Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell The Frontiersman's Daughter

Revell The Frontiersman's Daughter

Lovely but tough as nails, Lael Click is the daughter of a celebrated frontiersman. Haunted by her father's former captivity with the Shawnee Indians, as well as the secret sins of her family's past, Lael comes of age in the fragile Kentucky settlement her father founded. Though she faces the loss of a childhood love, a dangerous family feud, and the affection of a Shawnee warrior, Lael draws strength from the rugged land she calls home, and from Ma Horn, a distant relative who shows her the healing ways of herbs and roots found in the hills. But the arrival of an outlander doctor threatens her view of the world, God, and herself--and the power of grace and redemption.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 out of 25100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Frontiersman's Daughter
Review 1 for The Frontiersman's Daughter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Read!!!!

Date:January 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cathy Lynn Bryant Author
Location:Bangor,Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second novel I have read by Laura Frantz. As before, I was not at all disappointed. She does a marvelous job of describing details pertaining to the times in which the stories take place. Her characters are lovable and the stories gripping. In time I hope to read every novel she has written. I am adding her to my list of favorite authors.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Frontiersman's Daughter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Frontiersman's Daughter

Date:November 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Renee C
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review originally published on Black n Gold Girl's Book Spot (10/17/09)
I love to read all types of stories featuring different time periods in the history of our country. I can't remember the last time I read a Christian fiction book based around the frontier beyond the Cumberland Gap. Most of the new fiction I've been seeing has been based around the Civil War or later life farther West. The Frontiersman's Daughter is a refreshing change. It's late 18th century!
I really enjoyed this story especially all the fascinating aspects of herbal medicine and the treatment of illnesses in the wilderness. Lael, an independent young woman was taught the curative nature of native plants by her aunt Ma Horn and from there went on to help those at Fort Click until Doctor Ian Justus arrived. Eventually Lael and Ian join forces to help with the treatment of ailments at the fort and the area that surrounds.
There was a bit of a love story but mostly this book was about Lael growing up and finding herself and her faith. A very enjoyable read. The only thing that I had a problem with was Captain Jack! I want to know what happened to him...he was a friend to Lael and her father but after a few brief encounters with Lael he disappeared. I liked him! Oh well, maybe we'll meet him again in a future book!
*I received my complimentary copy from the publisher in exchange for posting my honest review.*
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Frontiersman's Daughter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Epic shouldn't mean marathon!

Date:September 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Margot
Location:South Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This very long (epic=400 pages!) book started off very slowly. It is the story of Lael Click, daughter of one of the first frontiersmen to settle beyond the Appalachians. It starts when Lael is 13 years old, and although they married young in those days, I found it almost impossible to relate to the feelings for men that are attributed to such a young girl. I appreciated the way she honored her father throughout her life, and enjoyed it all much more once she was grown up, growing closer to God, and being courted by a strong Christian doctor. Laura Frantz writes very descriptively, and I enjoyed the way she gave both sides of the white/Indian clash. So it has good points and bad, was a bit long, but all in all an interesting novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Frontiersman's Daughter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Trustworthy fiction

Date:July 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jocelyn Green, author of Faith Deployed
Location:Cedar Falls, IA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laura Frantz is a master wordsmith, painting vivid settings, multi-layered characters and spellbinding plots. The research required for this story left me in awe--I'm a Laura Frantz fan for life. Can't wait to get started on her next novel.
~Jocelyn Green, author of Widow of Gettysburg
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Frontiersman's Daughter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not what I expected, but a good book

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sqwiggles
Location:California
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the first book by Laura Frantz, however I read Courting Morrow Little first. I loved that book and the relationship between Morrow and the Native American. I was hoping for that forbidden love in this book and it's not what I got. When I read the description in the back about a handsome doctor coming into the settlement I thought it would be a Shawnee. In the book, Lael had 3 different love interest and she did not end up with the person I wanted her with. Although I do like Ian, I thought that the relationship between Lael and Captain Jack is what this book would be about. When the character Ian was introduced I felt like the Captain Jack storyline was abandoned and I didn't like that. The redeeming part about the book for me was that it was well written and interesting, so although I was disappointed in the turn in the story, I still liked it. As a reader I would have liked some closure about Captain Jack because he was an interesting character and we never found out what happened to him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Frontiersman's Daughter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent author. A quality product.

Date:March 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Donna W
Location:Hamilton, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very well-written novel and visually descriptive of the time and place, owing largely, I imagine, to the author's own family history in Kentucky since the 1700's. An excellent read.... so much so, that as soon as I finished it, I started the book all over again! I also purchased and read the author's other Kentucky Revolutionary period novels, Courting Morrow Little and The Colonel's Lady, and was similarly pleased. Highly recommend any and all of these books.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Frontiersman's Daughter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Irresistable!

Date:March 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked up this book, completely oblivious to what it would cost me... a good night's sleep. I was up till-
well never mind how late I was reading till ;)
Laura Frantz has weaved a beautiful story filled with love, loss, freedom and heart. I couldn't put down. Highly recommended to lovers of great historical fiction! For a day, I was transported into the harsh beauty of the wild American frontier, and it's a visit I won't soon forget.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Frontiersman's Daughter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Captivating & Delightful Adventure

Date:January 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dolly
Location:New Mexico
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since reading Laura's fantastic “Courting Morrow Little,” I’ve been anxiously anticipating the delight of another Laura Frantz story. This was Laura’s first book, & it was absolutely wonderful! I was captivated by Lael from the first page & truly felt that I journeyed alongside her through the entire adventure. From her deep love for her father, confusion with her mother, protective heart towards her brother, oneness with the land, desire to serve the people & to make the wilderness of frontier Kentucke her own – everything Lael did, she did with passion, courage & a true pioneer spirit. My heart struggled as much as hers as she longed for a lost love, dared to open her heart to the possibility of a different life, & then struggled to believe she could ever measure up to the utterly amazing man God intended for her all along. Laura’s pacing was perfect as she allowed the reader to discover hidden truths alongside Lael, & the twists & turns of Lael’s story made it hard to put it down even for a few hours! Ma Horn was a particular favorite of mine because I had the privilege of having that type of older woman in my life, too. Through Lael, Laura gave beautiful, breath-taking life to seasons, landscapes, & life on the frontier. The loveliest part of this story, for me, was watching God’s patient, tender, & loving pursuit of a free-spirited young lady’s heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Frontiersman's Daughter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Swept Away Into 18th Century Kentucky!

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lisa Michele
Location:Washington State
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow. Laura Frantz is an incredibly gifted writer. The characters in this beautiful story became very real to me, and I'd forget where I was when I was reading it. I felt transported to another time and place. Even the setting, 18th century Kentucky, was like a character in itself. One of the best historicals I've ever read, and Laura Frantz is my new favorite author.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Frontiersman's Daughter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The frontiersman's Daughter was the first book that I have read in a very long time that was set in colonial America. I have to admit, I had an extremely hard time getting into this book. It actually took me three different tries to get past the first five chapters. I think that the characters didn't grab me right off, so it took me until the first third of the book before I truly began to enjoy it.
Now once I got into it, I found it to be a good book, keeping my attention for the remainder of it.
Will I pick up another book by this author? At this point I'm really undecided. I hate to give up on a author that's new to me, but on the other hand, first impressions are what they are.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Frontiersman's Daughter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A really good reading experience

Date:July 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faithful
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoying reading this book to the point that I wish there was a continuation. I touch my heart and I would recommend this book to anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Frontiersman's Daughter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Amazing!

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Megan
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was just wonderful. It transported me back to a time that I haven't ever really read any books about. The way that Frantz wrote the book was terrific. I am looking forward to reading Laura Frantz's other novels. :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Frontiersman's Daughter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
CJ Lewis
Location:Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. The characters in the book just dragged you into the story. It was a fairly long book but kept me reading until the end. I just could not quit reading. This was my first book that I had ever read from this author and I cannot wait to read more from her.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Frontiersman's Daughter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fantastic and complex!

Date:December 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
ladybug
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. Finally a book where I didn't know how it was going to end after only reading a few pages! It was a pleasure to read, full of rich characters that I will not soon forget. All of the author's books are wonderful.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Frontiersman's Daughter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Zane Grey quality

Date:October 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shirl
Location:Oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For some overall reason,as I read this book, it kept reminding me of Zane Grey. I have never experienced this before when reading a book. I grew up on Zane grey and Louis LaMour. It is a terrific read. I am sure that I will read it again.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Frontiersman's Daughter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very enjoyable

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
daisyrose
Location:Brisbane, Australia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book and had trouble putting it down. It had a different historical story which included the local indigenous Indians. It looked how the expansion of migrants through America affected them and also how hard life was for all back then.
I highly recommend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Frontiersman's Daughter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Reminiscent of Christy by Catherine Marshall

Date:August 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
It was clear to me right away why all of my friends love Laura Frantz's books. Seriously, she has got a way with words that very few authors can replicate. It's an almost lyrical, haunting style that transported me to the back hills of Kentucky (referred to as Kentucke), and drew me into the relationships between Lael, Ma Horn, Ian, and Susanna, that it was oh-so-very-hard to turn that final page.
I couldn't help but compare The Frontiersman's Daughter to two other stories that I've watched and/or read about over and over--Christy by Catherine Marshall (book) and Dr. Quinn (tv show). Ian reminded me a great deal of the doctor (his name escapes me, but he's also from Scotland) from Christy that had to slowly gain acceptance in an area full of superstitious people, while also silently carrying a torch for Christy herself. Then, Lael reminded me a bit of Dr. Quinn because of her care and concern for the Indians. Lael didn't have as much contact with them in this book as Dr. Quinn did in the tv show, but her father did when she was a young girl, and the lessons he taught her early on about them stayed with her the rest of her life.
For those who can't get enough stories about this area and these people, and also enjoy a slow-paced story, I would suggest checking out Jan Watson (Sweetwater Run and Still House Pond are two that I've read). Personally, all these back-woods-type stories are starting to grow on me, and I know it won't be long before Courting Morrow Little makes it way into my hot little hands, quickly followed by The Colonel's Lady. :o) My rating is 4.5 Stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Frontiersman's Daughter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lynda Sibayan
Location:Temecula, California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an e-reader book and although it was a free purchase, I loved the story and I would have purchased the book...I did not know what the outcome was going to be and for most of the stories that I read, the end is predictable...this one kept me guessing and I liked that.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Frontiersman's Daughter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the book!

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked this 'free' book so much I bought another one by this author. Enjoyed it too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Frontiersman's Daughter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
tjhanc
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed the story and the way in which the author wrote from the perspective of the frontiers daughter and her maturity over time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.