Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print #2: Goodness Gracious Green, Large Print

Center Point Large Print #2: Goodness Gracious Green, Large Print

Will Lois Barker put down roots in Green . . . or will small-town life be too tough? The charming and uncertain journalist is delighted with her decision to keep The Green News-Item and excited about the possibility of romance with her good-looking catfish farmer/coach neighbor-and the growth of her fresh faith and friendships.

Her second year in Green has scarcely been rung in, though, before Lois is wrung out. The former owners of the paper want it back. The mayor's dog bites her on the face. A series of fires threaten Lois. And while her friends blossom, Lois feels wilted. Although Lois finds fresh hopes turning stale in her second year in Green, in the midst of challenges and lessons, Lois's journey still explodes with possibilities!

Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #2: Goodness Gracious Green, Large Print
Review 1 for #2: Goodness Gracious Green, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
crafty nana
Location:Strathroy, ON Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read the first novel a while ago and had been waiting to reading them all.They are great easy going novels to read. You really feel like you know the characters in the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #2: Goodness Gracious Green, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lois is in her second year in Green, Louisiana and she is excited with her decision to keep The Green News-Item. It seems like things are finally starting to look up for her, and she's even met a special someone. The combination of fresh faith and strengthening friendships make her comfortable in the little town of Green, and any reservations she had left are gone with her old corporate job.
But then things start to go wrong again. The brothers want to buy their paper back. Fires seem to be breaking out everywhere and threaten the paper. Somehow, Lois gets her face bitten by the mayor's dog. Feeling like her enthusiasm for her new hometown is wilting, Lois needs some kind of encouragement to convince her she made the right decision. Will everything resolve itself for Lois and Green? Or will the latest developments be too much for her and send her back to Ohio?
I enjoyed the continuing story of Lois and all her friends in Green. All the characters are leaving an indelible mark in my mind, and it's going to be hard to forget them. Katy, an up and coming teenage journalist; Alex, the twenty-something official journalist of the paper; Eva, the mayor; Kevin, an African-American doctor and Lois's best friend; Iris, the secretary, the glue that holds it all together, and so many more good people in the wonderful town of Green. You will enjoy the visit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #2: Goodness Gracious Green, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a delightful book to read

Date:November 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
glow
Location:new jersey
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the story line. Has Christian values on God's guidance, friendship, trust, relationship. and small town community spirit in the South.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #2: Goodness Gracious Green, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lois is in her second year in Green, Louisiana and she is excited with her decision to keep The Green News-Item. It seems like things are finally starting to look up for her, and she's even met a special someone. The combination of fresh faith and strengthening friendships make her comfortable in the little town of Green, and any reservations she had left are gone with her old corporate job.
But then things start to go wrong again. The brothers want to buy their paper back. Fires seem to be breaking out everywhere and threaten the paper. Somehow, Lois gets her face bitten by the mayor's dog. Feeling like her enthusiasm for her new hometown is wilting, Lois needs some kind of encouragement to convince her she made the right decision. Will everything resolve itself for Lois and Green? Or will the latest developments be too much for her and send her back to Ohio?
I enjoyed the continuing story of Lois and all her friends in Green. All the characters are leaving an indelible mark in my mind, and it's going to be hard to forget them. Katy, an up and coming teenage journalist; Alex, the twenty-something official journalist of the paper; Eva, the mayor; Kevin, an African-American doctor and Lois's best friend; Iris, the secretary, the glue that holds it all together, and so many more good people in the wonderful town of Green. You will enjoy the visit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #2: Goodness Gracious Green, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Book 2 of the Green series picks up where book 1 has left off. It covers the second year of Lois Barker's life in the small town of Green. As with the first book, it is a light read with lots of dialogue so it makes reading it fairly fast and easy to keep track of the plot line. I laugh out loud in several places because the quirkiness of small town life.
One item that I don't like it that the author covers a entire year in one book and I feel a little cheated because I feel the author is only giving me the highlights on the characters and their lives.
The other thing was a noticeable lack of God with the pages of what is supposed to be a christian book. The author does have a pastor that is a regular character, but as for the main characters, I found their lack of faith, or at least attempting to search for God, disturbing. I hope that the author steps it up and brings God within the pages of the rest of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #2: Goodness Gracious Green, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A second helping of delight

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nancy Stewart
Location:Houston TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this second Green novel, Lois Barker has committed to living in the Louisiana town and expects that life will get easier as she puts down roots. Instead, life just gets weird--the mayor's dog unaccountably bits her face, leading to stitches. The former owners of the paper demand it back, and mysterious fires at the paper cause distress and danger. Evening strolls with the handsome Chris Craig help soothe Lois's troubled spirits, and the newspaper staff becomes ever more experienced and creative in community involvement. The ending is priceless, and I smiled all through the book, and reached immediately for book 3 when I finished this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #2: Goodness Gracious Green, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jved267
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lois struggles with her decision to stay in Green and to continue to own & run the newspaper. Once she decides to stay, someone starts a series of arson against her as the former owners try to get the paper back. Lois also starts a relationship with her teacher/coach neighbor, a widower that was married to his high school sweetheart. Can their love overcome the baggage they both carry and will they find out who is hassling Lois? I couldn't wait to find out how the mystery was solved.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #2: Goodness Gracious Green, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another great book in the series

Date:May 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hersheyreader
Location:Hershey, PA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 2nd book in the Green series (be sure to read them in order or you'll get lost!). In this book, Lois begins to get settled in her new role as the owner of the local newspaper, but things get a little crazy when suspicious fires begin to happen. This continues to be a fun, light read. Read the entire series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for #2: Goodness Gracious Green, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

delightful

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
readgreatfiction
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If I had to sum up this series in one word I would choose delightful.
I give each book and the whole series a hearty 5 stars.
The Green series by Judy Christie follows the story of Lois, owner of the Green newspaper, but is filled with plenty of other well developed characters who each have their own plot-lines. These books keep the reader hoping. They are fast paced but thoroughly entertaining.
In book 2 of the series, Goodness Gracious Green, Lois has begun to put down roots, and there even seems to be something going on between her and a local catfish farmer, but previous owners of the newspaper show up and try to force her to sell it back to them. When a series of fires threaten Lois and the paper, Lois feels discouraged and worn out. Just how bad does she want to stay in green?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for #2: Goodness Gracious Green, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

is not a novel about Recycling :)

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review : Goodness Gracious Green - Judy Pace Christie -2010
One of my favourite joys as a reader and one so voracious , is the enjoyment that comes when discovering a new author and it definitely is a bonus if the book's theme and genre is one that you thoroughly enjoy. When I first read the title of Goodness Gracious Green , I was under the impression that the novel might have had something to do with recycling as in New Zealand - when we recycle , re-use etc we call it being green.
However , I was in for a shock when I discovered that the reason it was called Goodness Gracious Green was due to the main character's over-use of the word's Goodness Gracious and the town that they lived in was called Green. Goodness Gracious Green , is about the main character Lois whom has just inherited the local newspaper and is starting to make it a happening thing , however some people in this small close-knit community have their opinions and reservations about change and soon Lois finds herself in a number of awful situations from random acts of arson (more than once) , vandalism and finds herself being served. If this wasn't enough we discover Lois has problems of her own from relationship issues to her best friend getting married to her ex-boyfriend , another friend dating her other ex.
In Goodness Gracious Green, we see a strong strength shine out of Lois as she continues to forever pray and perserve the situation that has been bought upon her and that no matter how hard things get , God is always there for you and will help you through anything as long as like the famous song goes "just have a lil bit of faith".
This review copy was obtained by NetGalley. www.netgalley.com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for #2: Goodness Gracious Green, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Goodness Gracious was great

Date:October 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Clarksville, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lois Barker, has someone with a grudge against her. It is very obvious, that someone does not want her in Green Louisiana. It seemed like everytime she turned down an offer to sell her newspaper, The Green News-Item, something bad would happen. Two fires at the newspaper office, a fire at her house, burning down the old garage, and she is starting to second guess her decision to stay in Green.
However the bad far outweighs the good, her new friends are family, plus the fact, that she is finding herself falling in love. Yes, she will stay in Green, and she will figure out who is trying to ruin her and run her out of town.
A cute story that will keep you reading from front to back, you will not want to miss this book. I enjoyed how the author showed us the steps of how Lois's faith was tested, and how she responded to that testing. This book truly is a must read. 244 pages US $13.99 4 stars.
Learn more about this author and this book series at http://www.judychristie.com/
Thanks to Abingdon press for providing the ARC copy, that this review was written from.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for #2: Goodness Gracious Green, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Goodness Gracious, Good!

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Delia Latham
Location:Okmulgee, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Journalist Lois Barker’s second year in Green, Louisiana is not off to a good start. The mayor’s fancy little dog chows down on Lois’ cheek. The inherited newspaper she so recently decided to keep and operate is in jeopardy of a takeover by the former owners. An arsonist seems bent on burning Lois out of town. And her uncertain romance with her hunky neighbor, Chris, seems to be going nowhere fast.
As a new Christian, Lois is still learning about faith and trust, and hers is being tried on a regular basis. So much goes wrong that she has to wonder if she missed God’s leading when she chose to stay and operate the Green News-Item.
Aided by a group of quirky but loving friends and co-workers, Lois works through the kinks in her life and the holes in her faith in stubborn, funny, sometimes desperate ways. She even manages to be happy for her best friend when she gets engaged. But as she edges ever closer to forty, Lois can’t help wondering…will it ever be her turn to enjoy love and romance? And if so, will Chris be in that picture?
This second book in the Green Series, Goodness Gracious Green, is a well-written, fun story of faith under fire, with a light thread of romance and a strong cord of mystery woven throughout. Christie’s unique brand of humor is a genuine delight. While not particularly fast-paced, the storyline is interesting and once started, it demands to be finished.
A good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for #2: Goodness Gracious Green, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Sometimes the sequel to good book leaves the reader disappointed. Not so with Goodness Gracious Green, sequel to Gone to Green. I loved it and hope there's a third book in this series. Judy Christie writes such charming characters that I was drawn into their lives. I want to visit Green and meet the mayor and Lois's other friends. If you haven't read Gone to Green, grab a copy, and while you're at it, get Goodness Gracious Green. These are a perfect summer read. Novel Journey and I give it a high recommendation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.