Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press The Bride Wore Blue, Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series #3

WaterBrook Press The Bride Wore Blue, Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series #3

Back east in Portland, Maine, Vivian Sinclair made a bad choice that follows her to Cripple Creek, Colorado, where her sisters have found husbands and made a home. The shame she carries with her is powerful and she struggles to accept forgiveness from the Lord. Vivian sees limited choices for her future...and marriage isn't one of them.

When most employers find Vivian unworthy as well, she is forced to accept a hostess job at a prestigious sporting parlor. Her decision appears to work out well until an outlaw shows up, violence breaks out and a death occurs. Vivian could be next, so she flees into the night only to be captured by the dangerous outlaw. Will the sheriff's deputy find Vivian? When he discovers her true identity, will he be able to forgive her secrets and lies?

Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
19 out of 2095%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Bride Wore Blue, Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series #3
Review 1 for The Bride Wore Blue, Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

WONDERFUL CONCLUSIONG TO THE SINCLAIR SISTERS...

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
THE BRIDE WORE BLUE by Mona Hodgson is an interesting inspirational Americana historical romance set in Cripple Creek, Colorado. #3 in the "Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek" series,but can be read as a stand alone. See,"Two Brides Too Many" and "Too Rich For a Bride". Vivian is the youngest Sinclair sister with a secret. She feels no one will very love her. Everyone has left her behind including her beloved sisters and her father. What she finds is trouble with Deputy Carter Alwyn.Filled with danger,healing,faith,forgiveness, community and love. A wonderful conclusion to the "Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek" trilogy. Received for an honest review from the publisher. For more information visit the author's website,Waterbrook Press,and My Book Addiction and More.
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Bride Wore Blue, Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great historical fiction book

Date:October 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Real Mobo
Location:Brandon, MS
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Book Description
At last, the sisters are reunited! The youngest Sinclair, the family“ baby”, is moving from Maine to Cripple Creek, Colorado and joining Kat, Nell, and Ida. But Vivian is a young woman with a will of her own, and made some decisions back in Portland that have begun to haunt her. Will she be able to live up to the expectations of her three perfect and now happily-settled sisters?
The sisters warmly welcome Vivian to the mountain west, but the wild-and-woolly mining town isn’t ripe with opportunities for a respectable young woman. The youngest Sinclair sister is determined to make her own way, so when she’s off ered a job as a hostess in a sporting house, she takes it, thinking the position is appropriate for a tainted, unlovable woman like herself. Although she’s convinced she’ll never be asked to entertain privately, Vivian keeps her employment a secret from her sisters, knowing they’d be mortified—as will Carter Alwyn, the kind and godly sheriff ’s deputy who’s sweet on her.
Vivian is descending into a life of secrets, lying to the very people who love her and could help her heal from her mistakes. Will an outpouring of grace remind her that she is still God’s beloved and that her past can be washed as clean as Rocky Mountain snow?
My Review
I really enjoyed getting to know the Sinclair sisters through the author's book and look forward to reading future books in this series. Her writing is true to the era, but easy to read and easy to visualize yourself in Cripple Creek in the late 1800s. Vivian and her sisters are very believable characters and the story is interesting although the theme of the book, as so many Christian novels, is one of guil/shamet, forgiveness (one's self), finding grace and finding love again. Of course, the love story was a bit predictable but I still enjoyed reading it and would recommend it for lovers of historical fiction.
Read an excerpt here.
NOTE: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Bride Wore Blue, Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Well written, but story fell flat

Date:September 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
simplysusan
Location:central Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WaterBrook Press (Blogging for Books) recently sent me a copy of The Bride Wore Blue by Mona Hodgson to read and review. The Bride Wore Blue is a 288 page Christian romance novel. It also contains a Readers Guide as well as a preview of her upcoming book Twice a Bride, available in October 2012. It is the third book in The Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek series. A while back, I read the first book in this series; Two Brides Too Many and really enjoyed it.
I enjoy Mona Hodgson’s writing style, but I don’t thing this book was quite up to her normal standards. I enjoyed the plot alright, it it was just that: alright. There was nothing really special about the book or the plot. The plot was very predictable and similar to other books I have read. I also felt the the book just dragged on and on and was very slow in the beginning. Then when the “action” finally took place, it was rushed through. I also found it really hard to believe that none of her sisters would have helped her more in finding a job or even offer her a job, especially when they are supposedly so close. The story was predictable and I feel that the relationship between Vivian and Carter was rushed and the chemistry just lacking between them. It just didn’t seem that their romance was well developed. Overall, I think Mona Hodgson writes well, but this book just didn’t work for me. I really wanted to like The Bride Wore Blue, but for me it fell flat.
NOTICE:
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this item free from the creator. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Bride Wore Blue, Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Bride Wore Blue is a Story of Redemption

Date:September 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Bride Wore Blue
By Mona Hodgson
The Bride Wore Blue is the third book in the Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek series. Vivian is joining her three older sisters in Cripple Creek, Colorado. But Vivian has a secret that she is hiding, a secret that could make her sisters turn their backs on her if they ever found out.
But just before the train arrives in Cripple Creek bandits rob the train and Vivian accidentally trips on e of them. Using her skills for costume design, Vivian sketches the bandits clothing but Deputy Carter Alwyn is more interested in the physical build of the men then their clothing.
Vivian is warmly welcomed by her sisters, their husbands, and Miss Hattie. Vivian takes a room at Miss Hattie's but she needs a job to pay for her room and board. But Vivian's job search is not making much headway and she is determined to stand on her own two feet and not be the "baby" of the family any longer. But when the two jobs she does find don't work out she takes a job as a day hostess at the local sporting house. Now Vivian has another secret to keep from her sisters - after all they don't need to know just how low she has fallen.
Vivian is convinced that she has forever ruined her chance for love, marriage and a family. Can she ever forgive herself? Will she allow God to forgive and heal her? Soon Vivian's independent stubbornness gets her into more trouble than she has ever been in. With her life on the line will she ever get the chance to admit her mistakes to those who love her or will she die before she can seek redemption?
The Bride Wore Blue is a look at the relationships we have in our lives. Family is one of the most important we can have after our relationship with God. It is also a look at the importance of seeking forgiveness and not compounding our sins by trying to hide them from those in our lives. Nothing is ever hidden from God and He sees our heart. Give it to Him, He can restore you if you just ask.
I received this book for free as part of the Blogging for Books program from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Bride Wore Blue, Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another Heartwarming story of the Sinclair Sisters

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Loves2Read
Location:Morton, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have now read all three of The Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek stories to date. This third book in the series gives the reader an in-depth look at the "baby" of the family, Vivian. I felt like Vivian had been a typical spoiled baby sister, wanting her own way before she went to join her older sisters in Cripple Creek, and had learned some hard life lessons in a very difficult way. Though she seemed to be more mature and to have learned from the mistakes in her past, she seemed to continue to resent her older sister's influence in her life at times, and I think it led to her making more mistakes that could possibly been avoided if she would have just taken the time to talk with one or more of them.
This realistic sibling dynamic made the story much more enjoyable for me, as well as the estranged romance between Vivian and Deputy Alwyn. The overwhelming lesson of forgiveness, faith and acceptance is an integral part of the story from beginning to end. This heartwarming story is one that shows how forgiveness, love, and family loyalty can help overcome difficult circumstances. I also enjoyed the mystery and danger involved that gave the wild west type feel to this story that I really like.
This is a good christian fiction romance, with some wild west outlaws, soiled doves, train robbery and so much more excitement thrown in the mix. Although it can be read alone, I do recommend reading the first two books in the series first in order to get to know many of the other characters in this story.
**I received a copy of this book for review purposes only from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group through the Blogging for Books program. I was in no way required to write a positive review. All my reviews are my honest and personal opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Bride Wore Blue, Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of my new favorites

Date:August 15, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a fairly new reader to Mona Hodgson. I only discovered her less than a year ago, I think, but I thoroughly have enjoyed her books. I love the step back in time and the I honestly think her covers to her books are appealing. (I'm a cover person and although I know not to judge a book by its cover, it sure does to help when a book has an appealing cover!)
This is the third book in the Brides of Cripple Creek series. I have not read all of the books in this series, but I don't feel like I missed out on anything. I am definitely going to buy the rest of the series so that I can feel in some gaps where I'm sure the extra information would be nice.
Vivian wants to be a good girl, like her sisters, and takes steps to try to put her "badness" aside. However, things seem to keep tripping her up. Who knew decision making could be so hard! For some reason, she is attracted to making the wrong decisions where she feels a spiral down to where she feels worthless. Will she finally realize once and for all the key behind making wise decisions? Will she give her heart to Him?
I love the plot to this book because it is so realistic and deals with things we deal with everyday. Not necessarily in the sense of the time period, but we deal with these same issues in our lives and in the lives of our loved ones. I love the honesty, frustration, and at times, the heartache, that Mona leads her readers to experience as they turn the pages in the book.
_____________
I received this book free from the Blogging for Books program in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Bride Wore Blue, Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Bride Wore Blue

Date:July 23, 2012
Vivian Sinclair moved to Cripple Creek, Colorado with dreams of becoming a fashion designer. Her three older sisters lived there and had found success in the boom town. The problem standing in the way of her dreams was her past. She was sure she didn't deserve to be happy because of a mistake she made back in Maine.
When job after job didn't work out, Vivian found herself submerged in a role that blurred the lines of the truth and lies. Vivian was turning farther and farther away from God. Every decision she made put her one more step out of His will.
Cripple Creek's Deputy, Carter Alwyn, also had trouble letting go of the past. His father was killed while doing his job as a sheriff. Carter couldn't step out of his father's shadow. Still, Carter was growing closer to God. He was seeking God's will for his life.
The growing town of Cripple Creek and it's townspeople are described in such a way that you know you're reading about the late 1800's. The dress of the people and the sights and surroundings of the area are shown well through words. The author doesn't let the reader know everything up front. Slowly the story unfolds and more and more is discovered about the characters. The subplot of bandits in the area that seems to be minor changes into a bigger story that involves death and kidnapping by the end.
Vivian and Carter always had the past on their minds. Some people may find it unrealistic how they were so obsessed with it. Vivian could come off as a little snobby. She critiqued everyone's style of dress and wanted to change it. Vivian and Carter had an instant attraction to one another. But they let their pasts kept them apart. There is very little romance in this story because of this.
Vivian's three sisters, Ida, Kat and Nell's stories from the previous books in the series continue but take a back seat to Vivian's story. I enjoyed the subplot with Nell and her husband's struggle to have children. Hattie owns the boardinghouse where Vivian is staying. She is like a mother to all the Sinclair Sisters.
The Bride Wore Blue is story of forgiveness - giving it and receiving it. God's grace is bigger than our mistakes. If you enjoy inspirational stories be sure to check out this book.
The Sinclair Sisters Of Cripple Creek Series:
Book 1 Too Brides to Many
Book 2 Too Rich for A Bride
Book 3 The Bride Wore Blue
Book 4 Twice a Bride - to be released in October 2012
I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Bride Wore Blue, Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good redemptive themed story

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A story about how it's never too late to make the right choice.
Vivian, the youngest of the Sinclair sisters comes to Cripple Creek to join her three sisters and to flee her past. But what starts out so innocently turns into a bigger mess than Vivian could have imagined. Each step making it harder to make the right choice.
There is also the sheriff, Carter Alwyn, what will he think when he finds out about her secrets?
Third in the Brides of Cripple Creek series, fans of the series will be happy to finally read about the youngest Sinclair sister. While it is not absolutely necessary that you read the first two books first, I believe that it would be extremely helpful. I read the first book, so I knew about two of the sisters, but I haven't read the second book yet, so I had some catching up to do!
There were times that I will honestly say that this book was difficult to read, when Vivian kept making more and more bad choices. I just wanted to be able to tell her, "No, please don't do that!" But this story had a surprisingly powerful message, that no matter how many mistakes she made, and the harder it got to get out, she still had a choice, and she could always turn to the Lord.
One of the side stories that I really appreciated was the one of Nell (one of the sisters from the first book) and her husband, who wanted children, but it just wasn't happening for them. But of course, if you want to know what happens you'll have to read and find out :)
Overall this was a terrific read! I loved how it updated me on the former characters, yet introduced new ones. This was a pretty riveting read considering how I read this book in less than one day, in a 4 hour sitting, to be more exact! And I will most certainly be picking up the second book as soon as can. The Bride Wore Blue is a book I would happily recommend, it is definitely a book that sticks with you long after the last page is turned down.
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Bride Wore Blue, Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bride Wore Blue, the third novel in the Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek series by Mona Hodgson, is a story to which many women today can relate. It tells the story of the youngest Sinclair sister, Vivian, who has made some serious mistakes and believes that she is forever worthless because of them.
Vivian Sinclair’s train is robbed on her way to Cripple Creek. Because she is a witness, she meets Carter Alwyn, the sheriff’s deputy working on the case. Trying for a fresh start, Vivian applies for and even begins many jobs, but ends up unemployed and desperate to make it on her own without the assistance of her three sisters. In the end, she begins work as a hostess in a house of ill repute, only to discover a dead body and find herself kidnapped by the men who robbed the train she arrived on.
I enjoyed reading this book. It was an easy read with a message that each of us can relate to: we are worth much to God, even though we are sinners. I found myself relating a little to each of the characters in this book. They exhibit emotions and reactions that are true of many real-life people each of us already know. I would definitely recommend this book.
Kara
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Bride Wore Blue, Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Book 3

Date:July 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bride Wore Blue by Mona Hodgson
The Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Book 3
Vivian Sinclair is the youngest sister and the last to make the trip to Cripple Creek, Colorado. Her three older sisters have all found love and happiness but Vivian hoped she could just hone her skill of a designer so she could move on to New York or perhaps Paris. She made a huge error in judgment that she knew cost her the love of a good man. And unfortunately even after the move her poor judgment continued in her choice of work. Decisions of her past kept her from any future, especially with the handsome deputy.
Carter Alwyn liked the spunky newcomer the minute she stood up to him on the train when he came to ask questions about the robbery. Too bad he would never take a wife as long as he was a lawman. A beauty like Vivian Sinclair had him second guessing his career choice. Could two people let go of their pasts and have a new future?
I really enjoyed this book. The author wrote a moving story on how God can forgive our sins and give us freedom from the past….even if others don’t. The story also shows how Vivian’s pride leads her down an even darker road than what she was on. How when we compare ourselves to others, we most likely won’t live up to it. A well rounded story of love, forgiveness, adventure and prayers answered in unexpected ways. The first books in this series are: Two Brides Too Many, Too Rich for a Bride and the fourth book will be Twice a Bride.
**Received from Edelweiss for review
http://justjudysjumbles.blogspot.com/2012/02/waterbrook-multnomah-publishing-group.html
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Bride Wore Blue, Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

an amazing novel

Date:June 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bride Wore Blue by Mona Hodgson is an intriguing historical novel. The third book in the Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek tells the story of Vivian, the youngest of 4 sisters. The choices she made both before the novel starts and during, are not the best choices, but understandable and definitely a part of the story. This novel is about unconditional love and forgiveness, as well as not judging others.
I loved Vivian with her spunk, and her insecurities, as well as her resourcefulness and desires to not be beholden to her sisters. How she didn't give up just because the first job she tried for did not work for her and that she did not look to a man to fulfill her.
Carter grows from a man blaming a prostitute for his father's death, to realizing that all people have reasons for doing what they do, and that it does not mean that God's Love and Forgiveness is not for them. Vivian's sisters are great characters, and I would love them for my own. I have not read the other sister's stories, but would like to go back and read them. Not because they need to be read in order to have this own make sense, but because I have found a great author in Mona and would love to read more of her novels.
I received this book free from Waterbrook Press through their Blogging for Books program in exchange for an honest review, which you have here. The opinions stated are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Bride Wore Blue, Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romance, Secrets and Forgiveness = Great Read

Date:June 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mona Hodgson in her new book, “The Bride Wore Blue” Book Three in The Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek series published by WaterBrook Press brings us into the life of the fourth Sinclair sister, Vivian.
From the back cover: Headed toward a fresh start but tethered by her past, Vivian longs to break free, to find forgiveness and love.
At last, the sisters are reunited! The youngest Sinclair, the family“ baby”, is moving from Maine to Cripple Creek, Colorado and joining Kat, Nell, and Ida. But Vivian is a young woman with a will of her own, and made some decisions back in Portland that have begun to haunt her. Will she be able to live up to the expectations of her three perfect and now happily-settled sisters?
The sisters warmly welcome Vivian to the mountain west, but the wild-and-woolly mining town isn’t ripe with opportunities for a respectable young woman. The youngest Sinclair sister is determined to make her own way, so when she’s offered a job as a hostess in a sporting house, she takes it, thinking the position is appropriate for a tainted, unlovable woman like herself. Although she’s convinced she’ll never be asked to entertain privately, Vivian keeps her employment a secret from her sisters, knowing they’d be mortified—as will Carter Alwyn, the kind and godly sheriff ’s deputy who’s sweet on her.
Vivian is descending into a life of secrets, lying to the very people who love her and could help her heal from her mistakes. Will an outpouring of grace remind her that she is still God’s beloved and that her past can be washed as clean as Rocky Mountain snow?
As human beings what is the one thing we all like to keep? The answer, secrets. What is the one thing that God knows that we should not keep because it is detrimental to, not only our health, but our relationships as well? You guessed it, secrets. When Vivian Sinclair comes to Cripple Creek to settle down what is the one thing she brings a lot of? Of course, secrets. Ms. Hodgson does a wonderful job of showing us how Vivian’s secrets affect her relationship with her sisters, Deputy Carter Alwyn and her choices. ”The Bride Wore Blue” is more than just a great romance it is a story about guilt, bad choices and forgiveness. Vivian makes huge mistakes and it takes God to work out everything in both her life and Carter’s. Not only that Ms. Hodgson gives us some excitement and adventure in this story as well. Ms. Hodgson gets us caught up in the story and the characters to the point that we actually hate to say goodbye to them when the book ends. The good news is that the fourth book in the series is coming soon.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Press for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Bride Wore Blue, Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

an engaging historical Christian romance

Date:June 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
mustlovetoread
Location:Newport VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bride Wore Blue
By Mona Hodgson
I will keep this book to read over and over! The Bride Wore Blue is a book about guilt, forgiveness, and trust. This is book 3 in the Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek series. You do not need to read the first 2 books to read this one, but once you finish this book, you’ll want to go back and read the others to read about the other sisters. In this book, the other sisters have returned to Cripple Creek and are married. Now the baby of the family has come home.
Vivian Sinclair has a past she is hiding from. She doesn’t want anyone to know what she has endured. No one can possibly love her for the things she has done. One lie leads to another and pretty soon, no one knows the real Vivian. Carter Alwyn is the sheriff’s deputy of Cripple Creek. Can he convince Vivian to trust him with her secrets? Will Vivian’s past release its hold on her so she can have a future basking in God’s love and Carter’s arms? Can Vivian learn to forgive herself?
This book is for anyone who enjoys a great Christian western with romance, humor, and characters who learn from their mistakes and embrace God’s grace and mercy in their lives. The sisters and the inhabitants of the town become people you care about. Once you read this book, you will want to read others by Mona Hodgson!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Bride Wore Blue, Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lady Di
Location:Winston Salem, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been waiting to read about the last Sinclair sister. This book had a lot of twists and turns. Of course it had some romance too. I've already recommended this book to friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Bride Wore Blue, Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
debbiedeefisher
Location:comstock, NE
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This latest book that I rec'd from Waterbrook is another winner. I had reviewed the book in this sequel before this and loved this one as well. I love Mona's style of writing. You just don't want to put the book down.
The Bride Wore Blue is about the youngest of the Sinclair sisters coming to Cripple Creek, CO. It is 1897 and Vivian is looking for a fresh start, but her past haunts her. She is living a secret afraid that her sisters won't be able to forgive her.
This book is filled with lots of action including a kidnapping by the outlaws, forgiveness, willing to forgive oneself, learn from mistakes and move on.
"I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Bride Wore Blue, Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Entertaining!

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Grace is sometimes found in the most unlikeliest of hearts.
Vivian Sinclair, talented seamstress and artist, relocated to Cripple Creek, Colorado at the request of her sisters. At her arrival the reunion holds promises and surprises. The town seemed hospitable enough to Vivian but she is in desperate need of work. A majority of her prospects for a source of income seemed invaluable, but when an opportunity presents itself to her in an area of questionable location she keeps this new venture from her sisters which does prove to be quite difficult indeed.
Carter Alwyn, Sheriff Deputy, is doing his part to keep his town safe but even the best of intentions has its challenges. In his search for an outlaw Carter discovers something truly more valuable, but could he lose more than his badge in the process?
A steadily, well flowing novel that proved to be quite entertaining! A stand alone novel,and although this is the third book in the series, of which I have not read the ones prior, I was able to start fresh not knowing the history previously. Promising drama, romance and justice this book will capture the reader's attention. Scenery and dialogue worked well and the down to earth characters were well developed. I found the overall message inspiring and would recommend this book to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Bride Wore Blue, Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Allowing God's Forgiveness

Date:May 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another wonderful visit with the Sinclair sisters and a return to Cripple Creek CO.
We begin our journey with the youngest sister Vivian and Aunt Alma on the train, soon to arrive at Cripple Creek....and then the adventure and life changing adventure begins. The train is being robbed, and Vivian accidentally trips one of the bandits.
She is hoping to obtain a job as a fashion designer, and puts her talent to work in describing these hooligans. She meets the Deputy, who takes her statement, and her heart...Carter Alywn.
Be ready for a lot of action, and warm family reunions. You will feel so sorry for Vivian as she tries to find employment. She does make so very bad decisions, but who doesn't at such a young age?
Am so thankful that Mona Hodgson is giving us another installment, and wonderful visit to come with this great family, and I include Aunt Hattie in this family.
Throughout this book there is a reliance on God....and we find out that nothing is to big for him to Forgive.
I received this book from the Publisher Waterbrook Press though their blogging for books program, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Bride Wore Blue, Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series #3
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

The Bride Wore Blue

Date:May 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
StoryGirl
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I admit that I did not read the book description before agreeing to review this book (Our computer had a virus, so it was making it very difficult to read certain sites). When I received the book, I really wasn't sure about it because from the blurb on the back of the book I didn't know exactly how...clean...it would be. Thankfully, though the plotline is such that I wouldn't recommend this to younger readers, there wasn't anything explicit or inappropriate in this book. Still, it did make me rather uncomfortable at times, knowing that Vivian was working in, well, a brothel- even if she was only serving drinks.
This is a third book in a series, and I haven't read the other books. Even so I wasn't confused, though I think it would be a good idea to read the other two books before trying this one, simply because I think you would get to know the characters better. In this book...I just didn't really care a whole lot for the characters. Sometimes Vivian downright annoyed me for being so hardheaded, and the romance I felt was a little wanting. It was kind of like the two characters met...and then they meet again and they were falling in love. There just didn't seem to be a process to their relationship. All of a sudden it just...was.
Anyway, this book wasn't horrible...but I just didn't care for it.
I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Bride Wore Blue, Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Bride Wore Blue

Date:May 16, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The train ride into Cripple Creek, Colorado is not what Vivian Sinclair and her aunt expected-a robbery and a close encounter with the thieves.
Vivian was coming to Colorado to meet up with her 3 sisters and to have a fresh start. After a painful relationship in Maine, she was ready to start anew. The first problem she encounters is that no one is hiring. She looks all over town and finds there is nothing that she is qualified to do. She is ready to give up, when suddenly she finds an opportunity to work as a hostess in a local brothel. She has no idea what this “opportunity” will entail.
Take a journey with Vivian as she will come to find that only God can wash her from her painful past.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Bride Wore Blue, Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

choose carefully

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has been a while since I read Two Brides Too Many and I somehow missed Too Rich For a Bride, but that did not detract at all from my enjoyment of this latest novel in the series. Vivian Sinclair is the baby sister of the bunch and she has finally made her way to Cripple Creek, Colorado, to join her other three sisters. She has missed her sisters terribly and can’t wait to be near them again but that is not her only objective in moving. She is trying to make a new start for herself after suffering a broken heart and she is ready to try her wings at becoming a clothing designer. But nothing goes as she has planned and she finds herself making one poor choice after another in a desperate attempt to keep her head above water.
I connected with this story from the get-go and was completely wrapped up in Vivian’s adventures and mistakes along the way. I found all of the characters to be believable and the story to be well thought out. Not only was it an enjoyable read but it had a very strong message about the consequences of a choice. Even though Vivian should have known better in some areas, I found her to be portrayed as a woman who just allowed herself to be drawn into the wrong choices without intending to do the wrong thing. Any of us can have that happen if we are not careful, so I was pleased to see this depicted in a novel that could not only tell a captivating tale but could also encourage young and old alike to make the right choices. That is what I look for in Christian Fiction—a good story with a good moral—and this book delivered.
I received this complimentary copy from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group through their Blogging for Books program. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.