Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Lazarus Awakening: Finding Your Place in the Heart of God

WaterBrook Press Lazarus Awakening: Finding Your Place in the Heart of God

Are you bound in a tomb of regret, fear, or self-condemnation? Jesus is calling you to come forth and step into a full, vibrant life! Combining real-world illustrations with profound biblical insights, Weaver helps you shed the past, embrace God's unconditional love, and experience resurrection and renewal. Includes a 10-week Bible study and discussion guide. 256 pages, softcover from Waterbrook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
31 out of 3297%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lazarus Awakening: Finding Your Place in the Heart of God
Review 1 for Lazarus Awakening: Finding Your Place in the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Suzanne
Location:Chicago
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joanna Weaver speaks clearly and gets to the point of teaching with personal stories and Scripture while being loving and sometimes humorous. She challenges the reader to reflect on what her mind and heart are thinking and what we do in our daily lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lazarus Awakening: Finding Your Place in the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value

Date:September 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alesa
Location:Arkansas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joanna Weaver writes in such a way that regardless of where you are in your faith walk, you will be challenged and blessed. Lazarus Arising is the third book set in Bethany. My Sunday School Class has chosen to continue our stay in Bethany by using this study for the next quarter. I cannot wait to find out what God has in store for us!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lazarus Awakening: Finding Your Place in the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Help

Date:May 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joseph
Location:Waynesboro,VA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In my walk with God I've been praying that He would lead me to great resources full of biblical knowledge and truth and this book definitely is an eye opener. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lazarus Awakening: Finding Your Place in the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great personal or group study.

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ruthie
Location:Harleysville, Pa.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well written. Excellent resource for ladies Sunday School Class.Inspirational and healing. Never knew one could learn so much Bible from the story of Lazarus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lazarus Awakening: Finding Your Place in the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Glenn Metzler
Location:Farmingdale, ME
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's an excellent resource for small group use. We are currently using it in a women's group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lazarus Awakening: Finding Your Place in the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspirational and thought provoking

Date:January 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
NanaGrammy
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A women's Bible study group at my church is reading this and sharing our thoughts, experiences and lessons learned. We previously read another Joanna Weaver book, "Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World", which is also very good.
I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lazarus Awakening: Finding Your Place in the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This made you think about your relational self.

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
MotherMary
Location:Green Bay, WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book really opened my eyes to understanding myself as well as the "person" of God. It helped me read between the lines of the story of Lazarus, Mary, and Martha.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lazarus Awakening: Finding Your Place in the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Last Look at the family from Bethany

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lazarus Awakening
Joanna Weaver
This is a book that takes a look at the life, death and life of Lazarus. This book goes through the events of Lazarus' amazing life. His friendship with Jesus is a mystery but very real. The reaction of his sisters, the people around them and Jesus. It is immersed with personal examples, also using examples of people the author knows or has some relationship to bring out the Biblical truths the life of Lazarus reveals.
I found this book to be an interesting perspective. Although, much of the authors theology I did not agree with I understood the points and ideas expressed. The issue I found most difficult to agree with is that Lazarus in the tomb had to decide whether he wanted to come out of the tomb or remain. When the Lord of this earth calls us forth, you come. That is the reason he used Lazarus' name. It was examples like this that I differ from the author. She did bring forward thoughts that were worth pondering and the main issue is we are so far from holy that Jesus is our only hope.
I want to thank Waterbrook Publishing and blogging for books for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lazarus Awakening: Finding Your Place in the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent book - well worth reading!

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blondie
Location:Terre Haute, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a very easy to understand step by step book that explains how to have a closer relationship to God & how very much he wants to have a relationship with us. God is ready, willing & able to meet us halfway & more! He loves us! Christ made the way for us to be made right with God. She uses examples from life & the scriptures to show that God loves us no matter what & he is totally willing to forgive our sins & make us his child. There was enough in the first 2 chapters to totally make it worth the price. People who do Bible studies would enjoy this book as it has a 10 week bible study. Jesus is waiting for you & longs to be with you no matter whatyour past is like. Your future is glorious with Him!
I was given this book free from Waterbrook press to review & was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lazarus Awakening: Finding Your Place in the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book could alter your life forever.

Date:February 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gracie
Location:Kansas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The last book in a trilogy about the siblings of Bethany, is one which could alter your life forever. Lazarus Awaking by Joanna Weaver is written for those of us who could be called, "dead man walking."
Just a quick reminder here of the story from John 11. Jesus was summoned to the siblings house by His good friends Mary and Martha. Lazarus was sick and he needed the healing touch of Jesus. However, Jesus purposely delayed his arrival. When he did arrive, Lazarus was dead. Then Jesus called into the tomb,"Lazarus, come out!" And so he did. Lazarus awoke from death, walked out of the tomb, dropped his stinky grave-clothes and ran into the arms of his precious Jesus.
Weaver uses this bible story analogy to breathe life back into those who are not living the abundant life Jesus promised us. She writes "we live in graveyards filled with memories.....unfortunately, the coping mechanisms we embrace in order to manage our pain only reinforce the strongholds in our souls."
This book is a wonderful tool to use in a quest to move out of the graveyards of regret and into the joyfilled life we are promised. Included with the book is a companion study guide. This guide is helpful as Joanna challenges and encourages us to accept the love of our Father and allow the growth needed to step out of our stinky grave-clothes and into the life God has for us. Her words challenge each of us to leave the graveyard of regret, drop those stinky grave-clothes (whatever they might be) and embrace the Saviors calling, "Arise! Go forth!"
***I received this book for free from the publisher for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lazarus Awakening: Finding Your Place in the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE is Calling Your Name

Date:February 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sonshinegirl
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lazarus Awakening by Joanna Weaver is an incredible reflection of the life changing events of Lazarus as written in John 11:1 - John 12:11 in the Holy Bible. Jesus' dear sweet friend Lazarus knows first hand of the loving relationship that can be found in Jesus. He knows what it is like to be called friend. Joanna illustrates how we can come to experience the same spiritual resurrection through a relationship with Jesus and how we, too, may come to be known as "friend".
Joanna makes a comparison to Lazarus in that we are sick, dead inside, tomb dwelling Christians. We have accepted Jesus Christ as our Savior but we fail to live the life that Jesus came to give. We hang out in the midchamber of the tomb held captive by our thoughts, fears, anxieties, past hurts, failures, regrets and addictions. A life of freedom in Christ is waiting for each of us. We just have to answer when Love calls our name and challenges us to live. We can't believe the lies of Satan and remain ineffective in God's Kingdom. We must take action.
We all have stones that need rolled away. Stones of unforgiveness, unworthiness and unbelief. What stone do have blocking your spiritual resurrection? Which one do you need to cry out to God to remove from your life?
I love how Joanna describes how the grave clothes that hindered Lazarus are the same grave clothes that hinder us as Christians.
Our feet are bound, affecting our walk with God.
Our hands are bound, limiting our work for God.
Our face is covered, clouding our watchfulness.
Our mouth is covered, muffling our witness.
The thing about grave clothes is that they can be removed. Removed permanently with the help of the Lord. They may be comfortable and we may want to put them on and off at times but if we want to live in the full righteousness of Christ then we need to let them go. We need to remove them, never to put them on again. As you recognize the hindrances that keep you bound and entombed take them to Christ asking Him to clothe you in His righteousness.
Joanna Weaver did an excellent job bringing this story to life. I am thankful for the bonus chapter on grave clothes; how they can trip us up and how we can shed them. I also look forward to working through the 10-week companion Bible Study that was also included in this book.
"I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lazarus Awakening: Finding Your Place in the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read and study.

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
goodbear
Location:Kansas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our ladies bible study group is going to start this book.
We have done two other books of Weavers and they were great. This one is going to be a great book also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lazarus Awakening: Finding Your Place in the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another excellent book for Joanna Weaver

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth a read, and not just to read it for reading sake but to really take on board what the author is sharing and to study it for oneself and to give it wings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lazarus Awakening: Finding Your Place in the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of my favorite books ever!

Date:July 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
zekesmom10
Location:Vermont
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lazarus Awakening is the third book in Joanna Weaver's Bethany series. I've wanted to read Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World for a long time. Now I'd love to also read Having a Mary Spirit.
I loved everything about this book. Being a "why?" kind of girl, I enjoyed finding out a bit of Biblical background about culture and society as well as explanations about the original words used and their meanings. For example, two Greek words are translated in English as friend, philos and hetairos. Jesus used philos to describe Lazarus, meaning someone loved and dear. In Matthew 26:50, "And Jesus said unto him, Friend, wherefore art thou come? Then came they, and laid hands on Jesus and took him" we might wonder why would Jesus refer to Judas as a friend. The Greek word used here was hetairos, more rightly meaning, according to Spiros Zodhiates, means to "establish a... deceptive and misleading friendship."
My husband teases me about all the highlighting I did in this book while reading it. It was just so full of wonderful thoughts.
There are wonderful resources and helps in the many appendices in this book, including a ten-week Bible Study. I somehow missed the red banner on the cover of this book with that information, so will be re-reading Lazarus Awakening while actually following the study.
I highly recommend this book. Remember, "good things come to those who wake."
I was provided with a free copy of this book by Waterbrook/Multnomah in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lazarus Awakening: Finding Your Place in the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin
Location:Seattle, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This author’s popular title, Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World, has never made it to my hands or bookcase. So grateful I am that her latest has!
So what does the story of Lazarus hold for us? Much! And Mrs. Weaver unfolds the story beautifully in this book. If you are like me and have grown up in the church and with the Bible stories being as common to you as nursery rhymes, then you also understand the struggle to slow down and visit the story carefully—as an observer present during the exchange. This author does a lovely job of slowing us down to see depth of truths in an act we merely accept as a miracle of that time to prove the Messiahship of Jesus.
Ten chapters take us slowly and carefully through the story as well as through principles of Diving Love.
“Lord, the One you Love is Sick” . . . don’t we all struggle with the sickness of sin and the spiritual slumber our Enemy threatens to lull in us.
“Our Friend Lazarus” . . . More than service and even our worship, God desires our friendship—our desire to live in deep relationship with Jesus.
“When Love Taries” . . . My time-table is not God’s. And there’s good reason for that!
“Tomb Dwelling” . . . Living with strongholds in our lives and the freedom possible!
“Roll Away the Stone” . . . Roadblocks of faith—exalting God’s truth over my feelings!
“When Love Calls Your Name” . . . Following God’s voice; obedience and where it can take me.
“Unwinding Graveclothes” . . . Jesus brought the dead man back to life, but it was those around him that were asked to help with the processes of freeing the bound man.
“Living Resurrected” . . . God’s glory is realized in the life fully alive in Him. No partial resurrections!
“Laughing Lazarus” . . . No longer walking in fear or anxiety but believing God’s care is tangible in peace and serenity.
Being Precepts trained, I appreciated her digging into the original Greek language as well as the quotes she supplied by Bible Scholars Spiros Zodhiates and Warren Wiersbe. Several other brothers and sisters are given space with their nuggets of gleaned truth like Charles Spurgeon, George Mueller, Hannah Whitall Smith, Elisabeth Elliot, Beth Moore, Francis Chan as well as others.
There were a couple of areas in which I disagreed with her. In one case, she asserts that God created humans because “God was lonely” and that he felt a “lack”. Maybe it was poor wording, but there is no lack in the Triune God—nor any way us humans can fill or complete Him!
I was a bit let down by the end. I can't really put a finger on it, but it just peetered out to me instead of ending strong with more exergis, perhaps, on the love of Jesus. However, I am anxious to one day read the previous two books in this trilogy. I wonder what He holds for me there!
{Multnomah Books provided me Lazarus Awakening for free for review purposes with no expectation that I would provide a positive review. The thoughts and opinions shared are entirely my own.}
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lazarus Awakening: Finding Your Place in the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A complete study of Lazarus & lessons we can learn

Date:May 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sharding
Location:Tell City, Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lazarus Awakening by Joanna Weaver– a Book Review
I have not read the other books by Joanna Weaver on the same Biblical family. I’ve read the Biblical accounts of Martha, Mary and Lazarus many times. I’ve even written blog posts. (See Mary and Martha - Luke 10:38-42 at http://thoughtsmeditationsofgod.blogspot.com/2010/05/mary-and-martha-luke-1038-42.html and It was Intended http://thoughtsmeditationsofgod.blogspot.com/2011/03/it-was-intended.html) I just didn’t think there was a lot left to say or think about. The author even starts writing this book with this same idea - that there was not much left to say after writing a book about Martha and a book about Mary. After all, Lazarus doesn’t even say anything in the Bible account! He just gets sick, dies, is buried in a tomb for 4 days then comes out when Jesus calls him.
But we were both wrong. She had plenty to say about Lazarus, his death, his time in the tomb and his resurrection at the hands of Jesus. She mentions that Lazarus had a choice about whether to come out of the tomb or not. She mentions that Jesus asked others to remove the grave clothes because we each have a part to play. She mentions that we may be bound in grave clothes and offers ideas how to help others out of theirs. She guesses that perhaps once Lazarus faced death once, he likely had no fear of anything and was truly free to serve Jesus.
This book has a companion Bible study to use for group or individual study. It offers additional “Resources for Resurrected Living” – books for understanding how much God loves you, tips for getting out of your tomb, how to be a friend to God, and how to help others out of their grave clothes. The reader does not even have to have a Bible to read the Biblical account of Lazarus because it is included as Appendix A! The book is chock full of Bible references, which I personally like so I can “test” the ideas presented.
This book was provided to me for posting a review by the Books for Bloggers program. After reading this book I am thinking of reading Joanna Weaver’s other two books on the same family: Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World and Having a Mary Spirit. The author uses easy to understand ideas and presents them in a simple straightforward manner. I liked the book very much. I intend to spend some time with the resources (specifically Appendix E Identifying Strongholds and Appendix F Hints for Unwinding Graveclothes) to learn something about me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lazarus Awakening: Finding Your Place in the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book kept my interest from the start to end.

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
just4marshel
Location:Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lazarus Awakening by Joanna Weaver
This is the third book in the author's trilogy. I did not read "Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World" or "Having a Mary Spirit". But Lazarus Awakening is written in such a way that one does not need to read the other two in order to "catch up" and be current where the Lazarus book begins. The author has written the book where its message can stand alone without needing to read the other two. But I enjoyed the book so much that I am planning on reading the other two. If you feel as if you can't begin reading the Lazarus book until you read the other two, that is not necessary. If you already have the book, then most definitely begin reading it. It will be worth it.
I chose this book because it stated it has a 10 week companion Bible Study. That is the first thing that intrigued me. I enjoy books that have a study with them. So, I sat out with a plan in mind to read the book for the review and then do the study at a later time. But upon reading the book I became so interested in what the author was sharing and teaching that I knew I would have to do the study sooner than anticipated.
I have heard many sermons on Lazarus. I have done a lesson or two with my own Sunday School class on Lazarus. But Joanna Weaver presented the story of Jesus' friend in a whole new direction no one has taken before. I did not want to put the book down, but due to life getting in the way I had to. So, I would read it each opportunity I got and was not disappointed when I got to the end. The author was able to keep my attention throughout the entire book. I did not even skip pages just to get through the book. There have been books I have started reading that I did not think I could through it unless I skipped a page or two and this was not one of those types of books.
The author presents the book from a different angle. It is as if we are the ones entombed and are hearing Jesus say to us "Lazarus come out!" There are many instances, times in our lives when we may feel as if we are like Lazarus, dying spiritually, and needing for Jesus to come and heal us. But then those times take us into the tomb instead. We feel as if we are alone in our spiritual death. But then the Lord brings someone to roll away the stone and we are freed of the rags that bind us. And we hear Jesus calling our name "Marshel come out!" Yes, Jesus could have arrived in time for me to be healed before I had to suffer through the spiritual death. But as He told the others upon arriving at Lazarus' tomb, it was for the benefit of the people standing there that they would believe that it was the Lord that sent Him. If we are healed before the time we need to learn what the Lord wants us to know then we will more than likely not give the credit to the one it should go to - Jesus and our Lord.
Reading this book made me realize that there are times I don't want to be ridden of the burden of the rags that bind me up and keep me where I am, entombed. If I take the rags off I may have to get up and start living again. There are times I don't want my friends and family to go to Jesus and ask for His help. I want to wallow in my tomb of self-destruction, self-pity. But Jesus loves me too much for that to happen. And when He comes and calls my name I cannot fight His power the Words hold. I have to come out. Come out of the tomb and go to Him. He could carry me out. He could force me out. He could. But all He does is call my name and say "come out". That is all I need. Through those words I know I am loved, that I have a friend and Savior, and that I want to live. Joanna Weaver was able to touch my heart with how she portrayed Lazarus in this book. We know Mary and Martha more than their brother, but after this book I believe he played a very important part in the ministry of Jesus. I know that I want to meet Him in Heaven and talk with Him. He was Jesus' friend and I want to be that kind of friend to Jesus too.
The Bible study is good for individual use or for a group. You will benefit from this study. If you journal as I do then this will be a great companion to your journaling experience. It offers many prompts and you will have many things to write about in your journal. I recommend this book with a rating of 5 stars. You will not be disappointed. I have written this review for WaterBrook Multnomah Publishers. I received this book free in exchange for my honest review at www.blogginforbooks.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lazarus Awakening: Finding Your Place in the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Seeing a familar Bible passage in a new way

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
notdenise
Location:Northern Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lazarus Awakening is the third and final book in a trilogy about Mary, Martha, and Lazarus. As the author states in Chapter 1, "I never intended to write a trilogy about Mary, Martha & Lazarus, the siblings from Bethany that we meet in Luke's and John's gospels. In fact, when I wrote Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World", I was fairly certain it was the one and only book to be found in those verses. But God surprised me six years later, and Having a Mary Spirit was born."
Now comes the third book about Lazarus. "Who was Lazarus anyway? He didn't speak a single world in the Bible. We have no record of his great acts of faith. Yet he is described as the one Jesus loves." Joanna Weaver uses the story of Lazarus to show God's unconditional love for us, and his great desire to have a relationship with us. It has helped me re-examine what I am prioritizing over a relationship with God - are they really that important in comparison?
I have read other Joanna Weaver books and find her writing style to be very easy to understand. More importantly, she brings new understanding to familiar Bible passages that we can all apply to our lives today. This books helped deepen my relationship with God. I intend to re-read passages in the future when I need to be re-learn to trust God and be reminded of God's love.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lazarus Awakening: Finding Your Place in the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An awesome view of the spiritual journey .

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
calamity Jane
Location:Morehead, Kentusky
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a christian for many years this book will challenge you to GROW and stay focused on the reality of Christ !
An excellent book for small group/sunday school class
studies!
You will miss a blessing if you don't read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lazarus Awakening: Finding Your Place in the Heart of God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Help for the fearful and unbelieving believer

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Seize the Book Blog
Location:East Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I remember reading Joanna's first book, Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World, many years ago. It helped me get perspective on how to be like Mary in the midst of this crazy, hectic world we live in.
Lazarus Awakening, the third in the author's trilogy (Having a Mary Spirit is her second one), has a different objective. It is written to the believer who has become fearful, unforgiving, or is having a hard time believing that God loves them and that He can be trusted completely with everything.
I was able to identify with a lot of what Mrs. Weaver illustrated in this book. I know what it is like to doubt God, and I have struggled many times in my life with the inability to embrace the unconditional love of God. The author helped me to see myself accurately in the light of God's Word. I gained insight in this book about Lazarus and his sisters as I read how they came to grips with what the Son of God was doing in their lives. He knows exactly what he is doing, even when we continue to question his ways.
Mrs. Weaver has a way with making the Scriptures come alive. I did not agree fully with all she wrote, but these were minor things compared with the whole of the book and its message of healing and restoration.
I give Lazarus Awakening 3 1/2 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>