Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Stuck in the Middle, Sister-To-Sister Series #1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Revell Stuck in the Middle, Sister-To-Sister Series #1

Joan Sanderson's life is stuck. Her older sister, Allie, is starting a family and her younger sister, Tori, has a budding career. Meanwhile, Joan is living at home with Mom and looking after her aging grandmother. Not exactly a recipe for excitement. That is, until a hunky young doctor moves in next door. Suddenly Joan has a goal, to get a date. But it won't be easy. Pretty Tori flirts relentlessly with him and Joan is sure that she cannot compete. But with a little help from God, Allie, and an enormous mutt with bad manners, maybe Joan can find her way out of this rut.
Average Customer Rating:
4.341 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
23 out of 2496%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stuck in the Middle, Sister-To-Sister Series #1
Review 1 for Stuck in the Middle, Sister-To-Sister Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I got Stuck in the Middle!

Date:November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Margot
Location:South Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I took this one away on holidays and found I only really needed to skim-read it to follow the story and get a feel for the characters. There seemed to be a lot of description which didn't add much to the story. Eventually, though, things got moving a bit more. I enjoyed the story of Loan and her relationships with her "Mom", her aging Grandma, her sisters, Allie (a bit of a schemer) and Tori, and her neighbor, Ken. Such simple names! I enjoyed seeing the change in Joan's relationship with her Mum, brought about by truth, enlightenment and forgiveness. I enjoyed seeing her come to terms with the changes in her Grandma's life. Most of all,I enjoyed seeing her develop a deeper relationship with God as she realized it's about more than just going to church on Sundays. In the end, I even thought I'd give the other books in the series by Virginia Smith a go. Read it for yourself and see what you think!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Stuck in the Middle, Sister-To-Sister Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

enjoyable

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larik
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
She is in the middle of all the hustle and bustle.. Mom and Grandma, married serious sister and carrier-oriented and flirty one.. but when she sets her eye on the Doc it just gets all drama. Lovely sisterhood series. I would definitely recommend it for a fun read...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Stuck in the Middle, Sister-To-Sister Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast reading book

Date:January 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
bllynch
Location:St. Clair MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just found this author and will read more of hers. Loved the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Stuck in the Middle, Sister-To-Sister Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
maiahsmum
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An easy read that had a bit of substance to the storyline.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Stuck in the Middle, Sister-To-Sister Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
swan song
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very cute story. Will read the next story in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Stuck in the Middle, Sister-To-Sister Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful story...

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
newkobo
Location:Brockville, ON
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a great book to relax and read. Enjoyed the story line and always wanted to find a few minutes to continue to read the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Stuck in the Middle, Sister-To-Sister Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Light story with a predictable outcome.

Date:January 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rose
Location:FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Story was a quick read with easy to like characters. The outcome was ptpredictable, but the story was still enjoyable getting there. Nice story for a week end read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Stuck in the Middle, Sister-To-Sister Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good reading with an interesting story line.

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jolie
Location:NL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was interesting from start to finish. One of the best Christian novels I've read in a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Stuck in the Middle, Sister-To-Sister Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good, fun, clean book

Date:October 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie M
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I really enjoyed this book! The author brought the characters to life, and it was fun getting to know them all. So many lessons for us each to learn (i.e. just be ourselves, etc.) You will really enjoy this book! I received this book as a free e-book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Stuck in the Middle, Sister-To-Sister Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Evelyn F
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book more than what I expected. I thought this was going to be an easy read, not very "deep", just read it and finish it. But I was wrong. I can relate with Joan's feelings and situations she has to go through, more than I thought. From the books I've read so far, this plot was a new one or better say different from the ones I did read. The author used simple "scenes" to remind me simple truths, such as the chocolate ice cream scene! (which is one of my favorites)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Stuck in the Middle, Sister-To-Sister Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
SusieQ
Location:Chesapeake Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. Has wonderful Christian and family values. This was the first ebook I downloaded from CBD and chose a free one to get started. It was an excellent choice as soon as I finished I downloaded book 2 in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Stuck in the Middle, Sister-To-Sister Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read

Date:September 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
SusanR
Location:Richmond, Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish I knew what happened next but I loved the book it was a great Christian read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Stuck in the Middle, Sister-To-Sister Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Series

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Caren Collis
Location:Warren, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great series to read. Really enjoyed the charactors and events of each book. If you haven't read this, buy the set. They are great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Stuck in the Middle, Sister-To-Sister Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Fooled by ratings

Date:June 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Voracious Reader
Location:Big Canoe, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I switched to Christian fiction when saved at 35, so 21 years later tons and tons of books are behind me- some great, some fair, and some relegated to the "book sale pile". Ratings on all sites for this series were so good I bought the first two. Tried 3 times to get into it, but gave up for too simplistic writing and too predictable a plot. Sadly, the whole genre is lumped together as weak because of unremarkable writing when there really are stunning Christian novelists out there. Maybe this was written for 20-somethings looking for a formulaic romance novel?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Stuck in the Middle, Sister-To-Sister Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it.

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:Greer, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love that I can pull up a book and read it when ever a computer or laptop is around. I also love that there are free ebooks that I can download and read. I am very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Stuck in the Middle, Sister-To-Sister Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A heartwarming read with a splash of humour

Date:July 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janet Sketchley
Location:Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joan feels caught between her two adult sisters as well as between her mother and grandmother. And she’ll do whatever it takes to keep Mom from putting Gram into a care facility. After all, what’s a little forgetfulness—or obsessive behaviour—among loved ones?
Joan is also on middle ground with God. He feels like a heavenly version of her own father, who’s been absent without contact for thirteen years.
When a handsome single doctor, Ken, and his dog move in next door, Joan finds herself competing with her polished younger sister, Tori, for his attention. Will their frenzied flirting scare him away? Or does Joan really want to catch his eye? He talks about God outside of church. Even asks questions in the adult Sunday school class. Is he some kind of fanatic? Or does he have something Joan needs?
She can’t stop thinking about a visiting missionary’s account of God answering an orphan child’s prayer for chocolate ice cream. The God she knows has never done anything like that for her. Granted she’s never asked, and her needs aren’t as extreme as the lonely orphan, but still… something inside her longs for Him to disrupt her predictable world with some outrageous and personal sign of love.
Stuck in the Middle is more than just a heart-warming romance. Joan is 25 but I think it’s a coming of age tale for her. It’s also the story of three generations of women who love one another even when they’re on opposite sides. Surprisingly, it’s not over-the-top estrogen-heavy. Sure, the flirting instructions Joan’s older sister Allie pulled off the internet were a bit much for this non-girly-girl reader, but Ken thought so too.
And it’s funny. Joan’s sense of humour keeps her sane by imagining zany headlines to describe her stress. I like her attitude, and the way she grows during the course of the novel.
I downloaded a free electronic copy of Stuck in the Middle from Christianbook.com and enjoyed the read. There were occasional formatting issues with paragraphs, but not often and nothing to affect enjoyment of the novel. This is book one in the Sister-to-Sister series, followed by Age Before Beauty and Third Time’s a Charm. I’d definitely like to spend some more time with this family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Stuck in the Middle, Sister-To-Sister Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Read!

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
MsMary
Location:Lincoln, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very well-written. Also, contained the values that I look for when selecting a book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Stuck in the Middle, Sister-To-Sister Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Entertaining story

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
mom2boys
Location:Albany, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. It was a quick read and very heartwarming. I really enjoyed seeing Joan's relationship with God develop. I was left wanting to find out more about Joan and Ken.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Stuck in the Middle, Sister-To-Sister Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:May 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Smurf19
Location:Fairfield, IL
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful book!!!! Exceeded my expectations! One of the best books I've read in a long time
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Stuck in the Middle, Sister-To-Sister Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

download book

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
becalyn101
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I tried to see what it was like to read a book off the computer .Now, I know, I dont like it, would like to have the book in hand.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.