Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell The Secret's in the Sauce, Potluck Catering Club Series #1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Revell The Secret's in the Sauce, Potluck Catering Club Series #1

Saucy, spicy, and well-seasoned, the women of the Potluck Club are looking forward to launching their own catering business. But a steamy past threatens a marriage, a scalding truth exposes personal secrets, and dicey situations overheat a trip back home. Will their collaboration turn into a concoction for disaster---or a recipe for success? 368 pages, softcover from Revell.
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
3 out of 560%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Secret's in the Sauce, Potluck Catering Club Series #1
Review 1 for The Secret's in the Sauce, Potluck Catering Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good book

Date:November 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tina
Location:Red Cloud NE
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book is a good Christian book I really have been enjoying reading it. I have not really it all yet but I've Ben working on it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Secret's in the Sauce, Potluck Catering Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very disappointing and a waste of time

Date:October 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
sharic
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quite disappointing… don’t waste your time. Lies, gossip, backbiting, sex, adultery, secrets… none of this is pleasing to God and all in the name of a prayer group? Maybe, perhaps maybe, 2% of the book talked about how this displeases God. I’m shocked that it is considered a Christian book, sold on a Christian website. This plants more ideas of worldly living and trash than how to be an over comer and live a Godly life. Even though it made me sick to my stomach, expecting more from a book promoted on a Christian website, to be fair, I stayed with it to the end before writing this review. Not only it is a waste of time, but it could easily result in enticing someone towards a slippery slope of worldliness. This is nothing more than a Peyton Place, or Harlequin Romance published in the name of Christ. Sad!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Secret's in the Sauce, Potluck Catering Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy read

Date:November 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ardis Jensen
Location:MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I haven't finished the book yet, but I have enjoyed reading in the evenings before bed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Secret's in the Sauce, Potluck Catering Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A comfortable read

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
snielsus
Location:Torrance, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is unusual in that it is "written" from the viewpoint of the five main characters, each taking turns narrating a chapter. The plot flows, revealing that under the Christian façade are people with histories and problems. How things are resolved I'll leave for the reader to discover. This is very well-written, keeping me up way past my bedtime!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Secret's in the Sauce, Potluck Catering Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Christian?

Date:October 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
CurledUpWithaBook
Location:The Maritimes
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very disappointed in this book. It's not the type of book I would recommend. To me it seemed like a secular book that someone wanted to make into a Christian book by inserting a few good points. A lot of drama, a lot of sinful behavior but very little encouragement of how to overcome sin and live a victorious life.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Secret's in the Sauce, Potluck Catering Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lynda Wood
I so enjoyed getting to know all of the "Potluck Club" ladies even better, and to see that they are really human, with all the temptations and sorrows that we all have to deal with. I found it to be exciting and action packed, some nights I couldn't put it down, am looking extremely forward to getting into the sequal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Secret's in the Sauce, Potluck Catering Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Madeline Elliott
great read, stays true to the series, can't wait for the next one to come out
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Secret's in the Sauce, Potluck Catering Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2008
This book is like comfort food. You know you're going to enjoy the book even before you open the cover. I was so happy to see that one of my favorite series was continuing. I was also happy that the story just adds on, nothing out of the ordinary has changed in Summit View. Everyone gets along a lot better in these books. It's really nice to see the group come together without too much bickering. Any characters that seemed annoying in the first series have toned down a lot are and are more likable. Lisa Leann finally has moments where she cannot be in control. It was refreshing to see her not acting like a know it all for a change. I really hope that Lizzie's story is expanded more in future books. I feel like something needs to be done for her situation as no one is helping her out and it's getting to be a downward spiral. I, myself, have no trouble with the multiple story lines and points of view. Each character is unique and has such an interesting story line that I never got lost. The only thing I didn't like was the way Donna was treated by her half sister and by her boyfriend's mother. How much negativity and snubbing can one person take? Also what's funny is that in the past series I complained that there was too much of Clay and that he took away from the series. Now in this one, he's barely in it at all and I want him back! As always, there are some wonderful recipes from dishes mentioned in the book added for your reading and tasting pleasure. I even tried out a couple of the recipes in the back of the book. The Texas Hash was super easy to make and delicious. I have had requests to make it again (thank you Lisa Leann!) I can't wait for the next book in the series. I love these ladies and I'm so glad they're back!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Secret's in the Sauce, Potluck Catering Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lynn
Excellent. Shepherd and Everson have done it again. The first 2 books were good, and the 3rd book is following right along in their footsteps. Makes you laugh and cry at the same time. I cannot wait for book 4!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Secret's in the Sauce, Potluck Catering Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Liisa C.
Loved it, loved it, loved it!! I read the entire Potluck Club series, and have been EAGERLY awaiting this new book. The characters are so well developed, and their situations so real. I'm really hoping the authors continue this series, at least for a while. Love the added bonus of the recipes in the back...I have my best friend hooked on this series also!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Secret's in the Sauce, Potluck Catering Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
West Edgecombe Baptist Church
Am so glad to see these girls back again! Can't wait to see what happens in the next book in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.