Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Always the Wedding Planner, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Series #2

Abingdon Press Always the Wedding Planner, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Series #2

You'd think a professional wedding planner like Sherilyn Caine would have it easy arranging her own nuptials. But her fiance's dog swallows her BlackBerry, she accidentally poisons the chef, her wedding dress keeps disappearing---and she's apparently allergic to Andrew! Is it time to call the whole thing off?
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Always the Wedding Planner, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Series #2
Review 1 for Always the Wedding Planner, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyed it very much

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lovestoread5945
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend that you read this series in the order that she wrote them, so that you know who the characters are and how they really fit together and grow in their faith together. A very good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Always the Wedding Planner, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
grannyM
Location:Athens, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I enjoyed this book very much--thoroughly entertaining love story, while maintaining a clean language and thought.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Always the Wedding Planner, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Light and fun reading

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jglov
Location:TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyable easy reading. Not too deep, but a fun read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Always the Wedding Planner, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hilariously funny-A read that will keep you smilin

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had already chosen to read this book before I was asked to review it as I loved its predecessor! This series is such a departure from the norm that I have enjoyed the inner workings of the wedding industry--all with a good, strong sense of humor and, yet, also with compassion for the many facets that can go wrong at any stage of preparation.
The scenes are rich with description and the characters are delightful. One might expect the main characters to resemble one another in the same series, but each one is strong in his/er own right and have many of the concerns and insecurities that we all experience.
These books make me laugh and tear up! I simply enjoy reading them for pleasure and that is a thing that is rare any more!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Always the Wedding Planner, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wells
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book a must read, I highly recommend it for all
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Always the Wedding Planner, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great series!

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
GrammaR
Location:Northampton, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is another great book in the series about The Tanglewood Inn and the people who work at this complete wedding destination. The characters are well developed and funny. I am really enjoying several of Sandra Bricker's books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Always the Wedding Planner, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wedding or Disaster?

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jved267
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For someone whose friends tease that I am allergic to everything, this book was perfect for me. Sherilyn keeps breaking out in hives & can't breathe, unable to figure out what's causing it (been there, done that). After losing her wedding dress, she wonders if she is allergic to her fiancé or his beloved dog. Even though Andy and Sherilyn love each other very much, I had to wonder if they were going to make it to the altar without any more havoc trying to wreck their special day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Always the Wedding Planner, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the book, left me wanting more.

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
vicki9902
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just like the first book in this series “Always a Baker Never a Bride” this book was great. I love Sandra Bricker’s sense of humor. Her books are upbeat and funny and “Always a Wedding Planner Never a Bride” does not disappoint. I can’t wait to read then next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Always the Wedding Planner, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Back to the Tanglewood--with Love

Date:February 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
M. Pieper
Location:Mount Dora, FL
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes an author creates a place and a people so warm and intriguing that you want to return. Again and again.
This explains, at least in part, the popularity of Lucy Maud Montgomery’s ANNE OF GREEN GABLES books or Jan Karon’s MITFORD novels. And I also believe it applies to the whimsical world Sandra Bricker creates for her readers in her EMMA RAE CREATION series.
At the Tanglewood wedding hotel in Atlanta, little things mean a lot. And Sherilyn Caine, diva of detail, is ready. She has her dream job, a dream fiancé, even a dream return to friends and adoptive family in Atlanta to accompany them. But as she manages others’ weddings in expert style, she wonders if her own is about to fall apart.
The problems begin when little things—including two lost wedding dresses, an unwanted pet, and a mysterious allergy—loom large. Will they overpower Sherilyn’s happiness as well?
In ALWAYS THE BAKER, NEVER THE BRIDE (Abingdon, 2010), readers fell in love with the Tanglewood and its diabetic cake artisan, Emma Rae Travis. A warm wedding party of characters and sparkling touches of humor only added to the book's charm. ALWAYS THE WEDDING PLANNER, NEVER THE BRIDE (Abingdon, 2011) brings it all back with the delightful additions of Sherilyn; her doctor fiancé, Andy; and plenty of detours along the way. Creative, fun extras include wedding tips and tricks at the close of each chapter with the additional bonus of some of Emma’s best recipes.
If you need a fun book to help you escape the winter doldrums or an inspiring read to remind you that the truth sets free, say “I do” to ALWAYS THE WEDDING PLANNER.
Like me, you’ll wish the Tanglewood were real—because you know and love the people who work there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Always the Wedding Planner, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Bittersweet sequel

Date:December 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wedding planner Sherilyn Keyes has left Chicago behind to marry Andrew Drummond IV, an Atlanta native with a family name that tops all the social registers. She joins Emma, her old college roommate and baker, in working at the Tanglewood Inn, a destination wedding hotel. But Sherilyn faces a series of challenges to her relationship and her faith as she and Andrew settle into their new jobs and begin planning their own wedding.
This is the second book in Sandra Bricker’s Never the bride series, following Always the Baker, Never the Bride (which I found to be a sweet love story, if you will excuse the pun). Always the Wedding Planner was enjoyable, with moments of humour, but overall I found it bittersweet – there just seemed to be a sadness about it that was not present in Always the Baker, which I enjoyed much more.
Some of what I found funny might have been unintentional. For example, at one point in the story, Emma bakes a new desert. She says, “it’s called Pavlova. It’s an Australian dessert that Russell told me about”. Hmmm. The actual origin of Pavlova is the source of much trans-Tasman rivalry, and we in New Zealand don’t exactly agree with this interpretation. Also, the e-book I reviewed had a few entertaining buy slightly distracting typographical errors (the song title ‘Waltzing With Matilda’, a reference to an ‘empire waste’ dress), but these will hopefully be fixed in the final print version.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Always the Wedding Planner, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Fun

Date:November 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sherilyn Caine is a wedding planner at The Tanglewood, a cool wedding destination hotel in Atlanta, but she's so busy putting together other brides' big days that she's not quite getting her own planned.
Of course it doesn't help that her perfect wedding dress has gone missing. Twice. Or that she might be allergic to her fiance. Or that she wishes she could drop a few pounds before her big day.
This isn't a typical romance in formula. Sherilyn and Andy are already engaged when the story opens and have just moved from Chicago to Andy's hometown of Atlanta for great new jobs for each of them, Andy's in a sports medicine clinic, and Sherilyn's at The Tanglewood with her college friend, Emma Rae (delightful diabetic heroine of the first book in the series, Always the Baker, Never the Bride). Best of all? You don't need to have read Baker to enjoy Wedding Planner, but you'll want to!
As with any story by Bricker, Always the Wedding Planner, Never the Bride is a barrel of snickers from beginning to end. This is one of my go-to authors for a light read with satisfying depth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Always the Wedding Planner, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great beach book!

Date:November 5, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The second book in the Emma Rae Creation series, Always the Wedding Planner Never the Bride is a book for any girl. If you are looking for a book full of humor, pick up this book. I found myself laughing and enjoying the romance that filled these pages. It's also full of wedding tips and recipes. I definitely want to try a few o the recipes that are included. They just sounded good!
Sherilyn is a wedding planner who is engaged to a man that she's only known for a few months. They move to Atlanta where Andy works at a sports medicine hospital and Sherilyn takes the job as a wedding planner where she is helping everyone else but herself plan their weddings. Her mother-in-law doesn't like her and she has trouble with her wedding dress. Oh, and did she just happen to not inform Andy of her past? How will Andy's ex-girlfriend respond when she finds out that Andy is back in Atlanta for good?
I'm going to have to check out the first one in the series now and am looking for the third book.
_________________
About the Book:
As a wedding planner, you'd think she would have the perfect wedding experience... Sherilyn Caine has left Chicago behind to marry Andrew Drummond IV, an Atlanta native with a family name that tops all the social registers. Landing the job as The Tanglewood’s wedding planner is a piece of cake for someone with a Type A personality; she’s the perfect fit for a wedding destination hotel known for its attention to even the tiniest details.
But when everything else is going along swimmingly, why are her own wedding plans drowning right before her eyes? One way or the other, Sherilyn is determined to make this wedding work—until the latest development threatens to call the whole thing off. Is it possible that Sherilyn is allergic to her fiance? For more than a decade, Sandra D. Brickerlived in Los Angeles and, while writing in every spare moment, worked as a personal assistant and publicist to some of daytime television's hottest stars. Since then she has written three novels for middle-grade readers and several romance novels, including unWANTED: Husband, Change of Heart, Sins of the Past, Wish I Weren't Here, Love Finds You inSnowball, Arkansas and The Big 5-0h!. Visit Sandra on the web at www.sandradbricker.com.
______________
I received this book free from NetGalley and from Abingdon Press Publishers in exchange for my review of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Always the Wedding Planner, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bricker is the Queen of quirky characters!

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ane Mulligan
Location:Suwanee, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Always the Wedding Planner Never the Bride had me laughing all the way through. I loved the first book in this series, Always the Baker Never the Bride, but this one is even better. Bricker is the Queen of quirky characters and doesn't disappoint in Always the Wedding Planner. The story took some interesting twists and turns I didn't see coming, and left me thoroughly delighted at the end. Novel Rocket and I give it our highest recommendation. If you like to laugh, it's a must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.