Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn

WaterBrook Press The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn

To flee a brutal stepfather and unwanted marriage, Tamsen Littlejohn enlists backwoodsman Jesse Bird to help her escape over the mountains. But trouble pursues in the form of scorned suitor Ambrose Kincaid---and uncertainty awaits in a settlement divided by unrest. Is it possible her growing attraction to Jesse could prove the greatest risk of all? 400 pages, softcover from Waterbrook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.796 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
48 out of 4998%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn
Review 1 for The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:July 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Butterflyreview
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn by Lori Benton
Tamsen Littlejohn is being forced to marry a man she has never met by her step father, Mr. Parrish. Tamsen and her mother have never stood up to Mr. Parrish. Tamsen meets the prospective groom, Ambrose Kincaid, and is on the verge of going ahead and marrying him. But an incident with how he treats his slave has her not only running from the room but also out of town. She is caught and brought back. Tamsen’s mother tries to stand up to Mr. Parrish in defense of Tamsen and is hit and killed by her husband. She is left on the floor and Tamsen told to prepare herself to marry.
Jesse Bird comes to see if Tamsen after being brought back to town and discovers her mother dead on the floor and her in tears. Jesse agrees to help her escape.
Convinced that Tamsen has been kidnapped, Ambrose follows in the company of the ever persistent Mr. Parrish. As they cross the mountain wilderness, Tamsen is faced with all kinds of hardships. The faith of Tamsen and Jesse were tested many times as they were confronted with their pursuers
I found this book to be a very good read. It showed the struggles of a new country emerging from the Revolution. It also takes you to Indian villages of that time. I would recommend this book to anyone who like mystery and romance and a history lesson all thrown into one book. I will be looking for other books by this author.
I was given this book by blogging for books for an honest review. I was not compensated in anyway.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

THE PURSUIT OF TAMSEN LITTLEJOHN by Lori Benton

Date:July 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
THE PURSUIT OF TAMSEN LITTLEJOHN by Lori Benton is an exciting Christian Historical Fiction set in 1787 Watuaga settlement in the Western North Carolina.
This is Tamsen Littlejohn and Jesse Bird's story and what a story! A tale of danger, suspense, chaos, adventure, hope, faith,endurance, secrets and the pursuit of happiness. Well written with just enough, passion, suspense and adventure to hold the reader's intrigue and keep you turning pages. You can't help but fall in love with Tamsen and Jesse, their challenges, struggles and love will leave you in awe. Ms. Benton interweaves a beautifully written love story with historical details. Another beautifully written tale of the rugged American Frontier, the struggles, triumphs, danger and beauty of the rugged Western North Carolinas. A masterpiece! The characters are enduring and everlasting in your heart and mind.
If you enjoy historical fiction with twists and turns, than you will enjoy reading this title. An enjoyable read! Received for an honest review.
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazingly Awesome Tale !

Date:June 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
FaithfulAcresBooks
Location:Red Creek , NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lori may be a new Author, but she is a wonderful story teller and a sweet lady ! Having already read her first Novel Burning Sky, I was excited to read this new book of hers. I was not disappointed ! Truth be told I really can’t wait to see what she has in store for us next ! I am a real lover of historical fiction and Lori’s books really fill that addiction for me totaly ! Now who doesn’t love a woman who sets out on an adventure of a lifetime ? The adventure and dangers more then any proper woman would want to bear. Being a woman myself who doesn’t settle for what is expected of her , I can really relate to Tamsen’s desire to run away from an arranged marriage and heading out into the unknown where she meets Jesse Byrd who risks everything for Tamsen. Now you tell me, how can any woman not love a man who is willing to lay it all on the line ? Once I started reading I could not put this book down. I really love the way Lori allows us to live in this story, her words just transport you from where you are right to the heart of the time period and once there you just don’t want to leave. This is what makes Lori’s Books so awesome ! You will want to read this one, its not to be missed ! Lori is a talented writer, she has really done her research well and it shows in her work. I am blessed to read her books and to call her my friend and sister in the Lord.
Linda
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:June 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Thereadmaster
Location:Davenport,Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a well written book with a great story. Actually it almost has three story lines. The first story is of course about Tamsen Littlejohn. She is a young woman living with her mother and stepfather. Her stepfather is trying to get her to marry someone she does not want to marry. At a certain point Tamsen tries to run away and she meets Jesse Bird.and he helps her to get away from her stepfather . They travel together and pretend to be married until they can really get married or get somewhere where Tamsen can be safe. There is also the underlying story of the state of North Carolina and the state of Franklin fighting each other. I really liked the way all of these story lines worked together. I had a hard time putting it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
debbiedeefisher
Location:comstock, NE
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn was a good book, but the history put into it was a bit long and boring and at times I would not get what the point of the real history and the made up story had in common.
If all of that very long detail had been left out, it would have been a 5 star book for me. In The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn Tamsen Littlejohn escapes her wicked stepfather and marriage proposal of a would be suitor. She seeks refuge with a stranger who whisks her away to the Watauga settlement in western North Carolina. However, life becomes even more complicated. The story is filled with lots of intriguing moments and revelations as the two get to know each other and find the truth about their pasts.
I received this e-book free from Water Brook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved It!

Date:May 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nanc
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a really good book. I got an advance copy. I honestly couldn't put it down. I felt as if I was right along with the characters. seeing what they saw, feeling what they felt. Lori Benton did an excellent job with the details. I was immediately drawn to the character Tamsen. It was such an enjoyable read. But also an emotional one as well. Not in a bad way though. I don't find myself wanting to read many books more than once. Honestly I rarely do. But this book was so good, I find myself wanting to read it again. Once you get to the end you will know why. I don't want to give details about the book itself. You can read the synopsis for that. This book is a definite read for those who enjoy historical fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best historical novels!

Date:May 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVED this book! I could hardly put it down and when I was forced to I spent the entire time either thinking about the story or imagining what might happen next.
I am a fan of historical fiction and have been for as long as I can remember, Laura Ingalls Wilder managed to hook me when I was about 5, and I also love history. Too often historical fiction differs so far from what the history books teach that I get a little frustrated. That did NOT happen with The Pursuit Of Tamsen Littlejohn at all, the story is well-written and catches the reader's attention without sacrificing any of the historical details. Lori Benton has done an amazing job weaving history and story in such a way that the reader does not see where one ends and the other begins. It is readily apparent that the author put in a lot of research and that she is a very talented writer.
I really can't say enough about this book. I loved the characters, the story, the history, and definitely the writing style.
Tamsen and Jesse are well developed, as are the secondary characters. I cared about them, what happened to them, and my emotions ran the gamut alongside theirs.
When I finished the book it was hard to say goodbye to them and I found myself wishing this would be a series and I would “see” them again. I will just have to console myself with reading Lori Benton's previous book, Burning Sky, and if it's anything like The Pursuit Of Tamsen Littlejohn I know I will enjoy it.
Lori Benton definitely has a new fan in me and I will be anxiously awaiting each future release.
(I received an ARC influencer copy of this book from the author in exchange for my review. All opinions are entirely my own)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A New All-time Favorite!

Date:May 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Beth
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply put, I adored this story! Having not read Lori Benton’s first book, I had no idea what to expect – would the plot be unrealistic, the romance cheesy, the historical details overlooked? No, no and no! We meet Tamsen at a moment that she feels trapped by her future, in a bleak moment when her step-father holds all the control in regards to not only her future, but also the well-being of her mother. When she is forced to escape, a harrowing journey ensues, a journey that brings the help of Jesse Bird, an Overmountain man.
The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn had everything that I look for in romantic historical fiction – the setting and time-period were described so well, the dialogue was genuine and rang true to the characters and setting and the romance was near perfect. It’s not often that I compare a male lead to one of the caliber of a Laura Frantz novel, but Jesse Bird is definitely in that ranking. Thus far, he is my favorite of the year.
I loved Tamsen and Jesse, and especially had a soft spot for Cade, the man that adopted Jesse after his family was killed in during a raid on their farm. There were many layers to the story that added to its depth. Constant was the fear of being caught by Tamsen’s stepfather and her almost-betrothed, but the mystery of Jesse Bird’s heritage and at times, Tamsen’s, provided a puzzle that begged for solving.
I couldn’t put this book down. It touches on a time period that is often overlooked in historical fiction – a time when America was a wilder, perhaps more majestic place – and to be crafted so well in word and character just solidified my love of the story.
I’m so happy that I already own Burning Sky – you can bet that it is at the top of my summer reading pile!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Epic Love Story of Adventure and Gentle Romance

Date:May 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lori Benton's "The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn" is a vividly portrayed historical saga. Colonial America is the backdrop for an epic love story of adventure and gentle romance. Benton's sketches of the East Coast's untamed wilderness and rustic towns fill with color and detail as the story builds, and her descriptions reveal scenes that bring the characters and setting to life. The novel begins with high emotion and ever-present danger. Tamsen Littlejohn’s plight is gripping from the beginning as she breaks free of her stepfather’s unyielding grasp. What occurs thereafter is a story of escape and pursuit as Tamsen and her rescuer, Jesse, attempt to outrun their trackers. Their journey reveals scenes of early America, from Indian villages to the conflict between the State of Franklin and North Carolina.
“The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn” is an undeniably rich novel, and I completely enjoyed the first and last quarters of the novel. The middle lagged in spots for me, though there were moments of action and tension interspersed throughout the entire plot. I was surprised by some of the revelations uncovered in the conclusion. Some unlikely turns of events left me fully satisfied; especially when details from the novel’s beginning play unexpected roles in the outcome.
Benton gives readers a meaningful love story of restraint and sacrifice. Despite Jesse’s almost immediate attraction to Tamsen, their feelings are not entirely mutual. Their relationship grows slowly and with restraint as Tamsen’s feelings unfold from survival dependence to encompassing love. I am always glad when romance develops at an unrushed pace that allows characters to develop deeper emotional attraction. I also appreciated Benton’s portrayal of the father–son relationship between Jesse and his adoptive father, Cade. The story of love and sacrifice that unfolds is just as beautiful as the romantic love that blossoms between Tamsen and Jesse.
“The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn” is a historical romance that will draw readers in with its resplendent detail and beautiful writing. Click Here to Read Chapter 1.
I received a complimentary e-copy of this book from Waterbrook Multnomah. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Historical Adventure

Date:May 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Katrina
Location:Western Ky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lori Benton brings us a historical adventure interlaced with romance and suspense. The adventure begins in western North Carolina in 1797 and leads across the vast mountain wilderness that will test her characters faith and endurance. Her well developed characters will grab you from page 1. I loved Tamsen and enjoy watching her grow and develop. Jesse is always trying to help those in need while maintaining his morals and values. The masterful use of imagery will transport the reader into the story. This is a story of love, trust and faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical Page-Turner!

Date:April 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Author Lori Benton has penned an exciting journey of one young woman's dangerous quest to find freedom in the frontier wilderness of North Carolina — amidst snow storms, wild Indians, mountainous terrain, and shadowy, dense forests filled with wild animals. It is also a breathtaking tale of romance, long buried secrets, treachery, and abuse.
After her stepfather commits an unspeakable act, Tamsen Littlejohn makes an impulsive escape, enlisting the aid of frontiersman Jesse Bird to guide her to safety. The hawk-like beautiful Jesse was adopted by the Shawnee as a young boy, and Cade is the only father Jesse has ever known. Together they drive cattle once a year to Morganton and know the mountainous territory like the back of their hands. But Jesse's agreement to guide Tamsen to the Watuga settlement in NC is more than either of them have bargained for…as he is accused of kidnapping and murder and Tamsen is faced with hardships she never could have foreseen. And neither of them anticipated the shocking secret Cade has withheld lo these many years, nor did they expect to fall in love…
I can certainly see why Lori Benton's first book, Burning Sky, has been nominated in two categories for the 2014 Christy Awards! She is a phenomenal author; whose descriptive imagery and exhilarating storyline takes the reader to another place and time and leaves them there until the climactic conclusion! I fell in love with the loyal Jesse and the brave Tamsen, and when I finished their story I felt as though I was leaving good friends behind—so admirably and realistically were they portrayed. I also was entranced by the mystical aura Cade exuded, and the historical events that took place in the story. Another winner by author Lori Benton you won't want to miss!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a remarkable story with harsh realities...

Date:April 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
The Phone Tree Edifier
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn was a remarkable story with harsh realities, historical perspectives, emotional drama, suspenseful tension, scriptural wisdom and even more. Although this book started a bit slow, in my opinion, it quickly fueled up and never truly stopped.
Benton did a wonderful job of setting this story. Her attention to detail was evident not only with regard to the characters, but also with the descriptive settings. Every person in this story had layers, which provided a clear understanding as to why they were the way they were. The physical settings were so well presented that I could easily imagine them in my mind’s eye.
An added treat for me was when Jesse spoke in a different tongue. I loved the interplay of language. I felt like I was learning, even as I was reading. One of the most touching moments in the story was when he spoke of Tamsen. (I could say more, but I won’t. You will want to read it for yourself. Trust me. (Happy sigh.)
I can honestly say that as I read this book, I literally did not want to stop. It seemed that just when a possible pocket of question was about to emerge, another tension-laden challenge would come. All I know is that Benton paced this story very well.
As for Tamsen and her heart-wrenching, romantic tale of life, loss, and love, I am glad to have met her through the writing of Lori Benton. I have no regrets regarding making her acquaintance.
Rating: 4/5
Recommend: Yes
Bookshelf Worthy: Yes
Hero/Heroine Chemistry and/or Romantic Tension: Yes
Action/Drama/Suspense: Yes
Content: Clean
Bonus Material: Readers Guide, Epilogue
A complimentary copy of this title was made available via the publisher in exchange for an honest review. The words I have shared are my own. I was not required to submit a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Story

Date:April 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
deanna13
Location:Jonesboro, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn by Lori Benton is a great story that is set in the post-revolutionary days of America. Tamsen Littlejohn’s stepfather is trying to force her to marry wealthy Ambrose Kincaid and as a result she decides to leave her home and seek freedom in the unknown West that is located across the mountains of North Carolina. Frontiersman, Jesse Bird, is persuaded by Tamsen to guide her across the mountains to the Watauaga Settlement in Western North Carolina. Tamsen is unaware that she will face trials and hardships that will challenge her faith and her physical endurance. Ambrose thinks that Tamsen has been kidnapped so he enlists the help of her stepfather to help him find Tamsen and bring her back. Even as Tamsen and Jesse face many challenges, she is wondering if maybe this frontier life is what she has been searching for and maybe where God is leading her. Tamsen and Jesse both trust God to see them through all the trials that they will face on their journey.
Lori Benton did a superb job in the writing of this book and it is evident that she did a great deal of research into this period in history. When I finished the book, I felt as if I had crossed the mountains and wilderness with Tamsen and Jesse for the author developed their characters and described their travels so well that I was right beside them each step of the way. The storyline had many twist and turns and each one just made the story that more enjoyable. I liked that Tamsen and Jesse stayed true to their beliefs in God and sought His guidance in all that they did. There was also a good bit of suspense and I was not sure how the story was going to end but the ending was great. I would like to see a sequel to this book.
I highly recommend this book to anyone that likes a great historical story set in the post-revolutionary days of America.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers through their Blogging for Books program in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to give a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lori Benton’s love of writing tales with her level of research leaves readers breathless and amazed. I first come across Lori Benton when her first novel was published last year. Burning Sky was in my hands and I lost myself in the story set in the mid to late 1800s. When people spend time enjoying the tale of a woman trying to find her way after witnessing her mother’s death and a man who comes to rescue her from a fate Tamsen fears is worse than death, the plot is set to keep pages turning for many hours.
Before her mother passes she places a secret withheld from Tamsen for many years. The man rescuing her has a secret in his past as well, but doesn’t know how to fill the gaps in his memories. Now the adventure begins as her step-father is out to bring her back for what appears to be his own greedy gains and he employs some men who are as crafty and shady as he to do the job.
The wisdom the local area preacher shared with Tamsen and her friend Jesse, who rescued her, she is given time to grieve and figure out what choices are before her. Tamsen has to learn even the most basic of skills like cooking, having grown up with slaves to care for her every desire or the command of her step-father. All Tamsen can see now is emptiness and experiences moments of danger to which she recalls Scripture to comfort her hurting soul.
There is romance, danger, greed, faith, action, along with other themes to weave together a brilliantly written story. I loved how the ending took me totally by surprise. It was amazing to see how the writer hid the ending so well throughout the book. The growth or renewal of individual faith in the tale reflects bright against the life the characters lived. I cannot imagine living so far from neighbors or the constant attention needed to make sure necessities were in stock.
Lori Benton has woven together another spell-binding novel, rich with history and characters I couldn’t help being intrigued and captured with interest. I didn’t know the historical time Lori shares in her second book or the events that happened long ago in an eastern coastal area. I admire the lengths to which the writer took to know the history and occurrences that I suspect many may not know. I hope you grab a copy of both Lori Benton’s novels, especially if you enjoy this time frame. Even if you don’t, you will really enjoy the tale!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW! Another Outstanding Novel by Lori Benton!

Date:April 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Teresa M
Location:West Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lori Benton has once again woven a hauntingly beautiful love story that drew me in from the very beginning.Tamsen Littlejohn is not happy with the fact her cruel stepfather is pushing her into a marriage with a man she knows little about but for her mother's sake she agrees to meet the man.
Ambrose Kincaid was not at all what Tamsen was expecting; he was handsome, even if he did have fiery red hair, quite charming with his Virginia accent and he was completely smitten by Tamsen's exquisite beauty. Perhaps this arrangement could have worked out until Tamsen sees what she thinks is Mr. Kincaid's cruelty to his slaves. Thinking he must be made of the same cloth as her abusive step-father she abruptly leaves him in the restaurant and rushes back home.
Jesse Bird has heard the story of how he became part of the Shawnee tribe as a small boy but as hard as he tries he cannot remember what happened the day his parents were killed. After losing his adoptive Indian parents at the age of ten, Jesse Bird is taken in by Cade; a man with the blood of two completely different worlds flowing through his veins. Cade has loved Jesse like a son and shared a lot about his past but there is one secret he hasn't shared with Jesse, a secret that will change both of their lives should it come to light.
When Tamsen has a deadly altercation with her stepfather she runs to the stable in search of her mother's servants hoping they can help her escape only to run into a Jesse Bird. When Tamsen explains what has happened Jesse makes a life changing decision; somehow he knows that God wants him to help this beautiful young woman. Too bad before this is all said and done he will be a man wanted for kidnapping and murder!!
Jesse and Tamsen head for his home in the beautiful mountains of western North Carolina only to be pursued by her stepfather and Amboise. It is during that journey Jesse and Tamsen realize that God has planned their destiny and if they keep the faith He will work everything out for their good; but oh the things they will have to endure before they get to live happily ever after!!
Last year when I read Lori's debut novel Burning Sky I was impressed with the beauty of her writing and I couldn't believe there was any way she could improve upon it. But when I started reading this latest treasure I was awestruck by the fact that what seemed impossible had happened. This book blew me away with how fast I was pulled into it; it was so engrossing I found I had read 63 pages before I even realized it. It has been quite a while since I read a book of this length in less than two days! Oh the emotions that were stirred while I was reading this; there was joy and amazement all the way to horror and unbelief and back again to laughter and satisfaction at the most enthralling ending! This should be at the top of everyone's wish list for 2014; I promise you will not be disappointed. Thanks Lori for a story that has forever found a special place in my heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply Fantastic

Date:April 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From beginning to end this was a riveting adventure, filled with mystery, romance, and thrilling edge-of-your-seat adventure!
Tamsen is a young woman stuck in a loveless arranged marriage, set up by her ruthless step-father. When Tamsen is given the chance to escape, she takes it, entrusting her safety to the rough mountain man, Jesse Bird.
Jesse Bird has lived with his adoptive father Cade for years, living off the land, never knowing who he was or where he came from.
Together will they be able to evade the people who would tear them apart?
This book is everything that you could every want from a novel, an intriguing historical setting, with compelling characters, romance, and high stakes. I didn't want to put this book down! Jesse and Tamsen are heartfelt heroes, with strong faith and a will to fight for what is right. One of my favorite characters in this book was Cade. I loved how he only spoke when he had something to say, and his expressions and body language were so expressive.
The setting of this novel was so well researched, before reading this book I hadn't heard anything about the state of Franklin, which surprised me, because I consider my knowledge of history to be pretty good. The descriptions were precise, yet detailed weaving themselves into the fabric of the story.
Overall, this was a fantastic book, full of rich history, that tells a poignant tale of love in a young America. This story drew me in from the very first page, and kept my attention throughout, I could scarcely put it down. Tamsen was an admirable heroine who grew so much over the course of the book, as a young woman, and in her faith. This is definitely one of my favorite books of 2014, I cannot recommend it enough. Someone asked me what I was reading the other day, and I talked for 15 minutes non-stop about this book! Simply fantastic!
Thank you to Ms. Benton who graciously gave me a copy of this wonderful book, for review purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Magnificent!

Date:April 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britney Adams
The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn is a sweeping novel that captivated me from the very first page! Lori Benton’s writing is exquisite and she has penned a masterful tale of adventure, suspense, and romance!
I love historical fiction and adored everything about this extraordinary story! The rich, historical details are fascinating and the riveting storyline kept me reading late into the night. I loved the complexity of the characters and found them to be wonderfully endearing and intriguing. Tamsen Littlejohn is a young lady full of courage, faith, and determination. Her rugged hero, Jesse Bird, is patient and protective. Their story is one that will leave you breathless!
The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn is a magnificent novel and one I highly recommend!
I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow!
The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn is Lori Benson's sophomore novel, but it is my first novel I've read by her. I thoroughly enjoyed it! Generally I don't go for novels set in the late 1700s, but knowing Benton's debut was highly praised, I snatched up the chance to review it. Goodness, I'm glad I did! Benson's writing style is so fluid and the effort she put into research is obvious- but the information isn't shoved in your face. It was presented as the need arose.
There are so many reasons I adored Tamsen and Jesse, but I'll only mention a few each. I'll start with Tamsen. That girl is so strong! And I'm not talking about physical prowess here. She may have felt in shambles, or even like porcelain, for a couple weeks but she persevered. She never gave up. Jesse was a perfect hero. No, I don't mean his character wasn't flawed but the guy had his priorities straight. He was willing to give up Tamsen if God told him to. I love the trust he expressed and willingness to follow God's will.
All I can really say is: wow. I will definitely be going back and reading Burning Sky in the near future, no questions asked. Benton has an addictive style writing that captivates you until the last page. This one's a keeper! I recommend to readers ages fifteen and older who enjoy the late 1700s American setting. I also recommend to those looking for an inspirational read.
I received an ARC copy of this book from the publisher in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delicious Balance of Literary Loveliness & Action

Date:April 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amber Stokes
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn is the epitome of what I long for in historical romance - fascinating characters, a fast pace, high tension, intriguing historical details (not overdone), gorgeous and sweeping imagery, engaging and excellent writing, points to ponder, and (of course!) a tender romance. The story is as soft, mysterious, and grand as the cover claims it to be, and I couldn't have been more thrilled with that discovery!
With most historical fiction, there's always the concern that the plot will drag, weighed down by details or less engaging, day-to-day scenes. But Benton's sophomore novel is full of movement, unanswered questions, and suspense to carry the story forward. This led to some late nights for me, as the book contains a delicious balance of literary loveliness and action that guarantees a longer but exciting sojourn on the frontier. And there's enough obvious depth in the first read-through of the story and a perusal of the discussion questions to suggest that subsequent reads could reveal further enchanting elements of the adventure.
I really appreciated the portrayal of the various people groups - from the settlers caught up in the drama of the State of Franklin to the Native Americans as both brutal warriors and beloved friends and family. Each character is complex; each character arc captures the imagination.
My one (very slight) disappointment was that I wished for a little more emphasis on the romance at the end - just another more personal scene to touch on all that the hero and heroine went through together. But not to worry! The romance is a very prominent, surprising, and wonderful part of the story, and I loved it. The hero's patience, devotion, and care completely won me over, and the conclusion of his and Tamsen's story is poignant and hopeful.
Fans of historical romance like Laura Frantz's Courting Morrow Little and Catherine Richmond's Spring for Susannah will adore The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn - a story that delivers in both meat and treat, quality and enjoyment.
*With thanks to WaterBrook Multnomah through Blogging for Books for providing me with an ARC of the book in exchange for my honest opinion.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Book That You Can't Put Down

Date:March 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shauna
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If Tamsen stays, she faces the life her harsh stepfather has chosen for her, along with an arranged marriage. If Tamsen goes, she will be putting her life in the hands of a stranger she just met, Jess Bird, a frontiersman, who can lead her to safety while crossing a vast mountain wilderness. "Comfortable. It began to seem an abominable word. A comfortable cage was yet a cage".
Tamsen's wealthy suitor Ambrose Kincaid, along with her equally determined stepfather, Hezekiah Parrish, are determined to find and pursue Tamsen after they are convinced she has been kidnapped.
Tamsen Littlejohn is faced with trials, endurance, adversity, as well as the discovery of who she really is, while having to put her faith and trust in God. Will she endure the challenges of frontier life? Will she trust a man who has risked everything for her?
I was so excited to receive and advanced copy of The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn written by Lori Benton in the mail from WaterBrook Press to review. Not very often does a book grab me from the first couple of pages where I lose my in the book until I finish it. The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn was this type of book for me. I couldn't get enough of it and I spent many wee hours in the night finishing it.
I absolutely loved the characters Lori developed in the book. They were real, they were believable, and you could picture them so clearly in your mind while reading the story.
Another aspect of book The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn that I enjoyed was Lori Benton's writing style. It was almost poetic to read. "Taken with those gold-brown eyes, the total effect wasn't so much displeasing as disconcerting. It was a wild face. Maybe a reckless one."
I love reading historical fiction, and along with The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn being a fantastic story to read, I also learned a lot of what life was like on the frontier during the late 1700's. Lori's vast research and love of this time period really shows while reading her book. The Reader's Guide in the back of the book really helped you think about the book in more detail.
Another thing I loved about Lori's story is the sweet romance that evolves. I really appreciated that she kept the story clean yet you were completely wrapped up in what was going to happen next. The book was so tastefully written and I loved reading it from the very first page to the last.
The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn is full of adventure, love, suspense, and faith promoting moments.
I highly recommend you reading this book. In fact you need to read this book! I think that this book would appeal to many different people because of the story line and the background of when the book takes place.
I really can't say enough positive things about this book. I think I have found a new favorite author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.