Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Aquifer

Zondervan Aquifer

In the year 2250, a ruling class controls the entire world by controlling the only source of hydration, buried deep underground---and they also control the flow of knowledge. While the Wise Ones can monitor the Topper world above and the "Water Rat" mines below, there's one boy they can't watch, and he has the passion and knowledge to find a crucial prophecy and potentially change the world...
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 out of 967%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Aquifer
Review 1 for Aquifer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good, but lacking

Date:February 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ryley G
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Here is the book synopsis, before I give my review.
Only he can bring what they need to survive. In the year 2250, water is scarce, and those who control it control everything. Sixteen-year-old Luca has struggled with this truth, and what it means, his entire life. As the son of the Deliverer, he will one day have to descend to the underground Aquifer each year and negotiate with the reportedly ratlike miners who harvest the world's fresh water. But he has learned the true control rests with the Council aboveground, a group that has people following without hesitation, and which has forbidden all emotion and art in the name of keeping the peace. And this Council has broken his father's spirit, while also forcing Luca to hide every feeling that rules his heart. But when Luca's father goes missing, everything shifts. Luca is forced underground, and discovers secrets, lies, and mysteries that cause him to reevaluate who he is and the world he serves. Together with his friends and a very alluring girl, Luca seeks to free his people and the Rats from the Council's control. But Luca's mission is not without struggle and loss, as his desire to uncover the truth could have greater consequences than he ever imagined.
Now, on to my review.
I enjoyed this book quite a bit. I really love many of the dystopian type books out right now, so I really liked this book because of fact, however, it still had a different feel to it than the usual dystopian books. Overall, I would give it 3 stars out of a possible 5.
While the storyline started out really strong, I found that it was lacking some of the details that would have helped me better understand the settings and appearances of the characters. After a few chapters, I began to lose interest. I stuck it out though, to see if things got any better. There were some parts that seemed to drag on and while the synopsis suggested that this would be a little more heartwarming, it just seemed a little typical and predictable. Many of the background characters were a little too two-dimensional for my liking and the plot had many holes. The element of romance between some of the characters (not naming names!) seemed a little more subtle than I was used to for dystopian books, but I didn't find it too lack-lustre.
I really wanted to like this book, but I just couldn't get into it fully. The storyline was shallow and at times uninteresting.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers Gold Review Program. I received the book in exchange for a honest review, either positive or negative. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aquifer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fast read

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
One Day at a Time
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The dystopian genre seems to be all the rage, and this book follows right along with it! While certain aspects may not be up to par (writing details/structure are somewhat lacking), if you're looking for a fast read in this genre, you'll want to make sure to take the time to check out this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aquifer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Science Fiction Action Adventure Thriller

Date:December 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jonathan Friesen in his new book, “Aquifer” published by Blink introduces us to Luca.
From the back cover: Only He Can Bring What They Need to Survive.
In the year 2250, water is scarce, and those who control it control everything. Sixteen-year-old Luca has struggled with this truth, and what it means, his entire life. As the son of the Deliverer, he will one day have to descend to the underground Aquifer each year and negotiate with the reportedly ratlike miners who harvest the world’s fresh water. But he has learned the true control rests with the Council aboveground, a group that has people following without hesitation, and which has forbidden all emotion and art in the name of keeping the peace. And this Council has broken his father’s spirit, while also forcing Luca to hide every feeling that rules his heart.
But when Luca’s father goes missing, everything shifts. Luca is forced underground, and discovers secrets, lies, and mysteries that cause him to reevaluate who he is and the world he serves. Together with his friends and a very alluring girl, Luca seeks to free his people and the Rats from the Council’s control. But Luca’s mission is not without struggle and loss, as his desire to uncover the truth could have greater consequences than he ever imagined.
The quest is on. Luca’s father is missing and now Luca must not only find him but also deal with the subterranean group called the “rats” for another year’s worth of water. I think this is great Science Fiction. The theme of society is played out with those above, who need the water, those below, who supply the water and the one person with direct contact with both levels. Since the link between the two societies is vital why is someone trying to kill Luca and made his father go missing? Watching the story all play out as Luca has to stay alive, bring the light to the “rats” to ensure there is water for another year and, also, find his father. ”Aquifer” is full of twists and turns just like the path from the surface down below. Luca is a warm and likable character and we get engaged in his life. This is an exciting book, extremely well paced and highly thought provoking.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Blink through the BookSneeze.book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aquifer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not What I was Hoping For

Date:December 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nicki
Location:Missouri, Mo
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Aquifer by Jonathan Friesen had an action plot with lots of suspense. In the year 2250, water is scarce, with no water on the surface and rain fall is rare. But there is one large source of water left in the whole world: the Aquifer underground in Australia. and those who control it are people called Rats that are said to be rat-like and horrific from crawling underground for so long to work the Aquifer.
Luca is the son of the Deliverer: a descendant from a long line of delivers who descend underground to trade light rods once a year with the Rats. It is a fair trade since the only thing the Rats need that they don't have is light and the only thing the toppers need is water. Luca though dreads the time he will have to take his fathers place and descend underground to the Rats. What's worse the world of the toppers are patrolled by a group called the Amougus which are controlled by the council of nine, has forbidden all emotion to keep peace. An emotionless world has created hardly any crimes. But the price was to much. If anyone were to show any love or just a smile they could be severely punished, or to be undone. And this Council has broken his father’s spirit, while also forcing Luca to hide every feeling that rules his heart. When he turns 16 his father disappears after he goes to descend and he himself is also suddenly in danger. With his group of new found friends he is forced underground to hide and discovers secrets, lies, and mysteries that cause him to reevaluate who he is and the world he serves.
This was an interesting book that kept me guessing on what was going to happen next. Though some parts I found to be very exciting while others bored me to death. I found parts of it very confusing, and Luca's romance I felt went too fast; The two of them knew nothing about each other and yet she was ready to leave everything she knew behind because she trusted him so much. But the biggest let down of the whole book was the ending. It was defiantly not what I had expected and was not that great. With this plot I felt the author could have done so much better.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. The opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aquifer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Next Big Thing in YA

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Samantha Coville
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
He has known all his life that the directions in his head make him different. He knows how to make his way through a world that others can only dream of. And when people begin to die for those directions and what they can unlock, Luca is pushed into the dark underground where the world’s only drinkable water resides. But what else is living in the deep dark?
This was a blast to read. It’s a mix of YA and middle grade fiction that somehow works and makes it readable for all ages. It’s a great family book that I think the whole family would enjoy. Mystical lands and unknown powers come into play as Luca’s past unfolds and the world of emotionless, waterless people becomes so intricate and unique that you’re just pulled in. Once you start, you can’t stop. It’s new and original in a way I hadn’t thought possible.
Some twists are a bit easy to spot ahead of time but others come out of nowhere so it’s not too bad a fault in the book. Also, there is some violence and some horrible events that occur that could be harsh for some. But it’s got a great life lesson to learn and ideas and thoughts to delve into and cherish.
If you’re looking for the next big thing in YA dystopian, look no further. Those other best sellers need to watch out because Luca is coming! Clear your schedule because you won’t be able to step away once you’ve reached a certain point. And you won’t feel bad about the time spent on it afterward. Five drops of water out of five!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aquifer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting!

Date:November 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ragdogs
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excerpt (back of the book :-) ):
“We are often reminded how peaceful our world has become, a world without a police force or prison, where crimes and uprisings have nearly disappeared. But we’ve paid a price. The emotional root of all conflict–fear, anger, love, especially love–is prohibited. The goal of our schooling is to master a life of total self-control. A life without wrinkles, without feeling, without soul. The exercises in school are endless.
But in truth, for most, they’re no longer needed. Generations of life in an emotion-neutral world have bred these dangerous urges out.
Why do I still feel them so strongly?
My Review:
I am not a huge fan of fantasy books, but this one was amazing! Aquifer is full of Christian morals and is a book that makes you think. It is written as if Luca is writing in his own diary, so you know only what Luca knows, you discover what he discovers, and really, you feel like you are Luca as you read through the story.
The storyline was fantastic and so were the subplots. Nothing was predictable and it had a great ending. The only negative thing I have to say about it, is that I had a little trouble understanding what they called everyone, like instead of saying this person was killed, you were to say that they were “undone”, or instead of saying this person was 11 years old, they were simply called an “Eleven”. So it took me a minute to figure those things out, but once I did, the rest of the book flowed smoothly.
As for action, there was quite a bit towards the end, and some of it graphic, but not horrible. Nothing sexual in it either, except one kiss at the very end and holding hands (if you classify that as sexual…). This is a Christian book, so there was also absolutely no cussing or any other bad language.
I highly recommend this book to all my friends and acquaintances!
“I received this book from Book Sneeze/Thomas Nelson for the purpose of this review. All comments and opinions are my own.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aquifer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not Amazing

Date:November 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
StoryGirl
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I’ve begun read dystopian novels- I’m not sure why, but they’ve been appealing to me of late. That’s why I was willing to take a chance on Aquifer, even though I’d never read any previous books by the author. I was a bit surprised to find a small hardcover book in the mail, not much longer than a novella (it was under 300 pages), but I picked it up with an open mind.
The thing about Aquifer is there is nothing really…real about it. I never felt like I got to know all of the secondary characters, or even Luca himself; they all seemed a little one-dimensional to me. Also, I found parts of it very confusing. Something would be described, and I just couldn’t wrap my mind around the picture the words made; it wouldn’t make sense to me. I found the futuristic society a little hard to understand as well. I never got interested or drawn into the story; I didn’t hate it, but my emotions never got involved. Also, the romance moved unbelievably fast. The two of them knew nothing about each other, and the girl was ready to completely leave her family to help him. So Aquifer is not really one I'd recommend, not because it was bad, but because there are better things out there.
I received this book for free from booksneeze.com in exchange for my honest review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aquifer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fascinating Dystopian Fiction!

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Veronica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't miss out on this unique, fascinating story set in the year 2250, where drinkable water is hard to find and feelings and art are forbidden! The Council monitors emotion and lethally enforces their rule. Once a year the Deliverer travels down a long and winding path into the heart of the earth to exchange light rods for water with the rats, once human creatures who guard an aquifer, the only fresh water available on earth. Sixteen-year-old Luca, as his son, knows that one day he will take his father's place, but didn't believe it would be so soon. His father doesn't return from his journey and Luca starts to question what he believes to be true. Along with an unlikely group of friends, he retreats underground to make the journey himself to find out what has happened. What he discovers will change everything as he tries to save both worlds.
I haven't read much dystopian fiction yet, except mainly the Hunger Games, which I loved, and I find this genre fascinating. I really enjoyed this story and thought the author did a good job of making me sympathize with Luca and really, all of humanity for the type of world they live in. There was a lot of action as someone always seemed to be after Luca and his group and some sadness, but there are also happy moments and ultimately, the story is filled with hope. There's a bit of a spiritual side to the story, which I enjoyed and would have liked to see more of. This is geared toward young adults, but I think any adult would enjoy this if they like unique stories, especially along the lines of the Hunger Games.
I received a free ARC copy from Zondervan in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aquifer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful read!

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Maniacal Bookworm
Movie Rating: PG-13 for disturbing images
Book Rating: @@@@@
Swearing: None
Inappropriate Scenes: None
# of Pages: 303 (paperback)
Genre: YA Dystopian
Publisher: Blink
My Review:
"Full of adventure and misfortune with a slight bit of romance Aquifer is a must read for all ages.."
Riveting. This is the very word that describes Aquifer. When you read of Luca's adventure, I dare you to put this book down, but I'm guessing you won't be able to unless it's to do something trivial, like brushing your teeth. Full of adventure and misfortune with a slight bit of romance Aquifer is a must read for all ages.
Pros:
A very clean, fast-paced read that I wouldn't be embarrassed about if my mom picked it up. Well-developed characters and a few plot twists all make this book a great read.
Cons:
The romance moved way to fast. I'm sure there's love at first sight but that doesn't mean you leave your home and family to go on an adventure with a guy you just met. You don't know anything about him!
Conclusion:
Very good, fun read that I recommend to tweens, teens, and adults alike. Keep up the good work Mr. Friesen!
(this book was provided by Z Street Team in exchange for my honest review)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.