Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell A Passion Redeemed, The Daughters of Boston Series #2

Revell A Passion Redeemed, The Daughters of Boston Series #2

Graced with physical beauty, though shallow of heart, Charity O'Connor is a woman who knows what she wants. She sets her sights on the cantankerous Mitch Dennehy, editor at the Irish Times, who has unwittingly stolen her heart. And although the sparks are there, Mitch refuses to fan the coals of a potential relationship with his ex-fiancee's sister. But Charity has a plan to turn up the heat and she always gets what she wants--one way or another. Is revenge so sweet after all? Or will Charity get burned?
Average Customer Rating:
4.793 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
74
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
46 out of 46100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Passion Redeemed, The Daughters of Boston Series #2
Review 1 for A Passion Redeemed, The Daughters of Boston Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great squel! 3 1/2 stars

Date:March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
BookLover
Location:Belington, WV
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started this book not liking Charity O’Connor at all. I’ve never read a book where I didn‘t care much for a main character. I usually just quit, but I liked A Passion Most Pure so much, that I had to find out what would happen with Charity and Mitch. I am happy to say, that I did end up enjoying this book a lot. Charity grew on me as the story progressed. Julie is an excellent storyteller and I was quickly drawn into the story.
If you’ve read a Passion Most Pure, then you know part of Charity’s story. For some reason, unknown to even her, she is often cruel to those closest to her. She pushes her family away and will manipulate a situation to what she thinks is her advantage. She uses people and the only ones she seems to truly love are her great-grandmother, grandmother, and best friend Emma. We get the impression that something awful happened to her, but we don’t find out what until later on. While Charity has several unfavorable traits, she has a sweet side too, which is what endeared her to me. We see that she has a kind spirit, but for some reason, she hides it.
I loved Mitch! He was great in Faith’s book, so I was super excited to read his story. He’s a little rough around the edges and doesn‘t always react kindly. His faith has grown stronger and he’s determined to live a life honoring God, but Charity makes it difficult. She gets under his skin like no one else, which leads to a lot of interesting arguments and altercations. We also see a kind side in him, as well. While gruff on the outside, inside he truly cares about those around him, sometimes against his better judgment. I loved how sweet he was with Charity, even when she was being a pain. He’s perfect for her, because he doesn’t allow her to push him around or manipulate him like she does her other beaus.
My favorite part was the redemptive theme woven throughout the book. Mitch and Charity both must be redeemed by God’s love and love Him first. That is what He requires of each of us, that we love Him first and seek His will. Charity spends most of the book bucking His will and trying to go her own way. She is determined that she doesn’t need Him, and my favorite part in the whole book is when she finally understands that she is His and she is redeemed. I almost cried with her. Mitch also learns that he cannot continue to allow himself to be defined by his past and cannot continue holding Charity’s mistakes against her, either.
I love the faith in each book, because while entertaining, they also teach and remind. They teach us something new about ourselves and about God as we view our hearts and lives through this lens. They remind us who we are in Him and show us the kind of passion He has for us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Passion Redeemed, The Daughters of Boston Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SO good!

Date:January 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
gatorade635
Location:Midland, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I read this for the first time I was very wary. Charity was, to put it plainly, awful in A Passion Most Pure and I was a little scared that I would hate this book since she was the main character. But I shouldn't have been worried, this is after all a Julie Lessman novel and I ended up loving it!
Charity was still a little hard to like at the beginning but we were also given the chance to see what made her act the way she did. I loved watching as she grew into a wonderful heroine that you can't help falling love with! She goes from a snotty little brat to a woman of God and it was a beautiful thing to watch!
Mitch was once again amazing. His had been a hard road of rejection and my heart truly broke for him. But I loved how he let God change his life and lived as He would have wanted. I also loved how despite how he felt about Charity he didn't give in to her and instead helped draw her closer to God even if at first it was more to get him rather than truly let God transform her (that came later)! He was always trying his dead level best to do the right thing no matter how hard it was and that was what made him so great!
The other side characters were fantastic too! Mrs. Lynch with her mothering of Mitch and her no nonsense ways, and Charity's grandmother and great-grandmother with their love and guidance. I also loved Emma with her gentle ways, and her love for God and Charity. And Bridie and Kathleen from the Irish Times! Bridie with her teasing of Mitch and the way she would talk to him, and Kathleen with her sweet ways! Ooh and I can't forget John Brady! We got to see a little of him in APMP but we got a lot more in this one and he is awesome! I love how close his walk with God is! And of course I can't forget all the other O'Conners and the McGuires!
There were lots of hard times in this book where you wanted to either smack characters or give them a hug! And then there was the character that you wanted to strangle for all the evil things he did! I laughed, I almost cried, and all in all thoroughly enjoyed this second book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Passion Redeemed, The Daughters of Boston Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Charity Redeems Herself!

Date:January 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
BonTon
Location:Mt. Washington, Ky.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Passion Redeemed, by award-winning author, Julie Lessman, is the second book in The Daughters of Boston trilogy - about the O'Connor family. Those readers taking a dislike to selfish, vindictive, daughter, Charity, in the first book A Passion Most Pure, will be pleasantly surprised, and emotionally sympathetic, with her character in A Passion Redeemed.
Each of the elements for which Julie's books are known: passion, angst, unexpected twists and turns, redemption, life-like characters, tears, laughter, prayer, and making God central in one's life - are abundant in A Passion Redeemed. Each of her books I read, creates an even deeper love for the O'Connor family, and the writing style of it's author, and leaves a warm, cozy, feeling, a renewed appreciation for family, and a continued vow to live my life for God.
I, eagerly, anticipate reading each book written by Julie - I will be a life-long reader of her books, and read them over, and over, again. She never disappoints, and each book gets a 5 star rating from me!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Passion Redeemed, The Daughters of Boston Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't Put It Down!

Date:January 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
CharityUAusten
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow. Julie knows how to keep her readers on the edges of their seats! I’m about to start book three and am quite persuaded that the whole series is brilliant and I have NO idea how in the world Julie came up with so many fascinating twists and turns – it’s stunning. My apologies…this review is disorganized. So it goes. I feel like the family situation here is going to be super awkward, and wouldn’t actually work in real life – Faith and Charity were both engaged to their sister’s future husbands at one point or another. Yeah. Awkward. Also, a word up – Julie’s books are on the more passionate end of Christian fiction. Save for older readers. Finally, I don’t always really agree with some of the decision and actions made by or done by the characters, even when the book makes them out to be fine – I feel like they are rather less conservative about some things than they should be. However, despite these few problems, I still managed to LOVE this book and come out giving it a 9.5! Obviously the main character is named Charity (SO COOL), and so this book has been on my to-read shelf for years – only now did I finally get to it! On page 466, I was persuaded that there was no way all the loose ends could be tied up by the end – but by page 477, ta-da! The book was finished and somehow, everything WAS resolved! The whole book was fascinating and impossible to put down. The drama is constant. And can I just say…I love Patrick and Marcy’s marriage (they’re Faith and Charity’s parents) and I want my marriage to be like that when I’ve been married as many years as them. All in all? This book had a few things that I wasn’t entirely on board with. But it’s definitely worth my time and I can’t wait to read book 3 later this week!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Passion Redeemed, The Daughters of Boston Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Book!

Date:October 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Passion Redeemed…wow…I didn’t think it was possible to like Charity after all she did in A Passion Most Pure! However, the author was able to pull it off. I definitely recommend reading A Passion Most Pure before reading A Passion Redeemed. You just have to know the kind of person Charity was and the things she did in that book to truly appreciate the change that comes about in this second book.
About halfway through the book, I started to feel for Charity. I didn’t really like her yet, but could see that there might be hope for her. She made lots of bad decisions…I mean LOTS! The girl just couldn’t stop her lying! Just made me want to shake her! Then, when a powerful secret from Charity’s childhood is exposed, I felt sorry for her and could understand her attitude toward God and life in general a little better. By the time I was nearing the end of the book, I was totally on her side, hurting for her as she tried to put her life back together after many disappointments.
Now, the love interest…Mitch. Thickheaded, yes, that term is used in the book for him quite often. It pretty much sums him up. He is older than Charity and he is the ex-fiancé of Charity’s sister, Faith. That entire story is told in A Passion Most Pure. Mitch started following Christ during that novel and is now trying to live his life in a way that would please God. However, Mitch has some major trust issues due to events in his past and this becomes a serious problem between he and Charity.
Both characters have some major flaws and make some big mistakes in this book. It is only by the grace of God and, in Charity’s case, the guidance of Christian friends and family, that things will have a chance of working out in the end. This was a very enjoyable book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Passion Redeemed, The Daughters of Boston Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book got 5 stars before I even started it

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a HUGE fan of Julie Lessman, and oddly enough, this ended up being the last book of hers that I hadn't yet read.
Now, I love how Julie writes! There is so much faith and passion infused into her stories that it doesn't take long to get completely wrapped up in the book.
Charity O'Connor is exasperating, and yet you can't help but love her to bits. Mitch is so infuriating at times, and yet we understand and sympathize with him, because any man who puts up with Charity... well, let's just say he's a keeper!
Although this wasn't my favorite in the series, I did enjoy knowing the whole story between Mitch and Charity and the ending was great! Personally, I love it when the woman gets a little riled at the end... :)
And just as a side note: I don't know how the O'Connor girls can go through so many fiancees... you'd think it would wreck a little havoc on the family emotions, to have everyone engaged to each others ex boyfriends. But no, life goes on just as it was before!
I usually like to mention that these books aren't for young teens, as they tend to get a little descriptive as far as desire and sexuality goes. Other then that, if you're fans of historical romance, these books aren't to be missed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Passion Redeemed, The Daughters of Boston Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Passionate book!

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
dixiedarlin
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story of Charity O'Connor is one that makes you want to scream, cry, laugh and groan! This book is one that I loved and is definitely one that I recommend to everyone who loves the O'Connor family! If you enjoy passion and romance you'll love this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Passion Redeemed, The Daughters of Boston Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Passion For Redemption!

Date:April 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
AngiOakley
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The second book in the Daughters of Boston series, Julie Lessman brings the story of Charity O'Conner in A Passioned Redeemed. Charity grew up knowing that she was a pretty girl. Now a woman, she uses her beauty to get what she wants, including the attentions of men, sometimes playing one against another. Unlike her sister, Faith, who puts her trust in God, Charity puts her trust in the fact that she can lure those around her with her charms, except for the one man that she truly loves, Mitch Dennehy...and he wants nothing to do with her. She hurt him once and he vows it will never happen again. Will Charity seek for God's approval in her life instead of the approving look given her by men? And will Mitch give her another chance?
Julie writes the story of redemption and forgiveness. The renewal of a faith once forgotten and a love rekindled.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Passion Redeemed, The Daughters of Boston Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Book

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammy
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the characters in this book. I cried and laughed along with them.
The way that Julie Lessman writes keeps me so enthralled, I can hardly put the book down.
I tell my friends and family that they need to read her books they are awesome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Passion Redeemed, The Daughters of Boston Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Charity's Story and Her Moment of True Redemption

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wman4JC
Location:miami, fl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I soooo enjoyed how the book starts out with the O’Connor family together again with Collin and Faith properly engaged and life is looking good for this beloved family. However, Redeemed is Charity’s story and she was a challenging character for me to like.
Most of the story is in Ireland where Charity has made a life for herself with her grandmother and great grandmother. She has plans to own a shop and somehow get Mitch to propose to her. Charity GENUINELY loves Mitch, but the ways she goes about trying to capture his heart in return were both foolish and unthinkable for me to read about. *shaking my head* There’s one scene where Charity goes to meet the family of her suitor and the whole atmosphere was creepy! This family used their dysfunctionality as every day common manners and despite Charity’s worldly ways, even she was utterly uncomfortable about how she would fit into such a family.
Issues that are dealt with in this story are: physical abuse, sexual abuse, rape, infidelity, deception and forgiveness (both for others and for self). Nothing is detailed within the book, but discussed in conversations, implied, or prayed about. Lessman does a stand up job developing characters that are impacted by each of these issues. Despite this book NOT being a light read, it successfully tackles what many Christians face within their own families or in their loved ones and how they can be overcome with God’s love and devotion.
The real enjoyment of this story is seeing how Charity FINALLY submits to God, allows her family to FINALLY love her as she heals, and once and for all learning to forgive HERSELF and the breakthrough that follows these revelations. I had trouble throughout the story liking this girl, but my heart broke for her more than once as she trusts the wrong man to help her, she believes lies from the enemy that tell her she’s worthless without her seductive ways and looks, she doesn’t realize how LOVED she is from her family and God until almost the end of the book, and she constantly looks to men to ease her loneliness. I was deeply touched by the O’Connors love and support of Charity and it was wonderful to see her blossom and grow up even though she does so the hard way.
I couldn’t stand how she constantly deceives Mitch and her family to get her own way, but Charity is such a good example of what not to do. And for anyone who can relate to Charity directly or indirectly, her journey is a wonderful lesson of hope. This story deeply illustrates how God works relentlessly to win over those who struggle with lonely and insecure hearts going to the wrong people/places to fill that empty void. Even though Redeemed is not my favorite book in this series, it is a necessary and profound lesson of how love in Christ conquers all. I’m also grateful for the men in this story who have self-control and seek God in their weak moments. One of my favorite parts of the story is when Charity is healing and she seeks out her parents one night as she has trouble falling asleep.
This is their response to her: “Charity smiled. How in the world had she been blessed with such parents? ‘Yes.’ ‘Good. Then we’ll do that. But first, I want you to know something. Never in one breath of your life have we ever been ashamed of you, Charity O’Connor. Befuddled, perhaps, sometimes angry, and occasionally frustrated, but never—I repeat never—have you brought shame to your father’s heart or mine. You have been a joy to our souls, and I don’t think that deep down you ever really knew that. Know it now, daughter, and know it well. God isn’t the only one who loves you with a depth beyond your apprehension.’ Charity clutched her mother in a joyous sob. She felt Marcy’s gentle stroking while her father’s strong hand kneaded her back.” That part of the story was healing for my soul.
I’m looking forward to reading the last book in this series and I’m so grateful to see how the O’Connors have endured.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Passion Redeemed, The Daughters of Boston Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful story of Redemption

Date:March 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
anb123
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a powerful story of redemption that kept me grippped on every page, the love of God and of man was so poignat in the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Passion Redeemed, The Daughters of Boston Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Redeemed Indeed!

Date:March 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Darla
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Charity O'Connor is determined to hook the very Dashing Mitch Dennehy. Mitch plays hard to get but that doesn't hinder Charity at all. She knows what she wants and is just about the best at getting what she sets her heart on. The only problem is what does God want for? Does He even care for her? She thought He had stopped caring about her a long time ago but Mitch insists that all she needs is God. Can she truly give her heart over to God and let his will be done? Mrs. Lessman has indeed redeemed Charity O'Connor in this book. I found it very good and would recommend it to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Passion Redeemed, The Daughters of Boston Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Roller-coaster of a ride!

Date:November 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Veronica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this story, but I did feel like it was a lot tougher to read emotionally than book one of this series. Charity's made some bad choices and there are some harsh consequences for her to deal with. I ended up liking Charity more in this book because we see some of the reasons she is the way she is.
This picks up where book one left off and then jumps a year, to Charity trying to win Mitch no matter the cost and Mitch trying to get over his love for Faith. Even though Mitch is very attracted to Charity, he can't trust her and after the way he's been burned before, he can't risk it. Mitch needs a woman who loves God as much as he does, not someone who lies and flirts to get what she wants. However, he can't stop thinking about her. Can Mitch forgive her? Will Charity finally surrender to the love of God, the love she's been looking for all along?
I love the O'Connors! Charity's story was very interesting and a roller-coaster ride, and I can't wait to read about the rest of the family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Passion Redeemed, The Daughters of Boston Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not a huge Charity fan but...

Date:November 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again, Miss Lessman was able to enamor and frustrate me all at once.
It certainly did not help that this book was about Charity (you know, the single O'Connor I don't like) either. As I cracked open the book I mused to myself, "A Passion Redeemed to be sure." I can't say that this book made me love Charity, but it did lessen the dislike... a little.
I liked Mitch previously from A Passion Most Pure and was, at first, kind of upset he was falling for Charity, of all people. But, Miss Lessman won me over to the idea over the course of the 400+ page book. After all, only Mitch can seem to tame Charity with his own hard-head.
This book has it's ups and downs. In my opinion it didn't get good until Charity really made a change in her heart. As downsides go, the same complaint from A Passion Most Pure is also valid here. There is lots of passion. I also didn't like the deceit and seduction Charity carried on with. Otherwise, it's the same excellent writing. :-)
In closing, Miss Lessman has a knack for keeping things bleak for as long as possible. It seems to be a trend that doesn't fail from keeping me on the edge of my seat. I guess this is one of the many reasons I keep reading. Haha!
I bought this book. No review required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Passion Redeemed, The Daughters of Boston Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another amazing effort!

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rldepriest
Location:Katy, Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so excited to find out that A Passion Most Pure was going to be a series and this second box is just as amazing as the first! I really didn't want to like the main character of this story, but grew to know her and love her. Only an amazing author can help you do that through great writing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Passion Redeemed, The Daughters of Boston Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful Redemption Story!

Date:September 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melanie
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, A Passion Redeemed definitely changed my opinion of Charity and Mitch. I had liked both characters from reading A Passion Most Pure (yes, even Charity, though she could be really frustrating at times), but it wasn't until reading this book that they both became favorites of mine... along with Brady. :)
Julie Lessman definitely knows how to weave a gripping tale! I found myself "on-the-edge" of my seat wondering what was going to happen throughout this book, and even though I thought I knew who (if anyone) Charity would end up with, I found myself second guessing. There was so much in this story I did NOT see coming and it definitely showed Charity (and why she acted the way she did) in a new light.
I LOVED the redemption story in A Passion Redeemed! I even got a little teary-eyed while reading because it was so powerful! Also, Charity made me laugh really hard a few times during this book (especially during one scene that shall remain nameless here)...which is just another reason I loved this book!
There was really only one thing I didn't personally care for and that was when characters heard a voice or thought in their head and it seemed to be from God. While most of the time it was just scripture, there were a few times it wasn't and that just is a pet-peeve of mine.
Still, I loved A Passion Redeemed so much and am giving it 5 stars (it was sooo close to becoming a favorite!). Same as with the first book, I would only recommend A Passion Redeemed to mature readers who enjoy romantic/historical books because there is a lot of passionate scenes and things mentioned that wouldn't be appropriate for young readers. If this book sounds like something for you, then I encourage you to try it, BUT make sure you read A Passion Most Pure first, because otherwise many things will be spoiled for you. This is definitely a series best read in order. :)
*I borrowed a copy of this book. I was not required to write a review, but chose to. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Passion Redeemed, The Daughters of Boston Series #2
This review is fromPassion Redeemed, A - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic!!!!

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
heathersdaughter
Location:Atlanta,GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book!!!!....it's filled with passion, romance and you fall in love with each character. Julie Lessman is now my favorite author. I recommend this book and all the others to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Passion Redeemed, The Daughters of Boston Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth Your Money!!!

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Leorah
Location:USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay so I admit I was excited beyond words to read this book as I absolutely adored the first book but w-o-w! I never thought I would end up liking Charity! (If you have read the first book, you will know what I mean...) I ended up not only liking her but also rooting and crying for her!
I can't tell why because I don't want to spoil this book but this book is worth you money! It is a real juicy read and don't pass out on it just because of Charity in the first book, okay? This book was a total thriller and I loved every minute I spent reading it! Okay, okay. So maybe I was a bit hesitant in the beginning but as soon as I actually took the time to understand Charity, I couldn't put her story down! And you will too! This is a read not to be missed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Passion Redeemed, The Daughters of Boston Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Charity's Redemption

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed by Carrie Fancett Pagels
World War I has ended and Charity O’Connor determines that she will have Mitch for her husband. Except that because of his relationship with her sister, Faith, Mitch does not want Charity as a wife, because she does not have the Lord in her life. This is the second of the current five novels in this and the next series of the O’Connors, an Irish Catholic family, living in Boston and Ireland.
In some ways Charity represents we as sinners who act in the flesh, looking only for our own wants. While she uses her physical attributes to entice the man she wants to consider marriage she is also manipulating another, and dangerous, man. Her plan backfires with serious repercussions and Charity must leave Ireland and return to America. She lies and schemes but struggles, knowing on some level that what she is doing is wrong.
Readers may love to hate Charity, but she makes the right choice, after being taken under the wing of the same strong Christian man, John Brady, who led her former beau, Collin, to the Lord. The sisters have to learn how to renegotiate their relationships after all Charity has done to destroy what she shared with her older sister.
Julie Lessman’s books are full of “Passion with a Purpose” and this big book, so make room for time in your schedule because you will not want to put it down.
Spoiler alert: There is a reason that Charity behaves so provocatively. Part has to do with losing her older sister Hope to polio and losing her position as Daddy’s girl when her father sinks his energies into his relationship with the surviving twin – Faith. And something happened to Charity. In this current story there are two violent attacks that could trouble some readers. Most of it is off the page but not all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Passion Redeemed, The Daughters of Boston Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kayla
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazingly, Julie managed to make me love a character that I hadn’t been fond of in the first book, and even cheer her on! I found myself identifying with Charity O’Connor, and loved that she continued Faith and Collin’s love story through bits and pieces of this book as well. I find the more I get to know the O’Connor family, the more I love them. Another book headed straight to my keeper shelf.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.