Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1

Revell Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1

Mail-order bride Sarah Dobbs arrives in Texas in 1850, only to learn that her future husband, Austin Canfield, is dead! Seeking refuge with his family, she tries to reconcile herself to an uncertain future. Will Austin's stubborn brother, Clay, spoil her happiness? Or is he the man she was looking for all along? 416 pages, softcover from Revell.
Average Customer Rating:
4.543 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 out of 3197%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1
Review 1 for Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Predictable but Surprising!

Date:April 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Margot
Location:South Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised by the first book I've read by Amanda Cabot. It was soothingly predictable, but full of interesting and surprising twists and turns. Like a long journey - you know where you are going when you start out, and you look forward to getting there, but that doesn't stop you from very much enjoying the trip. As well as the romance, there was the mystery and suspense, and just a touch of humor. Sarah was a delightful heroine - wounded but strong, fearful but brave. Clay is a true Texan hero - very hurt by the past, having suffered so many losses, but always the generous gentleman. there is a strong emphasis on God's plan in their lives, and the need to trust Him with our lives and our futures. Most enjoyable!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
emily
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sarah Dobbs leaves Philadelphia with her little sister Thea in tow, searching for a new life where her past in unknown. She hopes that life as Austin Canfield's mail-order bride in Ladreville, Texas, will give her the chance to give Thea a place to grow up free from the judgmental attitudes she left in Pennsylvania. However, when she arrives, she finds that Austin has been murdered.
Clay, Austin's brother, is struggling with the pain of losing his wife and his brother and with the invalid state of his father. He is a doctor at heart and not a rancher, but someone must keep the spread running. Not only that, he is desperate to catch the person responsible for Austin's death. The problem of his brother's bride-to-be is the last thing he wants to deal with.
This story of love, forgiveness, and faith set in post-Mexican War Texas is written very poignantly. The plot is intriguing and the end is relatively satisfying. Although I did begin to suspect who was responsible for Austin's death, I was still surprised by the revelation of the killer. However, I did feel that the end results were wrapped up too quickly and that the outcome could have been explained further. Maybe Ms. Cabot concludes the story more fully in the next sequel in the series (I haven't read it, but I would like to). But, no matter, this novel is an enjoyable read that does not go overboard into the romantic. More importantly, the Gospel is clearly presented, which is very important to the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I was very moved by the story plot and all.

Date:November 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mrs T
Location:Ozark, Mo.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story plot was intriguing and interesting. I was especially impressed with the way our Lord was intertwined in the story. I look forward to the following stories within this series.
Also, not knowing how I really feel about ebooks versus an actual hard cover book in hand, I was pleased CBD offered free ebooks for trials. Thank you CBD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extremely Happy and Blessed

Date:October 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Readermi
Location:China
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was far and beyond my expectations.
I have always had an avid interest in mail order brides of yesteryear, so reading books on the subject have been an enjoyable pastime of mine.
"Paper Roses" was a beautiful story that showed the bringing together of two lives as it should be--through friendship and gradually developing selfless love. Too often, Christian fiction conjures romance through self-centered passion and lust, which is sadly in grave contrast to what Scripture teaches and which only advocates a worldly, carnal mindset. Not so with "Paper Roses".
In this book you will find a realistic journey of people through the valleys of their lives, adventure, mystery (a true whodunit), friendship, courage, and, yes, romance. A romance that is sweet and enjoyable.
Rarely do characters come to feel real to me, but these did. Probably because Amanda Cabot wrote from her own experiences. They react as real people would react, and thus this book avoids that all-too-often feeling of ridiculousness that dwells within the pages of many fictions. It was strange, but I had the odd sensation that I could actually meet these people, and it was disappointing to have to recall that this was merely a book.
If you choose to read this book, you will not only be entertained, but you will also be blessed. You will close the book after the final page with a smile on your lips and a happy, refreshed heart.
Enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Light & Fluffy

Date:November 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
raurio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good book for a light read on a sunny afternoon or a dreary day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An original story, with surprising twists

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
AMDG7flames
Location:Long Beach, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Paper Roses surprised me in many ways, and I was delighted by the details such as the different languages spoken, the complex relationship between the brothers, the element of a murder mystery and its suspenseful resolution. It was a very sweet story and I especially loved the hidden garden.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Recommended

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blessed in Texas
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this book. Enjoyed reading. Paper Roses is a good Christian fiction book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jools
Location:Queensland, Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great read, couldn't put it down. I loved the intrigue, the romance and the story telling.
Can't wait for the next one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book is a keeper.

Date:November 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
kathy
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
once I started to read this book I couldn't put it down it kept me revivided to the story just to find out what was going to happen next. a touching story of loss, love and a smedgen of adventure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very well written the characters felt very real

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
readsalot
Location:Kitchener, ONtario Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
to me a good book does a few things and this book did it for me
it made me laugh, and sigh, and think,
that what makes a good book great at least in my book
Margaret
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nanajen
Location:New Zealand
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really enjoyed this book . Would recommend it. Love the period novels
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katw
Location:SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great book to download and read. I fully enjoyed it and look forward to more similar ebooks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. Loved the characters and I read it in one afternoon. This was the first book I read from this author and I'm glad I took the chance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book

Date:May 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
msdnne
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed the book. The foreshadowing is wonderful to see how God works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
DH
Location:Calgary, AB
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I admit, this book was exactly as I expected. It was a simple, sweet, love story. In an easy, light-read fashion, the author does a great job of creating a storyline that hooks the reader right to the end. I was looking for a simple, feel-good read, and that is exactly what was delivered.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rae Joy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was adorable! The book was great and Thea was always written in at just the right times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Christian Themes throughout

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Dan
Location:Wichita, KS
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What an enjoyable read. Amanda Cabot does a wonderful job of weaving a good story line with plenty of discussion of the Lord and the hope that we can have in Jesus. I liked the fact that Amanda shows people who are struggling with God. They are angry with humans, but come to realize that the anger is really more directed at God for how He has treated them poorly. Amanda does a good job of debating the concept of "Why would a good God allow bad things to happen to good people?" The other thing I appreciated was that when a character in the novel comes to understand their need for forgiveness and salvation it isn't some dramatic event that brings that about, instead it happens in the simple act of listening to a sermon, allowing the Holy Spirit to bring conviction and then acting on that conviction and seeking forgiveness.
The general gist of the novel is that Sarah and Thea (two sisters) are traveling to Texas to start their lives over. Through a tragic event their parents have been killed and the girls are left without family and without any assets. Sarah is quite a bit older than Thea (who is two) so that people think that Thea is Sarah's daughter not sister. Although she makes it plan that they are sisters.
Sarah has started a correspondence with Austin Canfield who is looking for a wife to come and live on the ranch with he and his family. Sarah falls in love with Austin through the letters that he writes (unknowingly to her it is actually his brother who writes the letters for him). Sarah agrees to become his wife and she packs up Thea and moves to Texas.
Upon arrival in Texas she learns from Clay Canfield that his brother has been killed, Sarah's marriage is not going to happen and she might as well get back in the stagecoach and go back to Philadelphia. But she is not going to do that. She is going to stay, because there is nothing to go back to.
Did I mention that Sarah also has a problem? She walks with a limp because of a riding accident. Her horse fell on her and crushed her leg. They thought she would never walk again, but she proved everyone wrong. But who wants to marry a crippled woman with a two year old ward?
There are plenty of other twists in the story. One of those is that the town the Canfield's live near is that of immigrants from France and Germany. Thus people speak one of three languages. This will play into the story. Also there is ethnic tension between the two groups, that will also play into the story. Finally, someone is out to destroy the Canfield family and has caused them much pain and grief.
I won't give away the full story, but I am sure that you will enjoy it. It is a simple story line, fairly predictable, but the fact that Amanda does such a good job of tying in the truth of the Gospel in the novel sets it apart from others that I have read. This wouldn't be my number one Christian novel of the year, but I would think that it comes in at either second or third.
I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not Your Typical Mail Order Bride Story

Date:July 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sarah Dobbs agreed to be a mail order bride-anything to leave Philadelphia after the deaths of her parents. Austin Canfield wooed her from afar with beautiful letters Sarah called her paper roses. Finally Sarah arrives in Ladreville, Texas, only to discover that Austin has been killed. His brother, Clay, offers her the fare back to Philadelphia, but Sarah won't go. Instead, she's determined to make a new start in Ladreville, a small town divided in half with French and German immigrants from the Alsace region.
Clay Canfield is a Boston-trained doctor who feels trapped at his father's ranch after the death of his wife, but he's determined to find his brother's killer and enact vengeance before he leaves. But no one will talk. Meanwhile, someone is stirring up trouble between the immigrants, pitting them against each other. Sarah starts a school for the local children, but the ethnic groups alternate weeks of attendance, the parents refusing to let the children learn together. Sarah, being an outsider to the local problems, is courted by men from both groups. She's not interested. As time goes on, Sarah and Clay begin to fall in love, but their romance is complicated by Clay's quest for vengeance and the trouble in the town.
While Paper Roses starts out in the trope of mail order brides, it quickly deviates with Sarah's discovery, upon arrival in Texas, of the death of her intended. The dual cultures of the small town and the intrigue Sarah and Clay become involved in add layers to this historical novel. I found that the author tied up all of the various threads quite tidily by the end. The weakest thread, in my personal opinion, was the one that titled the book. I have trouble understanding a woman as practical as Sarah (or any other woman) thinking of love letters as paper roses.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:June 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elena Wiens
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. Made it very clear how important forgiveness is.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I loved the though of letters being 'paper roses'.

Date:May 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
dingo4mum
Location:Vicoria, Australia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was an ok book. At times I felt the plot moved a bit slow and focused on other details rather than the main characters getting to know each other. Had a few twists that I didn't see coming. I loved that it showed faith in God and how that shapes a persons decisions. Also the idea that letters are/can be 'paper roses'.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.