Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books A Stillness of Chimes

Multnomah Books A Stillness of Chimes

When Laura Gantt returns to Georgia to handle her late mother's estate, she hears a startling rumor---that her father staged his drowning years ago and has recently been spotted roaming the mountains. With the help of her former high school sweetheart, Laura searches for the truth. But will what they find destroy their rekindled feelings? 352 pages, softcover from Multnomah.
Average Customer Rating:
4.148 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
26 out of 2796%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Stillness of Chimes
Review 1 for A Stillness of Chimes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Atmospheric, hauntingly beautiful story

Date:July 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Stillness of Chimes - the title itself is compelling and descriptive of what readers will find within these pages. It sets a mood, an atmosphere, almost foreshadowing with these words: "There was no sound but the wind in the trees and the chimes. Then the wind stilled. Everything was hushed, as if the whole world waited for something to happen."
A Stillness of Chimes is one of the most original and memorable books I've ever read. It almost has a haunting quality to it, and its characters are still in my thoughts. The setting is the small north Georgia town of Prospect - a town that was "half tourist trap and half hick town." The storyline beautifully incorporates several themes - childhood friendships and family secrets . . . PTSD, parental abuse, abandonment . . . questions and doubts when it comes to matters of faith - all in Meg's unique and lyrical style.
Meg's stories capture the essence of the South and there's almost a magical quality to her writing, especially when she sets her story in the Blue Ridge Mountains of southern Appalachia. This area is my heritage and I can truly say that Meg has captured the essence of these mountains and the people. Her outstanding first novel, When Sparrows Fall, had a similar setting and style, so I was thrilled that she returned to this familiar setting.
"Laura Gantt didn't believe in ghosts, but sometimes she wondered if living across from a graveyard had warped her. Part Irish, all southern, descended from moonshiners and holy rollers, she'd always believed in things she couldn't see. Her dad said it was just the old whisperings in their blood."
This opening paragraph gives a sense of mood, Meg's lyrical writing style, and a glimpse into lead character, Laura Gantt. I was immediately drawn to Laura and Sean, loved the friendship and chemistry between them. But it's the off-screen character of Laura's father, Elliott Gantt, who drives the story. Elliott is such an interesting and compelling character - he fought in Vietnam, loved his family, and was trained in survival techniques. He could also play - and build - the fiddle, mandolin, guitar.
One of my favorite secondary characters was the mysterious and wise Granny Colfax, so funny in her thoughts regarding cell phones: "All those calls, cluttering up the heavens. Turning the whole sky into a tower of Babel. I wonder if anybody ever really listens to each other anymore." She could have easily been in my family tree!
Spiritual themes are woven throughout with subtlety, in a way that fits this narrative - and I think that is a sign of mature writing. How beautiful are Sean's thoughts as he looks at the graveyard "with all its crosses that preached silent sermons about the life to come"!
Then there's the scene where hearing the "Doxology" reminds Laura of the creed her father taught her as a child: I believe in the Holy Spirit, the holy catholic church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and the life everlasting. Laura acknowledges that "she would never understand any of it completely. Not this side of heaven." And isn't that where most of us are? Not fully understanding, seeing only in part - but that rich heritage of faith runs through our veins and we look forward to all that will be in heaven. And that's where a childlike faith and trust enters in.
This wasn't a book that I could rush through, so I read slowly and savored each word, often going back to read through certain passages again. Highly recommended to those who enjoy relationship drama with hidden depths.
Thank you to Meg Moseley for providing a copy of this book in exchange for my honest
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Stillness of Chimes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Mystery - A Story of Faithfulness

Date:June 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Childhood friends Laura Gantt, Sean Halloran, and Cassie Bright (along with Cassie’s little sister, Tig) vowed they’d always watch out for one another. Then they grew up and two moved away. But now they’re all back in town at the same time, and they need each other—whether all three want to admit it or not.
Laura is in town for her mother’s funeral. An only child whose father drowned twelve years ago, Laura is the sole heir, responsible to settle her mother’s estate. Rumor has it, however, that her father didn’t really drown. Rather he faked his own death and went into hiding. Members of the small community in Georgia have started catching glimpses of him, insisting he’s alive and well. With the help of her friends, Laura must uncover the truth while helping Cassie discover the meaning of her own mother’s disconcerting change in behavior.
"A Stillness of Chimes" is a mystery that kept me guessing until the end. But it’s also a story of faithful friendship and patient love, of steadfast loyalty to those who don’t always deserve it yet receive it anyway from people who choose to care about them when given every reason to simply walk away. I appreciated this story and thank Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers for sending a complimentary copy in exchange for this honest review. Meg Moseley is an author whose books I’ve come to watch for. "A Stillness of Chimes" did not disappoint!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Stillness of Chimes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Romance, Suspense and Small-town Charm

Date:May 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laura Gantt has returned to her small home town of Prospect, Georgia, to settle up her mother’s estate. The town is abuzz with rumours: it seems her father, Elliot, has been seen—even though he’s been dead for years. Did he fake his death? If so, why? And if he really is dead, who is snooping around Laura’s house? Meanwhile, Laura also has to deal with Sean Halloran, her high school sweetheart, and Ardelle, her best friend’s mother, who seems to be losing her mind.
The story is intriguing from the beginning, yet it’s only in the very last pages that we see the significance of those first few pages. The plot unfolds slowly, giving us time to get to know the characters and to wonder, along with Laura, if her father really is alive, and to puzzle the other secrets that unfold as we get to know the characters.
A Stillness of Chimes is full of secrets and mystery, and captured my attention from the start. It’s the story of rediscovered romance as three childhood friends reunited as adults and coming to grips with grown-up problems including death, marriage difficulties and ageing parents. Well worth reading.
Thanks to Multnomah Books and Blogging for Books for providing a free book for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Stillness of Chimes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A circle murder-mystery...

Date:April 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jen Pen
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SUMMARY:
Laura Gantt returns home to Prospect, Georgia, to bury her mother; however, rumors are circulating around town that perhaps her dad is still alive rather than presumed drowned in an accident twelve years prior. Sean Halloran, a luthier with an abusive father, joins Laura in the search, though he remains skeptical. As pieces of the puzzle begin to all fit together, could a murder be solved…or is there much more involved?
A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
In this circle murder-mystery novel, Meg Moseley returns to a story that she put away for quite some time. With tidbits of suspense, end-of-the-chapter cliffhangers, realistic events and enthralling writing patterns, she created a book I couldn’t stop reading until finished. The twists and turns included kept me guessing while my emotions flip-flopped with the characters and events. Though confused at the beginning by the title and the book cover, it soon became apparent the reasons for those choices. With Christian elements scattered throughout, I could truly recommend this book.
RATING:
4.5 (out of 5) pennies
*I received a complimentary copy of A Stillness of Chimes from Multnomah Publishers for my honest review*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Stillness of Chimes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Story sticks with you.

Date:April 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Andrea Cox
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A book I recently read has stayed with me these past few weeks. Meg Moseley’s A Stillness of Chimes held my interest from the very beginning as I wondered what troubled the lead male character, Sean Halloran. As that mystery, and many others, was revealed over the course of this novel, the characters wiggled into my heart. Laura, Sean, and Cassie each had their own problems to face, but I particularly connected with Laura Gantt.
Her battle to believe or disprove the rumors that her dad, who was thought to be lost to the lake, has been seen wandering around town reminds me of the story I’m writing right now. Though there isn't any hope for my character's loved one to return, the rumors surrounding Laura Gantt’s father cause her to doubt everything she knew to be true. As Laura says, “This news about my dad… It changes everything.” Who knew one little whisper could change the entire dynamics of a lifetime of memories?
The one thing I don’t like about this story was the inclusion of affairs. I realize it’s a part of real life, but it isn’t something I’m drawn to in the fictional books I read. I’d rather read about loyalty in marriage as it’s the way I believe God created marriage to be between a husband and wife. However, I believe this book may provide guidance to God’s saving grace for those who have made similar decisions in their lives.
I especially enjoyed Meg’s style of writing. The reason? Because I never noticed I was reading a fictional story. It all seemed so real, so vivid. I was immersed in the characters’ lives as if I were living among them. It’s obvious a novel is well written when you don’t notice the author. Sometimes pet words or habits in sentence structure cause me to lose focus on the story and notice the author’s presence more. I’ve read two Meg Moseley books so far, and I never had that problem through any of the chapters in either novel. My hat’s off to her, and I look forward to discovering more of her creative storylines.
Thank you so much to WaterBrook Multnomah for a complimentary copy of A Stillness of Chimes in exchange for this honest review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Stillness of Chimes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ruth Stiles
Location:Central NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Small towns have big secrets. These secrets can destroy families and friendships as quickly as they can form the relationships. Laura Gantt grew up in Prospect, Georgia. Her best friend, Cassie, lived almost next door, and Sean, the guy who wanted her heart, lived across town. Cassie came from a prosperous family, while Sean lived in an abusive one. Laura’s days were filled with picking berries with Cassie, and watching her own dad mentor Sean. Then the unbelievable happened – Laura’s dad disappeared.
The strain and grief of this lost drove a wedge between Laura and her mom, and Laura headed out of town to start again. When her mother passes away, Laura returns to settle the family estate. She realizes there is more to settle than the family land and possessions. Rumors are spinning around town that her father is alive, and that several townsfolk have seen him. With determination Laura fights these vicious rumors, and throughout the next weeks she uncovers some buried secrets that just might get her hurt or worse. When Laura’s mom’s chimes go missing in the middle of the night, she realizes that her father is alive, and knows that she will do anything to find him!
Sean is unsure as to what he believes. He loved Elliott Gantt like the father he never had. Sean’s own father was ruthless and mean. As Sean and his older brother begin to secretly investigate the rumors, he finds himself investigating his heart where it concerns Laura. Can love heal the past wounds, or would it just be a blanket to cover them? Will the sacrifices of the past be realized for what they were meant for?
*I received this book from WaterBrook Multnomah, and am not being compensated for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Stillness of Chimes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Multi-Faceted Plot with Heart and Depth

Date:April 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meg Moseley always delivers novels with heart, depth, and complexity. True to the style set by her previous two novels, "A Stillness of Chimes" encompasses a spectrum of emotions in a multi-faceted plot. An air of mystery prevails throughout the novel, and every character has a story that becomes a cohesive part of the bigger story. Moseley steers readers directly into serious subjects and immerses us directly into life in Prospect, Georgia. "A Stillness of Chimes" certainly has its share of pain and less-than-happy realizations for the characters, but it is a beautifully written novel with a prevailing sense of hope and happiness.
The novel's central mystery surrounds the presumed death of Elliot Gantt, but a web of connected mysteries is revealed as the plot unfolds. Elliot's daughter, Laura, and his protege, Sean, are left to uncover both past and present truths. With both of Laura's parents gone, there are no straight forward answers to the mounting questions, just assumptions and childhood memories. Moseley's storytelling kept me interested throughout the book's entire emotional journey. The characters are fully developed and even Laura's parents, who are only alive in Laura's and Sean's memories have complexities that make them three-dimensional.
"A Stillness of Chimes" is novel that will touch reader's hearts. Moseley ventures far beyond predictability to create a Southern tale of love, forgiveness, and truth.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Multnomah/ WaterBrook Press through their book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Stillness of Chimes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful book

Date:April 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
raisingbookworms
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Stillness of Chimes is a character driven book. It moves at a slower pace them some suspense type books but it is so well written. The book is so full of emotions and characters that you feel you've known for a long time in the end. A Stillness of Chimes tackles a often hard to describe subject that many suffer from PTSD. The book is all about that but does cover it and she does such a great job. You really feel for Laura's dad and family. Since Laura's dad suffers from it the whole family is affected even long after he is gone. A Stillness of Chimes is about love, family, second chances and redemption. This book has faith, suspense, romance and an ending that will have you going "What!" The cover is wonderful and so inviting. If I was at a bookstore or library I would grab this book for the cover alone. Then you read the story inside and will be so happy you grabbed a copy. I would recommend A Stillness of Chimes for all. This book has a little of something for everyone! Great for poolside or beach reading over Spring break if your kids haven't gone on theirs yet. We have ours in 2 weeks. If you've already had spring break add this book to your summer reading list!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Stillness of Chimes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Character driven with hints of suspense

Date:March 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good novel but it is a little different in style. Most of the novel is character driven. The major character is Laura who has come back home during her summer break from teaching to take care of the possessions of her mother, who has recently died. Through her interaction with the people of the town, especially her high school boyfriend Sean, we learn about her past. She and Sean were close as teens but upon graduation, she ended their relationship and went far away to college. Twelve years ago her father apparently drowned while on a fishing trip although his body was never found.
Throughout the novel we get a sense that there is something going on that will ultimately generate a time of suspense. Laura finds out that there are rumors floating around town claiming her father has been seen – that he is still alive. Strange things happen around her mother's house too. Sean remembers something from his childhood involving Laura's father that adds intrigue. And Sean's own father, a nasty drunk of a man, is determined to cause trouble.
While most of the novel is character driven, there is always the hint that something suspenseful is about to happen. Hang on until the end because the suspense does come, and then the book ends rather quickly.
There are themes of forgiveness and sacrifice in the novel. There are also enough twists and turns and family secrets that the plot keeps moving. I was a little impatient with the build up for the suspense, wondering if it would ever come. The plot itself was a little far fetched, I think, but the book is written well enough that it is worth reading.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of an independent and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Stillness of Chimes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Read, but not Great

Date:March 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Stillness of Chimes is Meg Mosley's latest book which I was very eager to read. She has become a favorite author of mine with her two previous books. She always gives the reader a different kind of storyline which makes her writing so interesting.
Laura comes home to Prospect, Georgia to go through and get ready to sell her mother's house after her death..She has been gone for a long time and now the town is full of rumors about her father who disappeared twelve years ago in the lake. Different people claim to have seen him. Since his body was never found, Laura firmly believes he is alive and sets out to find him. This is one of the story lines which Laura enlists the help of Sean ( her high school boyfriend) to help her find her father. Laura's father was a mentor to Sean but he is afraid to help her, since he has his own reasons for letting her father's disappearance stay that way. They do uncover the truth in the Blue Ridge Mountains that surround Prospect, but you will be very surprised with the facts they uncover. The ending completely surprised me. Can't tell you more, since you need to find out for yourself what I am talking about.
This book has romance, intrigue, second chances, memories, family secrets and great, believable characters. I really enjoyed the book but felt, at times, the story dragged with too much page fillers. Meg Mosely still writes beautiful stories and I look forward to her next book.
This book was provided by Waterbrook/Multnomah free for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Stillness of Chimes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mysterious Story

Date:May 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Callie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Stillness of Chimes by Meg Moseley is the story of Laura Gant, who comes home to Georgia for her mother's funeral only to learn that her father has been seen around town - after he was thought to have drowned years ago. As she begins to clean out her mother's house she finds clues to a family history she was never aware of, and she starts to get her hopes up that her dad might be alive after all.
This book gave me the feeling of musty smells and peeling paint, but in the best possible way. The descriptions of the town and settings were so colorful, and there was an undertone of creepy mystery through most of the book that added to the overall charm of the story. There was also a subtle romance through the book as Laura is thrown together with her old flame as she investigates.
As I was thinking back on the story, I'm not sure I have read a book that was as interesting as this where so little actually happened! I thought it was very well written, and it kept me interested without even needing to use a lot of action, which is not easy to do. The characters were really believable and likable, and I liked the subtle character growth through the story. The ending was good and fit really well with the tone of the rest of the book, I thought.
I'd recommend this book for anyone who likes a mixture of drama and mystery.
Note: I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for this review. This is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Stillness of Chimes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Beautiful Telling

Date:March 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The depth of character development in this novel is deep and subtle, drawing deeply on the surrounding events that are happening to the characters with a beauty and an ease to the storytelling that made it easy to keep picking up this book.
Our heroine, Laura has not had the easiest of lives and that has contributed everything to where she is right now. In her hometown, her childhood sweetheart back in her life and the potential that her once thought to be dead father could very well be alive. If that is not enough emotional depth, I don’t know what is.
There is much happening within the characters and I think it’s balanced well with the action of the story, though it is slight and more is focused on creating rich and deep characters. I found sections of the story emotionally pulling at my heart strings and while the romance is subtle, it drew me in ever so gently-a hard thing to do with this hopeless romantic.
I did think parts of the story might have been a little bit slow, but on the flip side of that, the literary quality, the character depth, the symmetry woven throughout the story created a great character driven women’s fiction.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Stillness of Chimes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Stillness of Chimes by Meg Moseley

Date:March 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Stillness of Chimes by Meg Moseley is an entertaining novel set in the Blue Ridge Mountains surrounding Prospect. Laura, Sean, and Cassie all grew up there and since Laura has returned to settle her mother's estate all are back together again. The death of her mother has left Laura regreiving the drowning death of her father,Elliott, when she was 18 as well as mourning her mom. His body was never found and the rumors were all over town of various sightings of him roaming the wilderness surrounding Prospect. Laura's dad had been a Viet Nam vet and the war had changed him but he was always loving to her and she had loved him. She was torn: if he was alive why did he leave her and her mom? but oh how see would love to see him again and hear him play and sing once more and just one more time tell him that she loved him. Sean had a drunk for a dad and Laura's dad had saved his life then taught him to not only play the stringed instruments he played but also to make them thought not as artistically as Laura's dad Sean was very talented and hardworking. Sean had however seen Elliott do something that he had not shared with anyone that could change everything. Working together Laura and Sean start to uncover the mystery while continuing to keep their own secrets about Elliott.
I thoroughly loved this story. There is a love interest but the most important part of the story is the mystery. I kept wanting to read the last page so I could read the book without the tension but I resisted and I hope that you do also. This book would be of interest to any female of any age which was interested in the subject matter and I would recommend reading it.
This book was supplied by Waterbrook Multnomah for this review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Stillness of Chimes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Reservation or Two

Date:March 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Victoria
Location:United States
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just finished "A Stillness of Chimes" and let me say, I absolutely love Moseley's style. This book about a woman returning to the southern town she grew up in had my attention from the moment I saw the blackberries on the cover.
The one thing that came through a bit stronger than I am comfortable with is the romance and memories of it in Laura's life. It isn't too bad, but I can do without the details. :) My only other reservation was that Moseley drug her feet in telling us how things were going to play out with Laura's Dad. I hung in there though, because there were enough subplots to keep me curious and distracted in the possibilities they suggested.
So, if you have enjoyed a previous piece of Moseley's writing, or you're looking for a little literary getaway to the south, pick "A Stillness of Chimes" up. As long as you know that it's a bit slow and there's some romance, you will be ready for a journey through some of life's most difficult trials with a woman who is not overly dramatic through any of it!
*All thoughts are my own. I was provided a review copy of this book by the WaterBrook Multnomah publishing group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Stillness of Chimes
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
StoryGirl
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I don’t normally read “Southern Fiction” but I thought Meg Moseley’s last book, Gone South, sounded interesting, and since I didn’t get a chance to read that one, when I saw A Stillness of Chimes available, I took it. Also, I’m always trying to mix up my reading every once in a while with books in a different genre than what I normally read- the mark of a good writer is one who can capture the attention of even a reader a bit reluctant to dive into a certain genre, right?
I’m still not exactly sure what I thought of this novel; parts of it interested me (and by that I mean the mystery) but for most of it I felt like I was just dragging myself through, and if I hadn’t gotten it for review purposes, I probably wouldn’t have finished it.
It’s not that the writing was bad; Meg Moseley has a pleasurable writing style and the story flowed well. It’s just that it was, as a lot of Southern Fiction is, very slow-paced. And in another trademark I’ve seen in a lot of books in the genre, there are so many characters with secrets and “skeletons in the closet” that sometimes it just feels a little soap-opera-y melodramatic. (I wouldn’t recommend this to younger readers, by the way, for that very reason.) I wouldn’t say there was much of it that I really liked or enjoyed; my motive for finishing was more along the lines of curiosity of how everything was going to turn out rather than a connection to the characters.
That’s not saying that I’m telling you to pass on this book. If you enjoy southern fiction and/or contemporary fiction, you’ll probably like this one better than I did. So while I didn’t really care for A Stillness of Chimes, it was mostly due to my own personal preference in stories and not necessarily because the book itself was wanting.
I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Stillness of Chimes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Meg Mosely Shines!!!

Date:March 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Clover, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"What if the echoes of past heartaches uncovered an unknown sacrifice that changes everything?"
This sentence from the back of the book will haunt you through every page.
I love Meg Moseley's books. She writes with a depth that tugs at my heart.
A southern Georgia mountain town, a bluegrass festival, a dead man who may not be dead, even after 12 years, secrets revealed that shatter hearts, friends whose lives are in turmoil, a love that has endured for 18 years.......this is the stuff of this book.
Reading the prologue, (out loud to my husband) I was reminded of To Kill A Mockingbird. It has the same feeling, the same emotions running through it.
Meg Mosely has created characters as rich and full as a southern blackberry cobbler made from the berries pictured on the cover. Deeply satisfying relationships, haunting melodies and so much more make this book one for your keeper shelves.
The secrets kept by the characters herein are deep secrets, kept for over a decade and destined to never be revealed. Your heart will ache for these folks and what they've endured, you'll feel the Georgia clay on your feet as you read of the struggles in their lives and the hurts they've kept hidden in their hearts.
This is a book NOT to be missed. You will want to read it in one sitting. I have closed the cover but want to go back and read it again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Stillness of Chimes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Stillness of Chimes

Date:March 10, 2014
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Stillness of Chimes is the latest novel by Meg Moseley.
Laura Gantt is back in her hometown of Prospect, Georgia, a month after her mother's unexpected death. Laura is a teacher back in Denver, so she has the summer available to attend to sorting out her mother's belongings.
Laura meets up with Sean Halloran shortly after returning to town. Sean is a dear friend from her past who wants to prepare her for the rumors that have been spreading around town. People have had sightings of her father, Elliot Gantt. The only problem is he drowned twelve years ago!
Sean does not believe these rumors are true; however, Laura cannot let go of the hope that her dearly loved Father is alive. Walk on this journey with Laura and Sean as they revisit memories from their past and discover how they fit into their current lives!
I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my unbiased review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Stillness of Chimes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Forgiveness and a New Future

Date:March 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
mcaldwell
Location:Erie, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Author Meg Moseley weaves an interesting story of Laura Gantt and her parents. Vietnam war memories plague her father, Elliott, and stress from supporting him leads Laura's mother, Jess, to make some unexpected choices. Back in Georgia to settle her mother's estate, Laura along with her high school boyfriend (and soulmate) Sean pursue a mystery of Laura's presumed dead father. There's a lot of unresolved anger and unfinished business in this story. It shows how people harbor secrets and how frustration festers through the years. There's also amazing forgiveness and love that ties the folks of the community together. I enjoyed the book. Thanks to Multnomah for an advance copy for reviewing, in my own words.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Stillness of Chimes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Meg Moseley's latest

Date:March 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
Location:Prospect,KY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Eighteen years ago, best friends Laura, Seth, and Cassie pledged to be there for each other no matter what. Not long afterward, Laura's father drowned in a nearby lake. Life has taken them in different directions but when Laura returns to their hometown to go through her mother's belongings after her death, all three find themselves together again. Rumors are beginning to circulate throughout town about Laura's father. Is his body really at the bottom of the lake or are the rumors that he has hidden out all these years and been spotted around town really true?
A Stillness of Chimes by Meg Moseley is set in small town Prospect, Georgia where everyone knows everyone else and life seems simpler. The story is one of mystery, secrets, friendships, lost love, and second chances. The characters live a life easy to relate to as a reader but I finished the book with some unanswered questions about some of them, specifically Cassie. Perhaps the author is considering another book to follow with some of the same characters that might clear up some of those questions.
I must be drawn to books about "ghosts". The last two I have read open up with suggesting there are ghosts which takes me back a bit in Christian fiction. All that to say, I really did enjoy the story. It is a quick read and each chapter leaves you hesitant to put the book down. It isn't all that predictable either which adds to its appeal. A Reader's Guide is included in the back of the book for book discussions.
I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way obligated to write a positive review. Check out another of Meg Moseley's books, Gone South.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Stillness of Chimes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has mystery, romance, faith.

Date:March 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Janet Albertson
Location:Johnstown, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book introduces the characters Laura, Sean, and Cassie as twelve-year-olds picking blackberries in Prospect, Georgia. They are great friends and promise to protect each other forever. The next chapter is 18 years later. A lot has happened in the intervening years. At 14, Sean was rescued by Laura and Cassie's dads from his abusive father. When Laura was 18, her father, a Vietnam veteran who had "spells" of darkness in his life, was presumed drowned, though his body was never found. Laura and Sean, who were childhood sweethearts, broke up their relationship in the pain of losing Laura's dad. Laura went to college in Colorado and became a teacher there. Cassie has married and moved to California where she and her husband are struggling to make ends meet.
The three have met up again in the hometown because Laura has come home to settle her mother's affairs after her sudden death. Cassie has come home to help her father figure out what is wrong with her mother, who seems to be losing her mind. Sean has stayed in Prospect and is still single. He wants Laura to know from him before she hears the town gossip, that people are claiming to have seen her dad alive! Laura doesn't know whether to hope her beloved daddy is still alive or not. The implications of him having staged his drowning and abandoning her and her mother is too staggering to consider. Had he loved them, despite his PTSD, or not?
Sean and Laura have to figure this out: find out if he is alive, and support Cassie as she deals with the strange things her mom is doing. Is there a connection in the strangeness?
Questions I asked: Will Sean and Laura rediscover their love for each other? Will Laura's father be found? Why is Cassie's mother 'losing it'? What are the secrets that their parents have hidden from them? And what kind of trouble will Sean's alcoholic, hateful father cause to all of them? Will Laura be able to recover her faith in God that she lost when she lost her daddy?
This book was a page turner for me. It is a pretty fast read, and very enjoyable. The title was cleverly chosen, as the night the wind chimes were stilled, the mysteries began to be solved.
I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>