Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gospel Light What the Bible Is All About NIV Handbook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Gospel Light What the Bible Is All About NIV Handbook

The world's best-selling Bible handbook is now even better! Mears's classic has been completely updated and revised to include feature articles on becoming a member of God's family, selected readings and short book overviews to open each chapter, a glossary for easy word identification, Bible reading plans, new maps and charts, and more. 710 pages, paperback from Gospel Light.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
20 out of 2195%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for What the Bible Is All About NIV Handbook
Review 1 for What the Bible Is All About NIV Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A clear easy guide to the Bible!

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
grandmomruthie
Location:Lansdale, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this to anyone who would like to read through the Bible, and feels they need a private tutor to do so! This is your personal tutor! You are given key weekly reading assignments along with an easy to understand summary and explanations of the chapters, purpose of the book, and how those particular chapters connect to other books of the bible. Great for the novice as well as for seasoned students of the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for What the Bible Is All About NIV Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Product!!!!!!!!!!

Date:March 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
MINI
Location:NJ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the first books I ordered from CBD.Its such a good resourse to both new & old learners of the word of God.Excell in the simplicity of explanations as well as information.As a new Bible school student ,this has been a great tool in doing my assignments. I have bought more copies and given away as gifts, receiving great compliments..Thanks.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for What the Bible Is All About NIV Handbook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product is ideal for a synopsis of the Bible

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Harval
Location:toronto, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
God's word comes alive as you read the pages of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for What the Bible Is All About NIV Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Good Handbook

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nelson
Location:Alabama
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good Bible Handbook that has stood the test of time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for What the Bible Is All About NIV Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A favorite for many years!

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Curly
Location:Vancouver, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was introduced to this book about 30 years ago and have worn out 2 copies. I have given copies to friends here and abroad. I find it very easy to read and understand. H Mears' introduction to the history of the Bible and the outlines of each book of the Bible help me appreciate the message, the unity and the wonder of the compilation of God's unique letter to us. This latest revised NIV version will be a most valuable resource on my book shelf.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for What the Bible Is All About NIV Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has a lot of helpful information in it.

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
msjudi
Location:Clarksburg, WV
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very glad that I now have this as an addition to my Bible Studies. It definitely was all I had expected it to be and then a whole lot more. You'll not be sorry that you ordered it. msjudi
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for What the Bible Is All About NIV Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this was a great purchase, worth getting

Date:August 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
dolly
Location:new zealand
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I think everyone should have this book so they really understand the bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for What the Bible Is All About NIV Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a great help for Bible study.

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barbara Bennett
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this as a gift for a friend, as I already was enjoying my copy. I teach a SS class, and this is a great study aid. I often share excerpts with my class. It helps to explain particular portions and elaborate on the subject. It's easy to read, a perfect size and good print. I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for What the Bible Is All About NIV Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
revdans
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are doing a survey of the Bible, or you are teaching a survey of the Bible, this is the book for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for What the Bible Is All About NIV Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great for study

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
angle 5414
Location:wilson, nc
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
as a teacher of the bible this book has helped me and our students. LOVE IT
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for What the Bible Is All About NIV Handbook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not what I expected

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gail
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was expecting a short overview of each book of the bible. Sort of like a Reader's Digest condensed book. It did not explain the bible very well. And, there is too much personal comment from the author. There is a chapter where she questions why critics don't pick apart the Illiad and the Odyssey as they do the bible. Well, the Illiad and the Odessey are not purported to be accurate portrayals of the events - they are stories. Comparing them to the bible is inaccurate.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for What the Bible Is All About NIV Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truly a treasure for anyone studying God's Word

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mimi
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am celebrating my 40th year as a believer and What The Bible Is All About has opened up a deeper understanding of The Bible. I find myself reading late at night, sometimes waking up in the middle of the night or early morning, eager to meet the Lord in His Word. I have always loved God's Word, but now I TREASURE His Word with deeper understandings and new insights leaping off the pages and into my heart!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for What the Bible Is All About NIV Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awsome

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gerry
Location:Chesterfield County, Va
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything I hoped for. Brings lots of things to light that I miss when just reading the bible alone. Just like having an instructor at home with you. Very good explanations. I'm very satisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for What the Bible Is All About NIV Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must have companion to the Bible

Date:December 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kenny
Location:Muscatine, Iowa
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did not know what to expect. Now I have ordered two more for friends. It is a must have companion to my NIV Study Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for What the Bible Is All About NIV Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellant product

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
RShaffer
Location:Norwalk, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is fantastic!!! It offers such great insight into the Bible. I would highly recommend it to any one who wants to study the Bible and get the most out of it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for What the Bible Is All About NIV Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New insights and information throughout

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kate
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the book because it was on sale - I thought it might be interesting. I have a considerable amount of Bible knowledge, but I have been growing and learning with every page! It is a wonderful overview of the Bible, and it puts the books in historical context. It is a great handbook for seasoned Christians who would like a little more insight and perspective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for What the Bible Is All About NIV Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You will love this book!

Date:November 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jan Ott
Location:Orlando, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book for my mother who lives in another state. She loves it and can't stop talking about it. My dad wondered why she liked it so much and he started reading it. He took it to work with him and said he is going to go back a second time and read it along with his Bible. My parents, after all of these years, have been only church-going people but this book has opened their spiritual eyes and hearts and they want more of what Christ has to offer. I am grateful for how this book has opened a whole new world to them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for What the Bible Is All About NIV Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

easy to understand

Date:November 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lani
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a great book for understanding all the books in the Bible. It is very readable and easy to understand. I also enjoy the writer's comments.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for What the Bible Is All About NIV Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It is product is a must for Bible readers

Date:October 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
wayne
Location:Houlton, Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was more then pleasd with the way the book lays out each book of the Bible and how it covers each capter in each book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for What the Bible Is All About NIV Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book For Reference

Date:October 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vicky Bundy
Location:Jefferson City, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This information is very precise, holds no mysterious questoins, but explains and gives the best summary of each book of the Bible that I have ever read. i enjoyed it so much, that I ordered it for my friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.