Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life, large print

Baker 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life, large print

On the way home from a conference, Don Piper's car was crushed by a semi that crossed into his lane. Medicalpersonnel said he died instantly. While his body lay lifeless inside the ruins of his car, Piper experienced the glories of heaven. Ninety minutes after the wreck, while a minister prayed for him Piper miraculously returned to life on earth with only the memory of inexpressible heavenly bliss. His faith in God was severely tested as he faced an uncertain and grueling recovery. This is his story.
Average Customer Rating:
4.369 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(314 Reviews) 314
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (314 reviews)
5 stars
224
4 stars
44
3 stars
12
2 stars
6
1 star
28
18 out of 2282%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life, large print
Review 1 for 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life, large print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

90 Minutes In Heaven

Date:July 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read 90 Minutes in Heaven several years ago, and never forgot the spiritual impact it had on my life. When I learned the book had been reprinted and enhanced with new material I was excited to reread it, and I must say the story had just as much impact upon me the second time around. Mr. Piper's story is inspiring, but more than that his down to earth way of telling his story provides hope,encouragement and yes I think even healing. We have all faced loss and reading about Mr. Piper's experiences just affirms what the Bible promises us, that basically the best is yet to come. Along with the story I found the additional content to really enhanced the book, especially the stories of encouragement,which are from people Mr. Piper encountered after sharing his story, some he met, but the majority of the stories are from letters he received. I also enjoyed reading the section titled favorite Bible verses and quotations. Overall, I think 90 Minutes in Heaven is a book that is filled with hope and encouragement, whether you are reading it for the first time or are like me and find yourself drawn to reread it. Mr. Piper's story is one that I never tire of reading and talking about.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life, large print
This review is from90 Minutes in Heaven.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

90 Minutes in Heaven by Don Piper

Date:July 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
90 MINUTES IN HEAVEN: A TRUE STORY OF DEATH AND LIFE by Don Piper with Cecil Murphey is an interesting Biography/Autobiography. The 10th Anniversary Edition with new materials.
A simply written story of death, life, and life after death. This was written 10 years after the original one which was released 2004. This is the impact of pain, hope, faith, and healing. An updated version! He talks candidly about his overcoming,what could have been a tragedy, miracles, prayer, his return to life and his recovery and of course his experience of "90 Minutes in Heaven". What a though-provoking tale! If you have never read this inspiring book, I would highly recommend you to pick it up, you won't regret your choice. A powerful story! Received for an honest review from the publisher.
*Coming in July from Revell Books, a division of Baker Publishing Group*
Rating: 4
Heat rating: N/A
Reviewed by: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life, large print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful book for the heavenly curious!

Date:September 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cecile Howen
Location:Nevada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book will certainly enlighten people about heaven. I am using it to lead a bible class and it is being well attended. Thank you Don Piper.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life, large print
This review is from90 Minutes in Heaven.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very mind opening bibliography of a courageous man

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
chachatte
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very lovely chapter on heaven portrayed as much more than playing the harp.
Felt so sorry for Don Piper's recall to earth and having to go through such great suffering. Yet, he accepts God's will.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life, large print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
KimS
Location:Douglass, KS
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good book and an easy read. It was hard to put down.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life, large print
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Biblically and logically unsound

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
James Rouse
Location:Auckland, NZ
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Briefly covering the most significant points:
- Don Piper contradicts himself, showing his dishonesty. He clearly says at 13:22 of the attached video that he saw God. However, in page 30 of his book, Don Piper clearly says "I did not see God".
- There is a litany of issues with what Don Piper describes of what he saw in heaven - mansions and such.
- Don Piper gives a very detailed account of what he saw in heaven. Now, only 3 men in the New Testament were allowed a glimpse of heaven. (1) Right before he was stoned, Stephen said (Acts 7:56) "Behold, I see the heavens opened, and the Son of Man standing at the right hand of God." That is either all he saw or all he described of what he saw. That's it. (2) John – who wrote Revelations. (3) Paul in 2 Corinthians 12:2-4. Paul, "whether in the body or out of the body", he did not know, was "caught up into Paradise and heard inexpressible words, which it is not lawful for a man to utter."
These are the only 3 accounts. Now Paul, who roughly wrote a third of the New Testament, was not allowed to tell us what he saw in heaven. Even with that inability to tell us, he was given a "thorn in the flesh" in 2 Corinthians 12:7, so that he would not become prideful - "And lest I should be exalted above measure by the abundance of the revelations, a thorn in the flesh was given to me". Paul wasn't even allowed to say, and even then we was given a thorn in the flesh to prevent pride. How then is it that Don Piper is allowed to give us such a detailed account?
Don’t waste your time with this book. You are much better off looking at something like “Mere Christianity” by C.S. Lewis.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life, large print
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Biblically and logically unsound

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
James Rouse
Location:Auckland, NZ
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Briefly covering the most significant points:
- Don Piper contradicts himself, showing his dishonesty. He clearly says at 13:22 of the attached video that he saw God. However, in page 30 of his book, Don Piper clearly says "I did not see God".
- There is a litany of issues with what Don Piper describes of what he saw in heaven - mansions and such.
- Don Piper gives a very detailed account of what he saw in heaven. Now, only 3 men in the New Testament were allowed a glimpse of heaven. (1) Right before he was stoned, Stephen said (Acts 7:56) "Behold, I see the heavens opened, and the Son of Man standing at the right hand of God." That is either all he saw or all he described of what he saw. That's it. (2) John – who wrote Revelations. (3) Paul in 2 Corinthians 12:2-4. Paul, "whether in the body or out of the body", he did not know, was "caught up into Paradise and heard inexpressible words, which it is not lawful for a man to utter."
These are the only 3 accounts. Now Paul, who roughly wrote a third of the New Testament, was not allowed to tell us what he saw in heaven. Even with that inability to tell us, he was given a "thorn in the flesh" in 2 Corinthians 12:7, so that he would not become prideful - "And lest I should be exalted above measure by the abundance of the revelations, a thorn in the flesh was given to me". Paul wasn't even allowed to say, and even then we was given a thorn in the flesh to prevent pride. How then is it that Don Piper is allowed to give us such a detailed account?
Don’t waste your time with this book. You are much better off looking at something like “Mere Christianity” by C.S. Lewis.
-5points
4of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life, large print
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Biblically and logically unsound

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
James Rouse
Location:Auckland, NZ
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Briefly covering the most significant points:
- Don Piper contradicts himself, showing his dishonesty. He clearly says at 13:22 of the attached video that he saw God. However, in page 30 of his book, Don Piper clearly says "I did not see God".
- There is a litany of issues with what Don Piper describes of what he saw in heaven - mansions and such.
- Don Piper gives a very detailed account of what he saw in heaven. Now, only 3 men in the New Testament were allowed a glimpse of heaven. (1) Right before he was stoned, Stephen said (Acts 7:56) "Behold, I see the heavens opened, and the Son of Man standing at the right hand of God." That is either all he saw or all he described of what he saw. That's it. (2) John – who wrote Revelations. (3) Paul in 2 Corinthians 12:2-4. Paul, "whether in the body or out of the body", he did not know, was "caught up into Paradise and heard inexpressible words, which it is not lawful for a man to utter."
These are the only 3 accounts. Now Paul, who roughly wrote a third of the New Testament, was not allowed to tell us what he saw in heaven. Even with that inability to tell us, he was given a "thorn in the flesh" in 2 Cortinthians 12:7, so that he would not become prideful - "And lest I should be exalted above measure by the abundance of the revelations, a thorn in the flesh was given to me". Paul wasn't even allowed to say, and even then we was given a thorn in the flesh to prevent pride. How then is it that Don Piper is allowed to give us such a detailed account?
-2points
7of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life, large print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
jlab
Location:Nebraska
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great story. It really makes one stop and appreciate each day they have. Also reminded me that many people have far greater challenges than I do. Story would be great for individual or small group study/discussion.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life, large print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was an excellent read.

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wandita
Location:Venus, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was recommended to me by someone I worked with. Due to a recent loss of a friend and the sickness of another, I ordered the book. The story had me riveted to the pages and both laughing and crying at the events that unfolded. It was if I was there and could feel the joy and the pain that was experienced. I would recommend this to everyone.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life, large print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not unlike the ministry of Jesus, the last years

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
fprod64
Location:Powell, TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although I was looking for more descriptions of being in heaven, the pain and suffering Don endure during his recovery is an inspiration to every one. God let him live to minister to people that suffered similar accidents that utilized the same painful medical procedures that he went through.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life, large print
This review is from90 Minutes in Heaven.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent reading!

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
CJones
Location:Hendersonville NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a awesome book for those who have recently lost a loved one. It is such a comfort. I highly recommend this book to anyone. I bought it for my neighbor who lost his mother recently, as I have a copy I bought when I lost my dad. It gives you a feeling of peace and takes away some of the pain. I found such comfort through this book.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life, large print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The book is great...

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
butterfly angel
Location:BC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a very worthwhile read, you will see why God wanted him (Don Piper) to live, this book is awe inspiring, and very easy to read, you will not want to put it down.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life, large print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A story everyone should read.

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Andy
Location:Macomb, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I liked it because even though Don got a glimpse of heaven he still had to suffer the pain of recovery and doubt as to why he was allowed to live.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life, large print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Buddybutt
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Book really did not describe heaven like it advertised.It leads one to think that it would tell about Heaven and it did not. I felt that it falsely advertised. It talked about Heaven very little in the text of describing what it was like.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life, large print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Book

Date:July 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
LuvJesus
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I am usually very skeptical about writings about life after death (some are new age). However this one is the real deal. I know this because I worked as a hospice nurse for years, and I heard many accounts from my patients (not one was unbiblical). One man that I took care of had died and been resuscitated (long story); his description of heaven was identical to this book. I actually heard his description prior to reading this book; and when I read this account, I bought many to hand out to those who were grieving the loss of loved ones. If you are leery about reading anything that might not be biblical, you needn't worry about reading this book. It is biblical and it will bless you tremendously.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life, large print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyed the book very much

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janet
Location:Nanaimo, BC Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I sat outside in the sunshine and read my book in about three days. Now I am going to pass in on to a friend so they can enjoy it too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life, large print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent, inspiring view of what heaven is

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessie
Location:Graham, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author explains his experiences in heaven in a very descriptive, and yet un-exaggerated, way. I have always had faith in God and heaven, but I didn't have an idea of what exactly I could look forward to. After reading this book, I began to look forward to the day when God calls me home.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life, large print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a very good book

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bmarti
Location:Brandon Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
when I staretd reading this I thought it was another well flake. I am now on the last chapter and this is a very very good book. The journey this man goes on is truly a faith tester and i believe it is true from the way it was written and the way it is portrayed. I will finish it tonight but it is a very good book and I thank you for sharing your story with the world and god bless you for what you have endured and what you have brought to so many people. God bless
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life, large print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Songofjoy
Location:Cotter, Ar.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was captivating and inspiring. I have been hearing rave reviews from friends who'd read the book and so I bought it and couldn't put it down until I was done. Very well written and just AWESOME !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12345 ...16Next >>>