Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell The Rook, The Bowers Files Series #2

Revell The Rook, The Bowers Files Series #2

While investigating a series of baffling fires in San Diego, FBI Special Agent Patrick Bowers is drawn into a deadly web of intrigue where nothing is as it appears to be. With his own criminology research being turned against him and one of the worlds most deadly devices missing, Bowers is caught up in a race against time to stop a criminal masterminds trap before it closes around him and the people he loves.

Book 2 in The Bowers Files, this riveting look into the darkness that lies in every soul is the perfect follow-up to James's critically acclaimed bestselling thriller, The Pawn.

Average Customer Rating:
4.056 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Rook, The Bowers Files Series #2
Review 1 for The Rook, The Bowers Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this second book in the series, it was well written and very well researched, but like the first book, God is rarely mention.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Rook, The Bowers Files Series #2
This review is fromRook, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lyn47
Location:Lake Forest, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Steven James is a talented author, and I particularily enjoy the books in the series with "The Rook". I have read all but one other book in this series, and hope there is at least one more to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Rook, The Bowers Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joan K. Landis
James writes exciting and well written books. I am enjoying his Bowers Files Series. If you like suspense, well developed characters and scenes that make you feel like you are there, than you will enjoy this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Rook, The Bowers Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lynn LaBranche
The is NOT a Christian book although it is a good mystery and thriller. It should be kept in a regular public library, not a church library. Only 4 references are made to God throughout the 488 pages: "Thank God I'd Been Wrong", Lien-Hua prayed,cried out to the God she wasn't sure was there", "Thank God She was Alive" and "a one word prayer, Please, Please" Certainly not enough for my library!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Rook, The Bowers Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jacob
I'm really glad people aren't giving this bad reviews like The Pawn was getting. I actually thought this book, though less action packed at times, was better than The Pawn. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Rook, The Bowers Files Series #2
This review is fromThe Rook, Bowers Files Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
dawnette
While there wasn't alot of spiritual emphasis in this book, it still gave you alot to think about. I just finished this book and I have to say that in some ways it was better than the first. I can't wait to read the third book in this trilogy. For someone wanting to read a thriller, without all the bad language and horror, this is a series to get! It will keep you on the seat of your pants until the end. This is one author whose books I can't put down until the end!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Rook, The Bowers Files Series #2
This review is fromThe Rook, Bowers Files Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sarah
This was an enthralling, superbly-written book. I thoroughly enjoyed reading about the main characters crafted by Steven James, and I enjoyed the thought-provoking story that contained no profanity or distastefulness. Pay attention to detail, because only that will help you figure out the ending! He definitely delivered a suspenseful, interesting story. I would recommend the read to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Rook, The Bowers Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jo Anne Lang
This book is a real page turner, though a bit graphic in the violence. Ilove suspense novels and this is a good one. It kept me guessing until the end. Can't wait for the next in The Bowers Files.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Rook, The Bowers Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Eileen
A powerful thriller with a complex plot. Special Agent Patrick Bowers struggles to follow the twists and turns in an arson investigation and discovers unparalled evil. Personal relationships provide extra drama. Excellent read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Rook, The Bowers Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jean
This book was very graphic. The message of the love of Christ was never given. A couple of times the question was asked if man cannot raise above his evil level, is there anyone who can lift him? is asked and never answered. Too graphic and evil for my tastes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Rook, The Bowers Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2008
The Rook is Steven James thrilling sequel to The Pawn. Time is running out as Special Agent Patrick Bowers pursues the trail of a killer and a missing military uber-weapon in this fantastic suspense novel. Although second in this series, I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and cant wait to pick up the first in the series.James talent to weave an intricate political plot rivals that of mainstream superstar authors like Tom Clancy. Crisp dialogue and intelligent plots are threaded together in this wonderful story that snatches the readers attention and holds it captive until well after the last page is turned.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Rook, The Bowers Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2008
I'm a wimp, so I usually steer clear of thriller books. However I definitely loved this one, even though I may not sleep so well tonight. There are no graphic sex scenes. There is no profanity. There's just a beautifully written, edgy, scary thriller. How refreshing!The characters are believable. They're not perfect; rather, they're flawed, just like you and me. Since the loss of his wife, FBI Special Agent Patrick Bowers struggles with Tessa, his independent stepdaughter. Tessa an intelligent seventeen year-old is a handful and a good sub-plot involves her antics. She's brilliant, and at one point presents a comparison/contrast of Edgar Allan Poe's Monsieur C. Auguste Dupin to Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes. That discussion, in and of itself is intriguing enough to warrant the purchase price.The author's research is amazing. The reader is introduced to technological weaponry, the study of sharks, and Congenital insensitivity to pain with anhidrosis (CIPA) a rare disorder in which the afflicted feels no pain--ever. All of this is set in San Diego, where Bowers has been called in to investigate a series of fires. However, more evil takes place, and I can say no more.If you usually figure out the ending, I think this one will give you the challenge you've been looking for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Rook, The Bowers Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2008
If you have the read the first book the series, The Pawn, then you know what to expect with this book. So you know you're going to stay up late trying to finish this, getting deliciously freaked out while you read it. It is not as gory as the first book. There are still many intense situations that will make you want to keep the lights on. The main villain though, while you want to scream at because you're so disgusted by him, is not as creepy as the villains in the first book. Interestingly, while there are times you want to hurt this villain according to the storyline, you can't. It's makes your mind boggle to think that.It's a scary book, scary because it's painstakingly real. There are situations happening like this every day in the world. This is edgy Christian fiction at its best. We don't want to read about things that will make us uncomfortable and boy does this book make you feel that way! Beware this series is NOT for those who have weak stomachs or are expecting a light, airy read. There's actually not much, if any, mention of Jesus or Christianity in the books. However the battle between good and evil is strongly present throughout the entire book. I love seeing the characters grow in each book. Tessa wasn't my favorite person but she is growing on me. I am looking forward to reading more about Patrick and Lien-hua's growing relationship.If you are trying to get a guy to read, this is the book to give to him. Non stop action, suspense, gore. I would not want to see this made into a movie because I'd be too scared to watch! This really is one of the best thrillers I have ever read. I really hope this book gets more mainstream attention because it has everything (and better writing!) that the NYT bestsellers have without having to resort to unnecessary sex or swearing. I cannot wait to read the final book in the series when it comes out next year. VERY HIGHLY recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Rook, The Bowers Files Series #2
This review is fromThe Rook, Bowers Files Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kate
I read the Pawn and had hoped the Rook would bring God into the story. Other than a few vague references to God, this book was no different that any secular book. Won't be buying the next one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Rook, The Bowers Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Reuben Vollrath
Great book, the first one in this series was very good also. He is on of the most detailed writers I know of. There is a lot of thought put into each book. The plots in both books are very deep. Cannot wait for the next one to come out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Rook, The Bowers Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kaye Warren
I loved the San Diego setting of the book and the details. While this book did not feel as disturbing spiritually as the first in the series, I still found myself searching for the "Christian" theme in the book and disappointed that there wasn't much. Very intense till the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Rook, The Bowers Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2008
The Rook finds FBI geographic profiler Patrick Bowers hot on a serial case, this one seemingly involving only arson. Before long the stakes ratchet up to include kidnapping, suicide, murder, taunting video tapes, a challenging deadline, and a serial killer of surprising identity. And fueling it all is a biotech weapon, one of the worlds most deadly devices and one of the militarys darkest secrets. I want to give you more specifics about the plot, but I am forcing myself to stop here as I dont want to ruin the page turning surprises you will encounter in this almost five hundred page thrill ride. Bestselling author, Steven James has mastered the thriller. Clearly James understands the concept of the BIG novel as in both The Pawn and The Rook, you couldnt ask for a more aggressive, big, and I mean really big plot. As a writer I admire his ability to think on such a high level, his unique plot lines, and his diligent research.Equally important as the race to the end plot are the characters James has richly developed. My favorite parts of the book involve the interplay between Tessa and Patrick. James gave us a glimpse of this tumultuous relationship in The Pawn, but in The Rook, Tessa is more of a starring player. James has captured the wit, sarcasm, and emotions of a teenager, though I have to say, Tessa like everything else in this book is not what she seems on the surface. I am one of the plethora of readers who loved The Pawn, but before I read The Rook I had the chance to sit down with Steven James for an interview. As the book unfolded and the plot built, I kept remembering what he told me in the interviewall the technology he expertly used in The Rook exists today and all that is left is for someone to put it together and make the weapon. Wow, did this up the thrill of reading the book for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Rook, The Bowers Files Series #2
This review is fromThe Rook, Bowers Files Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cay
Wow! This was better than the first book, and the first book was awesome! The Rook continues the story of FBI Special Agent Patrick Bowers, it is helped along by his turbulent relationship with his step-daughter Tessa and his budding romantic relationship with a new woman in his life. The plot was great, twisting in ways I sometimes did and didn't see coming. Because of the plot content, there sometimes tended to be alot of techo-talk that was difficult but nothing you couldn't get through. A wonderful read for anyone who likes a great mystery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.