Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Always the Designer, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Creation Series #3

Abingdon Press Always the Designer, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Creation Series #3

No matter how busy she is, dress designer Audrey Regan can't say no to her friend Carly when she asks her to be maid of honor---and create the perfect wedding dress. Carly's nuptials promise to be the event of the year. Then the groom's best man---tattooed biker J.R. Hunt---walks in and turns Audrey's world upside down!
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 1493%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Always the Designer, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Creation Series #3
Review 1 for Always the Designer, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Creation Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

As always Sandra Brick delivers a good read.

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Correen
Location:Mannford, ok
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have enjoyed all of Sandra Brickers books, and this one is no exception. She deals with serious topics with humor. As the characters find out about themselves the reader is finding out about themselves too. Somewhere in these series of books you will find yourself and be able to laugh while seriously looking at the wat the situations are dealt with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Always the Designer, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Creation Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Laughs, Romance, & Fun

Date:August 22, 2012
Always the Designer, Never the Bride was the perfect light-hearted read I was looking for. Bricker is an amazingly talented writer—blending romance, quirks, depth, and humor for a story that was highly entertaining. I loved "visiting" the Tanglewood Inn again and reading more about the fun characters that I met in Always the Wedding Planner. As much as I enjoyed that book, I thought Always the Designer was even better. I'm not sure if it was because we got to follow up with repeat characters or if I just connected with Audrey more. The friendships between Audrey and the other characters reminded me of what a great blessing friends are! I also loved the romance between Audrey and JR, which was a bit of a whirlwind yet somehow believable. I also liked that there were several interesting story lines taking place simultaneously—Carly's wedding, the romance with JR, the friendships, and Audrey's career drama. It seemed that there was always something going on, moving the book along fairly quickly. If you're looking for laughs, romance, or just a fun read, this is it! I can't wait for the final book in the series! [4.5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Abingdon Press via Net Galley in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Always the Designer, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Creation Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

keeps you going till the end

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rebeca
Location:tx
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love happy endings and being able to read it on my computer. I just didnt't like that I read them out of order
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Always the Designer, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Creation Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Fun Read

Date:May 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Audrey has been designing dressed since she was a little girl. She started out making Barbie’s dream dresses and now she hopes to break out in the fashion world and make dream dresses for real brides. The problem is she is not having the best go of it. If she can not get the dress for this one last client she will be out of money and her dream may be over. On top of this her best friend is getting married and she created her dress and is also her bride’s maid. Can she enjoy her friends special day and land the dress to save her dream?
J.R rides into town on his Harley for his brothers wedding. He has no plans to stick around after the wedding but one look at Audrey and he finds himself drawn to her. Can this unlikely pair find love?
This was a fun book and I enjoyed reading it. I was little worried since it’s the 3rd book in a series but it can easily be read as a stand alone.
What I liked: This book had quite a lot of humor which I really liked. I also enjoyed the characters. Not only did I like both the main characters but the supporting ones as well. I also thought the plot was unique.
What I did not like: The only thing that bothered me a little was the idea of the two main characters falling in love in just a few days. I know its just a book but it always makes the book just a little less likeable for me.
Over all this was a fun book with some good laughs and an over all enjoyable storyline. I would very much like to go back and read the first two books and learn more about those characters as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Always the Designer, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Creation Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good, Clean Fun!

Date:April 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Audrey grew up in Atlanta, but for years, she has tried to make it in New York as a wedding dress designer, designing individual wedding gowns. She is at the end of her inheritance and her luck. Now, she has to go back to Atlanta to see her best friend married in one of her gowns. While she is there, her world turns upside down both with her business and her love life, and new opportunities opening up all around.
This is definitely fun, clean, chick lit. The characters are people you would like to have as your circle of friends, and the southern, down home feel of the culture is as inviting as Paula Dean. Bricker uses great comparisons, adding to the rich southern texture of the book making it an above average romance. Good clean fun, and something you might want to pick up to spend a few hours at a relaxing diversion.
Received Galley from NetGalley.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Always the Designer, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Creation Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good but not memorable

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Two years and three months ago, Audrey Regan left Atlanta for New York, hoping to make a name for herself as a wedding dress designer, but Audrey is in desperate need of a career break to keep her dream alive. She is now on her way back to Atlanta, to the Tanglewood Inn, where she will be acting as chief bridesmaid for her childhood best friend, Carly, whose dress she also designed. With Audrey is Kat, her assistant, and she meets all the characters from Sandra Bricker’s two previous Wedding novels, including J.R., the handsome Harley-riding brother of Carly’s new husband. But J.R. has a wanderlust that means he never stays long in any one place, which does not make him the ideal candidate for a relationship no matter what sparks there are between him and Audrey.
I have to admit that I got a bit confused with all the characters and their relationships once Audrey arrived in Atlanta, but once I got all the characters straight in my mind, I found Always the Designer to be an enjoyable novel, funny and heart-warming with likeable characters, with a sweet romance and without the bittersweet aspect of Always the Wedding Planner. I particularly liked Russell, the Australian movie star, who provided comic relief on the side. While this was a good read, it was not particularly memorable, but those who read and enjoyed the first two books in the series will no doubt want to read this to find out how the characters are progressing. The final book in the series is due to be published later in 2012.
Thanks to Abingdon Press and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Always the Designer, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Creation Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a breath of fresh air!

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This book may be one of the most pleasant surprises I have read in awhile. Once I picked it up I was so drawn into the characters that I couldn't put it down. It isn't a mystery or suspense, it's not like I was trying to figure out whodunit, I just had to find out what was going to happen in the lives of these great characters. I also have to point out that I have not read the other books in this series and it didn't hold me back at all, but now I can't wait to go back and read them now so I can revisit these characters. Sandra has created an incredible cast and a setting that brings them all together with the Tanglewood Inn. What I expected to be a simple, fun chick lit turned out to be a character feast that I couldn't read fast enough!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Always the Designer, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Creation Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The path to success will never be smooth

Date:May 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book is the third in the series, but does not have the punch the other two do. It seems that with character there is not the substance as with the other two. It does shows us another side of the working world and is very informative. Thus worth your time to read it,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Always the Designer, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Creation Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Giggle Worthy Delight

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There is something about the “Emma Rae” collection of fiction novels that makes me smile, giggle and upon the close of that last page, give just a tiny sigh delight and comfort…like enjoying a yummy plate of your favorite desert. Decadent, with just the right amount of fluff and sweet.
Oh there isn’t much to worry about, but having an old fashioned good time with this latest installment in the Emma Rae collection. Audrey is such a loveable, quirky character and one that you just can’t help but cheer for. A totally loveable ensemble of characters, including a little girl in pink cowgirl books put a smile on my face and joy in the moment spent reading their story.
I would definitely advise the reader to pick up the previous two novels in this collection. Just as much a hoot (though the first remains my fav), you will be better able to track the large ensemble cast. There were times I thought the cast a bit too large, but as the book continued, I separated them better.
More than one yummy kiss, some tasty entrees, gorgeous wedding gowns and just a quirky, light read, it’s a chick lit/romantic comedy I’d definitely point readers toward.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers through CFBA for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Always the Designer, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Creation Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Installment of Wedding Bliss

Date:May 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a fan of the previous two books , when I learnt that Book #3 was being released I knew I just had to read it and I would enjoy it. In Book #3 Carly is getting married to Devon at the Tanglewood Inn where Emma will be baking the Cake and Sherrilyn is the Wedding Planner so all that is missing now is the Wedding Dress Designer - Enter in Carly's best childhood friend Audrey. The pair's friendship is the same as we discovered between Sherrilyn and Emma in Book #2. Audrey, ready to make her friend's dress is worried that this may be her very last Wedding as the funds she recieved 27months ago when her Grandma Beatrice passed away has run dry. What Audrey needs to get back on top is to land the account of creating hotel heiress Kim's wedding dress but it seems that Kim has other ideas and Audrey is up against Wes who is one of the world's top dress designers. Can Audrey compete or is this goodbye to her career ?
As a familiar theme in the trilogy , all three girls do not plan to fall in love and become brides of their own but alas fate has another plan for them as for J.R - Devon's brother it seems he has fallen head over heels with a case of love at first sight for Audrey who we learm resembles somewhat of singer Gwen Stefani. Does Audrey feel the same or will this begin as a unrequited love tale ?
With the help of Tanglewood Inn , will Audrey's dreams come true or will she be offered a second chance at life and achieving them with Emma Rae and Sherrilyn's help ?
Another great installment and I look forward to reading other novels that Sandra may write our way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Always the Designer, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Creation Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Designed for Laughs

Date:March 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review Summary: This story was just FUN! The characters are a variety of personalities from the serious, but sometimes impulsive Audrey Regan to the charming and very quirky Aunt Sophie. The plot was enjoyable as well. Audrey Regan is trying to make it New York as a wedding dress designer, yet she’s near the end of her money and her last hope is a high maintenance socialite. When she returns home for the wedding of her best friend, Carly more fun and fireworks when she runs into J.R. Holt, the brother of the groom, motorcycle riding, free spirit the sparks become to fly. The back drop for this story is once again the Tanglewood Inn the wedding destination for Atlanta. This is a feel good story with laughs and some serious moments as well.
Digging a Little Deeper: This is the third installment of the Emma Rae Creation Series. I read book one, but not book two. Picking up with book three was not a problem. You can start with book three and enjoy the story but it was definitely more enjoyable having some background on the characters.
There are a variety of characters in this story. I loved the interaction between characters. The girls and their slumber party was just fun and was a great reminder of the importance of friendships where one can laugh, cry, and pray others. Audrey was an interesting and sometimes unpredictable character. But the interaction between her and JR was also fun to watch. I love Aunt Sophie and her quirky ways. It is always fun how she is able to drop pearls of wisdom in the midst of her delusions.
As I’ve already mention this was a feel good story. There are plenty of laughs in this story but it’s not all laughs. There are some very touching moments in this story.
I would recommend this story to anyone who is looking for a light read that has some laughs, then this is a book for you. Sandra Bricker’s writing style is easy to follow.
Disclaimer: I did receive this book from the publisher but was under no obligation to give anything but my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Always the Designer, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Creation Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jved267
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Audrey leaves New York, wondering if her career as a wedding dress designer is over, she never expected to meet the man of her dreams or be so welcomed into the "family" at the Tanglewood. I couldn't put it down, just like a mystery or thriller, I just had to know what happened to Audrey. Many plot twists later, I was pleased with the end result.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Always the Designer, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Creation Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book!

Date:February 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Description:
It’s taken Audrey Regan years to establish herself as a wedding dress designer, and to date she’s been roped into creating dresses for nine of her girlfriends. Request #10 follows her vow to “Just say no!” and comes from her very best friend. She can hardly turn Carly down!
Audrey arrives in Atlanta early to perform all of her maid-of-honor duties along with final fittings for a one-of-a-kind dress. But Carly’s wedding is nothing short of an event, complete with Prince Charming, and the festivities make Audrey question whether there’s a prince of her own anywhere in her future.
Enter the groom’s brother and best man. Shaggy-haired, tattooed bad boy J.R. Hunt couldn’t be any more different from Prince Charming if he rode in on a Harley Davidson. Oh, wait. He actually did ride in on a Harley!
I really, really enjoyed this book! It was a cute, fast and fun read. The characters were interesting and I wanted to keep reading more about them. I have not read the first two books in this series but it didn't stop me from loving this book and getting to know the characters.
I appreciated the friendships and the relationships in this book. Their willingness to help each other, to cry with each other, to laugh with each other and support each other is a great model for all of us. I also loved how simply the author wove in how these young adults were living out their walks with God and striving to apply His word to their daily lives.
Sandra Bricker is a new author for me and I would love to read more of her books!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Always the Designer, Never the Bride, Emma Rae Creation Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sandra Bricker is the Babe Ruth of romantic comedy

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ane Mulligan
Location:Suwanee, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sandra D. Bricker is the Babe Ruth of romantic comedy with one home run after another! Third in the hilarious series, I didn't want Always the Designer, Never the Bride to end. Bricker makes her characters your best friends and you want to keep hanging out with them. She doesn't take her readers down totally predictable paths in the story, and Always the Designer follows that tradition. Up to the last page, I wasn't sure what she would do with Audrey and J.R. I'm anxiously waiting for the next book in this series. Novel Rocket and I give Always the Designer, Never the Bride our highest recommendation. It's a 5-star read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.