Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell No Place for a Lady, Heart of the West Series #1

Revell No Place for a Lady, Heart of the West Series #1

When sophisticated Crystal Clark visits her Aunt Kate's cattle ranch, she quickly realizes that the locals don't appreciate her refinement! Just as she grows accustomed to life in the wilderness, tragedy strikes and Crystal must help. Will the gentle southern belle fold under the pressure? And can she resist the advances of the handsome ranch foreman? 320 pages, softcover from Revell.
Average Customer Rating:
4.304 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
2 out of 367%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for No Place for a Lady, Heart of the West Series #1
Review 1 for No Place for a Lady, Heart of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is not the author for me. I had a hard time with the book, the plot was skipped in alot of places and the characters were uninteresting for me. I didn't even finish it.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for No Place for a Lady, Heart of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not a bad read.

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bookworm
Location:Calgary, AB
Age:35-44
Gender:female
The book was good but not riveting. Likeable characters. A bit predictable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for No Place for a Lady, Heart of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a sweet love story set in the West.

Date:November 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
jethrosdaughter
Location:South Africa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Crystal Clarke is a young woman from Georgia. She heads West to go and live with her aunt after her father's untimely death. The life out west is not what she's accustomed to, but with courage and determination she draws from her faith, she is able to addapt to the often harsh conditions her new life offers. Further losses and hurts draw her closer to God as she learns to be solely dependant on Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for No Place for a Lady, Heart of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Miriam
Crystal Clark travels from Georgia to visit her aunt Kat who owns a cattle ranch in beautiful Yampa Valley, CO. Crystal meets the rugged ranch foreman, Luke Weber, and immediately personalities and upbringings set them apart. The local people know little about Southern graces and are unsure of Crystal. Will life's challenges and tradegies thrust Crystal and Luke together or send Crystal back to her Southern society? I know when I am captured by a novel when I am visualizing the scenery, getting angry or cold when the characters are, seeing the truth of their lives through events that occur. I thoroughly enjoyed it! Absolutely wonderful! I will be reading more of Maggie Brendan's novels!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for No Place for a Lady, Heart of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gail Goodwald
What a step back into the old wild west. Really enjoyed the read and the characters. Liked the scripture within the text of the book as well. Good writer.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for No Place for a Lady, Heart of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Megan
When I saw the cover of this book, I was very excited to read it. However, it turned out to be a very corny, mushy story. There was no plot and the characters were very shallow. I did not enjoy this book and I doubt if I will read Maggie Brendan's books again.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for No Place for a Lady, Heart of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Doris Hampton
This was a new Author for me & I read all three in this series in a few days,I had a hard time putting them down. Loved them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for No Place for a Lady, Heart of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dianne Mcdowell
If I hadn't already bought all three books in the series, I wouldn't have ordered another one. However, in the second and third books of the seriess, I would give a much higher rating because those books seem to have much more interesting plots.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for No Place for a Lady, Heart of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gail
One of the funniest books I have read in along time. It is like a Diana Palmer bookbut with only the good stuff. Hard to believethis is a first book for Maggie. Can't waiteto read more from her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for No Place for a Lady, Heart of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
H. O'Neal
Maggie Brendans No Place for a Lady is an inspirational and spiritual novel set in the historical west, full of real characters you come to root for and love. Brendan creates three-dimensional people of strength without masking their faults, making it easy for the readers of this novel to identify with the characters thoughts, ambitions, and trials. At several points Brendans humor had me laughing aloud, and more than once the realistic depictions of the arduousness of life in turn-of-the-century Colorado had me crying too. Under Brendans skillful pen, the West comes alive and makes us regret our inability to experience it first-handlucky for us, No Place for a Lady captures with historical accuracy the lives of ordinary people asking themselves the questions and experiencing the joys and pains of life that still resonate today. I would recommend this book to fans of westerns, Christian novels, and to all readers who seek a thoroughly engaging and beautifully written story. I cannot wait to read the second book in this series, The Jewel of His Heart.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for No Place for a Lady, Heart of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Maggie Brendans debut novel, No Place for a Lady, combines many elements that make for a great historical read: a pampered Southern belle, an ambitious cowboy on her aunts cattle ranch, love interests who come between them, tragedy, conflicts and surprises. Set against the breathtaking backdrop of the Colorado Rockies, the story begins when Crystal Clark arrives at her Aunt Kates spread following the death of her father. Thrust into the rigors of life in the West, Crystal struggles to discover Gods plan for her future. Does she embrace this new adventure and admit her attraction to her aunts rugged, hardworking ranch foreman, Luke Weber, or return to Georgia where she knows what to expect and whats expected of her?Luke wants a ranch of his own, and marrying the local cattle barons daughter will give him that. But first, he has to get the cattle to market with the so-called help of Crystal, Kates seemingly fragile and yet feisty niece whos captured his attention. Torn between following his dream and heeding the call of his heart, he struggles to find answers. Only when he looks to the Lord for them is peace possible.Discovering a new writer whose work I enjoy is a treat. Brendan has earned a place on my Sure-to-please Authors list. I like her characters, her heartwarming tale and her storytelling ability. Im looking forward to the second book in her Heart of the West series when readers will discover what the future holds for a secondary character who was dealt a blow in No Place for a Lady.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for No Place for a Lady, Heart of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Crawford
I have been ordering books from CBD for about 20 years. During this time I have read through every book some Authors have written. I read the description of the book from the catalog to determine if I think I would like this book. I was quite pleased when I noticed Maggie Brendan as a new author to me. "No place for a Lady" caught my eye and I ordered it. I read late into the night to try to finish it in 2 nights. I will surely be looking for other books by this author. The characters became very close to my heart.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for No Place for a Lady, Heart of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sandra Cavellini
Although the story line was good, I found the interactions of the main characters somewhat juvenile, more like teenagers than adults. I would have liked the characters to have more depth.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for No Place for a Lady, Heart of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2009
It was ok. I loved the was Crystal took charge because i love strong women who take command of the situation, but overal for me it was very boring.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for No Place for a Lady, Heart of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
Having a plot line that starts and grows with tragedy, this is a novel that grabs your heart and makes you silently or even sometimes verbally cheer on the heroine to succeed at her current goal. Maggie Brendan has done well with her first novel and I definitely look forward to more. This is easily one of those stories where you are screaming for the characters to see what you as a reader are seeing. There are times where I thought something would come out differently, but with the story coming to a close I could not have imagined anything better than the way it was itself. I cannot wait for the next book in the series!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for No Place for a Lady, Heart of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2009
Oh, what a fun read! Maggie Brendan is a new author who will lasso your heart right out the gate with her debut novel, No Place for a Lady, where Southern charm happily collides with the Wild West. The first novel in Ms. Brendans Heart of the West series, No Place for a Lady unfolds the story of Southern belle, Crystal Clark, who leaves the gentility of the Old South to head west to her aunts Colorado cattle ranch after the death of her father. What she finds is the rugged beauty of the Colorado highcountry, along with a dangerously handsome cowboy who is as wild and unpredictable as this rugged country that has captured her heart. With vivid imagery, heart-tugging romance and a feel for the old West that will jangle your spurs, Maggie Brendan is definitely an author to watch and read over and over again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for No Place for a Lady, Heart of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Debbie
This an extremely well written book. It has been a long since I absolutely could not put a book down and this was the case with this book. I cannot wait for book two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for No Place for a Lady, Heart of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lynne
I found this to be a easy read. The characters are very enjoyable and it really gives you a feel for the "old west". I highly recommend this and look forward to the rest of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for No Place for a Lady, Heart of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lynn
I loved this book and would recommend it to anyone. Maggie Brendan not only brought the characters to life and made you feel as if you knew them but she brought the territory, the cattle drive, the life in that part of the country all to life as well. The relationships and vivid descriptions of every aspect of the book kept me hooked from page 1 to the end. I can't wait for the next book in the series. Maggie Brendan can hold her own and I have no doubt she'll become a well known author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for No Place for a Lady, Heart of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
kay
Westerns have never been my first choice for reading, but the twist of bringing the old South to Colorado ranching territory caught my attention. I'm glad it did. I very much enjoyed this book. I love details and Maggie Brendan supplied the right details to make me feel like I took a trip to the Colorado Rockies. The approaching winter snow, the ruggedness of a trial drive, the differences between Georgia and Colorado - all made this a delightful read. Also, the characters are memorable and suprising at times. Knowing I get to continue reading about this people makes me look forward to the next books. Enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>