Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print Beyond All Measure, Hickory Ridge Series #1, Large Print

Center Point Large Print Beyond All Measure, Hickory Ridge Series #1, Large Print

Ada Wentworth, a young Bostonian, journeys to Hickory Ridge, Tennessee, in the years following the Civil War. Alone and nearly penniless following a broken engagement, Ada accepts a position as a lady's companion to the elderly Lillian Willis, a pillar of the community and aunt to the local lumber mill owner, Wyatt Caldwell. Ada intends to use her millinery skills to establish a hat shop and secure her future.

Haunted by unanswered questions from her life in Boston, Ada is most drawn to two townsfolks: Wyatt, a Texan with big plans of his own, and Sophie, a mulatto girl who resides at the Hickory Ridge orphanage. Ada's friendship with Sophia attracts the attention of a group of locals seeking to displace the residents of Two Creeks, a "colored" settlement on the edge of town. As tensions rise, Ada is threatened but refuses to abandon her plan to help the girl.

Average Customer Rating:
4.35 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Beyond All Measure, Hickory Ridge Series #1, Large Print
Review 1 for Beyond All Measure, Hickory Ridge Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a captivating Christian Historical novel.

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie Wilder
Location:Salinas, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
After Ada Wentworth loses everything and everyone that is important to her she sets out to take a job as companion to an elderly widow, Lillian Willis, in rural Tennessee. This is a drastic change for the young lady from a well-to-do Boston family shortly after the end of the Civil War. Many of the local residents of the small town in the foothills of the Smoky Mountains view Ada as an enemy because of her Yankee upbringing.
Wyatt Caldwell is Lillian Willis’s nephew, Ada’s new employer. After the war ended he returned to Hickory Ridge and opened a lumber mill.
I was drawn into the story very quickly. The characters were very easy to connect to. The plot was easy to follow and did not become bogged down at any point. Dorothy Love handled the touchy subjects of the Ku Klux Klan and the freed slaves that were trying to figure out the new order of things. I wanted to see the people in Hickory Ridge work out their differences and sort out their problems. I thoroughly enjoyed the simple way that those whose belief in God was solid encouraged others to trust Him and rely on Him.
I received a free copy of this book through a Goodreads, First Reads giveaway.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beyond All Measure, Hickory Ridge Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Series makes you feel like you are there.

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lori Lane
Location:Windsor, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the entire series from beginning to end. Dorothy Love makes you feel like you are there with each and every
character in the book. Now that I have read the first two
books I recently acquried I went back and am now reading
the 3rd book in the series over again. It is just as riveting
this time as it was before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beyond All Measure, Hickory Ridge Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Fine Book

Date:May 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
LisaGolda
Location:The Woodlands, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's been a while since I read a Christian romance, I was looking forward to this one and I love series. I enjoyed this book of a young girl Ada who seemed to have a strong will, determination and loyalty.
I was able to predicate what was going to happen before it even happen. I was hoping that the author would really show what TRUE courtship was about, but it seemed to move at a fast pace, which for a series, was disappointing. It did not leave me "waiting" to read the next book.
I enjoyed the quality of the characters. Even though some of them seemed a little stretched. It's hard to find quality books these days and this would be a nice to start off with if you are getting into romance books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beyond All Measure, Hickory Ridge Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Book

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
StoryGirl
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to say I really do not enjoy e-books. At least, I don’t enjoy reading them on the computer, since I don’t own an e-reader. Which is why it took me almost three months to finish this book!
Beyond All Measure was an enjoyable read. It was rather typical of the Christian romance genre, but still had enough twists and turns to make it interesting. It was nicely written, and I thought it had a good variety of characters. I especially loved Sophie! Overall, I’d say reading this book is a good way to spend an afternoon.
I received this book for free from Booksneeze.com in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beyond All Measure, Hickory Ridge Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Inspirational Fiction Debut

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Renee C
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The years following the American Civil War were a tumultuous period, especially for the South. Author Dorothy Love has managed to capture the unrest, the struggle to rebuild lives as well as issues of prejudice and racism all the while weaving in a sweet romance. Hickory Ridge, Tennessee, meets Boston, Massachusetts, in this inspiring story of finding ones faith in troubling times and perfect love.
The first thing that came to mind when reading this story was in spite of how different 1871 was compared to today's world some things never change. The spirit of community and the everybody knows everbody's business is something that will never change and in that aspect this book was very authentic. One thing irked me near the end of the story and that was the punishment or lack there of of one of the characters. Without giving too much away she nearly assaulted a main character but no charges were ever pressed. The character who did not press charges struck me as one who would have wanted justice and to protect others, not leave a person who was a danger to society run free.
The romance also left a bit to be desired. I felt Ada and Wyatt were always arguing (no, not the romantic tension kind of clashing, just flat out not getting along) and all of a sudden Wyatt was proposing. It seemed a bit forced. I must say however, that I'm really looking forward to what happens next for some of the characters especially the orphan girl, Sophie and Carrie, the widow. I can't help but hope for Sophie to grow up and find her own love and for Carrie to finally move past her grief. The little peeks into their lives in Beyond All Measure have definitely whetted my appetite for more. For a first inspirational Ms. Love has definitely done well and I'm sure will do nothing but improve with her sophomore novel, Beauty for Ashes.
*I received my complimentary review copy from the publisher through Booksneeze.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beyond All Measure, Hickory Ridge Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartwarming Story

Date:July 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. Set in Hickory Ridge TN just after the Civil War, with the ongoing problems of living after a war had torn apart the country. Ada Wentworth is from Boston, MA, and moves into the Southern reconstruction. Wyatt Caldwell, a man who fought for the South in the War, now owns a Wood Mill, and is prospering.
Ada has come to be a companion to Wyatt's Aunt Lillian, or so she thought, not only is she a companion, but the cook, cleaner and chauffeur. The job certainly wasn't what she expected, and Aunt Lillian is kind of caustic.
As time goes on she ends up repairing one of Lillian's hats, and now others want an original Ada creation. Neither Wayatt or Lillian like that Ada is doing a side business, but Wayatt tends to really like Ada. Both Ada and Wayatt need to trust on the Lord, and he has answers to their prayers
This is a sweet romance, and a very quick read...you will have a hard time putting this book down.
I received this book from the publisher Thomas Nelson, I was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beyond All Measure, Hickory Ridge Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

beyon all measure

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
court
Location:dallas, tx
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a great book for many ages teens to young adult alike a captivative book that keeps u on edge and wanting to keep reading
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beyond All Measure, Hickory Ridge Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

typical historical romance

Date:July 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ada Wentworth is twenty six when she steps off the train in Hickory Ridge, Tennessee. All she has to her name is her trunk. She was glad the auctioneer hadn't taken it too. She didn't even have a proper mourning dress and mourning she was. The man she was expecting to marry had called off the engagement. She suspected her father had seen to it. Now, even her father was dead. He had been in debt so great the house in Boston and all the possessions had been sold.
The only hope Ada had now was a position in Hickory Ridge. She had responded to an advertisement for a companion to an older woman.
But the situation is not good. The woman, Miss Lillian, is a cantankerous old woman. Hickory Ridge is not Boston. It is just after the Civil War and many in the town are not welcoming to someone from the north. Ada cannot help but befriend some of the black children from the nearby “colored” settlement and her life is threatened.
Ada was hired by Wyatt Caldwell, nephew of Miss Lillian. Originally from Texas, he owns the local wood mill. His dream is to go back to Texas and raise Longhorns. Ada is attracted to Wyatt but she has been hurt so deeply she will not let him have her heart.
Ada is a strong woman. She has millinery skills and plans to supplement her income by making hats. She plans for a shop in the future.
When Miss Lillian dies, some in the town turn against Ada with a vengeance. While Wyatt can save Ada from physical danger, he cannot convince her to open her heart and marry him. With his aunt gone, there is no reason for him to stay so he sells the mill and makes arrangements to move to Texas.
Will Ada trust God or will she miss out on her opportunity for love?
Love has written a good romance. The Christian aspect is well done. Lillian and Wyatt are strong Christians and Ada reluctantly goes to church with them. She believes, but she just does not want to trust God.
And of course, Wyatt is every woman's dreams. He is sensitive, strong, and desperately in love with Ada.
For me, the book got off to a slow start but read through was rewarding. The outcome is not sure until nearly the last page.
There are discussion questions at the back so this would make a good choice for reading groups.
I received an egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beyond All Measure, Hickory Ridge Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good read

Date:June 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
alidanelle
Location:GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beyond All Measure
by Dorothy Love
Beyond All Measure introduces Ada Wentworth to the small town of Hickory Ridge, Tennessee. Ada Wentworth has recently lost her family, her friends, and her fortune. Forced to find a way to support herself, Ada answers an ad for a lady's companion and gets on a train to Hickory Ridge. Upon arrival, Ada meets Wyatt Caldwell and begins to learn that the job has more responsibilities than she was originally told. Then she meets Lillian, the elderly lady she is to care for and knows she is in for a difficult time. As Ada struggles to find her place in this town, she develops a respect and attraction for Wyatt. But Wyatt plans to move back to Texas and Lillian won't live forever, leaving Ada on her own again.
Beyond All Measure is a good read incorporating the struggles between the North and South and blacks and whites after the Civil War. Told in a realistic way, this romance pulls the reader into the story. I would recommend this book to anyone that likes historical fiction.
http://www.thomasnelson.com/consumer/product_detail.asp?sku=1595549005&title=A_Hickory_Ridge_Romance:_Beyond_All_Measure
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Beyond All Measure, Hickory Ridge Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Quiet, unassuming read

Date:June 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
flurrysmom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Ada has loved deeply and lost dearly. But protecting her heart could mean missing the love of a lifetime." Main characters Ada Wentworth and Wyatt Caldwell both have their past ghosts and emotional baggage. Not only do the characters have struggles but the town is also dealing with racism issues. Its a historical romance genre and the characters were pleasant and easy to like however I admit that I can typically get through a fiction book in a 2-3 days and this one took me three weeks because it was easy to not pick up the book. When I did read it, it was a nice story but there was nothing really about the storyline that made me wish during the day that I was curled up with my book for the evening. Overall, just a quiet, unassuming read with no real fireworks for me. I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Beyond All Measure, Hickory Ridge Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beyond All Measure

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beyond All Measure is wonderful historical romance novel which takes place in Tennessee in the time after the civil war. It is a Hickory Ridge Romance. Dorothy Love has done a wonderful job of making her characters complex and believable, though this is not immediately obvious.
Although i did not find Ada to be an easy character to love, she was interesting and as the story progressed, i was drawn into her life. Wyatt, the misplaced Texan, was not a typical character either, and it took awhile to be drawn to him, as well. The aunt, Lillian Willis, who Ada arrives to take care of was a hard to please old lady, but by the middle of the story i was enthralled with her. The prejudices, hurts and jealousies are portrayed in a credible manner, however i did feel that the novel lacked a certain depth that could have been explored. The novel began a little clumsily but does flow better as it carries on. I will look for more of Ada and Wyatt and the secondary characters in this book in future books in the series. I will recommend this book to those who enjoy historical romances, and i will read other books by Dorothy!
I received this book for review from Booksneeze a division of Thomas Nelson Books for the express purpose of writing a review. A positive review was not required. Thanks f.or the opportunity
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Beyond All Measure, Hickory Ridge Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book was a good read on a long trip.

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Becky P
Location:AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this book to other readers who find Christian fiction as their favorite genre. The heroine was not my favorite character in the book which was a bit disappointing but would not in any way keep me from recommending this book to other.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Beyond All Measure, Hickory Ridge Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beyond All Measure

Date:May 26, 2011
What a wonderful book! Set in Hickory Ridge, Tennessee just after the Civil War, Ada moves from Boston to take a job caring for an elderly woman. She must deal with a difficult patient, her handsome son, and the prejudices of the townspeople against her for her Yankee heritage.
Beyond All Measure by Dorothy Love is a beautifully written story. The characters are lovable and I truly felt their emotions through the different circumstances they faced. The time period was interesting ... set in the defeated South, trying to rebuild, harboring bitterness and anger towards former slaves and northerners. Throw in romance and faith-building trials, and you have a fantastic book! I repeatedly found myself reading "just a few more pages," only to realize that I was still reading WAY past my "bedtime!" I highly recommend this book ... and the ones to come in the series.
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Beyond All Measure, Hickory Ridge Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

"Beyond All Measure" by Dorothy Love

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
erinshepherd
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this book free through Thomas Nelson’s Blogger Review program.
I read a lot of Christian fiction. A LOT. And I’m picky. But I have to say that I really enjoyed Dorothy Love’s debut novel “Beyond All Measure”. I’m always a little leery when I pick up a novel by a new artist, but Dorothy Love did a fine job with her first novel and I’m looking forward to the next in the Hickory Ridge series.
Ada Wentworth finds herself orphaned, penniless & disengaged. With no means to provide for herself in her native Boston, she answers an ad in the paper for a female companion needed in the South. Hickory Ridge, Tennessee is recovering and rebuilding from the Civil War, amid the racial tensions that come about with the influx of the Ku Klux Klan. As a Yankee, Ada finds herself at odds with some of the people at Hickory Ridge. She reaches out to help a rejected orphan mulatto girl and in doing so, it puts her life in danger.
Wyatt Caldwell is a hard-working, trustworthy, peacemaking man who settles in Hickory Ridge after the War to assist his ailing aunt and start a lumber mill business. He employs Miss Wentworth to take on the charge of his cantankerous aunt, but through the months he finds himself unexplainably drawn to her. Ada can’t help but feel the same for Wyatt, but she holds back because of the humiliating rejection her former fiancé put her through a year earlier. How can she trust another man with her heart?
I do feel like the author could have expanded more in some certain areas of the book, and I feel like the book could have been about 50 pages longer to add more depth to the characters. But regardless, “Beyond All Measure” will keep you captivated and turning the pages. I really enjoyed this novel and I look forward to more from Dorothy Love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Beyond All Measure, Hickory Ridge Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pleasant and Fairly Quick Read

Date:May 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In the post-Civil War town of Hickory Ridge, Tennessee, battle scars are still raw and festering prejudice threatens love and friendship. Ada Wentworth, a young Bostonian woman, moves to Hickory Ridge to become a lady’s companion to the feisty Lillian Willis. Nursing a broken heart and healing from devastating losses, Ada strives to reclaim her life among the hills of Tennessee and achieve her dream of becoming a successful milliner.
As she settles into life in Hickory Ridge, Ada is troubled by the activities of the Klan and the mistreatment of African Americans. She soon discovers that her Northern heritage and perspectives are not entirely welcome in this quaint Southern town, and her Yankee blood may place her in danger. But love also resides in Hickory Ridge, and Ada forms unexpected bonds with her fellow townspeople, Lillian, and Lillian’s nephew, Wyatt. Can Ada and the town of Hickory Ridge overcome their past losses and embrace a future defined by faith and love?
Beyond All Measure is a pleasant and fairly quick read. The historical setting and imagery reminded me somewhat of Tamera Alexander’s novels. I enjoyed the overall plot of the novel as well as the introduction to secondary characters who will likely play more dominant roles in upcoming novels. At times, I felt that the plot skimmed the surface of certain topics and events. The novel would have been enhanced by a deeper examination of the problems faced by the main characters and the town as a whole.
Ada’s relationship with Wyatt is one of the primary focuses of Beyond All Measure. She struggles throughout the novel with her fear of opening her heart and finding the faith to embrace the future. The ultimate resolution is rather swift at the end of the novel, though the epilogue does provide some closure. Fortunately, readers have the prospect of seeing Ada and Wyatt again in the next novel.
Dorothy Love makes a definitive impression in the realm of Christian fiction with Beyond All Measure. The first novel in the Hickory Ridge Romance series sets the tone for what readers can expect from Love’s future novels. Beyond All Measure is set in a tumultuous time in the South, and it touches on some of the serious issues, such as racism, that defined the region for years. If future novels delve deeper into the triumphs and flaws of Hickory Ridge, the Hickory Ridge Romance series promises to be an inspiring series.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from BookSneeze (Thomas Nelson Publishers) through their book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Beyond All Measure, Hickory Ridge Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Quietly Unfolding Story

Date:May 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Beyond All Measure" by Dorothy Love is an historical fiction romance set in the backwoods of Tennessee shortly after the Civil War. Ada Wentworth has just come from Boston by train to be the companion to a cantankerous elderly woman. The circumstances that led to this situation are kept from the reader for quite some time, yet eventually unfold. Expecting to be met at the train station by the woman who hired her by correspondence, she is surprised and flustered when Wyatt Caldwell comes to get her instead. She’s even more flustered when Mr. Caldwell turns out to be her employer, a Civil War veteran and successful mill owner who has hired her to care for his aunt.
Though is all begins so awkwardly, the story unfolds in a subtle, quiet way. I really liked this, so let me try to explain. When you put a Yankee in the midst of deep southerners just after such a traumatic war, there are bound to be problems. To make matters worse, the small town where the story takes place is struggling with racial tensions. The war is over, but people are still choosing sides as they work to discover what their changed world will ultimately look like. There is a lot of repressed anger and conflict in the story, yet most of it is resolved peacefully as people get to know each other over time. As they do this, they learn and grow and change themselves, building a successful community. Ada, Wayne, Lillian, and some unexpected others play their part in this process as they choose to do what’s right regardless of what others pressure them to do and sometimes above concern for their own safety.
Overall, I enjoyed this story. I’ll admit I was frustrated by the author’s obviously kept secrets at the beginning of the story, but once I got past those, I liked the way the story played out. If you enjoy historical romances, I recommend this book.
Thank you, Thomas Nelson Publishers, for sending it to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Beyond All Measure, Hickory Ridge Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Charming Tale

Date:May 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Proverbs 31 Wannabe
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ada Wentworth is a Yankee from Boston who has lost everything. With her parents no longer alive, a broken romance and no money, she moves to the small town of Hickory Ridge, Tennessee post Civil War to take care of the elderly Mrs. Lillian. She answered an ad in the newspaper and had no idea what she was getting into until she arrived. Although she made friends, many of the citizens in the small town were not happy that a Yankee had moved into their town and they found ways to make her life difficult. There were many political tensions and the Klan was active in punishing anyone who showed compassion to "the coloreds." While caring for Mrs. Lillian, Ada begins to fall for Wyatt Caldwell, Lillian's nephew who is also Ada's boss. Ada is forced to deal with issues of trust and forgiveness in her past so that she can learn to love again.
This was the first book I read on my new Kindle and I enjoyed it immensely. I had a difficult time putting it down, once I started reading. The characters and scenes were so vivid that I felt like I was really there. I wanted to befriend sweet Ada and walk in Mrs. Lillian's garden with them. The town was quite charming as were many of the people and I loved to hate those that were hateful to Ada. I would highly recommend this book to those who enjoy reading historical fiction or romance stories.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Beyond All Measure, Hickory Ridge Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good, easy read

Date:May 12, 2011
In Beyond All Measure, Dorothy Love does an excellent job of portraying this time period in history. Ada Wentworth is a Yankee now in the South after the Civil War. She encounters unexpected hatred but refuses to let that stop her from showing kindness to those who need it most.
Despite a difficult transition into this new town, Ada is blessed with treasured friendships that give her strength and support when she needs it. Wyatt and Ada are attracted to one another but Ada struggles with a past that makes trust hard. A few unexpected twist and turns are also thrown in that make some intense moments.
Overall, I enjoyed Beyond All Measure. I did feel that the ending fell a bit flat and was a bit disappointed. I was surprised that aspects of Ada’s past wasn’t developed a bit more as it a crucial point in her struggle to trust the Lord in her relationship with Wyatt. For those who enjoy historical fiction, this would be an excellent read when you just need a few hours to get away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Beyond All Measure, Hickory Ridge Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Could not put it down

Date:May 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Fate
Location:Memphis, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Beyond All Measure” by Dorothy Love is one of the best books I have read in a long time; I could not put it down. I am an avid Francine Rivers reader and I have to put this book right up there with my favorites of hers. I enjoy books that transport you back in time and that are about second chances not only at love, life, and relationships but also at faith. This one transports you back the late 1800’s in rural Tennessee after the Civil War, gives you insight on the way of living, the still grown ignorance and intolerance of people, the growth in industry, the community events and education at that time, and the mindset of the people of those days. It paints a clear picture on how God helps us to find the right paths in life, and how he steers us in the right direction whether we know it or understand it at the time. Wonderful book, I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Beyond All Measure, Hickory Ridge Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellence in historical romance

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
believer
Location:Omaha, NE
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 1870s were tough on women. The Civil War decimated the ranks of eligible bachelors. Few jobs were open to women. Ada Wentworth takes a position as a lady's companion in Hickory Ridge, Tennessee, hoping to save enough money to open her own hat shop. But the job isn't quite as advertised. And the town isn't welcoming to a Yankee, especially when Ada helps a young mulatto girl. When Hickory Ridge's most eligible bachelor, mill owner Wyatt Caldwell, shows an interest in this newcomer, more hostility is directed her way. Fortunately, Ada is resilient and finds help from unexpected sources - a heroine worth rooting for. With more twists and turns than a Smoky Mountain road, "Beyond All Measure" is a journey of discovery, healing and love beyond all measure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.