Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker The Pawn, The Bower Files Series #1

Baker The Pawn, The Bower Files Series #1

Special Agent Patrick Bowers has met only one person he's feared---until now. Working on a North Carolina serial murder case, he's caught in a macabre game of cat-and-mouse with a cunning killer called the Illusionist. The pieces of the puzzle don't add up. Can Bowers unravel the pattern in time to save the next victim?
Average Customer Rating:
3.821 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
8
11 out of 1861%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Pawn, The Bower Files Series #1
Review 1 for The Pawn, The Bower Files Series #1
This review is fromPawn, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Graphic

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mina
Location:Winkler, Manitoba
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall this was a good read. I did find it too graphic at times. I found myself wanting more of an emphasis on Biblical issues. I almost put it aside a few times and didn't plan to finish it, but I did finish.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Pawn, The Bower Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Surprised

Date:September 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lynn Rowe
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I love suspense, mystery, intrigue, espionage, etc. type books. At one time I read Patricia Cornwell, Patterson, and others such as that. However, it seems as the success grew the books also did: each grew more unlike what I would think as believers we wouldn't read. I think that suspense does not have to be gory or in so much detail about that which is not so unedifying. There are many other authors who can keep one on the edge of the seat without the explicit details. The first of the series was enough. What surprise to find this for purchase on a Christian site. I normally recycle books to libraries, Salvation Army, Metropolitan Ministries, friends, neighbors, etc. This one went in the trash. When passing along books I hope to share that which reflects the Lord for others who might not know Him would want to read more about His character. Again other authors have written high suspense without sounding like an unbelieving author. If only judging the book's quality in grammatical terms and that the good guys always win, that quality would be good. Otherwise if quality is based on Biblical standards, no.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Pawn, The Bower Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Very hesitant to recommend.

Date:June 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
GerBear
Location:Oak Hills, California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the first time I have read one of Mr. James books. He is excellent in grabing and holding your attention, and masterful at providing suspense and intrigue. However, I definitely anticipated more from a Christian writer. I stopped reading James Patterson's books because of how gory and descriptive they were, catergorizing him as a very sick man that defames women. I now find Mr. James doing the same thing. By the end of the book I grew more appreciative of his actual writing skills, and hope that the next books in these series are not so offensive. Yes, I will read The Rook, but I am hoping that it is not as descriptive with the murder scenes. Then maybe I can recommend his books.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Pawn, The Bower Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jools
Location:Queensland, Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book and can't wait to get the next in the series. Well written suspense and thriller.
However, I was searching for God in the pages, and never really found Him. I would recommend this book to many of my friends who read crime and suspense novels, but maybe not to my more "protected" (for want of a better word) friends who read less.... gritty novels.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Pawn, The Bower Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a great suspense/thriller. This is a book that will hook you and make you keep reading, however, being published by a christian publishing house, i was very, very disappointed because I couldn't find to much of God within these pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Pawn, The Bower Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Dissapointed, not for teens

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
concerned mom
Location:Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My daughter saw this, and the others in the series, in the Christian book catalog. She is 16, and thought it sounded great. We watch CSI TV shows, so she thought it would be something like that. I often pre-read the books I think are questionable for her. I don't usually do that on books from CBD, but it sounded good to me also, so I read it. I am extremely disappointed that a CHRISTIAN book club would offer this. The first chapter shows a suicide pact with 2 teens, then later in the book it shows a teen who was "cutting" herself for a way to cope with stress. How is this a good message to send to anyone, let alone teens. It glorifies self mutilation as a way to deal with stress.
I purchased all 5 books available in the series, and now don't want to read them or let my daughter read them.
My daughter was so excited to get these, and now I have to tell her she can't read them. Very sad. I thought getting them from a "Christian" book company would make it a "safe" read. I guess I will have to be more careful in the future.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Pawn, The Bower Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very entertaining

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cliff
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very entertaining page-turning thriller.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Pawn, The Bower Files Series #1
This review is fromPawn, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riveting!

Date:March 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Phil Devaney
Location:Fort Kent, ME
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was outstanding. Seeing as how I usually read portions of it just before bed, there were nights I didn't sleep so well, but it was well worth the lost sleep. I had a hard time putting it down to keep up with the other (non-fictional) reading that needed to get done.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Pawn, The Bower Files Series #1
This review is fromPawn, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rettadip
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SuspensefUl, but an easy read all together. First time I read this author, will be looking for more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Pawn, The Bower Files Series #1
This review is fromPawn, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Dishonors the name of the Lord

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Monkey mom
Location:Lebanon, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Philippians 4:8 says to think on things that are true, honest, just, pure, lovely & of good report. This book met none of those standards and I am deep saddened and disturbed that this book is called Christian fiction. Horrible and disgraceful, it does not bring honor to the Lord in any way.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Pawn, The Bower Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!!!

Date:November 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
DRev15
Location:Torrington, CT
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got through reading this book and I was riveted to the very last chapters. Love the way James tells the story and jumps back and forth between characters in order to build the suspense. Many times I just sat back and took a break from reading so I could mentally catch my breath and process all that was going on. Love it. It would make for a great movie series. Thanks James, look forward to reading the The Rook.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Pawn, The Bower Files Series #1
This review is fromPawn, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
InJoy
Location:Seattle
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good writing style, but subject matter of constant macbre murder of women was distasteful.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Pawn, The Bower Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amazing Start to the Game!

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Evan
Location:United States
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Pawn is the first work of Steven's that I have read. I have been wanting to get the book for more than three years as I was intrigued by the synopsis when I read it at a bookstore. Sadly, I never got to it.
After seeing that he was one of the five authors that would be at the Ragged Edge writer's conference with Ted Dekker and hearing one of the people in my writing group say how much he loves the Steven's books, I knew that he was worth checking out. So I got the first four books and jumped into The Pawn right away. I am happy to say that I was not disappointed at all.
The main character, Dr. Patrick Bowers is as real as a character in a novel can get. With the first person point of view, it was easy to get into his head and plant yourself there, understand the way he thinks. Of course, there needs to be a romantic aspect to this novel, and Steven delivers it with romantic tension between Patrick and Lien-hua Jiang, another special agent who does not agree with Bowers on his tactics in investigations.
Aside from the romantic aspects of relationships, there is a great tension between Patrick and his stepdaughter, Tessa whom Patrick is not on good terms with. Their relationship is one that I look forward to seeing progress throughout the series.
This book is a serial killer novel, and is full of the twists and turns that I expect from every book in the crime genre. The killer, who calls himself the Illusionist is one of the best villains that I have read. He is always one step ahead of Bowers and Co., and leads them (and the reader) to places that they never want to go. He is cunning, twisted, and will keep the reader on the edge of their seats until the very very end... and beyond.
As said earlier, this is a serial killer novel, which means that there is violence. Steven does not back away from showing evil for what it is and many people who have read this novel have been disturbed by it. I am going to warn you that if you don't have a strong stomach and cannot handle the way things are that they are.
The Pawn was a great novel and placed Steven right up with some of my favorite authors!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Pawn, The Bower Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Kept up late...with the light on

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Thompson
Location:Santa Fe, NM
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It didn't take long to get into this story, and once in, it's hard to get out. Excellent writing and a unique approach to crime-solving make it a delightful read. Some violence, which I don't mind. None of it seemed gratuitous. I wish there were a bit more depth in some descriptions and side characters. At times I felt I didn't have the complete picture--not because it was a mystery, but more in terms of "color" or "field of vision." But really, that's a minor issue. Everything else clicked: the protagonist was interesting and likable, the creepy scenes were really creepy, and, as I mentioned, the writing is excellent. I will definitely continue reading this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Pawn, The Bower Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Psychological Thriller

Date:July 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Bryan, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent read and I highly recommend it, but wouldn't suggest it for younger readers. It is a psychological thriller that is well written, the characters are well developed as is the plot. I had a hard time putting it down and can't wait to go on to book 2 in the series. I would put him up there with Patricia Cornwell for those who like the mystery/psychological thriller genre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Pawn, The Bower Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product keeps you glued to the pages.

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
bakerruth
Location:Mitchell, SD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is very interesting, keeps you right on the page. I would recommend all books by Steven James, an excellent writer. I can't wait to finish this book and start on book #2!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Pawn, The Bower Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It is a great story. Told by a great storyteller.

Date:December 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
broallen
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a wonderful book. The series is also great. You should expect the unexpected. You will really enjoy this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Pawn, The Bower Files Series #1
This review is fromPawn, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not for the faint of heart. Graphic Murders

Date:November 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
terry
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am used to reading Christians books where God is a prominent subject. Although, faith is mentioned in the book, it is not a prominent subject. I appreciated that there were no cuss words or sex scenes. The crimes were graphically described. So be warned.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Pawn, The Bower Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Doe
The book is extremely gruesome, and so are the other books in the series. It does not have a very Christian theme, and I would not recommend it. Especially right before bedtime.The plot wasn't bad, but not overly good, either. So if extreme violence does not bother you, maybe you'd like it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Pawn, The Bower Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julie Overmiller
Steven James is an author to watch. The Pawn begins a phenomenal series. You are on the edge of your seat and cannot wait to turn the page. Very well written. The plot pulls you in and won't let go. Can't wait to read future books!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.