Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell The Outsider, Shaker Series #1

Revell The Outsider, Shaker Series #1

Gabrielle Hope and her mother joined the Harmony Hill Shaker community in 1807. The community promised stability and devotion that Gabrielle wholeheartedly embraced. But when a local doctor must be brought into Harmony Hill from the outside, he sets into motion a chain of events that will challenge Gabrielles loyalty to the Shakers.

As she falls deeper into a forbidden love for this man of the world, Gabrielle must make a choice. Can she experience true happiness in this simple and chaste community? Or will she abandon her brothers and sisters for a life of the unknown?

Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 1283%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Outsider, Shaker Series #1
Review 1 for The Outsider, Shaker Series #1
This review is fromOutsider, The: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since she can remember, Gabrielle Hope has had the unique ability to see visions that warn of things to come. So when she and her mother, Martha join the Shaker community on Harmony Hill in 1807, her visions are embraced as a gift from Mother Ann. But when her gift enables her to see an event that comes to pass, a doctor must be brought from the outside world to the one where the Believers strive to be separate in order to save a life. Suddenly, everything Gabrielle knows to be good, pure, and true is in question. Will she be able to turn her back on her brothers and sisters that she has found in the Shakers, or will the pull of the world tear her from the peace and celibacy she has promised to live?
This was quite the contradiction in a novel; a Shaker romance? Oh, but it is. In this unique, strange world the members of the community take a vow of celibacy, which clearly means that no children are ever born into the faith. Living a simple life of peace and harmony, using their hands for work, and giving their hearts to God is the foundation of the way they live. Despite the strangeness of these "shaking Quakers", Gabhart weaves a story unlike any other. You will be captivated by every emotion and situation the characters find themselves in, and spellbound by every word as I was. I highly recommend you buy the whole series, because having to wait for the next book is going to be impossible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Outsider, Shaker Series #1
This review is fromOutsider, The: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting

Date:November 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
CurledUpWithaBook
Location:The Maritimes
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first I had heard about the Shakers and their beliefs and although I don't agree with what they believe this was an interesting and well written story. There was lots of variety to hold my interest. It's hard to understand someone else's religion when it's so different from one's own. The part of children being permanently separated from their mothers was especially troubling for me. The other thing I couldn't comprehend was the Shakers belief that marriage and romantic love is sinful - that goes entirely against what the Bible teaches. This means that the Shaker sect cannot grow from within - only from outsiders coming in. Nevertheless, the author wrote a great story surrounding the Shakers and I did find it quite interesting and eye opening.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Outsider, Shaker Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since she can remember, Gabrielle Hope has had the unique ability to see visions that warn of things to come. So when she and her mother, Martha join the Shaker community on Harmony Hill in 1807, her visions are embraced as a gift from Mother Ann. But when her gift enables her to see an event that comes to pass, a doctor must be brought from the outside world to the one where the Believers strive to be separate in order to save a life. Suddenly, everything Gabrielle knows to be good, pure, and true is in question. Will she be able to turn her back on her brothers and sisters that she has found in the Shakers, or will the pull of the world tear her from the peace and celibacy she has promised to live?
This was quite the contradiction in a novel; a Shaker romance? Oh, but it is. In this unique, strange world the members of the community take a vow of celibacy, which clearly means that no children are ever born into the faith. Living a simple life of peace and harmony, using their hands for work, and giving their hearts to God is the foundation of the way they live. Despite the strangeness of these "shaking Quakers", Gabhart weaves a story unlike any other. You will be captivated by every emotion and situation the characters find themselves in, and spellbound by every word as I was. I highly recommend you buy the whole series, because having to wait for the next book is going to be impossible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Outsider, Shaker Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had to really think about how I felt about this book. My first impression was I thought it was just ok, but the more I thought about it while driving back and forth to work, I began to think it was a really good book after all.
Gabrielle Hope has lived by a very strict set of rules and guidelines for a very long time. She is content until God's grace shows it's self through the local "wordly" doctor. As she begins to question her life, she begins to slowly come to the conclusion that God is really can set us free to live for Him, when we walk with Him.
I enjoyed reading about the shakers the war of 1812. The writing was good and I didn't find any plot holes or glaring errors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Outsider, Shaker Series #1
This review is fromOutsider, The: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Christian Read

Date:October 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
SilverComet
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Historical novel. Easy to get lost in. I will certainly buy more of this author. This book is one in a series about the Shaker sect of Christianity. They basically believed that to remain pure was required for admittance to Heaven. This included no intimacy with the opposite sex. Period. The novel is deep on several levels and one that was hard to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Outsider, Shaker Series #1
This review is fromOutsider, The: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this format.

Date:July 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Roddy
Location:Coshocton, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love being able to take a break from my computer work to read casually. This book is a great story that is keeping my interest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Outsider, Shaker Series #1
This review is fromOutsider, The: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lemix
Location:Southern New Jersey
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very interesting piece of historical fiction. This book provides a novel look into the Shaker community and the War of 1812.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Outsider, Shaker Series #1
This review is fromOutsider, The: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Loved the book; hated the format

Date:July 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
CatherineB
Location:Northern California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was a very well-written book. I didn't think my husband was reading along, but then he started discussing the story with relatives when we were talking about our respective books, LOL! I am waiting for the next in the series from my public library.
I gave poor reviews for the e-book format, though. I downloaded this book to take on vacation. The service constantly tried to connect to the internet, even when I had no access. It also used up a ton of battery power. I ended up downloading the book from Kindle, and reading it with that app.i am so glad it was a free book. I deleted the app and won't be trying it again until improvements are made.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Outsider, Shaker Series #1
This review is fromOutsider, The: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Engaging storyline, interesting characters

Date:July 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janie
Location:Cape Girardeau, Mo.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this historical novel told against a backdrop of the shaker lifestyle. The characters face believable challenges tied up in a satisfying, but not too perfect resolution. Enlightening, touching and easy read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Outsider, Shaker Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More historical than romance

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having joined the Shaker community of Harmony Hill as a child, Gabrielle has always felt content with her lifestyle and never questioned returning to the outside world. According to her Sisters and Brothers, Gabrielle has been blessed with the gift of visions, which often give her disturbing and chilling foresight into events that have yet to happen. When one of these visions helps her to locate a Brother who has been harmed in a barn fire, a doctor is required to visit the community on a regular basis to aid his recovery. Gabrielle's encounters with young local doctor, Brice Scott, call her to question the life she is living and whether it is truly God's plan for men and women to act as siblings. The community begin to doubt Gabrielle's loyalty to their faith, and when Brice is ripped away from her to tend to wounded soldiers on the battlefield, Gabrielle's commitment to her fellow Brothers and Sisters is tested as they place her under vigorous supervision. Will Brice return to rescue her, or will Gabrielle choose to remain in the life she has become used to?
Being an avid fan of books about the Amish, I was intrigued when my Amish Fiction book club at GoodReads.com decided to read a novel about another Plain group - the Shakers. I'd never heard of these people before, and as I investigated further it appeared that they were very different from the Amish. I say "were" because the Shakers have nearly entirely died out, with only a few members remaining. While they believed, like the Amish, in coming closer to God through hard physical work and tending the land, the majority of the principles of their faith could not be more different. The Shakers believed that they should live a life of celibacy because marriage is a sin, men and women were entirely separated in their communities, and when families joined the children were taken away from their parents. This alone was enough to make me feel uncomfortable, and hope that Gabrielle would be able to escape the community. This is the main difference that I found between reading Amish and Shaker fiction - I always hope that the characters in Amish fiction will either convert or remain with their faith, whereas I felt that the Shakers were a cult and hoped that Brice would take Gabrielle away from her community.
Because of the limitations of her community, Gabrielle spent very little time alone with Brice, and due to this this their relationship felt quite shallow. I really wish that they'd spent more time together so that I could have felt entirely convinced of their love for each other. Since they spent so much time apart - especially after Brice left to go to war - I almost got the feeling that Gabrielle was attracted to Brice purely because he offered her a means of escape, and was a symbol of all that the outside world represented. Thus, I found myself wondering, is this actually a romance novel at all? In places it felt more like a historical novel, which I don't mind as I love historical fiction, but it was definitely marketed as a romance, so other readers might be a bit disappointed at the lack of contact between Gabrielle and Brice for a large portion of the book.
Another complaint would have to be the treatment of the Shaker worship and Gabrielle's visions. I felt that this aspect was very vague and I was never sure whether the author was suggesting that the songs, dances and visions that Gabrielle had been blessed with were fake or from Satan. If this was what she was trying to convey, I feel that it could be misleading and could make some people to believe that such things never come from God. While I think that a lot of what the Shakers believed was definitely not scriptural or from God, I do believe that he can speak to people through worship and visions, so I wish that the Gabhart had been more precise in the message she was trying to convey through the presentation of Gabrielle's gifts.
This was a fascinating read, and I learned a lot about the Shaker faith and the War of 1812. If you're a fan of historical fiction and want to read something slightly different, I'd definitely recommend this book. But don't be tricked into thinking that this is an Amish romance - the Shakers are very different from the Amish, and I personally felt that the romance aspect was very minimal. Despite that, this was a very compelling book and I plan to read the others in the series at some point in the future. 8/10
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Outsider, Shaker Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a wonderful book

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kari
Location:Galesburg, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The characters in the book, Outsider, fill your heart with all the emotions one would feel if you were the characters yourself. The book grabs your interest and holds on to it, making you not want to put the book down until you have finished reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Outsider, Shaker Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Strange

Date:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
shushu426
Location:Ocala, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the book "thinking" that Shakers were similar to the Amish. They may live a peaceful and simple life but I found their beliefs so odd (almost like a cult) that I could not get past it and decided not to finish the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Outsider, Shaker Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nancy Smoot
I am having a real hard time getting into this book. I love Christian Fiction. I have bought all 3 books in this Series. This Shaker series is making me want to wash windows.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Outsider, Shaker Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nancy Smith
Wasn't they type of story I expected, but when I started reading The Outsider,I couldn't put the book down. Ready to go on the second book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Outsider, Shaker Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joyce Cunningham
I haven't read Shakers No. 1 but I really enjoyed No. 2. Learned a lot about the ShakerMovement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Outsider, Shaker Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christine L. Alley-Howard
Wonderfully written and researched. Rich characters with strong themes and dialogue. The background of America's early years is a great historical time often overlooked. A definite good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Outsider, Shaker Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sherry Watson
Ann Gabhart writes another great book! This historical novel has many twists and turns. Ann paints a vivid picture of what life was like in the Shaker community. Outside of Harmony Hill a different life exists, the real world, where the war is taking young lives. This is a real page turner. Be sure to read Ann's other books too. I hope she writes more soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Outsider, Shaker Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
FERN COX
This book should be rated a "15 stars" It was one of the best books I have ever read !!!!! I also have visited the Shaker Village and the Amish country, and I have read MANY books about the amish, and I was really excited to see a book about the Shakers. Thank you for this wonderful book!! I have ordered the second one,The Beliver, and I can hardly wait til I get it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Outsider, Shaker Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2008
Looking at the cover of this book, one might think "Oh, it's another Amish book." Well then the reader is in for a surprise as the story is about another lesser known historical religious group, The Shakers. Gabrielle's story brings to life the daily life of the Shakers and gives the reader a glimpse of what life was like for someone who did not truly belong. It was interesting to see how they dealt with the outside world and how they tried to maintain a closed knit society. The story made it sound like the Shakers were not true Christians. Their beliefs incorporated practices that were not needed to become real believers of Christ. It's sad that they felt that they had to include these in order to live a fulfilled life. It was a heartbreaking way to live with mothers being separated from their children. Doing more research showed that many times it was the husband who originally chose this way of lifestyle and forced the rest of the family into joining. It's a subject well worth spending more time looking into. The story is well written. This is the author's first historical novel and a lot of research was done for the book. I learned a lot from it as I had only the basic understanding of Shakers from history class. I'll be looking forward to reading the next book in this series by Ann Gabhart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Outsider, Shaker Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bea Nyce
A very interesting story about the Shakers. Its tells you of many strange practices of these people, It makes you sad it makes you angry, it makes you fret but in the end it all comes together a great story; Gabrielle is a very warm loving girl.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>