Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell The Someday List, Jubilant Soul Series #1

Revell The Someday List, Jubilant Soul Series #1

Rachelle Covington has it all. A fabulous home, a handsome and prestigious husband, two beautiful children, and a place in the upper crust that's quite comfortable. But her life is not all it's cracked up to be. When her husband goes away on business and the kids are sent off to the grandparents for a month, Rachelle takes up the challenge of a dying friend to start a list of things to do before she dies. She heads back to Jubilant, Texas, to reconnect with her past, her purpose, and herself. But when her ex shows up in town looking very fine and very single, Rachelle must confront feelings she thought she'd long buried. Will she give up everything to recover the past? Or will she find a reason to plan for the future.
Average Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Someday List, Jubilant Soul Series #1
Review 1 for The Someday List, Jubilant Soul Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Only two chapters?

Date:May 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Location:Barbados, West Indies
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I recently purchased this e-book but just started to read it today, however I am not getting anything past chapter two. Can anyone help me, thank you!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Someday List, Jubilant Soul Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very interesting read

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
didi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this book sometime ago and just started reading it 2 days ago. Very interesting, fresh and witty. I really enjoyed it.
Will buy more books from this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Someday List, Jubilant Soul Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good book

Date:October 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sherma
Location:Mississauga, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. The issues covered are real life situation so it was good that the author touched on these things. I could not put it down. Highly recommend to other readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Someday List, Jubilant Soul Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
savedsoul
Location:British Columbia , Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a very good read and I like the fact that I can download it to my computer and my phone and read while away from home and my computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Someday List, Jubilant Soul Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Uplifting

Date:September 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
CurledUpWithaBook
Location:The Maritimes
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this to be a very good book with real life issues and some not so easy solutions. The poor choices we make in life lead to consequences that must be dealt with. The right choice may not always be what we want but if we are serious about obeying God we will seek his guidance. An encouraging and uplifting book with spiritual wisdom!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Someday List, Jubilant Soul Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Good premise but did not live up to promise

Date:September 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Reisi
Location:Johnstown, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
While the basic premise of this book and the thoughts of a dying friend promised a thoughtful read- I didn't find anything inspiring in the plot after the first chapter or so. Maybe this just isn't a character I can relate to- but the plot brought too many 'sticky' questions into the mix- which I found being resolved in ways that I felt were wrong.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Someday List, Jubilant Soul Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Someday List

Date:March 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mrs Mary Belle
Location:Copperas cove, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book it was so good I could not put it down. I truly enjoy books that draw me in... Thank You
If you want a good book that is about mid-life crisis this would be the book... Ends correctly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Someday List, Jubilant Soul Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not what i expected but a plesant surprise

Date:February 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
joyjoy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great book i love it i would want recommend it to anyone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Someday List, Jubilant Soul Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nananine12
Location:Texas
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are things in everyones life they want to do. This book reminded me of how precious life is and how each day we need to reach out to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Someday List, Jubilant Soul Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
JoyceCC
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very inspirational and encouraging; great read! Can relate to the main character in many ways. Content and context are very appropriate, and realistic. Makes you realize that in all things God must be a part of it or it will fail.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Someday List, Jubilant Soul Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Real characters

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
MegS
Location:South Africa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book. The characters are real, and not picture perfect. It shows how we often say and do hurtful things to our neighbours and what effect this can have on our relationships. I recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Someday List, Jubilant Soul Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chika
I couldnt put the book down once i started it...the book deals with very serious issues we see everyday. It got me thinking about my life, priorities and ME. Forgiveness, the need to let go of the past and constantly rediscovering yourself cannot be overemphasised. Most importantly, it reconfirms you must have God to know peace and be content with life. A must read!!!God bless you Stacey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Someday List, Jubilant Soul Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deborah
This is a book that has a lot of edgy topics throughout. It's not very often that so many heavy subjects throw together in one story and work out as well as it did here. There's adultery, alcoholism, and cancer, just to name a few topics. The book blends all these subjects together yet it doesn't feel like it's too heavy to read. The characters are, while not all likable, very realistic and could be someone you knew. This book was very unique that it's a Christian fiction book and involves a woman who has divorced and remarried. Her current husband is distant from her and has been having an affair. Meanwhile Rachelle has reconnected with her first husband who she left for her own selfish reasons even though he did absolutely nothing wrong. It was interesting to see theinteractions Rachelle had with the two men. The reader really feels for Rachelle's first husband Troy as opposed to Rachelle's current husband Gabe. Even though he starts trying to redeem himself, it's hard to like him when you learn about the reasons of why Rachelle's first marriage broke up. While it's a Christian fiction book, it is not preachy. You never feel as if a message is being pushed into your face while you're reading.This was the first book that I've read by Stacy Adams and I enjoyed it very much. One thing I found that I liked about this book was that even though this book was by an African American author, I found that I could relate to the story. I do enjoy multi-cultural fiction because I get to learn about other cultures and customs that are not familiar to me. However sometimes it's also nice to just read about characters and just read about them for who they are and focus more on the story. Either way, I definitely will be reading more books by this author as well as the remaining books in this series.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Someday List, Jubilant Soul Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Best
This book was AWESOME!!! So real!!! Makes you really think about your life & how you want to spend the rest of it. I've been thinking on writing my own life list in hopes to carry each one through according to God's Will & way. I certainly recommend this book to others to read & share. It will make you aware of the trues meaning of your life & those you share it with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Someday List, Jubilant Soul Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2009
Rachelle thinks her life is a mess, but that is because God is not in control. Once God is her center and she faces old problems anddeals with them, the present day ones fade away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Someday List, Jubilant Soul Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2009
This book wasn't easy to read. Not because of any writing issues, but the subject. Who hasn't had times that they've struggled with purpose and discontentment. Rachelle's questions and her desperation to come up with even one goal for the next 15 years of her life can strike chords.And the marital issues are all too real. It felt like I'd crawled into her skin and went through each question and choice with her. The book has a definite message, but I would have loved to see another chapter or two that fleshed out the hard work in front of Rachelle and Gabe. This book would be a great one to give to a friend who is struggling with an early mid-life crisis or marriage issues.That said, don't think it's a preachy book or one you shouldn't read for fun. No, instead you need to realize that it's a book that might make you think as you enjoy it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Someday List, Jubilant Soul Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
The Someday List moved me to tears on more than one occasion, but they were not sorrowful tears. They were the kind of tears that make you want to hug your family and show more love. The kind that make you want to ask for forgiveness and offer it to others. Everything about this story was done right. It was hard to put down and I kept wanting to pick it up at every opportunity to read it. I loved the themes, the spiritual lessons and the insight. This story went beyond the warm fuzzies and dug deep into the heart, but yet it made my heart sing, too. Without giving away any spoilers I just have to say that I really appreciated the author's unique approach to forgiveness in a novel. Like having the characters look each other in the eyes and say what they really think so they can put the past behind them and truly love who they are with. I loved that. This story is honest, heartfelt, and contains flawed characters that make them seem all the more real. I was pulled into the story from the very beginning and could totally relate to the heroine's journey every step of the way. I highly recommend this book and can't say enough good things about it! I just don't want to give away any pivotal points in my review so you have to check it out for yourself to see what I mean.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.