Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell A Taste of Fame, Potluck Catering Club Series #2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Revell A Taste of Fame, Potluck Catering Club Series #2

The women of the Potluck Catering Club have a growing business. They even became the subject of a budding filmmaker's class project. Problem is, they didn't read the fine print when they signed off on his documentary. When he enters the club in the reality show "Great Party Showdown," the ladies of Summit View, Colorado, head to the Big Apple for the unexpected adventure of their lives. Between navigating New York City, dealing with other cutthroat contestants, and trying to maintain their close friendship in the high-stress world of reality TV, the Potluck women must keep their eyes on the prize--a cool million dollars--and work together if they're going to make it back to Colorado in one piece.
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for A Taste of Fame, Potluck Catering Club Series #2
Review 1 for A Taste of Fame, Potluck Catering Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Styles
Another page turner. Any book that encourages you to pray and seek God in all situations is a winner to me. Plus reading about the shananigans that this odd crew get up too is always a delight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Taste of Fame, Potluck Catering Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amy Riley
I absolutely love this series and there are no complaints here! These books are so easy to read but so hard to put down! I'm ready for her to write another one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Taste of Fame, Potluck Catering Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jodie Bailey
I love the Potluck Club ladies, and this has to be the best yet. When the women are forced (yes, forced!) into appearing on a reality TV show, things spin in directions they never saw coming. There are highs and lows, laughs and tears, and a few surprises along the way. What I love most about the Potluck Club is the way each woman has her "say" in the situation. We get to see the story through each of their eyes, and I love that. It doesn't matter who you are, one of the Potluck women will strike a chord in you. This is a definite must read... but be prepared to stay up late turning pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Taste of Fame, Potluck Catering Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2009
I had never read any of the Potluck Club books so I got the first one and read it to introduce myself to the characters before diving into this one. Only one problem, the Potluck Club series is much more prolific than I realized and I ordered the very first Potluck Club book, not the first Potluck Catering Club book. But at any rate I was able to get acquainted with the characters and figure out everyone's personalities and backgrounds. There are 6 very different and unique ladies that somehow manage to mesh together in what started out as a prayer club and has now grown into a catering club.This book opens with the ladies discovering that they have been entered in a catering reality tv show and they have been picked as one of the original 10 teams. The only issue is that the ladies don't want to be on the program - at all! In the process of making it through different weekly challenges and advancing (all while being sabotaged), their lives are being displayed for 30 million people to see. Lisa Leann and Henry's marriage is on the rocks, Goldie and Jack's marriage is finally on the mend. Evie is a newlywed, Vonnie is a new mom, Lizzie is sober and Donna can't make up her mind between Wade and David.I liked seeing Evie and Lisa Leann finally working out some of their differences and just the over all growth and maturing that all the ladies have done. This book was a fun adventure for the ladies of the Potluck Catering Club and I'll be keeping my eyes on some of their future adventures!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Taste of Fame, Potluck Catering Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
A Taste of Fame by Linda Evans Shepherd and Eva Marie Everson is the most recent entry in the Potluck Catering Club series. The women of the club are in for the ride of their lives! Nelson, Lisa Leanna's son, entered some footage he shot of the club catering a wedding, and it's made its way to a reality TV show contest. The women are on the fast track to fame with all of its perks (bumped to first class) and the pitfalls (dirty laundry on internet message boards). The show flies them to New York to compete in a series of competitions that will put their skills, their faith, and their friendship to the test. I have become completely addicted to this series. I love the variety of characters from brusque Evangeline and Donna to sweet Vonnie and too-sweet Lisa Leann, they are all real women facing challenges we all do. Evangeline and Lisa Leann's trip to New York was the perfect mix of tourist fun and panic. I appreciated how the authors made the Big Apple come to life without falling ito the stereotypes of rude people and crime ridden streets. It's a fresh treat from the first to the last page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Taste of Fame, Potluck Catering Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2009
This has probably got to be my absolute favorite Potluck Club book ever. The story was written so extremely well. I loved the behind the scenes action that took place and the descriptions of what it takes to make one of these shows. Also greatly enjoyed the trip to New York and the adventures the ladies had of just being in the city.What I love best about this series is that these women are real. I get tired of reading other Christian fiction that portrays their characters as saints or those who are always eager to cast the first stone. Not only is it an overused stereotype, it's just plain wrong. The women in this book are just like any woman you meet in your church. They are flawed characters but they are real. They learn from their mistakes and they do what they can to live better lives. Usually you can tell with multiple authors when each author is writing. There is a distinct tone that is unique to that author's voice and stands out. This can be a distraction sometimes when it's obvious that the narrator has changed. Well in this series, I can't tell when Linda is writing or when Eva holds the pen. It all blends so seamlessly that the story just flows along. You don't feel overwhelmed, lose track or get confused with any of the character's stories. I felt that in this book, everyone had equal story time and each story was just as interesting, hilarious, and touching all at the same time.There are TONS of recipes in this story, and all were used in the book. Alas I didn't get to try out any but there are many that are really simple to make. That way, if you get a hankering to try out something you're reading about, it's right there for you to stop reading, start cooking, and then eat and read at the same time. I cannot wait until the next book but at the same time, it's bittersweet because I know it'll be the last one. Until then, I shall cook up some of the recipes from this one and enjoy what I have. VERY HIGHLY recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Taste of Fame, Potluck Catering Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2009
I'll admit it: I'm hooked on reality shows; I watch home decorating shows, cooking shows, and even competition reality television programs. This book is about a show that I'd enjoy watching--a cooking competition for groups. Written in first-person narrative in the voice of each of the individual characters, helps the reader follow the chaotic adventures of a diverse group of ladies and a few chosen guys who by a mishap, involve themselves in a competitive television reality program. With the prize a million dollars, along with an iron-clad contract that they signed without bothering to read, the ladies are obligated to plug away in spite of romantic entanglements and a bit of a mystery. Who IS "B"?This is a fun book to read. Not only can I envision it on TV, but I'd sure phone in my vote for the Pot Luck Club to take the grand prize. The recipes for all thirty-six of the dishes used in the competition all included as well as a metric conversion guide.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Taste of Fame, Potluck Catering Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon
This was a laugh out loud read. I loved how the women pulled together in friendship as they dealt with the glam, glitter and cut-throat competivite cooking on The Great Party Showdown reality TV show. This would be a great read for a book club. It's got it all; adventure, humor, drama and romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Taste of Fame, Potluck Catering Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Renee Read This!
Okay, I admit I'm a big fan of the Potluck Club, and Potluck Catering Club books, but this latest book is something special. I absolutely ate it up with a spoon. Just loved the New York and realit TV adventures. Delicious!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Taste of Fame, Potluck Catering Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Reading Glee
What a delightful book. As for the reviewer who thought the book condoned gossip, she missed the point. The authors were using humor to hold a mirror up to those of us who have made this mistake. This is one of the funniest books I've yet to read. I hope 'Stacey' goes back and actually reads the book as she admits she hasn't. She's missing a treasure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Taste of Fame, Potluck Catering Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Debra Fletcher
I was anxiously awaiting the lastest adventures of the Potluck Catering Club and dived right in! I was not disappointed-enjoyed their trip to New York. Hope that this will bring them to a new adventure soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Taste of Fame, Potluck Catering Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2009
I wish I could call this novel delicious because that would be a catchy review title, but "A Taste of Fame" by Linda Shepherd and Eva Marie Everson lost me in the first few pages when I read the line: "Sure, we still had our famous potluck meetings, complete with prayer and gossip." Maybe it's just me...maybe I was too tired when I was reading to get into the "spirit" of the book...but I don't think so. Plain and simple: prayer and gossip do not go together. The Bible has a lot to say about the words we use whether spoken or in writing, and I believe that we, as Christians, need to be responsible for the words we use. And when we have a platform to touch many lives, we need to not gloss over what the Bible calls sin.Christian entertainment should be a venue where you can trust the wholesomeness of the content to which you're exposing your mind. Seeing gossip, a sin, mentioned so non-chalantly in conjunction with prayer tells me that I would have to work too hard guarding my heart and mind while reading this book that it's not worth the effort. So, I'll simply put the book down, not recommend it - in fact, recommend that others NOT read it, and not seek out any other titles in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.