Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print Over the Edge

Center Point Large Print Over the Edge

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Over the Edge
Review 1 for Over the Edge
This review is fromOver the Edge.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An informative and intense book about Lime Disease

Date:October 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pepper
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brandilyn Collins continues to entertain her readers with suspense and real life believable characters. Through her own personal experience she creates an understanding of a very difficult disease that leaves you wondering how such suffering can exist with little support from the medical community.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Over the Edge
This review is fromOver the Edge.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lyme Wars Still Waging Today

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For a high-rev book of suspense, revenge, and debilitating suffering, Brandilyn has brought a new level of intrigue in her book, Over the Edge. It’s a story about the ‘Lyme wars’–the majority of doctors not believing it’s chronic, i.e., Janessa McNeil’s husband, Dr. Brock McNeil; the doctors that are Lyme-literate; and ultimately, the Lyme patients still suffering and dying.
To force Dr. Brock McNeil to recant his stand publicly on Lyme, a deeply crazed, resentful man deliberately infects Janessa with Lyme, using several ticks smaller than a period (.) at the end of sentence, to expose him to the debilitating disease process. What the man didn’t count on was the McNeil’s rocky marital status, leaving little leverage for Janessa to change her husband’s viewpoint. Problem was, this man planned to infect their daughter, Lauren, if the good Dr. wouldn’t change his mind.
The story rests on the exhausting, crippling sickness of Janessa, the threatening phone calls, and her cold, callous, unbelieving husband. It’s unbelievable that a disease can be so devastating. The everyday activities most take for granted, become excruciatingly difficult and sometimes impossible for her. Brandilyn poured her heart and soul into the descriptive ramifications of the disease. They take on a life of their very own. You’re fighting to breathe right along with Janessa during her ‘air hunger.’ The fear is palpable. The danger is real.
Yet through it all, as a new Christian, Janessa has to make a choice to trust God to work out the whole situation as she is extremely physically disabled. She basks in the truths she finds in the Psalms that lift her spirit and keep her hoping. She can’t control the stalker or her straying husband, but God can handle both. He wants to do the same in your life.
If you have loved ones or friends (even possibly yourself) with Lyme, encourage them and invest your life in them as much as possible. Even be willing to advocate for them where possible. Don’t be afraid to talk candidly with your doctor, possibly even taking the information provided by Brandilyn. The door to receiving treatment is still shut for many suffering from Lyme. This is a disease everyone must take seriously, as the repercussions are enormous.
This book was provided by B&H Fiction in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Over the Edge
This review is fromOver the Edge.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:November 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
AvidReader
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought several of these books as Christmas presents--such an excellent read. She wrote a gripping mystery as well as opens your heart to understanding and compassion for people in this type of situation without you hardly realizing it. She's a favorite author of my family in general, but this book is one of her very best! LOVE IT!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Over the Edge
This review is fromOver the Edge: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quality suspense

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
nataliagortova
Location:Boise, ID
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brandilyn Collins’ novels are touted as ‘seatbelt suspense’, and Over The Edge is no exception, with a unique twist.
Jannie McNeil is the wife of a renowned Lyme disease specialist. Or at least, what he calls Lyme—according to the CDC’s incredibly narrow definition. Brock McNeil is vocal in speaking out against those who say they suffer from chronic Lyme, something he doesn’t believe exists.
Enter a bipolar man whose wife died from chronic Lyme and you have a recipe for a dramatic story that puts the life of Brock McNeil’s wife and daughter in danger.
Soon Jannie McNeil falls incredibly ill with Lyme. But does Doctor Brock rush to her aid? No. He thinks she’s faking.
I’ll let you discover the ins and outs for yourself.
If you want to read a story about a man who realizes everything he believes is wrong, you need to prepare yourself.
If you want a story with a nice, typical (cheesy, boring) ending, you need to prepare yourself also.
Because this book will twist you up and spin you around.
Dramatic, and eye-opening, Over The Edge could easily be a True Story. All the stuff about the CDC, the medical insurance companies, the doctors who advocate either for or against chronic Lyme—it’s all true. And Brandilyn Collins knows it, because she lived it. Yes, I’m jumping on the band-wagon, (not because I met Ms. Collins at a Writers’ Conference in February 2011, and she’s a super nice lady). 
But because this book is just that compelling.
You really feel for Jannie as you watch her whole life systematically fall apart at the worst possible time. It’s like everything bad that could happen, all happens simultaneously. By the end of act 1 I was thoroughly hooked. I’ve read someone call that feeling a ‘PB&J night’, because there’s no way I’m putting this book down to make dinner. I’ll remorselessly let them suffer reheating their own leftovers because my stomach is clenched, and my fingers flipping pages to find out what happens next.
The plot looks like a pretzel, and the characters will provoke in you at once both devotion and abject hatred because he’s so stupid he doesn’t realize what he’s throwing away. But the one who steals your heart is the daughter, Lauren.
“Lauren plumped out her lips. “I see strange people every day. I’m in fourth grade.””
In portraying the way it feels to have chronic Lyme, Collins doesn’t go overboard so you’re left thinking, ‘okay, I get it, it sucks to have Lyme’. It’s a realistic presentation because of Collins’ own experience. There’s no research that can replace the intimate knowledge that comes from actually having had the disease.
“Against the floor my cane made a hollow, indignant sound. The sound of my heart. My life.”
“My brain was nothing but a hole-riddled pan trying to hold water.”
Over The Edge uses a mix of first person (for the protagonist), and third person (for the police detective, and the antagonist), sounds weird, but it absolutely works. In fact, I found myself able to delve into Jannie’s mind faster when I got to first person. Then when it switched with a scene or chapter break it made the bad guy’s scene more eerie, because of the jolt.
Bad language: None.
Violence: a personal attack in the form of grabbing and shaking the person, and a gun-shot that kills. Neither explicit or overly gory.
Sexual content: implied in relationships, but nothing ‘on camera’.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Over the Edge
This review is fromOver the Edge: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A chilling novel that will stay on your mind

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A man unable to escape his bitter past conspires to subject medical researcher Dr. Brock McNeil and his family to the same torment he experienced - the reality of chronic Lyme Disease. Jannie McNeil becomes collateral damage of the Lyme Wars as the disease ravages her body and her mind, all while the chaos in her marriage to Brock likewise threatens to rip her world apart. Jannie's race to uncover the truth while trying to hold onto her sanity will leave you breathless.
Over the Edge gripped me from page one, from the chilling madman bent on making others suffer, to the haunting portrayal of Jannie's sudden decline from Lyme. As with all of Brandilyn's novels, the dialogue was crisp, the scenes were vivid, and I found my emotions swept up in the character's lives. Not only was the story highly entertaining, but I learned about a frightening disease I previously knew nothing about. I pray I don't cross paths with a tick any time soon. This book will stay on my mind for some time, not only as I empathize for those struggling with Lyme Disease, but as I also ponder my own faith and whether I will cling to God as Jannie did, praising him during the good times, and also should my own world fall apart. Highly Recommended. 5 of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Over the Edge
This review is fromOver the Edge.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

suspense will keep you reading

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jannie McNeil is maliciously infected with Lyme disease and three coinfections. Her husband is an academic in the medical realm and promotes a short-term antibiotic treatment for Lyme. But there are some who experience long-term chronic Lyme symptoms. One such person was the wife of the man who infected Jannie. He watched his wife suffer and finally die because of misdiagnosis and then refusal of needed treatment. He figures if Brock McNeil's wife experiences chronic Lyme symptoms he'll change his mind and promote long-term care.
But Jannie's husband has other ideas. He has been having an affair and when Jannie gets sick, he thinks she is faking it to win his sympathy and have him come back to her. The situation only gets worse as their daughter is threatened. Can Jannie convince anyone she is really ill before it is too late?
While this is a work of fiction, Collins writes from her own experience. She was hit with Lyme in 2003. Many of Jannie's experiences were ones Collins experienced. Brock McNeil is fiction but represents a combination of researchers who still deny the existence of chronic Lyme as an active infection. The Lyme wars go back decades, Lyme-literate-doctors believing long term antibiotic treatment is effective while powerful groups, like the CDC, deny the existence of chronic Lyme as an active infection. As Collins explains in her afterward note, the testing for the disease as described in the novel is based on actual methods. Collins' note at the end of the novel is revealing. Be sure to read it. You'll find out that a great deal of the medical background in the novel is real. A shameful affair, politically tainted, one doctor says.
Collins says she wrote this novel to tell a good suspense story. But more than entertain, she wanted to shed light on this whole difficult issue.
Collins has written a great suspense novel. I highly recommend it. It will keep you reading late into the night.
I received an egalley from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Over the Edge
This review is fromOver the Edge.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extremely informative

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Maryl
Location:Mississippi
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was especially interesting to me because my daughter has suffered from chronic Lyme disease for twelve years. I am so glad to have this debilitating disease (that so many people do not understand) addressed in fiction in a very informative manner.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Over the Edge
This review is fromOver the Edge.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book keeps you on edge to the end.

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
lovetoread
Location:Commerce, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was not your typical book. You actually learned a lot about Lyme disease and it symptons and all the bad things it can do to you. I never knew until now exactly what Lyme is all about. You won't put the book down until the last page.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Over the Edge
This review is fromOver the Edge.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Ride with Over the Edge!

Date:May 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I heard Brandilyn Collins was writing a book about Lyme disease I was thinking, “How is that going to work? It can’t be good.What is she thinking!?!?!” Well, guess what? I was so wrong. Yet again, Brandilyn Collins gives us one wild ride. From the beginning she captures your attention and doesn’t let go until the very end.
Janessa McNeil is probably a typical doctor’s wife, she takes care of the home, puts much of her energy into raising their daughter and dealing with the demons from her past. Jannie is not only haunted by her past but she is damaged by it. And Brock McNeil is probably a typical doctor, arrogant and never wrong. He’s overly confident and quite honestly I had strong feelings of DISLIKE toward this man most of the book.
If you’re a Brandilyn Collins’ fan this is another winner! If you have never read Brandilyn Collins this is a great one to start with as it is a stand alone book. You will find her writing easy to follow and engaging.
I would like to thank B&H Books for the opportunity to review this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Over the Edge
This review is fromOver the Edge.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Engrossing Tale

Date:May 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
If you like learning while reading a gripping suspense story, this book is for you! The characters are well-formed, the plot is a real page-turner, the mystery holds the reader in suspense throughout the novel until the stunning finish, and important lessons are taught.
Through the reading, I learned about a disease I had only before heard about: Lyme. Brandilyn Collins has lived with Lyme disease and knows it first hand. She proves herself an excellent teacher as well as top-notch author. She includes her extensive research, by incorporating it into this engrossing tale. Fittingly, May is Lyme Disease Month.
Folks, be sure to read this one!
Thank you to Bonnie at Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and B&H Books for my copy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Over the Edge
This review is fromOver the Edge.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Edge of Your Seat Suspense

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melanie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book! It was suspenseful and opened my eyes to Lyme Disease. I felt sad for Janessa and all she was going through, imagining if I was in her situation how I would feel. The ending had a great twist, which made me not want to put the book down. I hope there will be a sequel in the future. I would definitely recommend this book if you like to read books that put you on the edge of your seat. . . wondering what's going to happen next!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Over the Edge
This review is fromOver the Edge.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

VERY ITCHY SUSPENCE!

Date:May 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tink
Location:Tennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book left me scratching my head. No Seriously it made me think alot differently about these little bugs. I live in the country(some say backwoods) and see ticks all the time. I have a new outlook on them. I have gotten them off my children and dogs. We have all had them on us at one time or the other. And I have heard alot about Lymes, just never thought too much about all the different diseases they can carry and pass on to others. I will always think of this book and the knowledge I got from it when I see another one of these little bugs. The book was good and kept me wondering who was that twisted to put ticks on people to make them sick, to make the medical world look closer and differently at this disease. It was well thought up and written. And I would never have figured out who it was, good guessing game through out the book. Get this book and be ready to scratch thru the whole thing. It made my skin crawl but was a worthy read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Over the Edge
This review is fromOver the Edge.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cessna
Location:Idaho
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was great! I had no knowledge of lyme disease and how horrible it is for the person with it. The suspense in the book was great and I had a hard time putting this book down. This is a definite good read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Over the Edge
This review is fromOver the Edge.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good book with many true facts about Lyme desease. And there's also a good mystery. Brandilyn really kept me in suspense. I had no idea who did it. Mostly I figure that out pretty quick. Brandilyn put my thoughts on a side track and I started to suspect the wrong guy!
This is a must read for them that know someone close who has Lyme. There's much to learn about this subject in this book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Over the Edge
This review is fromOver the Edge.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

When can a suspense novel be life changing?

Date:May 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
readgreatfiction
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brandilyn Collins delivers yet another stay-up-all-night-till-you-finish read with the release of her new suspense novel Over the Edge.
Janessa McNeil seemed to be living the best time of her life until someone purposely infected her with Lyme disease. Why would someone do this to the friendly, likable housewife and mother? Janessa’s husband is one of the leading researchers discounting the existence of chronic Lyme disease, and the perpetrator believes that seeing his own wife suffer will cause change the mind of the unfeeling Dr. Brock McNeil. What the perpetrator doesn’t realize is that things aren’t as they seem in the McNeil marriage, and Janessa will soon be left alone to deal with a disabling disease her husband thinks is all in her mind. Now, the perpetrator is threatening to infect the McNeil’s nine year old daughter as well. Since Dr. McNeil believes this to be a ruse by his wife, and Janessa is too sick to even think, what is to stop him from succeeding?
Drawn from the pages of the authors own battle with chronic Lyme disease, this is a book that will grip you and not let you go. Deep characters, an amazing plot, and filled with Brandilyn Collins trademark Seatbelt Suspense, this book shares a message that will reach to your heart. If you, or someone you know suffers from Lyme Disease, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, Fibromyalgia, Multiple Sclerosis, or has undiagnosed muscle weakness, joint pain, or confused thinking, this book is an absolute must read. If not, it is still one amazing work of art.
Definitely 5 Star Worthy
This book was given to me by NetGalley for review purposes. All opinions rendered are my own.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Over the Edge
This review is fromOver the Edge.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down.

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
mwb
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good book with twists and turns. A "page turner".
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Over the Edge
This review is fromOver the Edge.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
krisvk15
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was awesome! I couldn't put it down! It kept me guessing until the end.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Over the Edge
This review is fromOver the Edge.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:April 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abbie
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shortly after receiving this book in the mail I was at Burger King with my children on the Arkansas side of Texarkana. There in the parking lot was a small blue car with the entire bumper and lower part of the back window covered with bumper stickers that read "Lyme is alive and well in Arkansas". To be honest until receiving this book for review I had not given much thought to this disease. Then as I read this book a classmate of my husband was diagnosed with this very thing. How odd that God works things out in such a way to make us aware of something like this.
This book is very well written. From the first page the reader is drawn into the story with a full range of emotions. I found this book to be a little stressful simply because of the tensions within it. I felt so bad for the main character and within the first few pages developed a deep dislike for her husband. It seems so very terrible that this man would treat his own wife with such disinterest. In fact I found myself really wanting to put the book down because of this one character, if I didn't want so badly to see what happened to Jannie. Never before had I given much thought to Lyme Disease, but after reading this I have a new sympathy for those suffering from this and a new desire not to take my children for any more hikes in the Arkansas mountains!
Brandilyn Collins has expertly written a suspenseful drama that will leave readers on the edge of their seats. This one is certainly a page turner and is difficult to put down. I read it in one setting (shamefully staying up way past my bedtime) in order to finish it. A special thanks to the author for tackling a book that will no doubt bring awareness to many about a topic that needs to be seen.
Thank you B&H for this review copy.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.