Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker That's My Son: How Moms Can Influence Boys to Become Men of Character

Baker That's My Son: How Moms Can Influence Boys to Become Men of Character

Why are boys so different? Why would a trip to the garbage dump be such a highlight in a boy's life? What do boys need to learn in order to become good men? A mother's influence on her sons is unique and valuable, but sometimes moms don't understand what makes their boys tick. They want to help their sons grow up to become men of honor and integrity, but that's a tremendous challenge. With refreshing honesty and a man's insight, author Rick Johnson offers the advice, understanding, and support every mom is looking for when it comes to raising godly sons. Using extensive research and humorous personal experiences, he addresses tough issues such as communication, discipline, sexuality, and respect.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for That's My Son: How Moms Can Influence Boys to Become Men of Character
Review 1 for That's My Son: How Moms Can Influence Boys to Become Men of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kate
Location:colorado
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really good guidance and information esp. as you begin the tween years. Really good info on mom's role and what to do to guide them into becoming men.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for That's My Son: How Moms Can Influence Boys to Become Men of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Alissa Regitz
My favorite nonfiction read of the year! As a Mother of three sons I've been devouring any godly advice to be the best mother I can be to encourage our boys to grow into godly men of integrity. I appreciate Rick Johnson's opinion as a male and as a father. He helps to equip the female perspective in understanding the unique needs of our boys. I will refer to this book again and again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for That's My Son: How Moms Can Influence Boys to Become Men of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joseph Vannoy
Great book. All that I thaught it would be and an even better read! Very practical and insighful. Modern and yet classic in the same.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for That's My Son: How Moms Can Influence Boys to Become Men of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Karen Mcmahon
Being a Single Mom of a 10 year old boy is difficult.I found that Rick shared some amazing information. Ricks Book allowed me to gain some insite of what I can do as a Mom / women to journey through life with my son. I know that My roll in his Life is important and now I also have the confidence to support my son onto becoming a Courageous Man of God. Thank you Rick Johnson, I also enjoyed "The man Whisperer" and look forward to reading more of your work.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for That's My Son: How Moms Can Influence Boys to Become Men of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dina Marschall
Great content, easy to read, helpful to me as a single mom who want s the best for her son-
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for That's My Son: How Moms Can Influence Boys to Become Men of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Alice Cochrane
Wow!What wonderful insight,help, and encouragement for all who are concerned about boys becoming good men. As a grandmother my example and impact carries incredible weight. I recommend this book for Moms and Dads, grandparents, youth leaders, teachers, we all have the responsibility to be healthy role models and mentors. Thanks Rick Johnson for opening our eyes on such a critical responsibility.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for That's My Son: How Moms Can Influence Boys to Become Men of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Wonderful reading. Only wish I had read this before I got married, let alone before having sons! I learned a lot that I never really thought about before. Gives great perspective from a man's point of view. I recommend and loan my copy to Moms of boys.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for That's My Son: How Moms Can Influence Boys to Become Men of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Glenda Donaldson
As the mother of three boys, ages 3-9, this book has, and will continue to be, an invaluable resource to me. It is informative, insightful and, above all, practical. It has totally changed the way I relate to my boys. It speaks to mothers of boys of all ages, in all walks of life. The world needs more "Spartan moms!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for That's My Son: How Moms Can Influence Boys to Become Men of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2006
Customer Avatar
Dorinne Tye
Rick's book was an amazing eye opener into the mind of the male gender. I found it thought provoking, captivating, intriguing and at times downright hilarious. *Have you ever found yourself frustrated time and time again at the ridiculous, anti-productive conversations with the males in your life? *Do you get angry at what you perceive as the laziness of your son, nephews, brothers, fathers, husbands or male co-workers, when you are sure they are perfectly capable of what is wanted or needed? *Does it seem like the harder you try the more frustrated everyone gets as the communication gap becomes insurmountably larger? Does it begin to feel then like you are "nagging"? * Are you ever shocked to see how busy, loud, defiant or mean your boy seems? *Are you a single mother bound by guilt that controls your parenting? *Do you ever ask yourself, "what am I missing here" or "what am I doing wrong" when it comes to busy, macho, daring and fearless boys/men? If you answered, "yes" to any or all of these, this book is a must read for you. I couldn't believe that such a small book could so thoroughly cover all this and more. Much to my happiness, I found some pretty simple but undeniable truths in this book that I have put to the test with my son. I am having dramatically different interactions with dramatically different results. I always knew my 14-year-old son, was a good man, I just did not know how to tap into it. I now proudly look at my young man and say, "That's My Son," and he's turning into a real man, a good man, a man of integrity.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for That's My Son: How Moms Can Influence Boys to Become Men of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2006
Customer Avatar
Susan
This book is amazing. It is very easy to read and most important, easy to remember. The information and the ideas I received from this book are invaluable to me and my son now and for the future. Thank you Mr. Johnson for your fantastically simple, practical info. I've never heard it like this before and I appreciate it!SL
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.