Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press The Jesus Mission: Christ Completed 27 Missions While on Earth; Take Up the Four He Assigned to You

WaterBrook Press The Jesus Mission: Christ Completed 27 Missions While on Earth; Take Up the Four He Assigned to You

Are you uncertain about what God wants for your life? Here's your ultimate guidebook! Offering a detailed study of Christ's life and work, Scott reveals specific areas of ministry in which you can help fulfill Jesus' goals. Ideal for personal inspiration, discipleship training, church outreach, and small groups. 304 pages, hardcover from Waterbrook.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 out of 875%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Jesus Mission: Christ Completed 27 Missions While on Earth; Take Up the Four He Assigned to You
Review 1 for The Jesus Mission: Christ Completed 27 Missions While on Earth; Take Up the Four He Assigned to You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Honkerman
Location:Overland Park, Ks.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent foundational book on what Jesus expects out of His followers moving forward. I especially enjoyed the chapter and topic of "Born Again" out of the 3rd Chapter of John. We don't seem to hear enough of this important doctrine and oftentimes it is misunderstood, even among believers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Jesus Mission: Christ Completed 27 Missions While on Earth; Take Up the Four He Assigned to You
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

difficult to follow

Date:May 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
pastor2519
Location:West Point, UT
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Steven K. Scott, in The Jesus Mission (Waterbrook Press, 2011) talks a lot about the missions that Jesus accomplished, and the ones that have been left for us . He walks us through what he calls the four missions that Jesus assigned us: intimacy with God; accelerated personal growth; empowering other believers; and impacting the lives of non-believers.
To be honest, if I had gotten this book from the library, I probably would have returned it mostly unread, but I had agreed to read the book for the purpose of writing a review, so I stuck it out, and I’m actually glad I did since there are some interesting nuggets buried within the pages.
Although the book is full of scripture references to back up the author’s points, it’s not written by a theologian, and at times it seemed disjointed to me. At times I felt like I was at a men’s conference since many sections end with ‘action points’. Other parts of the book seem like a ‘how to’. Part theology, part theory, part self-help, and a little bit of the author’s personal opinion.
Opinion is good, but even as he writes “He [Jesus] does not give people the option of recasting Him to suit their agenda,” and states that Jesus is a favorite subject of people who want to rewrite history and refashion it to suit their own purposes, Scott spends part of a chapter showing how liberal thinkers such as then Senator Obama were totally off target when they wanted to “spread the wealth around.” That probably wouldn’t have caught my attention except for the fact that Scott’s bio on the dust jacket lists him as an “entrepreneur whose start-up companies have achieved billions of dollars in sales”. No wonder he thinks Jesus wouldn’t be in favor of redistribution of wealth.
There is some good stuff in this book, but it could have all been said in a much shorter book.
I’ll give this book a 3/5.
I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Jesus Mission: Christ Completed 27 Missions While on Earth; Take Up the Four He Assigned to You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Jesus Mission: Christ Completed Twenty-Seven Missions While On Earth. Take Up The Four He Has Assigned To You, written by Steven Scott, is a book designed to carry its readers into a deeper relationship with Christ as they find and fulfill their purpose upon this earth.
While this book is very well written and its use of scripture is commendable, my expectations were left wanting more of what its title had promised. Steven shares what he considers to be the twenty-seven missions of Jesus, and he does this utilizing only two of the nineteen chapters of the book. While his explanations into the twenty-seven missions of Jesus were clear and concise, they were too brief.
Setting the afore mentioned aside, this book is well written and very informative. It opens up the Christian's mind and heart to the power and existence of Jesus. For the Christian reader, it is a reminder of God; for the non-Christian, it opens up a path towards God.
For its practical and possible purposes, this book is a recommended read.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Jesus Mission: Christ Completed 27 Missions While on Earth; Take Up the Four He Assigned to You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good substance, but could use more application

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
AlandWynda
Location:Minot, ND
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The author’s background as a business leader clearly shows in his style. He writes from what I would consider ‘a strategic planning perspective’ – what is the goal or objective, and what are the tactics it takes to achieve each goal or objective. This is not necessarily a bad thing; it is just a different writing style than many other authors. Some will find this style very practical as the author focuses on the ‘meat and potatoes’ or ‘nuts and bolts.’ Others may not find the style as engaging as there are not many anecdotal stories that are used, especially to assist with how one may apply the Biblical knowledge in their own lives. However, the information is very well organized and it shows that the author went through the Scriptures and wanted to pass on what he learned to help others grow in their personal walk. Each point that the author uses begins with Scripture and he examines the context and the meaning of the passages he uses. If everyone took their Bible study as seriously as the author, we would be growing in our discipleship.
If the author would take the time to go more in depth on some of the information he covers he could have a series of books or Bible studies. But, as noted earlier, one way for the author to improve would be to include more thoughts on how the readers can apply the knowledge they have gained from his book (as a supplement to their own personal Bible study).
I received a copy of this book through the Blogging for Books Program of Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing. I did not have to write a positive review of this material.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Jesus Mission: Christ Completed 27 Missions While on Earth; Take Up the Four He Assigned to You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just amazing

Date:December 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ina Givens
Location:winder, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Steven K. Scott really out did himself in expounding on the Mission of Jesus and the Mission given to believers. He gave great insight on what it really means to fulfill the mission or commission of Jesus Christ. Scott broke down four critical mission statements for all believers. My favorite sections of the book was Chapter 6 & 7 where Scott paints a vivid picture of the salvation process and birthing process. These two chapters serves as a great tool in aid new converts in understanding salvation as a whole. The statement Scott made,"When we are born again, we are born as "spiritual babies," and our natural tendencies are to continue to express the immature behavior of our previous way of life." explains the need for salvation in a nutshell and the importance of maturing in one's spirituality. I give this book a 10. “I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review”.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Jesus Mission: Christ Completed 27 Missions While on Earth; Take Up the Four He Assigned to You
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Profoundly Normal

Date:December 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
pkerry319
Location:Waukee, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Profoundly normal best describes how I felt about this book. In many ways it was an attempt to make basic Christian teaching sound like it was the latest and greatest idea anyone has ever had. In an attempt to sound profound it lost the power of the simple thoughts that are shared.
Although I found value in the lists of Scriptural truths I found the whole book to be a little long on information and a little light on application. That is a little ironic for book that by its very title implies action.
To the books credit it does share some very good illustrations in the early chapters that would be useful to sharing the message of the Gospel with others. Overall, I would say it is a mediocre read at best.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Jesus Mission: Christ Completed 27 Missions While on Earth; Take Up the Four He Assigned to You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very exciting

Date:December 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
eph514
Location:Columbia,TN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Jesus Mission by Steven K. Scott
The title speaks for itself. The Jesus mission, what do you think of when you think of when you hear those words. I think of what Jesus’ mission was on this earth and how we should strive to live our lives every day. Jesus set the perfect example for us. He was here to save the sinners not the righteous.
This book points out the four missions that Jesus Christ has given us. An example of the missions is Mission 3: Empower other believers to better follow Christ. That mission in itself is a big one to complete. It is also one of the most important. All of us need a little encouragement in our walk from time to time. Another very interesting part of the book is one that gives us a lot of info on Jesus that we might not have known before.
For each mission listed in the book the author gives activities for the reader to do to further your growth in understanding what Jesus has in mind for us. There are also some discussion questions for you to be able to read in your small group.
In closing this is a book that we all should read and own. Being a disciple our job of learning is never over. We need to be able learn and understand as much as we can so that we will be able to complete our missions in this life and be able to being the word of truth to the unsaved.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review”.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Jesus Mission: Christ Completed 27 Missions While on Earth; Take Up the Four He Assigned to You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

THE JESUS MISSION

Date:November 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
evwind
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Jesus Mission by Steven K Scott (christ completed 27 missions while on earth. take up the 4 he assigned to you) Steven Scott does a great job in this book of laying out the fundamentals of what it really means to be a christ follower, and not just a person who labels themselves as a "Christian". Scott goes into all 27 missions relatively quickly in the book but he does a great job of interjecting his own thoughts and stories which is one of the main reasons why I enjoyed this book. I recommend this book to those who enjoy steven scott or have deeper interest in their spiritual life."I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.