Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell The Colonel's Lady

Revell The Colonel's Lady

In 1779, when genteel Virginia spinster Roxanna Rowan arrives at the Kentucky fort commanded by Colonel Cassius McLinn, she finds that her officer father has died. Penniless and destitute, Roxanna is forced to take her father's place as scrivener. Before long, it's clear that the colonel himself is attracted to her. But she soon realizes the colonel has grave secrets of his own--some of which have to do with her father's sudden death. Can she ever truly love him?
Average Customer Rating:
4.915 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
47 out of 47100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Colonel's Lady
Review 1 for The Colonel's Lady
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A story about forgiveness and trust

Date:February 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been waiting for a chance to read this book since I received in for Christmas two years ago. I have heard so many good things about this author's books, and I wasn't disappointed. Let me start off by saying I generally tend to stay away from books so closely related to war and war-like times for personal reasons, so I was a little hesitant when I started reading this book and realized it was set in the middle of a war. However, as I got further into the book, the war faded from my mind because the author does such a wonderful job of bringing her characters to life. The plot is set in Kentucky at Fort Endeavor. The author gives such a rich description of life on the remote Kentucky fort that I felt like I was living in that time! The picture she painted was bleak and depressing at times, as I'm sure it was for some of the soldiers who were sent to the remote forts with no settlements near.
The main characters, Roxanna Rowan and Colonel Cassius McLinn, were very well developed in my opinion. Because the author does not focus too much on the secondary characters, even though they were important to the story, I feel like I really got to know Roxie and Cass and could feel their emotions and love, as they did. There were times when I could have shaken both of them silly because of their stubbornness and hard-headed ways. I loved watching their lives unfold individually and together.
For a Christian novel, I was surprised as the amount of drinking that was done in the book. However, it was vitally important to the story. For one, the remoteness of the fort caused soldier morale to slip very easily. Giving the soldiers something to numb their pain was probably one of the only ways to keep their morale up. Second, it allowed the reader to really connect with the changes in Cass throughout the book. The author, by no means, glamorized the drunken state of things. Instead, she effectively showed the reader that drinking does nothing but numb the pain for a short time. The only thing that Cass could rely on to take the pain away and ease his guilt was God. The author does a fantastic job of showing both Cass' and Roxie's spiritual development.
Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I would love to read more by this author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Colonel's Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical, Indians, War, Romance & Faith

Date:January 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book I've read by Laura Frantz. In viewing sites on books to read I kept seeing Laura's name and great reviews. I finally found one of her books (the big bookstores are on the other side of town). This takes place during the American Revolution in Kentucke (yep-that's the way the spelled it back then-I used to live in Kentucky). Roxanna travels from Virginia to a remote fort in Kentucke. Only when she arrives she finds out that her father was killed while on patrol. She also arrives at the fort, via ferry, with "ladies of the evening" and a small girl.
This is well paced, you have romance, Indians, traitors, war, hardships, faith, forgiveness, and learning to accept that God does know best, whether we can see it or not.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and have already started her book "Courting Morrow Little" Its even faster paced than this book. I have found another author to add to my "favorites" list. The reviews I read on Laura Frantz's writing were astute and I agree with them. No one asked me to read or leave a review on this book. I try to leave reviews on books that I truly enjoyed. I liked her books enough that I went and bought another one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Colonel's Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read

Date:September 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janet Mcgee
Location:Southern California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was very intertaining & insightful. I enjoyed it very much. I had a hard time putting it down. I will read it again and again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Colonel's Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good reading

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
LindaA
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one book that holds your attention all the way thru. I enjoyed it very much and would recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Colonel's Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
canuck
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I have just finished reading this book and it is one of the best I have ever read. The story is filled with commitment to our Lord and focuses on trusting in Him no matter the cost. I absolutely loved this book.
The research the author must have done to draw the reader into the story is exceptional. Thank you so much for your heart and dedication to God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Colonel's Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Deborah Holbert
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was very good. I would highly recommend it. This was the author's third frontier book. Although each one is a stand alone novel they mention names and places from the other books and I like that in a book. I look forward to reading other books by this author.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Colonel's Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Vibrant, Beautiful & Exciting

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dolly
Location:New Mexico
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This title & the lovely cover drew me to this book over & over, but I hadn’t “met” Laura yet. Thus, I didn’t end up reading it until after “Courting Morrow Little” & “The Frontiersman’s Daughter” – when I knew all of Laura’s books would be “must read” for me. In fact, “The Colonel’s Lady” absolutely reinforced that declaration! It was one of those stories that I literally could not put down. Roxanna’s beauty was so much more than just how she looked. She showered nurturing love on little Abby, extended grace to fallen women even when they disappointed her, blessed an entire fort every time she lost herself in the kitchen, & radiated such peace in Christ that she comforted those around her. Roxanna had no expectations from others or from the Lord, but she was such a kind person that everyone wanted to care of her. I got so caught up in Roxanna’s point of view that I was surprised right along with her when “we” jumped to the wrong conclusion more than once! The Colonel was exactly the kind of roguish hero that every damsel in distress dreams of finding. It’s hard to remember that this vibrant & beautiful book was primarily set in a Kentucky frontier fort during a dismal winter in 1779. Laura filled not just the pages, but also my heart with a desire for something more - that bud of hope that can only blossom under the Sonshine of Jesus Christ.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Colonel's Lady
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I have enjoyed the history & charactors

Date:March 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joanie Keiser
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a new authur for me and now I want to read all her books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Colonel's Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I'd be the colonel's lady... ;)

Date:March 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished this book, my second Laura Frantz novel, and let me just say that I am hooked. She creates a world that captivates and enraptures you so tightly that you don't want to leave. The characters are real, and I found myself yelling at them once or twice... :)
Great story, but I think I preferred her other book, The Frontiersman's Daughter. The storyline was a little stronger in that one...
All in all, a highly recommended book to all lovers of colonial historical romance. I suppose I could tell you that there is a super handsome man in it, *spoiler*and you will be frustrated at the female for refusing him so many times! What is wrong with some woman?! :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Colonel's Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This one should be one your list

Date:December 10, 2012
In October, I discovered a fall scavenger hunt (The Fall Christian Fiction Scavenger Hunt). Y’all, best.idea.ever. It was a scavenger hunt through the web that involved 31 authors. Each one linked to the next author/blog, with a clue and introduction to another author. Not only did each blog have a giveaway, but the grand prize was a Kindle Fire and signed copies of 31 books. Not only was it fun, but I enjoyed “meeting” new authors and added about 3,000 books to my must read list. Thank the heavens for the public library.
And one of those was this one! The Colonel’s Lady sounded interesting, it takes place in a different era of historical fiction than I normally read (it was also my first book of Laura Franz) and I was hoping it would be a good read. I suck at writing bad reviews of books because I feel like its mean (even though that’s totally not true, because there’s going to be some books you just don’t like). But the good news is that I don’t have to with this one. It was a great read!
I enjoyed the time period, the descriptions and of course the characters! I thought Franz did a honest job, where everything wasn’t peachy keen, but life as it was. Where loved ones got sick, were killed and people betrayed. But there was also hope and love in the midst of our nation’s beginnings. A very entertaining read I fully recommend!
On a random sidenote, if you don’t follow publishers and authors on Facebook and/or Twitter, you should! I get all the notices of free kindle books and so I got another one of Franz’s books for free! Woot! I look forward to reading Courting Morrow Little: A Novel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Colonel's Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Full immersion romance

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathleen L. Maher
Location:Breesport, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seldom have I been so immersed in a story world. I am so thankful this was not a quick read for me. It was long, luxuriant, and utterly consuming.
My pool deck, my bedroom, the doctor's office, and every spare minute in the car turned into the Kentucky wilderness this summer. I experienced Roxanna Rowan's vulnerability to heartache, imminent Indian attack, a Spartan existence within the stockade walls of a military fort, but most alarming of all, the dangerous charms of Colonel Cassius Clayton McLinn.
McLinn is a man among men, redoubtable in stature, in reputation, in authority, and in making Roxie's sensible heart betray her. The daughter of a soldier, she proves herself as determined and formidable as he in a contest of wills and of romance.
What I found most appealing was the way the author crafts relationships. Believable and sympathetic supporting cast, such as Bella the freed slave woman who befriends Roxie, almost steal scenes with their pithy humor and poignant roles. The setting itself assumes a character-like quality. The harsh frontier winter slowly yields to the change of seasons, mirroring a theme throughout the story of redemption
from darkness and despairing circumstance.
This is s book that almost defies genre, because it is so much more than a romance, though the romance itself pulled at my heart so relentlessly I could never go long without turning another page. Heart-achingly beautiful and sorrowful and so full of longing, the hero and heroine move beyond sympathetic to saturating, engaging the reader's highest hopes and deepest longings.
And yet, this is a story of the power of hope itself. Hope in God. Hope in the future. Hope in the better angels of our nature. And for me, hope that more novels of this caliber will continue to flow from a master storyteller like Ms. Frantz.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Colonel's Lady
This review is fromThe Colonel's Lady -eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceeded expectations

Date:September 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sherri
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading Courting Morrow Little by Laura Frantz, I wasn't expecting a whole lot. However, I was greatly surprised. I absolutely loved this book. What made this book so great? One word - Cass. He made this book stand out. I felt sorry for him every time the heroine, Roxanne, would think wrongly about him. The romance was wonderful and I loved that Frantz included the verse from 2 Kings about Elisha. That is a favorite of mine. I highly recommend this book for anyone who loves historical time periods with a great romance. Thanks, Laura Frantz, for a great book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Colonel's Lady
This review is fromThe Colonel's Lady -eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this sensitive and thoughtful romance.

Date:August 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
ladybug
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laura Frantz is my favorite author. I have already read this book several times and it will remain one of my favorites. Her characters and story lines are rich and believable. I absolutely love her main characters. Don't miss this one!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Colonel's Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I give it 4.75 (close to 5 stars). Not a bad book!

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Colonel's Lady... Alright, what a satisfying ending to this story!
There's no doubt about it, Laura Frantz brings something unique and worth discovering in Christian Fiction. From the very first page of this novel, it is undeniable that she knows how to craft not only a well-researched story, but also a superbly well-written one.
Make know mistake, this author knows how to tell a tale.
However, I will be honest and admit that there were some parts in this book that I was tempted to give up on. I guess I was looking for more and at times, things were moving too fast and many outcomes were very predictable. There were some passages that could have had more depth and more flow. BUT that does not change the fact that this is a suspenseful story, with enough romantic sizzles (amen, ladies?) a happy ending and a powerful biblical reminder about our great Lord of Hosts backing us up in battle.
To anyone else interested in it, well, why not give it a try and see? :-)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Colonel's Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Laura Frantz is amazing

Date:February 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
IknowIAM
Location:Pfafftown NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laura Frantz book not only give entertainment but history lessons as well. You can not put this book down once started. She paints a time long gone and characters that are so real, that you will forget they are fictional. Can wait till fall for her next book!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Colonel's Lady
This review is fromThe Colonel's Lady -eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of my TOP Books of the Year!

Date:March 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Denise G.
Location:Mariposa, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of my great pleasures is finding a new author. I found one in Laura Franz! I decided to give this book a try after reading great reviews. They were right. What a FANTASTIC book! I can’t say enough about how much I enjoyed it. Set in 1779 when the early American settlers are battling England, we meet our heroine, Roxanna, a genteel woman of Virginia. At that time in history, someone of her age is considered to be somewhat of a spinster. She has lost everyone but her father, who is a scrivener for the army at a fort in Kentucky. She makes the life-threatening and difficult journey to the fort, only to discover that her father has recently died. She has nowhere else to go, and stays on as scrivener to the handsome but intimidating Colonel Cassius McLinn. Before long, we find the two attracted to one another. But each hold deep, painful secrets which play havoc with their lives and their relationship to one another.
This is a sweeping, beautiful saga rich with history and exquisite prose. I loved reading about life on the fort from the different perspectives, as well as getting a vision of the fight for our country’s freedom. The detail was just breathtaking. The relationship between Cass and Roxy was heart pounding yet poignant. The issues they faced were deep and profound. There were twists and turns along with joy and loss. There was love and betrayal, bitterness and forgiveness. A story rich in humanity, buoyed with divine hope. No gimmicks, no games. Just beautiful, brilliant writing that was as informative as it was enjoyable. This book had it all. A not-to-be-missed, perfect book. Yes, perfect. It was that good. I absolutely, positively recommend this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Colonel's Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been impatiently waiting for the release of The Colonel's Lady. As I became to love Laura's previous books I was sure that I would not be disappointed with this book!
Roxanna Rowan is traveling from Virginia to Kentucke to visit her father who serves as an officer under Colonel McLinn. When she arrives at Fort Endeavor she learns that her father was recently killed. She can't return and has no other options than to stay in her father's cabin.
Colonel Cassius McLinn was with Roxanna's father when he died and promised him to take care of Roxie.
While reading how their lives come together I imagined living in the Fort with them. I could smell the odors, hear the people talking and shouting, hear the bullets whistling, feel the winter cold and... feel the chemistry between the colonel and his lady *sigh*. I was really there and witnessed it all. Few authors can make me feel like I'm actually in the story.
This was a great read! Very well done, Laura!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Colonel's Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A TRULY EXQUISITE “LADY”

Date:November 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Julie Lessman
Location:St. Louis
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It’s no secret to those who know me that Laura Frantz is hands-down one of my favorite writers IN THE WORLD, her haunting prose and rich historical setting almost second to none. And did I mention romance?? Lord, have mercy—Laura’s romantic tension has more sparks and power than a battery of muskets fired in the Kentucke Territory of 1779. The Colonel’s Lady is no exception … or maybe it is … “exceptionally” beautiful and heart-rending, and wonderfully, achingly hard on the pulse!! Just when I think I have read one of the best books ever, Laura writes a new one, so let me say it again—The Colonel’s Lady is easily one of the best books I have ever read in the Christian market—that is, until her next one comes out!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Colonel's Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hurry ... buy a copy today!

Date:November 6, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A friend introduced me to Laura Frantz about a year ago. The same friend recently loaned me another incredible book by Laura Frantz.
The Colonel's Lady may be the best book I've read all year. No lie. It's fantastic! Laura Frantz again takes readers on a journey to the Kentucke frontier during the American Revolution. Roxanna Rowan arrives at a remote fort in the frontier only to learn that her father has recently died and she must remain at the fort until it is safe for her to return to Virginia. A difficult commanding officer, peace negotiations with Indians, impending attacks from the British army, traitorous acts from someone within the fort . . . there isn't a dull moment from the first page until the last!
Laura Frantz is an incredible writer. Her writing style is absolutely beautiful. The way she describes the people and places in this story made me feel as though I were actually there in Kentucke in 1779. I think I would recognize these characters if I met them on the street!
I am such a huge fan of Laura Frantz. My only complaint is that she can't write fast enough for me! If you haven't yet read Laura Frantz's books, consider this your invitation. I can't wait to see what she writes next!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Colonel's Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

MOVE TO THE TOP OF YOUR TBR STACK!!!

Date:October 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
patti lacy
Location:Normal, Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handsome Colonel Cassius McLinn, who's pinned a Badge of Military Merit on his uniform, possesses the fire and charm of his Irish ancestors. By day, Colonel McLinn, with his brawn and brains, "holds fort" at Endeavor, a remote Kentucky outpost. Yet at night, secrets that are locked in the golden compartment of a precious heart-shaped locket haunt the jaded, war-weary colonel.
When Virginian Roxanna Rowan, suffering from the humiliation of a broken engagement, heads west in search of her father, who serves under Colonel McLinn, God links her with a band of dissolute prostitutes and a winsome deaf mute child.
Roxanna reaches Fort Endeavor, which is blanketed in doom and death, for her father has been killed in a recent skirmish. A solemn Colonel McLinn allows Roxanna and her ragtag band of women to stay. Immediately Roxanna pitches in with kitchen and cleaning chores, and, though grieving, agrees to assume the scrivener's job her father masterfully performed for Colonel McLinn.
An old diary of her father's and her chores as scrivener alert Roxanna to more secrets. Day by day, she realizes that Colonel McLinn just might not be who he appears to be, though day by day, she's losing her heart to him all the same.
Can Roxanna forgive the past and imagine a plan to prosper her life? Can Colonel McLinn rekindle the faith of his childhood and allow God to anchor his relationships? His life?
If you connected with Frantz's The Frontiersman's Daughter, you will REVEL in the lovely symbolism, the eloquent prose, the masterful way Frantz wields Revolutionary-era verbiage. This book has everything: antagonist, spies, an evil twin brother, a broken heart, a miraculous deliverance. Absolutely DO NOT miss this AMAZING READ!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.