Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press The Necessity of an Enemy: How the Battle You Face Is Your Best Opportunity

WaterBrook Press The Necessity of an Enemy: How the Battle You Face Is Your Best Opportunity

Have you noticed that just as you begin walking on God's path, something comes along to detour you? Rejoice, says Carpenter, because "enemies" can provide opportunities for personal growth! Discover how God can use "opponents" to bring out the best in you and help you achieve success in your relationships, career, and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Necessity of an Enemy: How the Battle You Face Is Your Best Opportunity
Review 1 for The Necessity of an Enemy: How the Battle You Face Is Your Best Opportunity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
05kustom
Location:Greeley Colorado
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must read when your going through a tough time, saved a lot of money, I've bought 10books & 2 bibles this year
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Necessity of an Enemy: How the Battle You Face Is Your Best Opportunity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

How To Overcome Enemies And Reap Abundance

Date:September 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ron Carpenter, Jr. in his new book, “The Necessity of an Enemy” published by Waterbrook Press tells us How the Battle You Face Is Your Best Opportunity.
From the inside jacket flap: “Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.” — Jesus
Congratulations! Your Goliath Has Arrived.
Enemies often seem to get in the way of our plans, leaving us discouraged and disoriented. But what if these obstacles are a part of God’s plans for us?
Our enemies – whether our weaknesses, circumstances, deep-seated sins, other people, or any other challenge—can become our stepping stool to new breakthroughs in life, if we leverage the opportunity. Just as David’s encounter with Goliath transformed him from a delivery boy to a national hero, our enemies can be a blessing in disguise – if only we recognize and face them head-on.
Human nature tells us to flee our enemies, but Ron Carpenter will challenge you to embrace them. In The Necessity of an Enemy, Ron shares engaging insights like:
• God intended for every enemy to be your footstool for promotion.
• If you want to be number one, you can’t just beat number nine.
• The depth of your battle gives you insight into the greatness of the potential God put in you, and enemies are your key to unlocking that potential.
• All battles are fought over your future, not over your past or present circumstances.
Are you ready to reach your next goal in life? Do you want biblically-based wisdom to help defeat every enemy and move with confidence to your destiny? The Necessity of an Enemy will give you the tools to change your perspective – and find meaning and purpose in all of life’s trials.
When you read the Bible story of David at Ziklag you find that the enemy had burned the whole town, taken all the goods as well as the remaining people. David and his men have lost everything. He is brokenhearted and his men want to kill him. Then David rallies, asks God for restoration and God says it is his. So David and his men pursue the enemy, beat them, get everything and everyone back and much more in abundance. Without an enemy David would not have grown spiritually or succeeded in this area. It is sad to say but we need enemies. Enemies are the people, mindsets, weaknesses and situations that try to destroy our passion for God’s purpose and plans for our life. Enemies get us going, strengthen us as we fight them and then when we beat them provide us the spoils of victory. Pastor Carpenter has given us a book that will give us new thoughts of who our enemies are, why we have them and how to beat them. “The Necessity of an Enemy” is not a book that you will read once and then pack away. It is a book that will impact you on the first read and change you and then continue to change you with each subsequent re-read. It is that good! I recommend it highly!
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Necessity of an Enemy: How the Battle You Face Is Your Best Opportunity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rusty
Location:Douglasville, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not put the book down. It is perfect for everyday life and particularly pertains to a situation at my job at the moment. It helped me to realize not only who the enemy is and why and how to deal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Necessity of an Enemy: How the Battle You Face Is Your Best Opportunity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Keep it Simple Silly!

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ising4him
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a pastor of an arts ministry and a follower of (via the IChurch) Apostle Ron, I found that this boook reaches across many boundries that traditional biblical writings may not. I have a Doctor of Divinity degree, I have read books by famous theologians, I have discussed faith, the word, etc. but when I draw from this book for my own ministry, I seem to be able attract or "catch" more souls than I would coming from a purley theological educational perspective. I would recommend this book to any pastor/layperson who wants to connect across generations within their minstries.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Necessity of an Enemy: How the Battle You Face Is Your Best Opportunity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouraging!

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pilar Arsenec
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Necessity of an Enemy by Ron Carpenter Jr. is an interesting book. The title alone is inviting.
This book was full of a lot of wisdom, it was like reading a sermon a day. Ron Carpenter Jr. writes in a real and down to earth style. He shares all of the things he has learned in his spiritual journey. He presents things in a very matter of fact way and with humility.
I personally gleaned a lot from this book. Before reading this book, I didn't know who Ron Carpenter Jr. was. I didn't know anything about him actually, so it was refreshing for me to get to know him in his book.
Unfortunately, he has been through some pretty tough circumstances which he was completely candid about. Ron Carpenter Jr. shares his personal experiences and testimony in The Necessity of an Enemy. All the principles he writes about in his book, he has applied in his own life.
This book is very encouraging and teaches you a lot about adversity and overcoming the enemy in your life. I was inspired by Ron Carpenter's life and wisdom. He has spiritual insight based on all the trials and hardships he experienced. He generously shares how he overcame it in The Necessity of an Enemy.
My favorite chapters are "Seeing Is Not Believing", "Dream Killers" and "The Three Courts of Intimacy."
If you have been undergoing great conflict and difficulty in your Christian walk, I highly recommend this book. The Necessity of an Enemy will definitely encourage and inspire you.
In conclusion, I want to personally thank Waterbrook Multnomah for sending me this complimentary book to read and review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Necessity of an Enemy: How the Battle You Face Is Your Best Opportunity
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awesome and Encouraging

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
India Girl
Location:Virgina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ron Carpenter Jr. is a gifted writer. He is able to take difficult concepts and explain them in a blunt and honest way that is positive, uplifting and encouraging. He explains concepts with ease and yet at the same at expresses such profound thoughts that will make you pause and be in thought hours later.
From the first sentence until the last, Carpenter’s gift way of writing encourages and enlightens the reader and challenges a new perspective on why one faces persecution, suffering, and difficult situations and circumstances.
“The Necessity of an Enemy” is ideal for individual or small group study. Each chapter holds profound thoughts and challenges but they are short and concise, loaded with solid biblical teachings and lessons. Carpenter defends his ideas and perspective by referring to verses and lessons from the Bible.
Basically what Ron Carpenter Jr. is saying that there are three main reasons for bad things in your life...1) You are off track and God is helping you refocus on what is important, 2)You are on the right track and about to reach a new level with God but satan is doing all he can to distract you and/or discourage you, and 3) being persecuted is actually what it means to be blessed because if we are living as we should be, the world is going to hate us.
I would recommend this book to anyone who has or is currently facing difficulties in his/her life. This new perspective, that we are told to have in the Bible, will encourage and renew hope in the most hopeless and desperate of situations and circumstances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Necessity of an Enemy: How the Battle You Face Is Your Best Opportunity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Necessity of an Enemy

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
pirategrl1014
Location:Mesquite, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Necessity of an Enemy by Ron Carpenter Jr. has been a pure joy to read. I adore a good "pick yourself up by the boot straps" book and Mr. Carpenter delivers. The way he approaches who your enemies are and how you can recognize them for your benefit and the benefit of those around you is inspiring and unique.
We are all built with a fight or flight instinct when faced with adversities, troubles, or things that seem too overwhelming for us to deal with. All things to work together for the good of those who trust God, and in our trials and tribulations we are refined and perfected. We are given great examples of biblical people who stood in the face of adversity and fought for the sake of the downtrodden, the helpless, the weak, and ultimately for the kingdom of God. Great people such as David, Moses, Paul, Joseph and Jesus himself who was tempted by Satan, all had to face obstacles of great magnitudes that they felt and knew they could not overcome by themselves so they each leaned on a greater power stronger than anyone could imagine; the power of God. Ron captures this so eloquently in his book, The Necessity of an Enemy. When human nature tells us to run and flee from our enemies, Ron takes a different approach and tells us to run to the enemy. To embrace it and own it! Ron’s theme is basically this: "enemies are indicators, announcements, clues, that there's something great inside you yet to be born."
Leaning on insights such as all battles are fought for our future and not our past; that the battle you are facing is being used by God to give you insight to your strength and greatness God has instilled inside you, and the one I love the best is that our enemy is our footstool! I just love the imagery in that last one. It springs to mind my greatest obstacles underneath me, with me conquering it, not it conquering me.
While I read this book I found myself getting kinda angry and worked up. You see Ron has his own enemy he had to deal with and it was a great one that we have all faced at some point in our lives. The enemy is greed; greed looking to take advantage, to manipulate, to destroy and conquer you at any cost. Ron had to make a choice to face his enemy or run and tuck tail. He chooses to conquer it instead. Ron lost everything to a scam artist. His church, dignity, respect of his flock, the press mocked him, and the people in his own community and church who had loved him and sang of his love for the Lord, now mocked him, wrote hateful letters to him and shunned him. Ron could have given up, but instead he learned to lean on God even more and to now His plan is greater than ours. He used this opportunity to confront his enemy and learn from it, to re-prioritize his life and his ministry.
“Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.” Jesus
Have I peaked your interest? Do you want to read more? Well I have you covered. Simply click on any of the below links to find out more information on Ron and his book!
"I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review."
You can also follow along on my blog for this book review and others: Homeschooling Greene Style, www.pirategrl1014.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Necessity of an Enemy: How the Battle You Face Is Your Best Opportunity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Facing your Goliath ... and seeing him as a necess

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
PastorJim
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am an avid reader. In fact, I am, at all times, reading at least 3 books at the same time. Some consider this a flaw, but I consider it a gift.
I just finished reading The Necessity of an Enemy by Pastor Ron Carpenter Jr. of Greenville, SC. I fell in love with the book within one of its opening chapters where Carpenter tells his audience that he is from Possum Kingdom, SC. I know this area because it is my home too. Having grown up in Pelzer and Williamston, SC, and having gone to church in Possum Kingdom, I was immediately attracted to the “down home” or “back home” feel of the book.
Ron Carpenter Jr. and his wife, Hope, are the pastors of Greenville, SC’s only mega-church, Redemption World Outreach Center. They founded that church in 1991 with three members and determined to fight racism, rigid cultural lines, and poverty mentalities. They (being Davids) had a Goliath on their hands.
The gist of this book is that Carpenter uses an episode from his life to illustrate that God is at work in your life no matter what you are going through or what you are feeling at any given time. And he does this in a manner that is extremely transparent … even to the point of baring his and his family’s lives in ways that some might consider embarrassing. (Quite frankly, I found it honest and appealing … especially in the realization that NONE of us have it “all together.”)
One of the qualities of this book is found in its many, brief chapters. All chapters are around two to three pages and I consider it perfect for a bathroom read. (Figure that one out for yourself.) In the midst of his narrative, he also offers short, pithy statements in bold print that seed bold thoughts inside the reader. One such statement is “Everyday on earth you are actually becoming what you already are” (p. 41).Another is “To God, your life is a finished picture, beautifully painted on a canvas, and He is watching parts of it unfold every day” (p. 30). My copy of this book has many dog-eared pages where I continually returned to remind myself of the process God was taking me through.
I think one of the reasons I loved this book so well is that it came at a time in my life when I was in need and feeling deflated, betrayed, and pooped upon. Similar illustrations were clearly noted in Carpenter’s work where he experienced betrayal through the hands of someone whom he thought was trying to help him but who was actually “fleecing the flock.” And it all took place in a process where Carpenter and his church were attempting to bring ministry to needy people, including single moms, in the process of owning their own homes. Also in the process, Carpenter’s family name was smeared, many friends turned their backs on him, several in his church defected, and he and his family were tremendously wounded.
I was encouraged by the narrative and the report of how God brought the Carpenter family and Redemption World Outreach Center of Greenville, SC through this process. I was encouraged by the nuggets of wisdom distributed throughout the book. And further, I was encouraged by the change that I saw happening in my own life by allowing this story to be applied in my time of need.
I strongly recommend The Necessity of an Enemy by Ron Carpenter Jr. and I am already using it in my personal life as well in my teachings. I rate it 5 out of 5. I appreciate the brief chapters and I further appreciate his transparency. If this book does not connect with you now, go ahead and read it anyway; you WILL need to be reminded of its contents at some soon-coming time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Necessity of an Enemy: How the Battle You Face Is Your Best Opportunity
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good reading book

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
dianne
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i just started reading the book, but so far, it has been pretty interesting to me. love to read real life stories and try to see how some situations get resolved & also some of these stories have been witnessing to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Necessity of an Enemy: How the Battle You Face Is Your Best Opportunity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Intriguing Title that Drew me In

Date:March 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Juanita Wier Nobles
Location:DeSoto, MO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Necessity of an Enemy This title intrigued me. I could not imagine how the author would present his case to prove the title true. But as I began reading, Ron Carpenter's simple, conversational writing style drew me in. I finished the book in a day and a half.
Using scripture and personal experiences, the author explained how an enemy puts us in a position to lean more heavily on God. He tells us that fighting great battles lead to great victories, giving us greater possibilities for the future.
God has a plan for every person who ever lived or will live. Though it is human nature to flee from our enemies, Ron Carpenter encourages us to embrace them so we can reach the goal God planned for us from the beginning. As David may not have been known without Goliath, our enemies can be a stepping-stone to a breakthrough we may not have expected. Our battles can be blessings in disguise.
This inspirational book led me to turn the pages quickly, and made me think about battles in my life that led to victories. I would recommend this book for anyone, but especially for leaders and teachers.
This book was provided to me free from Waterbrook Multnoman for my honest review. It is a book I will donate to our church library, and I hope many in our church will read it and be blessed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Necessity of an Enemy: How the Battle You Face Is Your Best Opportunity
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enemy Opportunities

Date:March 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
pastor les
Location:Williamston,MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AS I began the book I wondered,"is it going to be worth the time to read it?" I wasn't far into the book when I saw YES it will be.
I appreciated the brief concise chapters.Too many authors are wordy. Ron is not.
I appreciated the Biblical spin on trouble,trials,and tribulations being enemies that when properly handled help mature us.
The book is practical and preachable.The chapter on "Fighting The Flesh" was good.
The application of Romans 13:14 was great. I have often used this passage on myself and in the pulpit ministry.
This sentence and I quote it verbatim,"That's why if you're struggling with a particle sin,you've got to separate yourself from it and make it impossible for your flesh to get it."This illustrates the good Biblical principles given throughout the book.
It was a good read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Necessity of an Enemy: How the Battle You Face Is Your Best Opportunity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Book

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Odessa Shupe
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this book to anyone that is facing opposition. If we stay focused on Jesus during hard times, then he will turn it around.....read the book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Necessity of an Enemy: How the Battle You Face Is Your Best Opportunity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Doedee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was easy reading and to the point using biblical resources to back it up. I found it to be inspirational and uplifting. The author used his life experiences to learn and teach from, which makes this book easy to relate to.
I recommend this book to anyone who is up against any enemies in their life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Necessity of an Enemy: How the Battle You Face Is Your Best Opportunity
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Necessity Of An Enemy: How The Battle You Face Is Your Best Opportunity is a book written by Ron Carpenter Jr. that serves to demonstrate how the "enemies" that come into our lives could end up being a blessing.
The premise or idea behind this book is highly relevant and Biblical. Our enemies, our difficulties, our sins, even our weaknesses, all have the ability to make us stronger and more focused on God if we can see and embrace their usefulness.
Do I recommend this book? As I read this book, on too many occasions I was left feeling as if something was missing. I have not ever come across a book of slightly more than 200 pages that was divided into 70 separate sections. These divisions, in my opinion, caused a division in the understanding of book's content and message.
Do I recommend this book? I recommend going to the local book store, reading a few chapters, and then deciding for yourself if it is worth purchasing.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.