Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell The Swiss Courier

Revell The Swiss Courier

She's risking her life to save a man she doesn't know. But who can she trust along the way?

It is August 1944, and the Gestapo is mercilessly rounding up suspected enemies of the Third Reich following the assassination attempt on Adolf Hitler's life. Gabi Mueller is a young woman working for the newly formed American Office of Strategic Services (the forerunner to the CIA) in Basel, Switzerland. When she is asked to put herself in harm's way to safely "courier" a German scientist working on the atomic bomb project into Allied hands, the fate of the the world hangs in the balance. This fast-paced, suspenseful novel will whisk you along the treacherous twists and turns of a fascinating- and deadly- time in history.

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Swiss Courier
Review 1 for The Swiss Courier
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Suspense and surprises

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
They had me fooled - more than once. I can't believe I didn't see it coming!
Tricia Goyer and Mike Yorkey write a fantastic WWII suspense about intelligence agents in Germany and Switzerland working to smuggle a brilliant but naive scientist into Allied hands before the Gestapo capture him.
The novel starts out with seemingly scattered story lines - obviously related, but thus far unconnected. From our heroine, Gabi Mueller, as she undertakes her first field mission, to Swiss operatives smuggling escaped prisoners across the border, to the young, upcoming scientist Joseph Engel who is unwittingly of Jewish descent, to agents working both sides of the war, and to the evil Gestapo major Sturmbannfuhrer Bruno Kassler. As the plot winds on, the story lines grow closer and closer together, until they meet in a thrilling climax. At first it seemed a bit slow, since everything was still fairly scattered, but everything that happens is important for establishing roles, connections, motives, and the final plan of action.
Suspense and mystery are not synonymous; this is not a mystery, but it is suspense. We know almost everything of what is going on, so we feel the thrill, the confusion, the danger - the innocent student is busily working on his equations, little knowing that the Allies are forming a plan to smuggle him out, but the Gestapo is about to knock on the door. And even when it seems everything has been laid out on the table, the authors can still pull one over on the reader! I was impressed by their ability to write a good suspense while still throwing in a surprise here and there. I guess that's what makes it a great suspense!
As far as Christian themes go, there was not a lot outside of some of the characters professing Christ; there was no big lesson to be learned or strong message of faith, but at least some of the characters seemed to genuinely rely on God, especially in such uncertain times where the chances of getting caught far exceeded the chances of survival.
I found the novel to be a thrilling escape from the modern world as the characters eluded Nazis and even their own countrymen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Swiss Courier
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This kept me turning the pages. A great book!

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
RevMarcia1
Location:Kingsport, TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book that shows what life was like during the war. Tricia is a fantastic author and this book lived up to her reputation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Swiss Courier
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent historical fiction by two new authors

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
grannyd
Location:Garland,TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have almost finished the "Swiss Courier" I find it excellent reading,clean, historically accurate, teaches values, suspencfill I hope to read more from these authors in the near future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Swiss Courier
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical novel filled with intrique

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susan Osborn
Location:Fullerton, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tricia Goyer and Mike Yorkey have teamed up to create a fast-paced, suspense novel that takes place during World War II. Set in Switzerland, The Swiss Courier shows unique viewpoints of a woman working for an American organization, American pilots who are shot down over Switzerland, the German Gestapo, and the supposedly neutral Swiss people. It is filled with intrigue, romance, and little known facts about the Swiss during World War II. The ending has an incredible twist that is hard to guess! This book is a must read, particularly for history buffs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Swiss Courier
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra Dean
I enjoyed this book very much. the history was interesting. Will look for more by the auther .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Swiss Courier
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melis
Interesting plot with great historical insights. This story promotes good values, as well. With regard to marriage, demonstrates the importance of love and devotion versus appearance and excitement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Swiss Courier
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2009
I love reading about history and a well written historical fiction novel is better any day than a dry history book! You get more out of it too!!! I have enjoyed true stories from this time period about the underground movement in those parts of the world and when you read this fictional account of underground workers during World War 2, you can see the effort made to stay accurate and factual as well as keep you riveted to the book. This book is filled with the type of excitement that if it was a movie, it would have you on the edge of your seat the whole time! It is also filled with surprises throughout, which of course, I cannot give away, but they surprised me and I don't always get surprised with all the books I read! The book begins with a dramatic attempt on Hitler's life, people dressed as nazi's and you start to wonder who is really a Nazi and who is not!! Nothing is as it appears to be! If you enjoy historical fiction, this is a book you will not want to miss.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Swiss Courier
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2009
The Swiss Courier was a great change of pace from the Amish and mail-order bride books Ive been reading lately.Coauthors Tricia Goyer and Mike Yorkey delivered just what I was expecting and also what I wasnt! I loved it!The Swiss Courier was a true heart-pounding page-turner. Right up until the epilogue, I was surprised! HmmmI think hes on that side! and then, Oh, and hes on that side?! and, Hes who?!! The Swiss Courier tells the story of Gabi Mueller, a young Swiss American, who is working with the Americans on undercover war secrets. After a couple of frightening assignments, Gabi is asked to help courier an important scientist out of Germany.The ingenuity and courage of those who placed their lives on the line to do what was right made for a very exciting story. Once I picked up The Swiss Courier, I had a hard time putting it down. I found my nose in the book late into the night because its hard to stop reading in the middle of an escape attempt! Its also hard to fall asleep after your blood pressure has been raised a few notches! Ha!If, unlike me, you havent been watching Hogans Heroes reruns recently, you may get a little overwhelmed with all the jawohl, uberreichkommandantfuhrerstrasse! terms throughout the book! But, for the most part, I was able to understand what was being said.Two complaints: at the end of chapter 2, I felt that the Lords name was used in vain and that greatly disappointed me. And, in the epilogue, the main characters are getting ready to drink wine. Again, very disappointed that this would be in a Christian book? Both of those subjects could have been left outneither added anything (but compromise) to the story and would not have taken anything away if not mentioned.If you like action and intrigue, you should find yourself a copy of The Swiss Courier!Check out more reviews on my blog: thecreativesideofsteph[dot]blogspot[dot]com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Swiss Courier
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
jubilee
I usually avoid books dealing with World War II, but decided to review this book since I am familiar with Tricia Goyer's previous work. I knew she'd treat the subject matter with sensitivity and compassion. I was not disappointed. There were not scenes directly dealing with the Jewish concentration camps and for this I am grateful. Leaving that kind of subject in the perifery and to the reader's imagination is an effective and perfectly acceptable tool. Sometimes shocking detailed accounts are necessary, I agree, but for this kind of work, Goyer and Yorkey made the right call.This book deals with the underground forces made up of everyday people who want to aid in the war efforts to defeat Germany. It also gives a first-person look at several German villains. All this makes for a well rounded novel.Like many novels with several main characters, the first few chapters introduce them and lay ground work. But make no mistake, they are also packed with action. As any writer can tell you, incorporating these two elements of writing is not an easy task. Neither is braiding in the plot twists, but they are there and effective.Another reason why this novel is worthwhile and enjoyable is the details used to fill out the story. They are convincing and make the reader feel as though he is right in the cockpit of the plane, hiding to avoid the enemy, and roaming the village with the detained pilots in Switzerland.If you are at all interested in this era, this is a must read. I hope there will be other books to make a series. I'd like to know more about several of the characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Swiss Courier
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Daniel Darling
"This is a time for war, not love," says Gabi Mueller, an unlike heroine in a time of war. Hitler's crusade had encroached upon her village and so her courage, Christian faith, and competence led her into a cooperative role for the Allies. This is a well-crafted, first-rate novel, each page sparkling with action, dialogue and rich character development. I found myself knee deep into the lives of the characters and the drama of the times. I was overwhelmed, at times, by the historical and cultural touch points. I felt when reading, that was right there in the midst of WW, mixing into the lives of the common people forced to make tough choices. This novel wasn't just a pleasurable diversion, it delivered an education into the lives of the common person on both sides of the Swiss-German border in a time of considerable, historical tension. I heartily recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Swiss Courier
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2009
When I picked this book up, I wasnt sure what to think Im not a big historical reader BUT I really enjoyed this books. I had a difficult time putting it down. The combination of Tricia Goyer and Mike Yorkey brought the history together and entwined it to make it fast moving, suspenseful and entertaining. I was drawn in right away to the characters and couldnt help but like the lead female Gabi right away. She was strong and likeable. I felt like I was swept off into their world of days gone by. I like how it covers WWII it tells the story with real heart and emotions. It provided enough details without overkilling or dragging the story down (Ive read books like that all too often.. or rather tried to read books like that lol).I think this is a great book for anyone who loves history and looking for a more emotional side of it. A great choice for anyone looking to escape and experience the radical part of history.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Swiss Courier
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judie Jones
This book has many facts offered along with the basic story line. I enjoy reading a book that has both fact and fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Swiss Courier
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2009
Gabi Mueller, the daughter of a pastor in the neutral country of Switzerland, working in the offices of the newly formed OSS, has a talent, that draws her to the attention of people higher up in the spying chain. It also put her in the position of being more than a paper shuffler and typing up reports daily. She is chosen to be a courier for a German scientist who is working on an atomic bomb. Dangerous times lie ahead for Gabi, but care must be taken. She must be careful who she is relays her information to,and who she can truly trust, because one never knows if an operative is working both sides. She also must keep her head about her shoulders and not be swayed by the handsome men she works with. A tale of danger, a historical novel about World War II, a look at the intense suffering and horror that the Jews faced, a story filled with faith, love and fast moving action, The Swiss Courier is a book that will not disappoint the reader. Tricia Goyer and Mike Yorkey have brought us a tale truly worth reading. 5 stars. This book was provided by Revell for review purposes. No cash or payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Swiss Courier
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2009
If you've watched the movie Valkyrie, this book takes place right after the story ends. The best part of this book is that it takes a story that is not know to the average American reader. I tire of reading books based during WWII that used the same storyline and same events over and over again. I really liked Gabi's character because she's the strong, take charge type of female lead who doesn't wait for a guy to rescue her. Joseph's story is very interesting and brings to mind secret daring rescues. The characters are all multi dimensional and really bring the story to life because you can relate to them even if their situations are a lot more dangerous than ours. There's a lot of historical detail in the book but it's not like reading a history book. It's never boring or dry. You really get into the story and I was pleased with the outcome. If I ever decide to write a historical fiction novel, this would be the type of book I would want to write.I really enjoyed reading this as I have every other of Tricia's books. This is another book that flows very smoothly and you can't tell when one author writes and when the other picks up. I felt that the combination of historical facts with the dramatic storyline blends well together. This book made me (gasp!) eager to learn more about the events that took place during this time period. One thing I did find interesting is that the war in the Pacific is never mentioned at all, probably due to the fact that war in Europe is so prevalent. It's interesting how it's like that part of the war was totally separated. Overall this is probably one of my favorite historical fiction books read this year, and definitely one of the best WWII books I've read in a long time. I would love to read more from this dynamic writing team. HIGHLY recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Swiss Courier
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
The Swiss Courier by Tricia Goyer & Mike Yorkey is a fast-paced suspense novel of World War II. Gabi Mueller, a Swiss-American living in Switzerland, has been working for the OSS in helping to translate messages from the Germans when she is recruited to use her special abilities at safecracking. She's quickly pulled into a dangerous world of secret identities and risky escapes when she's asked to help rescue Joseph Engel , a German physicist who holds the secret to the Nazi atomic bomb before the Gestapo finds and executes him. The authors make the taut atmosphere of spies come to life where every word may have a double meaning, and you can truly trust no one. I was thrilled with how they avoided all cliched pitfalls of suspense novels making it fresh and enjoyable. There is literally no time to breathe as the rescuers race from sabotage, gunfire, and betrayal; I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. I hope that these authors pair up again soon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Swiss Courier
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
I finished The Swiss Courier last night. It was a compelling read with a lot of twists and turns. In many ways the story resembled a pure Goyer novel but this book had a slightly different voice. I enjoyed it, though I think I prefer Goyer's voice when she writes solo. The writing in this novel flowed smoothly, though, so that was well done.There were so many situations that seemed impossible to escape from, so the tension kept building. I also learned stuff about physics that I didn't know like the whole issue of nuclear fission and the experiments that went with trying to split the atom. I learned about how the Swiss Government felt about the war and how they managed to stay neutral for the most part. I also never realized that some Swiss citizens entered Germany to work every day. I was educated a bit about old WWII planes and other details--I found that all very fascinating. Those were tough times, no doubt. And the double cross situations were rampant. Who could you trust when everyone was trying to stay on the Nazi's good side so they would avoid being sent to the camps?The romantic element was nice, though not as strong as I like, but it didn't detract from my enjoyment of the story. I didn't know who she would choose until late in the book, so that was pretty cool. I always enjoy the surprise element in a story and the discovery of new things as you read along. If there is a sequel to this book, I'm definitely getting it. I'd recommend this story to people who love WWII era fiction and who want to learn something not commonly covered in the WWII novels currently on the shelves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Swiss Courier
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
This story takes place in Europe, 1944. The Gestapo is mercilessly rounding up suspected enemies of the Third Reich. Bruno Kassler, the fast-rising head of the Gestapo Regional Headquarters in Heidelberg, Germany, discovers a secret about one of the scientists working to create the atomic bomb. Physicist Joseph Engel was born a Jew and adopted by Christian parents at birth. Kassler is convinced that Engel is a spy and that his discovery will earn Kassler a great promotion. Gabi Mueller is a young Swiss woman working for the forerunner to the CIA. She has a great talent for breaking into safes that impress her employers. She is asked to take on a special mission to escort Joseph Engel out of Germany before the Gestapo can catch him. The Americans believe that Engel is the key to Germanys development of this super weapon. If they can get Engel out of Germany, his wisdom will be of great use to the United States and the Allied forces. There is something fascinating and heroic about the stories from this historical period. Tricia Goyer and Mike Yorkey have added to that list. Each character hooked me into their world and agenda. I couldnt wait to see how all the threads would weave together. The Swiss Courier is a unique look at the front lines of World War II and what everyday people sacrificed to stand up against the evil surrounding them. Everyday farmers, shopkeepers, and soldiers alike risked their lives to do what was right. This was an unexpected and thrilling adventure. I highly recommend this book for readers ages 16 and up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Swiss Courier
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patty Roth
I read an advance copy of The Swiss Courier and loved it. I'm not a history buff but Yorkey and Gorey pulled me in with dramatic and historical twists and turns that surprised me to the end--so much so that I plan to reread it when it comes out in paperback. The stakes are huge--Hitler's army is rapidly advancing and killing while innocent families hide and are exterminated without mercy. I tried to save the pages to read on the treadmill when I require an intense book to hold me there for an hour at a time and this book did the trick.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.