Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell The Knight, Bowers Files Series #3

Revell The Knight, Bowers Files Series #3

Agent Bowers is used to tracking the country's most dangerous killers, but now it looks like a killer is tracking him. When he realizes the murderer is using clues from an ancient manuscript as a blueprint for his crimes, Bowers faces a race against time to decipher who the next victim will be and to stop the final shocking murder--which he's beginning to believe might be his own.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
0 out of 10%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Knight, Bowers Files Series #3
Review 1 for The Knight, Bowers Files Series #3
This review is fromKnight, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Andy
Location:Orlando, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am surprised Steven James' books are sold as Christian books as there is nothing that would lead a nonbeliever to Jesus Christ. However, the books are well-written, although, too graphic in the murders committed. I kept on reading thinking in the end there would be something written about redemption, saving grace, or something that would point to our mighty living GOD. That was not the case. Good books for secular society.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Knight, Bowers Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie from Genre Reviews
"The Knight" was an exciting, fast-paced suspense novel. Though it has a who-done-it mystery to solve, it departed from the conventions of the mystery genre in one major way, so I'll simply call it suspense. This book was the third in the series, but you can still follow what's going on even if you haven't read the previous books. The details about the job and the setting brought the story alive in my imagination. The good-guy characters were realistic, varied, and dealt with realistic relational troubles in addition to the dangers and frustration of tracking the serial killer. However, I didn't find the bad guy realistic--he was more a lifeless but scary character out of a horror story. I was left feeling disturbed and irritated by the ending rather than satisfied. This was partly because the mystery wasn't completely explained. Though the killer was one of the four people I suspected (due to opportunity and non-obviousness), it wasn't obvious that he had the full skill set needed for the crimes. We're never told how he got those needed skills. And something else happens at the end that's the stuff of nightmares and horror novels, not mysteries.While one character was a Catholic, there wasn't really any religious talk. There was a political "our justice system doesn't work perfectly" theme, though. A very minor amount of bad language was implied. There was no sex. The level of violence was high, but the gore was often implied rather than graphically described. Though I was disappointed with it, I'd still recommend this novel as exciting, clean reading.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Knight, Bowers Files Series #3
This review is fromThe Knight, Bowers Files Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
NCIS-luvr
The pawn was amazing. As was the Rook. Steven James has failed to dissapoint with the Knight. It is action packed and keeps you guessing untill the very end. I highley recomend this book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Knight, Bowers Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jaimie P.
I love this series! Yes, there is violence, because the main character is an FBI agent! Its not happy-go-lucky for real life agents all the time. Its just reality. I really want them to make these books into movies!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Knight, Bowers Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Myrna Brorman
The entire Bowers Files Series were a disappointment because I did not find anything spiritually uplifting in them. They should not be classified as christian fiction. They were pretty good just plain ole mystery/suspense novels. But, I just didn't see why they were categorized as Christian fiction. Really gorey stuff.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Knight, Bowers Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Collier
I've liked his first 2 books about Agent Bowers but this book solidified him, in my mind, as an excellent author. He fleshed out his characters more and the creepy factor was a 10+!!! Can't wait for the next one in the series, but I'm sure it will be worth the wait.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Knight, Bowers Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cheri Wright
My favorite type of book to read is Christian mystery and suspense. However, this book did not read like a Christian novel; it was filled with gore and made me feel physically ill (I quit reading when a decapitated head was found in a flowerpot).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Knight, Bowers Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2009
The Knight --- I could not wait to get this book and when I got it I could hardly put it down! There is so much human interest as well as the spiritual effect combined with suspense and humor. Wonderful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Knight, Bowers Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ronda B
I love all the Steven James Book!! They are action packed, and have twists that you didn't see coming. I like that Agent Bowers is a mostly normal guy with family matters always pressing as well as a high stress job that he excells at. Can't wait for the next one. Gotta go--Im almost finished!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Knight, Bowers Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Peggy Nivison
The Knight is a fast paced gorey thriller. It's the third in a series featuring Patrick Bowers. A 4th book is coming out next summer. A very good read if you like thrillers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Knight, Bowers Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
The Knight by Steven James is the third book is the exciting Patrick Bowers series. FBI Agent Bowers uses his unique geographic profiling skills to track down the most violent of criminals. He'll have to use all of his abilities to find a sadistic murderer who is killing people for a twisted story before Bowers and his stepdaughter Tessa become the next victims. This riveting thriller never lets up for a second. From tense courtroom drama to intense action scenes, every page zips by. I love how James has given Bowers an unusual ability, making him stand out from the overloaded FBI action genre. Bowers relies more on his brain than his brawn to outwit criminals, but he's a bit clueless about matters of the heart in interactions with Tessa and new love interest Cheyenne. If you're going through withdrawal this summer because of repeats on Criminal Minds, Numbers,CSI, etc, Patrick Bowers will satisfy your need for a smart and scary suspenseful thriller.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Knight, Bowers Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2009
Whoa! If ever there was a book written that is just itching to be made into a movie - it is definitely "The Knight" by Steven James. Without even reading books #1 and #2 in the Patrick Bowers Thriller series I would say that this could be the next great trilogy of movies! I am literally sitting on the edge of my bed, my eyes skimming the pages as fast as possible because the writing is so tight and intense that I fear I'm going to miss something! Is the killer going to succeed before Pat gets there? The amazing thing is that at no time can you just assume as a reader that Pat will stop the killer, he has killed so many times already that no body is sacred and anyone could die at anytime. I was actually holding my breath! I will absolutely not giveaway anything that would spoil a moment of this book for any of you readers out there so I will not talk plot line at all, I will only emphasize that this is one of the single best suspense thrillers I have ever read. Do you love Brandilyn Collins? You'll love Steven James. Do you enjoy Colleen Coble? You'll love Steven James. Does Ted Dekker bring you to the edge of your seat? Add Steven James to your keeper shelf right next to Ted Dekker, he totally deserves to be there!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Knight, Bowers Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2009
Although I enjoy stories of suspense, I do not usually choose to read thrillers. I'm a wimp, and I don't like to be frightened. Nonetheless, I must admit that I loved this intense novel about a gory, serial killer. I would like to think that the world could not possibly contain a person as evil as Giovanni, but the author is quite adept at writing believable characters. Giovanni is a psychopath who meticulously plots his murders based on The Decameron. The plot moves at an intense pace.FBI Special Agent Patrick Bowers, a widow, struggles with balancing truth and justice while raising Tessa, his free-thinking teenage stepdaughter. Tessa has self-love/hate issues; she cuts herself when confronted with pain. Her grief over the death of her mom and the subsequent discovery of a diary makes for an interesting sub-plot.I doubt if you will figure out the ending; I didn't. Why, there's even an unexpected twist in the epilogue!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Knight, Bowers Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2009
I'm just going to start off this review by saying that Steven James is one of the best authors I have read period. I have never been more engrossed or sucked into a novel as I have with his books. This book is not for the faint-hearted. If you have a weak stomach, read the book with caution. While the book is not gory or overtly graphic in terms of violence, there are scenes where even the most iron clad stomachs could get a bit squeamish . I think what is more effective is that the fact that a lot of the details are left to the imagination. The reader is given the overall gist of the scene and left to infer on their own as to what else is going on. Not only is the book intense, it also makes you think about your beliefs and challenges them. There are several instances in the book where you feel very uncomfortable, not due to gory scenes, but just to the situations themselves. This is especially true when the POV goes into the mind of the killer.Patrick Bowers is such an intense character. Not only is his job life interesting but his outside life and the relationships he has with his family is captivating to read as well. The author does a wonderful job of making the reader want to read everything and not just what is considered the exciting bits. Other books put so much energy and focus on the action scenes and tend to neglect the character development sequences. This book is completely well rounded so with every page you are eager to find out what happens next.If you haven't read any of the books in this series, what are you waiting for? If you think that Christian fiction is boring, preachy, and predictable then I dare you to pick up this book and read it. It will blow you away with its edgy storyline and extremely well written plot. I've never had a more enjoyable time reading a suspense novel and I am dying until book 4 comes out. I've raved about this series so much, I've made my mom a fan! VERY HIGHLY recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Knight, Bowers Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2009
The Knight opens with Bowers preparing to testify in the retrial of the first serial killer he arrested thirteen years earlier. Once again, James pits one killer against another all the while complicating Bowers life in new and unsuspected ways. Since saying anything more about the plot gives away the story, this reviewer can do the reader more justice by focusing on the themes of The Knight. Bowers has spent years believing in what he does and in the justice systems ability to end the careers of decidedly evil people. But, when his actions cause the death of a good man rather than a convicted killer, Bowers finds himself increasingly questioning what separates him from the people he considers evil. I have no doubt that inner conflict will carry forward in future releases in this series.Everything is here Jamess readers have come to expect: plot twists that spin so fast they leave one mentally nauseated, antagonists with twists of their own, a step-daughter who is both brilliant yet way too head-strong, almost realized love interests that never quite materialize, and a love-hate relationship with many of his co-workers. The dialogue is tight and as full of action as the plot itself. The only negative I mention is my disappointment James did little to further the spiritual journey I thought Bowers was beginning in The Rook. While this doesnt lessen the strength of the story it is still something I hope the author will consider in future books.The Knight ends with our hero on administrative leave from the bureau and preoccupied with his step-daughter Raven. But dont worry; Patrick Bowers will be back in the next installment of his odyssey. He has to because the Knight has already surfaced to tell a brand-new story to the curious, waiting world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Knight, Bowers Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2009
The Knight by Steven James is the third book in the Patrick Bowers series, and a thought-provoking and very graphic crime drama. From the first sentence, James transports you into the chilling tale of Agent Patrick Bowers latest crime scene. He is on the trail of a killer and the clues seem to point to Bowers being the next intended victim.I really enjoy Bowers character. He is strong and intelligent and human. Im barely into reading this book, and I already want to go back and read The Pawn and re-read The Rook, books one and two in this series, so I can get an even fuller picture of this character.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Knight, Bowers Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2009
Oh. My. Goodness. Knight is the first of Steven's books that I've read, but it will not be the last. This book is an incredible, suspense filled race through four or five days in FBI agent Patrick Bower's life. This is the third book in the series, and though I haven't read the others, I was able to be completely absorbed. The pacing is breath-taking, the psychological aspects un-put-down-able, and the race to find the killer had me on the edge of my seat. I have found a new favorite suspense author! And I LOVED the way this book had all the elements of a great suspense without gratuitous swearing, sex, or violence -- though the squeamish shouldn't read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Knight, Bowers Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Mcdaniel
I like Ted Dekker, Frank Peretti, Robert Liparulo and Tim Downs, but I have to say Steven James gives them a run for the money with this new book. He kept me in the dark as to the killer's identity right up to the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Knight, Bowers Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jacob
I'm about halfway through and it is the best book in the series. It's no for those who get sick easily though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Knight, Bowers Files Series #3
This review is fromThe Knight, Bowers Files Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jayson Booth
The Knight was definatly the most exciting fast paced book in this series so far.Stephen James keeps you guessing through the whole book and on the edge of your seat! It's a thrill ride that doesn't dissappoint. I"m definatly a fan and can't wait till his next book comes out!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.