Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print Books #3: Licensed for Trouble, Large Print

Center Point Large Print Books #3: Licensed for Trouble, Large Print

PJ Sugar receives shocking news that she's inherited the Kellogg family mansion. Though she has no idea why, the timing is perfect-PJ has clearly worn out her welcome at her sister's house. Unfortunately, the mansion is in shambles, and PJ is short on cash. Rescue comes in the form of Max Smith, a mysterious handyman willing to trade his services for PJ's investigative skills. But PJ already has a full docket with cramming for her PI license and nurturing a growing romance with her boss, Jeremy Kane. Can she take on Max's case without dropping the ball?
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #3: Licensed for Trouble, Large Print
Review 1 for #3: Licensed for Trouble, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderfully entertaining!

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anne
Location:KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mom had checked this book out at the library and after reading the back cover, I decided to try it. I was pleasantly surprised. I am used to reading historical fiction and wasn't sure if I'd like the more contemporary/suspense stuff. (Sorry, I probably shouldn't describe it as stuff.) Anyway, I finished it in one afternoon. That should tell you something about it. I just couldn't put it down. P.J. was a likeable heroine and I totally loved Jeremy. The only problem for me was that it is the third book in a series, and since I hadn't read the other two, every once in a while they would talk about something I had no clue about. This didn't really affect the story, though. If you want to read it without reading the others in the series you should have no problem. The writing was witty and fun, the suspense in the story wasn't overwhelming, but enough to keep you interested, and there was enough romance to satisfy those of us who love that kind of stuff, yet the author didn't go overboard with it. Very well done. I will undoubtedly look for more books by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #3: Licensed for Trouble, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Good Uplifting Book

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jan Marie
Location:Indiana
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susan has a very engaging writing style that quickly draws the reader into the pages of her books. There is suspense and tension sprinkled with just the right amount of humor to let you relax and yet still keep you engrossed. The characters are well-contrived and likable. The plot is fairly basic but has enough twists and turns that you don't get from point A to point B without first following a very circuitous path.
Throughout the pages of the book, PJ, who was adopted by her family, often questions her roots and wonders about whom she is and where she came from. When she becomes the heir to the Kellogg estate, questions whose answers have remained hidden for years begin coming to light. Even though PJ is unsure of her earthly origins, she is solid in her belief in the important fact; that she is an heir of Christ, and a child of the King. This Biblical principal is displayed in the book of Romans, chapter 8, verse 17: "And if children, then heirs; heirs of God, and joint-heirs with Christ; if so be that we suffer with him, that we may be also glorified together." (KJV)
Even though this was the third book in the series and I haven't yet read the first two, I was easily able to follow along with the plot without feeling that I was missing anything. True, there were numerous references to events in the earlier books that would have perhaps given me a greater understanding of the characters and their role in PJ's life; however, the deficit was not sufficient to make me feel that I could not follow along with the story.
When I look at the impressive list of previous books by Susan, I am astounded that this is the first book of hers that I have been privileged to read. However, from my experience with Licensed for Trouble, I can promise that it will not be my last. I will be on the lookout for past and future books by Susan May Warren to add to my collection. I heartily recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a fun, yet suspenseful, experience.
I received this book as a Goodreads First Read book. I was in no way obligated to provide a positive review and all statements contained herein are my honest opinion. I received no compensation in any form for providing my review. The book was provided by Tyndale House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #3: Licensed for Trouble, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fun Light-Hearted Mystery

Date:February 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: Licensed For Trouble - PJ Sugar series Book #3- Susan May Warren - July 2010
Wanting a nice light-hearted mystery series thats like Nancy Drew for adults and in between Veronica Mars and The Bounty Hunter ? PJ Sugar is one that's nickname has always been NBT - Nothing But Trouble , being adopted PJ has always known that she is one destined for trouble and unlike the rest of the Sugar family. However when PJ is outwitted by a bail jumper and photographed with handcuffs on, it is the start of something new . PJ Sugar has just been announced the sole heiress to the Kellogg estate , yes the town they live in is called Kellogg- like the cereal. The Kellogg family and Sugar family have a dark secret , one that has for many years been kept hidden but now that Allegra Kellogg has passed away, it's about to come in light- PJ Sugar's mother was a Kellogg. Ontop of this, her new handyman has no idea of who he is and PJ Sugar finds herself on a case to find out his true identity . Can PJ Sugar whose known for leaving trouble wherever she goes , solve two mysteries and try and sort out her personal life as well - as PJ has two guys after her - Detective Boone and PI Jeremy Kane ? Which one will PJ end up falling fall and choosing ?
A fun mystery novel filled with PI antics , family issues, relationships and trying to keep out of mischief.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #3: Licensed for Trouble, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
brenda
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i am really enjoying this book, i think her PJ Sugar books get better with each new one written. I hope she keeps this series going for awhile.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #3: Licensed for Trouble, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Licensed for Trouble by Susan May Warren is the third book in the PJ Sugar series. PJ is still sleeping on the couch in the private detective agency where she works with Jeremy Kane while she tries to earn her PI license and battles her growing feelings for Jeremy. She learns that the town's matriarch has died and left PJ the family estate in her will. The house needs tons of work, so PJ hires Max Smith who agrees to fix up the house if PJ can discover his identity. Warren has packed so much story into this book, it's impossible to give it a simple label. PJ is torn between her high school sweetheart Boone and Jeremy who loves the woman she's becoming, so it has plenty of romance. PJ's inheritance brings up some long buried questions about her adoption, so there's family drama, and her investigation of an old murder that took place at her newly acquired house as well as into amnesiac Max's history adds plenty of mystery. Warren, who has written several series before, is really at her best with PJ. The writing is light-hearted but with incredible depth and PJ tries to find her place in the world. Her family dynamics are fraught with a tension many readers will relate to. PJ is a fantastic heroine, and I always look forward to reading what she's up to. She's completely unpredictable which makes for terrific reading. Warren's series is filled with heart, danger, and faith: a potent mix.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #3: Licensed for Trouble, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2010
I've read all three of the PJ Sugar books and this was my favorite. Personally I liked the mystery more in this one, but the first two are definitely more comical. I really like how the author had you basically liking both heroes, but eventually the one did get the edge. That was great writing as you really wanted to know who was she going to choose. They were similar men in many ways but one just had a better view of PJ. I got in in the mail yesterday and finished it last night. I highly recommend the series as you can see the characters grow. Personally you will not understand Boone and Jeremy as much if you don't read the first two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #3: Licensed for Trouble, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2010
I enjoyed the first two books in the series, but there was something about this one that really pulled me in. (And if you're not a fan of series, don't worry...you can read this one on it's own and not be lost).This book opens with PJ homeless and unsure if she'll ever find her place in Kellogg. She's trying to become a private investigator, but her boss keeps getting in her way. And don't even get her started on her love life. She's finally broken up with...again...her high school flame who happens to adorn the tattoo on her shoulder, but her boss is keeping her guessing. Did he mean the kiss or not? Then she inherits the Kellogg mansion, a house she's always dreamed about, but now that she owns it, it could be more money pit than Sleeping Beauty's castle.This book pulls together the spiritual thread of the others in a much more vibrant way. It's not overwhelming, but one that I think many of us can relate to. Is it possible to change who we've been in the past? Or should we accept that we can never change? Can we change the labels others have put on us? Or are we doomed to live a life where we continually hear those names, good and bad, over and over again?And as Susie is wont to do, she takes PJ through those questions in a way that gives the reader hope without banging them over the head with theology and scripture.And you have to love PJ. She's not perfect...and oh does she know it. But she's trying to live a life that gets better each day. She's so aware of her mistakes and she just wants to break free. Even though this is the part of the plot I've focused on, know that the mystery is wonderful. I loved the way that all these different threads wove together into a story I couldn't put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #3: Licensed for Trouble, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2010
Licensed for Trouble brings closure to this series with a BANG! PJ has trouble coming from all directions! I love PJ's personality! Her amazing adventures! Not to mention her pizazz and yet vulnerability. I love Susan's writing style. She always seems to suck me into her characters and make me feel like I'm a part of the story!(this may be a spoiler, I'm not sure LOL.. so read with caution just in case!)This book in particular out of the series has got to be my favorite. I love the thread of "new life" that comes through this book with the characters. I was actually surprised by it, but in a good way. Anyone looking for a great read, check it out! And if you haven't read the whole series I totally suggest it. One of my favorite romantic/sleuthing/chick lit read series.**review copy provided
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for #3: Licensed for Trouble, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
TE
This was a fun story and had a couple of good storylines to it. I like this series because PJ is a fun character, and you can relate to her. However, this book was a bit too heavy on her self-doubt, and it started to get old. Also, although you could read this without having read the others, you would be lost on some of it. There wasn't much background given, so if you didn't read the first two, you might not have the same understanding about the Boone/Jeremy/PJ relationship and PJs life in general. I do recommend reading all of the books in the series because they are interesting and comical.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.