Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Wishing on Willows

WaterBrook Press Wishing on Willows

A 3-year-old son, struggling cafe, and fading memories are all that Robin has left of her husband. When the unnervingly handsome Ian McKay tries to buy riverfront properties, Robin refuses to sell, splitting the town's loyalty. As attraction ignites and old wounds break open, can Robin and Ian overcome the past to embrace a second chance? 320 pages, softcover from Waterbrook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.491 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
14
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
0
57 out of 5997%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wishing on Willows
Review 1 for Wishing on Willows
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

4.5 stars

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Allen
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Plot: I really enjoyed the plot. It was real and simple, but it was intriguing and entertaining at the same time. There wasn't too much happening, but enough to stay engaged with the story.
Characters: I really enjoyed the character development in this story. It really was essential to the story. Watching the characters grow and change as the story develops and learning things about the characters and how they fit together was in itself romantic and beautiful.
Themes: The main theme in this book would be moving forward. Robin is stuck between who she was with her husband and the dreams they shared and moving ahead with her life and taking the next steps.
Emotion: The emotion was great at times and only okay at others. It was easy to identify with the characters, but not always in a deep intimate way.
Overall: I really enjoyed this book and the characters. As I said, it was just a simple story, but it was very well written and entertaining.
---I received this book for free from the publisher for this review.---
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wishing on Willows
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bren
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed the story. I had a hard time putting the book down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wishing on Willows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good about Second Chance

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lindz2012
Location:Gastonville
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second book that I think is in a series but what series I do not know. I love this book as much as the first one. It more about Cafe and Cafe Owner. Sorry I can not remember her name or her son at the moment. It been a while since I read it. Though it was this year and only a couple of months ago. I will let you decide for yourself if you download the e-book or buy the paperback.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wishing on Willows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome read!

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
sherrijinga
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katie Ganshert has done it again! Wishing on Willows picks up where Wildflowers from Winter leaves off and touches on grief, recovery, getting "over" oneself, and moving on. This is a heart-wrenching and heart-warming novel! Katie's writing is smooth and creative, very descriptive and engaging. Her characters are real and so are the feelings she provokes in her readers. You don't want to miss out on these two books!
About the book: In Wildflowers from Winter, the main character Bethany's grief-stricken friend, Robin, has lost her husband and delivered their first child after his death. With much encouragement from Bethany, Robin builds a café in memory of her lost husband. Wishing on Willows begins with the potential demolition of her café, Willow Tree, and Robin's fight to keep it (and the memory of her husband) alive for their now three year old son. Robin clearly can't move forward for hanging on to the past.
Ian, a big-city developer, offers to buy her café. His company wants to build a condominium complex where her café is situated in anticipation of a growth spurt in the community once a manufacturing plant opens nearby. The town, which has suffered hard from the economic downturn, needs this condo complex. The mayor is pushing for it. But Robin can't let them tear down her café and the ministry she helps serve through it. It seems like the entire town is for Ian and is against Robin. Just like Robin, Ian has a past that he can't let go of either and he's walking in the shadow of his father's footsteps although he'd rather be pursuing his own dreams.
It doesn't help that the two of them are attracted to each other. When they put their differences aside, they manage to get along. But those moments are fleeting. Robin just can't get past the fact that Ian wants to tear down what she built to keep her husband's memory alive--all for the sake of a fancy building and to earn another dollar. Things are complicated by the fact that it seems like everyone in the town and Robin's family has moved on. Robin begs God to save her café and her heart doesn't budge, refusing to believe that there is another way other than her way. She learns that God's way is mysterious and always best!
“I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review”.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wishing on Willows
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heartwarming

Date:July 18, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, just wow. Katie Ganshert has done an excellent job with Wishing on Willows. The writing is excellent, and pulls you into the story with little effort on your part.
It is a heartwarming story of grief and second chances at love. Sometimes a dry, empty desert becomes our familiar place and no matter how good the alternative is, making a change is scary. Taking a chance on love, for a second time, can be even scarier, but Ms. Ganshert has done an excellent job of showing us that it can work.
***I received this book from the publisher/author for purposes of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wishing on Willows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stellar Sophomore Novel!

Date:June 9, 2013
It's not often that I sit down and read books in a series or even just books by the same author back to back. I just like a little variety in my reading. However, about a week after reading Ganshert's debut novel, Wildflowers from Winter, I couldn't stand to wait any longer. I HAD to read Wishing on Willows. It was calling to me!
I was excited to learn that this book would indeed be Robin's story. After meeting her in Wildflowers from Winter—immediately following the unexpected death of her husband and following her surprise pregnancy, I almost felt like I needed some closure with Robin. And thankfully, Katie agreed and gave it to readers in Wishing on Willows! The story picks up three years later, and Robin's dream of owning a cafe is proving to be more difficult than she imagined. When Ian shows up and offers to buy it, everyone thinks she should sell. But selling her dream just isn't in the mix for Robin.
Again, the tension between the main characters crackles from the beginning. Ian and Robin seem like they would be great friends, but there's this huge elephant in the room whenever they're together. He wants to buy her cafe ... she doesn't want to sell ... and they're pitted against each other. Plus, they each have pretty tremendous baggage from their marriages. It was interesting to see how they worked through their individual grief. It was a good reminder that things cannot just continue on unsaid and undealt with (is that even a word?). Eventually, we have to deal with things and move on.
It was fun to reconnect with Bethany and Evan three years later as well. And Robin's son is a great addition to the book ... often providing a lighthearted moment when the tension or grief looks like it might get too intense. My fingers are crossed to read more about the Price family ... perhaps Amanda's story could be next?
Katie Ganshert's sophomore release was just as impressive as her debut. It seems I've found a new author to love. Now the big question is ... when will her next book be released?! [5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah's Blogging for Books program in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wishing on Willows
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

love lost and love found again

Date:June 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wishing on Willows is a pretty good book. When I first started reading it I did feel a little lost. It wasn't like clueless lost. More like was there a book before this that introduced some of these characters lost. I caught on fairly fast and was able to enjoy Wishing on Willows. This is a Christian romance novel so it has it predictable parts. It also had some parts where you really weren't sure what was going to happen.
Robin has been through a lot and while she still believes she is mad at God for taking away her husband before they could live out his dream of owning and running a cafe. So she sets out to fulfill his dream. She is a strong willed person with a deep faith. So she will get through her worst nightmares and even find the rainbow at the end of her own personal storm!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wishing on Willows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely!

Date:June 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Becky Wade
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katie Ganshert really is an ARTIST. She strings words together in the most lyrical, fresh, and heart-touching ways. My hat's off to her!
This story picks up the tale of Robin, who some of us were lucky enough to meet in Wildflowers from Winter. Robin is a widow who adores her three year old son and is still struggling to recover from the devastating loss of her husband. When developer Ian comes to town with plans to re-purpose the space where Robin's beloved cafe is located, Robin is forced to take a journey of the heart and decide what's best for her, for her little boy, and for her town.
Wildflowers from Winter is touching and emotional, real and relatable. Written with grace and skill. Well done, Katie!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wishing on Willows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for summer reading

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mudpies and Tiaras
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love to read. I especially love reading Christian fiction. I prefer Christian fiction over all other genres. But sometimes I get a little bored. Then a book like Wishing on Willowsfollow by Katie Ganshert comes along and renews my passion for Christian novels all over again.
Wishing on Willows
Katie has a great personal story and I felt like her novel gave glimpses of who she is as a person. Wishing on Willows main character is a lady named Robin. Robin is responsible for providing home, shelter, love and everything for her three year old son. She owns a cafe and loves the work involved there. Let me tell ya….after reading about that cafe I wish I could go there! Sounds like a great place to go on a date with my husband. Anyways, Robin encounters a problem in the form of a man named Ian who wants to demolish her cafe. The novel is great, well-written and entertaining.
Does this sound like a book you’d like to read? What is your favorite genre?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wishing on Willows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ruth Stiles
Location:Central NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robin loves serving her community. The dream she and her late husband shared about running a cafe for their local community is a reality. However, she pulls in too many directions all too frequently. She refuses to back off, slow down, or move on becuase by doing so would be to neglect the memory of Micah, her late husband. Micah passed away shortly after she found out she was pregnant with Caleb. Caleb is now 4 years old, and several of Robin’s friends have taken the task of finding her a new man. When a building developer comes to town and expects Robin to simply roll over and sell out to his dad’s company, he realizes how closely knit the ties of the community are. Through twists and turns, Robin and Ian work through their personal trials and past ghosts, and finally realize that God’s plans are not always their plans.
Katie Ganshert weaves an inspiring tale with musical overtures and nature’s beauty. Wishing on Willows allows the reader to fall in love with all the characters as their stories unfold, their heartbreaks heal, and the future brightens. Robin’s struggle with letting God, and Ian’s acceptance of what he missed out on in the past all come together perfectly like a classical arrangement on a baby grand piano. I was caught in this this novel from the first page until I finally closed it. I recommend it to anyone seeking healing, or wishing to hold onto what they love the most.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wishing on Willows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Moving Story of Second Chances

Date:May 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Keli Gwyn
Location:Northern California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katie Ganshert, author of Wishing on Willows, has delivered another emotionally rich story of characters finding healing and happiness after heartache. Widow Robin Price has done her best to build a life and pull herself from the mire of grief, but she’s faced with losing her beloved café when developer Ian McKay shows up determined to tear it down to make room for condominiums. Robin fights to keep her business while Ian struggles to keep his father’s firm from going under. A battle of wills ensues that will test their faith and fledgling friendship.
Robin and Ian are two hurting people who captured my heart. Both are likable, and I ached for them as I learned more about the wounds they carry. I was pulled into the story from the start and flipped pages as quickly as possible, eager for them to find a way to work things out in the face of their no-win situation. Only by looking into their own hearts and seeking the Lord’s will are they able to find the answers they’re after. When I reached the end of this moving story, I heaved a satisfied sigh.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wishing on Willows
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
sesquius
I selected this book because I thought the cover art was appealing and the plot of the story intrigued me.
Wishing on Willows was a great story, one that I enjoyed reading. The story moved along at a good pace, not too slow and not to fast, just right. The story is about a widow who is runs a coffee shop in the heart of Peaks, Iowa. It's struggling, but she has put her heart and soul into succeeding. Progress comes in the shape of a developer, who has been basically promised the land right where her cafe sits. The problem is, Robin doesn't want to sell, even though everyone around her is willing. She holds on to what she believes is right.
All in all, this was a good story. It built up well and the details within were great. The only thing I had a problem with, is the ending. It just ended. Meaning, the rest of the story was built up, and then it ended. I looked for an epilogue. nothing. It just seemed like there should have been a little bit more to the story, than where it ended. But other than that, the story was enjoyable.
In hindsight, I notice comments about this book being a second in a series. I didn't realize it until after the fact.
A complimentary review copy was provided by Waterbrook Multnomah to give an honest opinion of the book I read. Any opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wishing on Willows
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sequel, but works as a standalone

Date:April 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Robin Price lost her husband, Micah, four and a half years ago. She has an almost four-year old-son, Caleb, and runs a café in the small town of Peaks, Iowa—a dream ignited on her honeymoon, when she and Micah spent three weeks touring European cafés. But her dream might be about to come to an end: the town council wants to build condominiums, and Robin’s café is the logical site, even though she shares the building with One Life, an important local ministry to the poor.
Ian McKay hopes to be the developer who will be responsible for building the condos. Getting this project will be a job-saver for his father’s company. But Robin is being stubborn and won’t even listen to his offer. And as he spends time with her, Caleb and her extended family, he discovers that maybe he doesn’t want to take this away from her.
I really enjoyed Katie Ganshert’s debut novel, Wildflowers from Winter (which I also reviewed), but I didn’t enjoy this as much. In Wildflowers , Robin was a new widow, and it made sense that she was struggling in her grief and that her loss was the defining part of her personality.
But Wishing on Willows is set four years later, and not only is Robin not ready to let go of her own grief, but she is shouldering the grief and problems of others and almost sinking under the burden. Yet none of her friends or family have addressed this. They step in to help her in the café and babysit Caleb, but it seemed to me that Robin was burying her grief in activity, which can’t be healthy, and they were enabling her.
I just wanted to shake Robin and make her read something like Women Who Do Too Much… and then I realised, hey, this is fiction. Robin’s not real. So even while I have these issues with Robin’s character, all credit to Katie Ganshert for making me forget she was just a fictional character. I still like Wildflowers better, but I’ll be interested to see what comes next. Will it be Gavin’s story, or Amanda’s?
Thanks to Blogging for Books for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wishing on Willows
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good storyline (but 2nd book in series)...

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jen Pen
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As owner of Willow Tree Cafe, Robin finds herself struggling to raise her 3 year old son alone in a close-knit community. Memories of her late husband invade her thoughts often as she fights developer, Ian McKay, to keep the small community ministry as well as her dream cafe from being developed into condominiums. While both Robin and Ian sort through their feelings and loses, will following God’s plan bring them happiness and closure?
A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
Not having read the prequel to this story, it was a little hard to follow some of the referrals to the past but still an enjoyable read. Although simple in parts, the humor and compassion of the characters drew empathy from me and I found myself hoping for their contentment. Through loss, dreams and inner strength, Robin and Ian were able to learn that God’s plan is greater than their own wills. Having been touched by this book, I will definitely return to read the author’s first book, Wildflowers from Winter.
RATING: 3.5 (out of 5 pennies)…but may have been higher had I read the first book in the series.
*I received a complimentary copy of Wishing on Willows from WaterBrook Press for my honest review*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wishing on Willows
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Single Mom Book

Date:April 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Libby
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wishing on Willows by Katie Ganshert
A single mom (widowed) is raising her 3 year old son while running a cafe that has sentimental value to her in a small town. Along comes the wolf, aka Ian who is trying to buy her precious cafe so he can tear it down and build a condo. The town splits, half wanting to save the cafe, the other half in favor of the condo and the money it will bring in. But wait, there is also a ministry in danger of getting torn down! Can she save her own cafe and the ministry or should she give up and let them go? I am not going to tell you the details because it would spoil this book so you will have to read it to find out!
I really enjoyed reading this book. I felt every emotion Robin went through as she struggled with the tough decisions she had to face. As a single mom, I could relate to her parental problems (guilt from not spending enough time with her son, the pain of living everyday alone and raising a child alone, ect). She calls to God and feels like she is not answering her and feels even more alone and that is huge for me personally right now.
I have been in this struggle with God myself during the last few weeks so it was nice to read about someone else struggling. It seems like every book I read lately has been about perfect people in a perfect world so this was a great change of pace and leaves me wanting to read more of Katie Ganshert's work.
I DO recommend this book. It IS a Religious book but I thought there was a good balance. I think that someone who is not Religious could still read it and enjoy it.
Here is the First chapter if you would like to read it.
***This book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an open and honest review***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wishing on Willows
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Book

Date:April 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
SmileyMommy
Location:Bowling Green, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wishing on Willows by Katie Ganshert is a book about Robin, a widowed single mom that owns a coffee shop in Iowa. Willow Tree, her coffee shop is a dream her late husband and her had before he passed away. When Ian McKay comes to town with the hopes of helping the small town get more tax revenue from condos the town is excited about the growth, everyone but Robin. To build the condos, Willow Tree will have to be torn down...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wishing on Willows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Tender Read

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wishing on Willows is a story about a widow holding onto the past who discovers that God has good gifts in store for those who seek Him. I absolutely loved this story. It's impossible to not love Robin and her 3-year-old son. As a mother of young children, I loved the way their relationship was portrayed--realistic, funny, and tender. The male lead, Ian, had a lot of baggage, but it was revealed in a way that kept me curious without making me frustrated. I was rooting for him to overcome the challenges and follow his heart--both with his career and with Robin.
The romance moved at a slow and steady pace, but the reward was worth it in the end. Because of Robin's and Ian's separate emotional journeys, the story would have felt forced any other way. So for diehard romance fans who like to see the love story jumpstart right at the beginning, stick with this one until the end. You'll be glad you did.
All in all, a book that made me laugh, cry, and swoon. I hope to see more from this author in the future!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wishing on Willows
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great sounding story line

Date:March 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
AngelLinda
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very excited at the chance to read and review Wishing On Willows by Katie Ganshert, as this was a new author to me. The story line sounded wonderful. My disappointment came as I realized this was not the first book in this series. The publisher failed to mention this in the description. It would have been a lot easier to follow had I read the first book. Often times, you can pick up a second novel in a series and catch up if you didn't read the first, but not so much with this book. It was a well told story, but I would suggest reading the first book, Wildflowers in Winter first.
Normally, I don't include the publisher's description with my reviews but in this case I thought it was necessary to give my blog readers a chance to better understand the story.
WaterBrook Multnomah through their Blogging for Books program supplied the complimentary copy of this book for my review.
Publisher Description: A three-year old son, a struggling café, and fading memories are all Robin Price has left of her late husband. As the proud owner of Willow Tree Café in small town Peaks, Iowa, she pours her heart into every muffin she bakes and espresso she pulls, thankful for the sense of purpose and community the work provides.
So when developer Ian McKay shows up in Peaks with plans to build condos where her café and a vital town ministry are located, she isn’t about to let go without a fight.
As stubborn as he is handsome, Ian won’t give up easily. His family’s business depends on his success in Peaks. But as Ian pushes to seal the deal, he wonders if he has met his match. Robin’s gracious spirit threatens to undo his resolve, especially when he discovers the beautiful widow harbors a grief that resonates with his own.
With polarized opinions forming all over town, business becomes unavoidably personal and Robin and Ian must decide whether to cling to the familiar or surrender their plans to the God of Second Chances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wishing on Willows
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Wishing on Willows

Date:March 23, 2013
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I began reading Wishing on Willows by Kate Ganshert, it seemed like I missed the first part of the story!
I think I need to go back and read Wildflowers from Winter which is the first book in this series, to be able to put all the pieces of the storyline together.
This book was difficult for me to read as it kept jumping back to the past frequently and I was not familiar with the back story.
This story had a nice ending which redeemed the reading experience for me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wishing on Willows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow!

Date:March 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
One Day at a Time
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katie Ganshert writes the characters with such detail and depth that I truly felt as if I was in the story with them, personally meeting and spending time with them! From Robin to Ian, to Bethany and even Mayor Ford, I could easily find people in my everyday life that were similar to those and relate with them even more.
Little Caleb stole my heart from the very beginning, and I quickly hoped he would overcome his fears, and learn what it is to trust again. The same could be said for his mom, Robin. While her issues may not solely be due to a lack of trust, she also needed to overcome her fears and learn to how to open her heart back up to love. Both Caleb and Robin had an excellent family support system rallying behind them, cheering them on, and fighting for them at the same time. The kind of family that knows what it is to live through heartache, stand beside each other through the pain, and come out stronger in the end.
The Plot...
Robin found herself in danger of losing her cafe, the one she built in memory of her late husband. With Ian's developing firm at the center of the mess, Robin soon found herself at her whits end. While still trying to maintain her grace and composure, Robin learns that sometimes the things that matter most in life are not always things.
While I found this story to be very fast paced, I did find myself skimming over the chapters that had Robing reminiscing about her life with Micah. I quickly found I was more interested in the here and now, rather than the back story that found Robin where she was today. Did I miss out on any vital information? I don't think so, I didn't feel that the story was lacking, and the story continued to make sense to me! :) But if you're the type that has to read a book word for word, you'll have to read those chapters and let me know!
Overall...
I tell you I LOVED this book! I honestly didn't expect to like it as well as I did, the first in the series was just OK for me. I have found in the past, when a series starts out as just OK, it is usually down hill from there. But so not the case with this one! Ganshert started out with an average book, and quickly stepped it up with Wishing on Willows! This is by far a solid 5 star story! I am hoping there is another one in the series to follow, I mean, after all, we do need to find out what happens with Amanda!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.