Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Michal, Wives of King David Series #1

Revell Michal, Wives of King David Series #1

As the daughter of King Saul, Michal lives a life of privilege--but one that is haunted by her father's unpredictable moods and by competition from her beautiful older sister. When Michal falls for young David, the harpist who plays to calm her father, she has no idea what romance, adventures, and heartache await her.
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Michal, Wives of King David Series #1
Review 1 for Michal, Wives of King David Series #1
This review is fromMichal: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A readable portion of the Old Testament

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
nell
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am just starting this book that was recommended by my sister. So far it has been good reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Michal, Wives of King David Series #1
This review is fromMichal: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Michal is the daughter of King Saul, the first King of Israel. But when her father beings to have nightmares after disobeying Adonai, only the young harpist David can sooth the king's guilty conscience. Her attraction to David is undeniable, but it is with great disappointment that she realizes her sister Merab must be given in marriage first.
David becomes a great warrior from King Saul, to the point that the king seeks his life in the jealous rages that shadow his reign more and more frequently. When circumstances allow Michal to become David's first wife, has she just sentenced herself to a life of heartache and misery? Will David ever be the true king of God's people? Can she ever dream of being his queen?
This book is a dramatically beautiful re-imaging of the story of King David's first wife. Michal has always captured my imagination from the Biblical account. I've always wondered how it must have been for her; barren, given to another man by King Saul, and missing her true husband while he was a fugitive from her own father. How hard it must have been to be a woman during Old Testament times - and Smith breathes new life into a story that is centuries old. A good read for anyone that is interested in the could-have-beens of Michal's story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Michal, Wives of King David Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Location:Summerfield, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Michal is the daughter of King Saul, the first King of Israel. But when her father beings to have nightmares after disobeying Adonai, only the young harpist David, can sooth the king's guilty conscience. Her attraction to David is undeniable, but it is with great disappointment that she realizes her sister Merab must be given in marriage first.
David becomes a great warrior from King Saul, to the point that the king seeks his life in the jealous rages that shadow his reign more and more frequently. When circumstances allow Michal to become David's first wife, has she just sentenced herself to a life of heartache and misery? Will David ever be the true king of God's people? Can she ever dream of being his queen?
This book is a dramatically beautiful re-imaging of the story of King David's first wife. Michal has always captured my imagination from the Biblical account. I've always wondered how it must have been for her; barren, given to another man by King Saul, and missing her true husband while he was a fugitive from her own father. How hard it must have been to be a woman during Old Testament times - and Smith breathes new life into a story that is centuries old. A good read for anyone that is interested in the could-have-beens of Michal's story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Michal, Wives of King David Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Decent book

Date:November 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a well done book on the story of Michal. I applaud the author because I know that there is not a lot of material for her to draw on about this woman. I thought she did a good job piecing her life together and very realistically filling in the blanks. But I think my very favorite part of the book was the ending. It was a presented very logically, not a made up ending that made no sense. There were a couple of things that tweaked me, but I can live with those as long as they don't flow through the entire book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Michal, Wives of King David Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Leah
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This series is awesome! I enjoyed it so much and highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Michal, Wives of King David Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Michal Review

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katie
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely loved this book. Jill makes you see things that you would otherwise miss. She definitely gave me an understanding of Michal. She is really good at reaching in depth of the character to really make you understand what it had to have been like for Michal. Thank you Jill. I hope to read many more of your books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Michal, Wives of King David Series #1
This review is fromMichal: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Michal

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
cworley
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked and didn't like this book. I realize that the story is fiction but I didn't enjoy the way the author presented some of the characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Michal, Wives of King David Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Brings the Bible to life!

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sommer
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story of David has always been interesting to me. This book has caused me to go back into the Bible and see many things that I missed before. I really enjoyed this book and how the author brings to life the feelings and emotions of the characters. It was almost heartbreaking when Michal realized what she had really done to David in the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Michal, Wives of King David Series #1
This review is fromMichal: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable story

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
DeeJay
Location:NSW, Australia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed reading 'Michal' because it started me thinking about what it must have been like to have lived in that culture, time and place.
Michal became a real person to me instead of simply a two-dimensional character - one of the wives of King David.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Michal, Wives of King David Series #1
This review is fromMichal: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kv43
Location:Alabama girl
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Good read and relaxing time consumer. Take time to read and encourage others to read also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Michal, Wives of King David Series #1
This review is fromMichal: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brings the Bible to Life

Date:March 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
LoveMyKindle
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutley loved this book. It makes reading my bible so much more personal. One of the best books I've ever read. I also read the sequal to this book right afterwards and can't wait for the third one to come out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Michal, Wives of King David Series #1
This review is fromMichal: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took me just a short time to read. I couldn't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Michal, Wives of King David Series #1
This review is fromMichal: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read.

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grammy331
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the digital format. Good historical 'fiction', based on the biblical story of David and Michal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Michal, Wives of King David Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wayne Bos
Seeing an entire book devoted to Michal intrigued me. Despite many years studying I had never encountered even a small devotional on King David's first wife. I was hooked from the beginning but almost laid the book aside because of the writing of the first third of it. Cliches and trite sayings spoil any writing but they especially do despite to a historical fiction. One is just getting into the time frame when another 20th Century saying jolts the reader. I'm glad I stuck with the book, because the writing matures. Characters are more formed,the background starts to come to life, and then one is drawn more into the story. There are some good insights here into the Biblical account. Many times I nodded and considered that Smith's portrayal could very well be close to the truth. Good book, could have been spectacular with a rewrite before publication.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Michal, Wives of King David Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sheree
I enjoyed reading this book. Jill Smith is the first author that I know of who has tackled the story of Michal. The book touches on many issues such as love, disappointment, and loss. The author shows you how a princess matures and become a humble servant of God. She also shows you examples of forgiveness throughout the book and she brings the ancient world to life. I decided to continue the series and read Abigail.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Michal, Wives of King David Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lorena M Rice
I enjoy the history in this book I do a lot of highlighting in the book and some of the women will read it and I go to the bible you learn a lot from this book you need to read it cause you will not want to it happen to me and I love the book from a very happy customer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Michal, Wives of King David Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Smiths work of biblical fiction is firmly grounded in the scriptural account, weaving the emotional drama of Michals life together with the pivotal historical events that occurred during her lifetime. I have never read a book that has dealt with Michals life in such an authentic, and caring manner. From Smiths descriptions of life as the daughter of a deranged and wildly unpredictable king, to her grief at the deaths of her nephews, we are taken as readers into the previously unexplored emotional vistas of this princess of Israel.While greatly enjoying this fresh look into the life of Davids first wife, I wasnt overly fond of Smiths David, preferring the passion of the king found in Eleanor Gustafsons The Stones. Large jumps in time (three years, five-years, six-years, and so on) succeed in facilitating the progression of the timeline, but make the development of Michals bitterness as evidenced in her response to Davids joyful procession before the ark somewhat choppy. Likewise, her first years in the home of Patiel (the cuckold) are entirely missing, robbing readers of Michals struggle to adapt and come to care for this new man.Still, Smiths work was pleasant, and even thought provoking, providing a womans reflections upon the inner life of this first wife of King David. After all, who among us hasnt wondered how we would have reacted in Michals place to Davids sizable collection of wives?Clearly, I feel that Michal could have been a stronger novel, but still, Im looking forward to reading Abigail Smiths recently released story of Davids second wife. Smiths writing is solid, just not spectacular, so Im looking forward to gleaning more of her imaginings of the lives of the women who shared parts of the heart of the man whose heart was likened to that of God Himself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Michal, Wives of King David Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
David Schonberg
I was a little disappointed. I found the writing style & use of language to be poor. A rather plodding account- this tries, at least, to follow the Biblical account- but somehow just goes on and on.. in a silly sort of language. I have read far more creative historical novels, relating to King David- one being (in Hebrew)- The Days of David by Ibn Zahav... but there are quite a few good historical novels on this period- and sadly, Michal, is very much on the lower end, re writing skills. I do not look forward to Abigail at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Michal, Wives of King David Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
April W Gardner
Michal and David's is one of the most exciting and romantic plots of all time, and it should be. God is the author with Jill E. Smith creatively filling in the missing details for our imaginations to feast on.1023BC isnt the best time to be alive. There are giants, crazed kings, and brutal enemies bent on Israels destruction, but all Michal wants is a life with the only man her heart has ever wished for--David.David, on the other hand, has a kingdom to win, a God to please, and a murderer to avoid. He loves Michal, but having a few other wives is convenient too.In the Bible, Michal and Davids story is spread out over so many years and between so many momentous events its hard keep it together on your mind. The author did a fine job of taking all the bits and pieces and tying them together in a neat little package. Michal is written in a clear voice and concise plot which is entertaining and easy to follow.Michals development from bratty younger sister to woman of God was a joy to witness. Id never fully grasped what a hard and trying life she led. Being the daughter of a crazy king had to have been rough. On top of that, she was forced to relinquish the man she loved. They were reunited years later but Michal had to share him with other wives. Not fun.Michal is a story of Gods perfect timing, of his moving in and through our lives to carry out his plan on earth.One of the disadvantages of reading Biblical fiction is the reader probably already knows the plot bringing the surprise level to zero. In this case, the bond the reader develops with the characters is worth the sacrifice of the element of surprise. From now on, when I read 1 Samuel, Ill look at Michal differently, with a bit more respect and a touch of awe.I look forward to the next book in the series Abigail, recently released through Revell.Reviewed by April W Gardnerwww.aprilgardner.comWounded SpiritsNovember 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Michal, Wives of King David Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tamera Lynn Kraft
I highly recommend this novel. This novel is a fictionalized account of Michal, David's first wife and Saul's daughter. It follows her through her teen years with a crazed father, her early life with David when he had to flee for his life from her father's hand, her married life with a man her father gave her to against her will to keep her from David, and her troubled marriage after her reunion with David. It has all the intrigue, suspence, and suspence you would expect from the events surrounding King David from the perspective I never before considered, the wife who fell out of favor with him and with God. It was a great read that kept me on the edge of my seat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>