Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Journey to the Well

Revell Journey to the Well

One of the most well-known and loved stories of Jesus's ministry is the encounter with the Samaritan woman at Jacob's well. Now the creative mind of Diana Wallis Taylor imagines how the Samaritan woman got there in the first place. Marah is just a girl of thirteen when her life is set on a path that will eventually lead her to a life-changing encounter with the Messiah. But before that momentous meeting she must traverse through times of love lost and found, cruel and manipulative men, and gossiping women.
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Journey to the Well
Review 1 for Journey to the Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book!

Date:May 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jaci
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful book. The story was so wonderful, it had me on the edge of my seat clutching the corner of the page so I could turn it and read some more! I really recommend this book for women who feel that they'll never get married or have a family or find that one person they'll spend their life with. This really teaches you some things.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Journey to the Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
EagerReader
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Journey to the Well presents an intriging intersection of several well loverd new testament stories. The harshness of life in new teastment Samaria and the struggles for women during that time is vivid and compelling. Given society's views of women at the time, it makes me value even more what Christ has done for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Journey to the Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A new perspective

Date:March 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
MegS
Location:South Africa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An intriguing view of the Samaritan woman at the well. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Journey to the Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lyaria
Location:Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not put this book down. It tells the story of Marah, the Samaritan woman from an early age through to adult hood and I was touched by the way Diana was able to capture all of Marah's emotions and feelings. I cries when Marah cried, I laughed when Marah laughed. Indeed a good book. I will definitely recommend it to my friends.
Thanks Diana.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Journey to the Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
mrlee
Location:Wendell, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. The story was great and along the way you learn of different traditions and Holidays that are celebrated. Mrs. Taylor writes about these so you can really understand them. I was impressed with the strength of Marah. The things that she went through. and finally all was forgiven by Jesus. Praise the Lord. mrlee
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Journey to the Well
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Biblical Fiction

Date:June 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've read and heard the familiar Bible story about Jesus meeting the Samaritan woman at the well many times, but usually didn't think any further about the reasons why she would be at the well in the hottest part of the day, alone, or why she had so many husbands. This book gave me one possible backstory on the Samaritan woman.
In this book, Marah is married off to an older man at 13 years old by a greedy aunt. As time passes, each of Marah's husbands uses her for his own purposes, then dies or leaves her to fend for herself. With each successive widowhood, the people of Marah's town, Shechem, scorn her more. Marah tries to accept what happens to her as God's will, and makes the best of each new phase of her life, as well as hang on to her faith in "the God Who Sees Me."
The story was compelling, and I couldn't wait to find out what happened next. Since the book is broken up into sections based on the various people in Marah's life, there were good resting points. There were occasional jarring jumps forward in time, but the pacing was generally good. The details about Samaritan life in Jesus' time were very well done, and I quickly felt immersed in Marah's life each time I picked the book up to continue reading. The only things that felt forced were the inclusions of Jesus' healing the 10 lepers and the Good Samaritan in the same plotline. Overall, this was a good Biblical fiction title to add to this growing genre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Journey to the Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating story

Date:July 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
CathLP
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Following Marah's life as a Samaritan woman in New Testament times was a gripping experience; the book was almost impossible to put down.
The story is also a very good illustration of how things are not always as they seem, and we can have no idea of what is really going on in someone else's life. It is not for us to judge others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Journey to the Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting concept of the Woman's life

Date:July 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gram
Location:Gatewood, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book very much. It kept my attention from the beginning and kept me looking forward to and in some cases dreading what would happen to her next! I also thought it gave an excellent view of what life then could have been like. Great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Journey to the Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dawn4506
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was fun to read as well as being free. I told my son's and my daughter to check it out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Journey to the Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book!

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
a2j4eternity
Location:Wisconsin
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the way the author developed her characters and wove them into more then one Bible story. Very good read! Would also encourage people who have bad things happen that are out of their control. Shows one can still come out on top when Jesus steps in!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Journey to the Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
elizclark_2010
Wow! What a blessing this book was to me. One thing that really struck me was how easy it was to relate to Marah's ups and awful downs before knowing Jesus. Life without Jesus was painful, occasionally wonderful, but a lot of simple surviving for her. And then he changed everything. This book is certainly a jewel. And for the review that commented on characters being under developed, I don't think I agree. Her husbands died, one after another! Her relationships with them were realistic considering the circumstances and her personality. I appreciated getting a glimpse into the past I so wish I could have seen first hand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Journey to the Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sheree
This is a wonderful book. This book is a page turner. The author discusses topics of love, loss, and broken promises. You are able to feel empathy for Marah as she goes through all her trials and tribulations. When Marah makes this encounter with the Messiah readers are able to see how one encounter changes the course of her life. Some readers would be able to relate to her story in some way and be changed by it. I also feel this book gives you a history on the Samaritan people. Ive enjoyed reading this book and I do recommend others to read it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Journey to the Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bea Nyce
This book was wonderful. What a beautiful story of life in Biblical times. I always liked the story of the woman at the well and this was portrayed in a real life Story. This author should write more books
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Journey to the Well
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kellie King
A little disappointing. Characters were not well developed or deep. Not a very detailed story. Could have had a better story line with fewer and better developed relationships (good or bad).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Journey to the Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joan Bellet
This is a wonderful historical fiction of the Samaritan's woman's life from her first marriage until she met Jesus at the well, and her life was changed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Journey to the Well
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Idril Celebrindor
I am only 16 but this book was very emotional. The author makes the story come alive. I felt for her through all her heartbreaks and marriages. But the lesson to be taught is that God truly is good to those that follow his will.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Journey to the Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
PatriciaChristopher
"Journey to the Well" was an unexpected pleasure to read. I wasn't sure about reading a book set in Jesus' time but from the first page I was caught up in Marah's story. I could really feel the torment Marah felt about her choices and how she was treated and then felt her joy when she meets her Lord. I highly recommend this book. You will not be sorry to take this journey with Marah.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Journey to the Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2009
oh, how God blessed me through this book! as someone else said in their review, it does indeed give you a better understanding of the biblical incident. it creates an environment around the woman, the village, its people, its history through the passage of time. by the time you arrive at the part where Jesus meets the woman by the well, you know her so well, she could be one of your relatives or close friends. you know her thoughts, her feelings, the events of her life, everything about her. and when you read her dialog with Jesus, which is in the Bible, and we have read it so many times, it has an altogether different depth and meaning, because, well, you know this woman He is talking to. i also loved the fact that the author depicts Jesus smiling a lot, and even laughing. that is how i like to think of Him, too. the point is, no matter what point in your life you may be at when this book comes your way, i think you will discover what i discovered when, with my eyes full of tears, i finally closed this book: i was the woman at the well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Journey to the Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Beruta
A wonderful, wonderful heartwarming story bringing tears and smiles, especially those of Jesus for the reborn Marah. May we all have such evangelism as she!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Journey to the Well
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2009
This book was 25 years in the making. The author paints an amazing story which will take you back in time - a time when Jesus lived. I have to admit I had always thought of the 'woman at the well' to be a woman of poor moral character. Diana describes a tale of a faithful woman, a woman after Gods own heart, who is thrust into circumstances beyond her control. How quickly people judge someone without knowing all the facts...but once all the facts are known, and they cant pin it to one bad choice that brought about all the bad luck. People start to speculate things or imagine stuff. You cant win - especially back then. There is no redemption except through Jesus. Forgiveness, love, compassion...those are just a few things Marah finds at Jacobs well that day.The author not only tells the tale of Marah and how women were treated back then, but she also tells of other characters that could have or did intersect with her life. Some of the people discussed at length were Reba, Zibeon, Shimei, Jessie, Hamon, Ahmal and Jesus. To me, a good book brings the bible to life in a very creative way. I love that it caused me to turn to scripture and see what else I can glean from its pages. Diana Wallis Taylor walks you through Jesus' time customs and the many people he met and healed along the way. After reading "Journey to the Well", scripture will come alive for you and youll find yourself (like I did) digging though its pages and coming to your own conclusions of what could have happened back then.www.psalm516.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>