Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HarperOne Holy Bible: From the Ancient Eastern Text

HarperOne Holy Bible: From the Ancient Eastern Text

Now presented in a handsome new edition: the classic version of The Holy Bible is translated directly from the Aramaic (Syriac) text - the language of Jesus - by renowed scholar George M. Lamsa. The translator grew upin the Middle East speaking Aramaic, steeped in a culture with customs, manners, and language almost identical to those in the time of Jesus. These resources are all brought to bear on his life's work of translating the Aramaic Scriptures - called the Peshitta - into English.

  • 9 point type
  • Double-column format
  • Words Resembling One Another
  • English Names and Their Aramaic Equivalents
  • 1 black and white map
  • 6" x 9" x 1 3/4"
  • Softcover
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Holy Bible: From the Ancient Eastern Text
Review 1 for Holy Bible: From the Ancient Eastern Text
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Bibles gives insight from another language.

Date:March 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
bill
Location:Shreveport, La
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is a translation of the Aramaic of the Peshitta. Many Bibles today including KJV and other modern translations use words in their translation that are not in the original Greek texts. Jesus knew Aramaic and read from the Aramaic version. He also preached from the Aramaic language. Remember the English Bibles were not around until the late 1300's. Sorry KJV only people. Original Languages are always better but we can get a good translation into English from other languages than Greek. A for instance. The word church is not in the Greek. The Greek word is ekklesia which means congregation or assembly. Church is a word that literally means building. See Shorter Oxford Dictionary. So when you ask me where I go to church you are asking me, What building do you go to. This word is only used in English Bibles. Unfortunately this Bible also uses church for ekklesia. UGH!
I enjoy seeing this Bible which was the language of Jesus. I do not see any conflict with most of today's versions. However I have conflict with some newer translations on the market. I also enjoy the insight this Bible offers. A very good buy. Just need a hard cover or leather cover.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Holy Bible: From the Ancient Eastern Text
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most excellent Bible!

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
hija del rey
Location:Redding, CA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looove getting the bona fide text from the original language Jesus spoke!!! Sheds so much light on vague or indecipherable texts! Excellent insights into the eastern culture through footnotes, too! Thanks a bazillion, George!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Holy Bible: From the Ancient Eastern Text
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Accurate information from an older bible text

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Curlbender
Location:Oakhurst, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was exactly what I was looking for. A friend had a copy, which I looked over and decided I wanted a copy for myself. I checked a few places and then found your site. Your store had it available and at a reasonable price.
I would recommend this copy of the Bible and this site for your Christian supplies. Thank you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Holy Bible: From the Ancient Eastern Text
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Reading excellent, only concern is the binding

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rhonda
Location:Moncton, NB Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am so grateful for this Bible. I realize there are many words with a different translation than KJV and as we know, WORDS are very important. Especially in the Lord`s prayer. This is a magnificent work and has stood the test of time with good reason. I love the ease of read in the text font & boldness as well. I miss the red lettering of Jesus, however, found that I can underline in color code, the information I want to find with ease later. My only concern is to how long the binding will last, but at this price, we have a wonderful book. Thank you so much for being there with these offers and the great selection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Holy Bible: From the Ancient Eastern Text
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Bible - well translated

Date:October 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
dale
Location:Adelaide, Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A few of my mystic friends have been using this book for a while, and since finding it on your web site, i've bought one, and i have encouraged others to buy the same.
Great translation and easy to read God bless and all the best with your purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Holy Bible: From the Ancient Eastern Text
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ann Sims
I heard a sermon on the Beatitudes that said the ancient Aramaic translation for what we know as "Blessed" is more closely "stand with". Wanting to know more, I searched out this bible and ordered it immediately. I was so disappointed that he uses the word "Blessed" instead of "Stand With" (or something else entirely), that I haven't looked any further in it. I didn't need another bible that carried on the poor translation traditions of the last two thousand years.
-7points
3of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Holy Bible: From the Ancient Eastern Text
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
gail limiecik
I really like this version, although I wish it came with a hard cover, or bonded leather. Also I wish it had the middle books that the catholics use. Did they not use them in the eastern churches?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Holy Bible: From the Ancient Eastern Text
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Erik B. Cowand
The text is very close to an Interlinear Bible, which pleases me, and surprises me. It is a wonderful addition to my Biblical library.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Holy Bible: From the Ancient Eastern Text
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jason
I would recommend this translation to any seasoned bible scholar. The translation reads more clearly than many and the typeface is crisp and bold. The explanation on Aramaic word similarities is excellent. I would like to have seen more commentary from the translator so as to gain a better understanding of Aramaic sayings and idioms. This would be helpful in determining the meaning of the original text.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Holy Bible: From the Ancient Eastern Text
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Humberto Rodriguez
Ever since my radical days, I have learn to go to the source and origins for the truth and the Holy Bible;From the Ancient Eastern Text has done exactly that.It clarifies passages that the others do not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Holy Bible: From the Ancient Eastern Text
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Josh Selley
A very good addition to any study library. Lamsa will open up the Word to you in a greater depth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Holy Bible: From the Ancient Eastern Text
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Pascharis
Couldn't have said it better than the previous reviewer. I highly recommend it for all biblical students, however, it must be read with caution just as any other "man's" work."While Lamsa"s translation is a welcome addition to any theological library, his work [Preface] must not be taken without question. Hundreds of years of outstanding biblical scholarship in the original languages cannot be dismissed on the word of one man, regardless of how much his work had benefited us. I would recommend his translation to all serious students of the Bible, but read it with caution!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Holy Bible: From the Ancient Eastern Text
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2005
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Boyd
After many years of confusion and much searching, it was so gratifying to FINALLY find and understand so much about the proper translation of many confusing passages--real clarity has arrived to so many passages! This version is worth twice the money and should be shared with everyone!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Holy Bible: From the Ancient Eastern Text
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2005
Customer Avatar
Michael Woodcock
While Lamsa"s translation is a welcome addition to any theological library, his work [Preface] must not be taken without question. Hundreds of years of outstanding biblical scholarship in the original languages cannot be dismissed on the word of one man, regardless of how much his work had benefited us. I would recommend his translation to all serious students of the Bible, but read it with caution!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Holy Bible: From the Ancient Eastern Text
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2002
Customer Avatar
Bruce Emery
What an eyeopener this was! For the first time in my Christian life I came to understand what REALLY happened with the preaching of the Gospel after Jesus Christ died. While the history of Christianity and its beginnings are recorded as the Gospel went to the West, there was also a history of the Gospel being taken to the East. Lamsa opens this important information up to us in his Introductory and Preface material. It has totally changed my understanding on much of the New Testament. He, for the first time, gives us the WHOLE story. The "original writings" of the Scriptures were NOT done in Hebrew and Greek as we have been told. The Old Testament was written in Hebrew and Aramic. The New Testament was written primarily in Aramic (the native language of Jesus and the apostles) who neither knew nor understood Greek. At the advent of Jesus the Romans occupied their land. If they would have known any foreign language at all it would have been Latin...NOT Greek! If you only purchase this Bible for the Preface material alone you will be most handsomely rewarded! The bonus is the translation!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Holy Bible: From the Ancient Eastern Text
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2001
Customer Avatar
Chet O.
I enjoy reading this book, because it is easy to understand. In some places it does not conform to established religious norms. I think that is a big plus. People who have lived and spoke the same language as Christ, should know how to correctly translate the original bible that was written in the same language.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.