Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print Books #3: The Lightkeeper's Ball, Large Print

Center Point Large Print Books #3: The Lightkeeper's Ball, Large Print

Olivia seems to have it all, but her heart yearns for more.

Olivia Stewart's family is one of the Four Hundred-the highest echelon of society in 1910. When her sister dies under mysterious circumstances, Olivia leaves their New York City home for Mercy Falls, California, to determine what befell Eleanor. She suspects Harrison Bennett, the man Eleanor planned to marry. But the more Olivia gets to know him, the more she doubts his guilt-and the more she is drawn to him herself.

When several attempts are made on her life, Olivia turns to Harrison for help. He takes her on a ride in his aeroplane, but then crashes, and they're forced to spend two days alone together. With her reputation hanging by a thread, Harrison offers to marry her to make the situation right. As a charity ball to rebuild the Mercy Falls lighthouse draws near, she realizes she wants more than a sham engagement-she wants Harrison in her life forever. But her enemy plans to shatter the happiness she is ready to grasp. If Olivia dares to drop her masquerade, she just might see the path to true happiness.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
58 out of 6097%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #3: The Lightkeeper's Ball, Large Print
Review 1 for #3: The Lightkeeper's Ball, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful!

Date:January 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
CharityUAusten
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, I absolutely LOVE the cover. Seriously. Whenever there’s a discussion about pretty covers, this one comes to my mind first. I did a Cover Focus on it awhile back too! And it contains a great story. There were a few scenes that I can only describe as heart-melting – so sweet, and I loved them. Mystery and excitement abound in this book, making it a page-turner the whole way through! It’s a memorable read – I recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #3: The Lightkeeper's Ball, Large Print
This review is fromThe Lightkeeper's Ball - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Olivia Stewart has everything a girl wants; money to buy gowns in the latest fashion, friends that invite her to their extravagant balls, galas, social events, and family that needs for nothing. But being part of America's Four Hundred in 1910 and heiress to an empire of old titles and old money mean nothing when that wealth disappears - along with the lifestyle that money brings.
Olivia's sister, Eleanor is engaged to be married to one of the country's newly rich Harrison Bennett. But when Eleanor dies under mysterious circumstances, it is up to Olivia to take her place as Harrison's bride. Under her English title of Lady Devonworth, Olivia travels to Mercy Falls, California to investigate her sister's death. When she arrives, she discovers that Harrison Bennett is not who he seems to be, and that Eleanor did not die by accident. Will she be able to salvage what is left of her family's money by marrying Harrison? Or will her desire for more than never-ending parties and wealth keep her from going where her heart leads?
Olivia finds herself in the situation we all find ourselves in - discontent with our lives. This final installment to the Mercy Falls trilogy was a very satisfying read with just the right amount of mystery, excitement and historical details. I really enjoyed the plot of The Lightkeeper's Ball, and the characters were either at peace or against one another. The ending caught me by surprise, and it was a page turner the entire ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #3: The Lightkeeper's Ball, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Missy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great book. I enjoyed this book along with the others in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #3: The Lightkeeper's Ball, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mrs. Coble, I'm hooked...

Date:April 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! Let me say first of all that the cover for this book is absolutely gorgeous! I was so captivated by it that I knew it was only a matter of time before it drew me into it's pages. The Lightkeeper's Ball was the first book I read in the Mercy Falls Series, and it was great as a stand alone book, although I may have understood the other character's a little more had I read the series in order.
The story was wonderfully written (as are all of Colleen Coble's books) and it was filled with love, mystery and a little adventure. I read this book in just a few hours because I simply couldn't put it down. I should've been sleeping, but this book wouldn't let me. ;)
Highly recommended to all fans of historical fiction, and although it's not the greatest book of all time, it is worth losing a little sleep over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #3: The Lightkeeper's Ball, Large Print
This review is fromThe Lightkeeper's Ball - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
regrn
Location:Williamston, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was very good. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I would recommend it to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #3: The Lightkeeper's Ball, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was wondderful as all of Colleen Cobles books.

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:Anaheim, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am ready to order any books by this author. Three of us here read them and all enjoy them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #3: The Lightkeeper's Ball, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Olivia Stewart has everything a girl wants; money to buy gowns in the latest fashion, friends that invite her to their extravagant balls, galas, social events, and family that needs for nothing. But being part of America's Four Hundred in 1910 and heiress to an empire of old titles and old money mean nothing when that wealth disappears - along with the lifestyle that money brings.
Olivia's sister, Eleanor is engaged to be married to one of the country's newly rich Harrison Bennett. But when Eleanor dies under mysterious circumstances, it is up to Olivia to take her place as Harrison's bride. Under her English title of Lady Devonworth, Olivia travels to Mercy Falls, California to investigate her sister's death. When she arrives, she discovers that Harrison Bennett is not who he seems to be, and that Eleanor did not die by accident. Will she be able to salvage what is left of her family's money by marrying Harrison? Or will her desire for more than never-ending parties and wealth keep her from going where her heart leads?
Olivia finds herself in the situation we all find ourselves in - discontent with our lives. This final installment to the Mercy Falls trilogy was a very satisfying read with just the right amount of mystery, excitement and historical details. I really enjoyed the plot of The Lightkeeper's Ball, and the characters were either at peace or against one another. The ending caught me by surprise, and it was a page turner the entire ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #3: The Lightkeeper's Ball, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyed learning about the historical perspective

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ally
Location:Traverse City, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed reading about the historical perspective of aeroplanes, Halley's Comet, and the female role in high society. The internal struggles of the main characters to adhere to those views while being true to themselves created a good venue for conflict and an adventurous avenue for unity and love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for #3: The Lightkeeper's Ball, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

i loved the whole series

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linda Nichol
Location:hastings, ne
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i really enjoyed reading the whole series i could hardly wait for the lightkeepers to ball to arrive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for #3: The Lightkeeper's Ball, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

loved this book!!

Date:September 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
krickal
Location:lexington, tn
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Olivia Stewart is a heiress , among the wealthiest, but they are running out of money, so it is up to her to marry well. She finds out her sister died and she is suspicious of the circumstances. So she uses another name and sets out to find out what happened. She becomes attracted to Harrison, her sister's fiancee, but can he be trusted. And he has a dislike for the Stewart family. Will he love her when he finds out who she really is? This was a really good book, suspenseful and kept me guessing till the end.
I received this complimentary copy of this book from booksneeze in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for #3: The Lightkeeper's Ball, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't Put It Down

Date:September 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
BettyD
Location:Fort Myers, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the first two books, but this one had me guessing right to the end. Really well written, romantic and suspenseful! I loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for #3: The Lightkeeper's Ball, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christian romantic suspense at its best!

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
NewChristianBooks
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
If you love historical romantic suspense, this book will delight you. Olivia Stewart, the feisty, beautiful heroine, who comes from a wealthy family, travels from New York to California incognito to investigate her sister’s mysterious death. Her suspicions that her sister’s drowning was not an accident are confirmed by several attempts on her own life—someone there knows that she is Olivia Stewart, even though she is using her formal title Lady Devonworth, and posing as a friend of her own family. For much of the book, Olivia is both trying to find out what happened to her sister, and planning a masquerade ball to benefit her new friends, the lighthouse keeper and his wife, to restore their lighthouse. She’s also trying to talk herself out of falling for Harrison Bennett, her sister’s fiancé. The masquerade and Olivia’s veiled identity both tie into the theme of true identity, reputation and being loved for who you really are. Readers will connect with Olivia’s longing to be appreciated for her mind and ideas, rather than her money or family reputation. This is the third in the Mercy Falls series. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for #3: The Lightkeeper's Ball, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Keeps the reader wondering

Date:August 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janerky
Location:Omaha, NE
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have really enjoyed Colleen Coble's writing. She has a fresh approach and I found that attempting to predict the outcome was futile. I like to keep guessing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for #3: The Lightkeeper's Ball, Large Print
This review is fromThe Lightkeeper's Ball - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Society Mistress finds Danger, Love... & Answers

Date:July 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
TinaW
Location:Mesa, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our main character is quite unique in laying the foundation to find answers of her sisters untimely death. She finds that she must fill her sisters shoes to marry a man she has never met! But she wants to find the truth behind her sisters passing before she even meets him and fulfills her family's betrothal obligation, How can she stay in the shadows of the obligation and find answers to her questions? High Society has given her the best available solution!
This tale was wound perfectly. If you really want a good storyline with action, romance, faith and unexpected adventure than try this little book. Its only 284 pages and a great read.
It stands on its own, though there is a book before it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for #3: The Lightkeeper's Ball, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book holds your attention to the end.

Date:July 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
mamada6
Location:Palatka, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Lightkeeper's Ball has all the twists and turns of a good mystery with romance, and always points the reader to the importance of a relationship with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for #3: The Lightkeeper's Ball, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
padamae
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this series is Coble's best yet. Loved the characters and the plot.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for #3: The Lightkeeper's Ball, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable!

Date:June 20, 2011
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Finding a husband for Olivia is very important to her mother. Using a possible suitor as an excuse, Olivia travels to Mercy Falls, California, in search of the truth regarding her sister's untimely death. Unfortunately, Olivia meets Harrison Bennett, her late sister's fiancée and possible murder suspect, during an attempt on her own life. As a precaution Olivia assumes the title of Lady Devonworth to ensure her safety and anonymity. In an effort to uncover the truth, Olivia spends time observing Harrison. Unexpectedly, attraction grows between Olivia and Harrison and she begins to struggle with her hidden motives and identity. Harrison has a resolute dislike for the Stewart family and Olivia is searching for an unconditional love. Will Olivia and Harrison's relationship withstand the truth? Can love ever really be unconditional?
I enjoyed reading The Lightkeeper's Ball by Colleen Coble. The Lightkeeper’s Ball is the third book in the Mercy Falls series, but it reads well as a stand-alone novel. The story quickly grabbed my attention and drew me back to it during the days I read it. The plot's pace was appropriate and Olivia's character was intriguing. While the individual scenes were unique and enjoyable, I found the overall plot was somewhat predictable. However, since it is fiction and I am a fan of happily-ever-afters, I still recommend this book to fans of historical romance. The setting and characters make it a very enjoyable read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from The B & B Media Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for #3: The Lightkeeper's Ball, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christian fiction at its best!

Date:June 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
NewChristianBooks
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
If you love historical romantic suspense, this book will delight you. Olivia Stewart, the feisty, beautiful heroine, who comes from a wealthy family, travels from New York to California incognito to investigate her sister’s mysterious death. Her suspicions that her sister’s drowning was not an accident are confirmed by several attempts on her own life—someone there knows that she is Olivia Stewart, even though she is using her formal title Lady Devonworth, and posing as a friend of her own family. For much of the book, Olivia is both trying to find out what happened to her sister, and planning a masquerade ball to benefit her new friends, the lighthouse keeper and his wife, to restore their lighthouse. She’s also trying to talk herself out of falling for Harrison Bennett, her sister’s fiancé. The masquerade and Olivia’s veiled identity both tie into the theme of true identity, reputation and being loved for who you really are. Readers will connect with Olivia’s longing to be appreciated for her mind and ideas, rather than her money or family reputation. This is the third in the Mercy Falls series. Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for #3: The Lightkeeper's Ball, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fun peek into the past

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Olivia Stewart, heiress to an empire, is living a lie. Her family’s money is gone, and she must marry a man named Harrison Bennett—a man she’s never met—in order to keep what little they have. But when news of her sister’s death reaches her, Olivia only wants to learn the truth of how her sister died. She sets out to Mercy Falls, California under a different name, hoping to learn more about her sister’s death and the man her mother intends for her to marry.
What she discovers about both surprises her but only gives her more reasons to continue living a lie with her false name. Will Harrison still want to marry her when he learns how she has been deceiving him? And what if the person responsible for her sister’s death decides to come after her next?
I adore novels set around this time period (1910). I found this story fun. Certain parts were a bit predictable, which is often the case with romance novels—though the murder mystery reveal totally surprised me. I liked that Harrison loved airplanes and built one himself. It was fun to peek into the past in such a way, when air transportation was first being discovered. Overall this was a very enjoyable historical romance read. And doesn’t this book have a gorgeous cover?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for #3: The Lightkeeper's Ball, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for the Summer

Date:June 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
SFaith
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Lightkeeper's Ball by Colleen Gable, is a sweet, light, filled with intrigue and a summer's tale of romance that continues the Mercy Falls series.
Centered around Olivia, the daughter of a well to do family out in the East, she travels to Mercy Falls, California, to investigate the mysterious circumstances around her sister's death.
In Mercy Falls, Olivia discovers a life she could never dreamed of, herself falling in love, and answers to what happen to her sister.
Summer time, is a time for vacation, a little bit of easing of the daily routine of life as families use this time to travel, to take vacation and to catch up on what an otherwise busy life keeps them distracted from.
With, "The Lightkeeper's Ball", readers will find a beautiful written historical romance fiction to take them away, to another time, and another place, and makes a great summer read to throw in the tote bag or download on the e-reader.
Some of the distractions that I found, was that being this is a book in a series, I found myself a bit lost with otherwise familiar characters, for those who have read the series, but there is a quick character bio that will help keep the reader a little bit more flowing with the story and also intrigued to read the rest of the series, but for me, one of the downsides of reading series out of order, is not being able to grasp on the continuity of a theme, or focus of a place in a book.
This doesn't make,"The Lightkeeper's Ball" a bad read, but for those who are unfamiliar with the series, this is, well, a series that is based on Mercy Falls, so be prepared to find yourself caught up in wanting to read the rest of the books, to fully embraced the romance of Mercy Falls.
The writing is very even-flowed and the characters are easy to develop an emotional relationship that plays on the emotions as one reads and follows Olivia as she struggles with her growing emotions for Mercy Falls and its residents while trying to discover what happen to her sister.
Whether you read this via the e-reader or buy the book, if you are looking for a light and romantic book for this summer, this is a must read for those who enjoy historical romance and/or Christian romances.
There aren't questionable scenes for the more discerning reader to feel uncomfortable and yet still holds all the elements of a light romance novel while capturing a snapshot of the era for the historical fiction reader whose not looking for a heavy historical fiction, but rather just something that is light, entertaining and heart filled.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.