Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey

Revell Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey

Hospice nurse Harris shares more than 40 true stories about what lies beyond death and what the living can learn from the dying. Her patients' visions of angels, sightings of departed loved ones, and sounds of ethereal music open a window onto the next world, providing comfort and assurance for those facing death and loss.
Average Customer Rating:
4.483 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey
Review 1 for Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this was a great book to read.

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
June bug
Location:PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We had hospice with a family member a few years ago, and some of the things our family member said and did, we didn't understand. we didn't think to ask the hospice nurses at the time, so this book has explained many things we were wondering about. So in the end, it helped us also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
cookies3
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have become overly curious about heaven. I have a sister, Joy, who passed away in 1988 and a hospice nurse helped her to understand who Jesus was and did for her at the cross. She died peacefully. I borrowed this book from my church library so I would have something to read while on the treadmill. I loved it so much. The short stories are an easy read and I could stop and ponder after each story. I bought two copies but will probably buy more. One for my sister Jane who was there for my sister Joy until the end and one for our home library so I can loan it out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent resource

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christine
Location:Murphysboro IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a hospice social worker/bereavement counselor and I think this book is awesome. I suggest it to many of my clients, gave a dozen of them as Christmas presents recently. Very encouraging and faith-based.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

repetitive reading

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
ttrudilou
Location:Long Beach, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm not sure what I expected, but each story about the dying patients is about 2 pages long, and with similar outcomes. I am glad she wrote the book, it confirms my faith that Jesus is alive. However, the book is feeling repetitive at the moment--I'm not sure what her goal was.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great reading!

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
LadySilverFox
Location:Houston, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author speaks not only from experience, but also with spiritual insight. Very encouraging!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
sandy
Location:orangevale, California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The reason for buying the book was I had just lost my husband due to a stroke and some of things she mention in her stories was what happen to us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sharon Schier
A jewel of a book for anyone who is facing or dealing with the death of a loved one. I have bought additional copies to share with family and friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Swofford
Enjoyed the book very much, I think this book would be a great inspiration to anyone. The author done a wonderful job writing this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joan Kegley
A thought provoking book about life & death. . .I enjoyed reading about God's pursuit of us even to our dying day!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ronald Hardensr
I am presently reading this book. Mrs. Harris has a special approach and a special relationship with her patients. I am enjoying it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lynn Blosch
I'm passing this around to others who have had a loved one die. I recommend reading this. Powerful and comforting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rosalee St. Clair
I found this book to be a quick read full of caring & inspiration. The stories the author shares with the reader brings hope to those who may have lost someone or who has a loved one near death, and what they may experience on this journey toward the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nikki Buchanan
This is an awesome book. I couldn't put it down. it is such an encouragemnent for those that know the Lord and those that don't . I believe that nonbelievers would definitely be drawn to the Lord just by the stories in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barbara Williston
I really enjoyed this book....I shared it with a friend who is a palliative care nurse and she said that she has seen and heard many of these things from her patients.....A great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wanda Bax
I highly recommend this book. It will make you laugh and cry and think. What a beautiful tribute.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Garry Rintoule
What a wonderful God we serve. Trudy Harris certainly had some wonderful experiences of seeing God at work when those she was caring for were nearing the end of their lives on earth. Page after page is filled with stories of how intimate God is with His children. This book has given me a new understanding of the role of the hospice nurse. Don't we all desire that we could pass from earth to Heaven in ways similar to those the author has so simply expressed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christine Domingo
what a joy to read of real life experiences of folks as they pass from this world to the next. it is inspiring and encouraging to see how God works to bring all things together in perfect harmony at the end of life for those who are focusing their eyes on Him and the glory to come.this hospice nurse has been there to see these people go through these experiences first hand, so how exciting that she can share them with us and offer those insights to many who have terminal illness. what a great gladness to know they have a definite home in God's heaven to look forward to, without fear or dread. i thank her for writing this book for all of us!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Teresa Doell
A very insightful and inspiring book. Trudy has done a beautiful job of letting us into her world of being with these people. It will make you think seriously about the time you will face these times in your life with friends and loved ones. A heart warming and soul searching book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nicole Stamper
This is the best book that I have read this year. It shows that God really loves everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Judy
I purchased this book because my 90 year old father is receiving hospice care and I wanted to know what the signs of nearing death were. As a born again Christian I know that God has his angels here on earth around us, I am not sure how dead relatives can come for you, (not really biblical) unless they are actually angels that look like your relatives. I do not question her stories, she is telling what she has seen from the many people she has witnessed dying. Although, she seems to refer to them as all God's children, so I do not know if she is referring to Christians only or all people. The Bible says in John 1:12 "Yet to all who received him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God - children born not of natural descent, nor of human decision or a husband's will, but born of God."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>