly. Laura J. Bryant did a wonderful job.
This was a cute book with a cute theme. I read it to my 5-year old granddaughter. She enjoyed the pictures but felt it was too wordy. She was disappointed there was not more of a story line. The board book is great for little hands however I felt the story was geared toward 6 – 7 year olds, as my granddaughter commented there were too many words on each page.
I received this book free from WaterBrook Press a division of WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group as part of their Blogging For Books Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God Gives Us Love

Date:May 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Little Bear goes fishing with Grampa Bear but the Otters were so playful and mischievous that Little Bear just knew they would chase all the fish away. Grampa sensed that Little Bear was getting upset at the Otters. Grampa decided to have a talk with her about sharing the love of God.
The story is very endearing. I could almost hear the tone in Grampa Bear's and Little Bear's voices. Grampa being loving and patient, Little Bear being curious and sometimes confused. Grampa does a wonderful job getting God's message of love for others across to Little Bear.
The illustrations in this board book colorfully depicts the feelings shared between Grampa Bear, Little Bear and the rest of their family. Let's not forget the playfulness of the Otters that prompted the lesson of God's Love.
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure
I received a free copy of this book from Waterbrook Multnomah for review. I was in no way compensated for this review it is my own review. It is my own opinion.(less)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful Story Explaining Love to Preschoolers

Date:April 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shelly
Location:Maryland
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have read one other book in the series, God Gave Us You, and absolutely loved it! This book did not disappoint in its wonderful message about different kinds of love. I liked that it had a grandparent spending time with his grand-cub; grandparents play such an important role in the lives of grandchildren. Little Cub asks Grandpa Polar Bear important questions about love that I'm sure I will be asked one day by my little girl. Grandpa Polar Bear explains different kinds of love: between moms and dads, siblings, others outside our family, and God's great love for us.
The author's explanations are simple for little ones to understand. It can lead to great discussion about how we should love others and treat them the way we want to be treated. It can also lead to further discussions about how God loves us and about what Jesus did for us. The book is a little bit wordy but thorough in covering the concept.
This is recommended for ages 3-5. I tried to read some of it to my 16 month old, but her attention span is pretty short so she mostly enjoyed the beautiful illustrations. I love the color choices and the cute little polar bears wearing diapers! My daughter enjoyed pointing at them as I named the animals and objects. I love the fact this is available in a board book so that little toddler hands can enjoy it without it getting torn. I'm sure that this book will be dearly loved for years to come!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

"God Gave Us Love"

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shoopette
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The concept behind "God Gave Us Love" is excellent. Grampa Bear teaches Little Cub all about love – the love we should have for each other and the ultimate love that God showed when he sent His Son to die for us.
However, the execution in this board book fell a little flat. There was no real story to it, and the flow of the dialogue is disjointed, even for a conversation with a young child/cub. I thought that it read more like several lessons strung together rather than like a storybook.
The pictures of the bears are colorful, and my 3-year-old daughter likes them.
Ultimately, this book delivers a great message that we all need to understand.
“God gave us love, all kinds of love. The love of mamas and papas, friends, family. And His love, too.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sturdy book with "child-sized theology"

Date:March 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Aaron Potratz
Location:Hillsboro, OR
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The other reviewers have pretty much said it. This is a fantastic little book - sturdy, beautiful, and perfect for story time with the kids. It touches on many different kinds of love, distinctions between them, and the value in them all. I really appreciated this and found great opportunities to talk with my 6-year-old about love afterwards. I also appreciated that it did not stop at simply "God's love" to us, but also defined this love as the gift of His Son to save us. Again, another wonderful opening to introduce or expand on the Gospel with your children.
My only complaint is that it's a bit wordy. The purpose and content is superb, and probably necessitates wordiness to convey its message, but it's wordy - especially for a book that looks and feels like it's for younger kids (age 3-5). It's a small gripe, but worth noting anyway.
I would like to summarize the book with a quote from one of its pages:
"God gave us love, all kinds of love. The love of mamas and papas, friends, family. And his love too. It brings out the best in us and our families."
Overall, it's a great book that I would definitely recommend. In fact, somehow the publishers accidentally sent me two review copies so now I get to look forward to giving one away!
I received this book free from the publishers in exchange for my unbiased review. Please visit my blog at trutheran.blogspot.com to read my other reviews.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lindsey
Location:TX
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
In this board book, a polar bear cub goes fishing with her Grampa and he uses the time to teach her about the complexities of God's love for us and our love for each other.
Bryant's illustrations are beautiful. My toddler's words, upon seeing the bears, were: "Dis is my FAVOWITT book!!" He slept with it that night, and carried it around the next day.
He loves looking at it.
Reading it is ... another story.
There are just too many words. It was a shame, but the only way we could finish the book was to paraphrase. A lot. I love that the book provides an opportunity to talk with my children about these important concepts, but I wish it had, oh, a fourth of the words.
FTC info: The publisher provided a copy of this book to review; I was not compensated for the review nor asked to love the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Way to talk about God's Love

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God Gave Us Love, by Lisa Tawn Bergren, with art by Laura J. Bryant, is a sweet board book about how God wants us to love everybody, even if we don't "like them" all the time. Grampa Polar Bear explains to Little Cub how God designed us to love, because He is Love, and that there is that something of Him in each of us that makes us "want to love others as God loves us..." even though "we don't always feel like loving them." Little Cub realizes that Grampa is right, and the book ends with her asking God to "help her love others better...even the otters."
I love Lisa Tawn Bergren's "God Gave Us..."books. I love that they help me teach important concepts to my three boys about God and, in this case, His love for them. It is important to me that she doesn't water down these concepts, and her spiritual points are strong, yet clear enough even for toddlers. This book gives us another way to explain God's love, the love that was so big that He sent His Son to die for us, to show us love. For now, my boys can say the words, but hearing over and over about God's love, in forms like this story, will continue to reinforce the concept until their little hearts really understand it.
I give this book 5 stars as a children's book.
I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah publishers as part of their Blogging for Books progam, in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Message

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Scribbles
Location:Boise, ID
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Little Cub is irritated by the noisy otters. Grampa calms her down by explaining how God wants us to love others. Little Cub is confused because there are different kinds of love. Grampa explains what God expects of her and she asks God to help her show His love to others… even the otters.
This is the first children’s book I have read for review. The illustrations are well done, the characters are cute and lovable. The message is a good one for everyone to hear, since it reminds us that even when people do things we don’t like we should still endeavor to love them the way God does. Unconditionally.
As far as board books go, it seemed like it had a lot more words than a two to five year old would typically sit through, but it did explain love on a level children can understand.
God Gave Us Love is a book to read together with young children, though it may stretch beyond the attention span of the age group. The message is important and can stand to be repeated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Every Time We Show Love, We're Sharing God's Love

Date:December 12, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In God Gave Us Love by Lisa Tawn Bergren, Little Cub is on a fishing adventure when the interruptive otters scare the fish away, leading Little Cub to admit that liking the otters is sometimes hard. Grampa gently reminds Little Cub that spending time together and sharing love is far more important than catching fish. Thus begins Little Cub's lesson about God's great love and the different ways it is displayed in relationships.
God Gave Us Love is a super-cute book with an important message about God's love and the love we should have for others. Even as an adult, I could relate to Little Cub's ambivalence towards the otters. The message unconditional love shines through as Grampa and Little Cub discuss the love that God gives us and why He gives it to us. Although the book appears durable for children of younger ages, I recommend this book for children five or older. Younger children will enjoy the pictures, but I'm not sure if they would understand all of the concepts. My little one won't be here to test it out for a few more months, but I look forward to being able to share this story with my child when he or she arrives.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from WaterBrook Press as part of FIRST Wild Card Tours. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God Gave Us Love

Date:December 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful little book for chubby young hands! Great message explained so little ones can understand. Beautiful bright colors to draw their eyes to what is being talked about. Also delightful illustrations highlighting the great message in this book "God's Love!"
I highly recommend this book for the little ones in you life...ages 0 to 3.
I received this book from First Wild Card Tours and Waterbrook Press, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.