Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell The Director's Cut, Backstage Pass Series #3

Revell The Director's Cut, Backstage Pass Series #3

Tia Morales is used to calling the shots. She's the director of the popular sitcom Stars Collide, and her life on set is calculated and orderly. Well, most of the time. But her life outside the studio is another matter. If only she could get her family to behave as well as her stars do! When she starts butting heads with handsome camera operator Jason Harris, it's enough to send a girl over the edge. Will she ever learn to let go and take life--and love--as it comes?
Average Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Director's Cut, Backstage Pass Series #3
Review 1 for The Director's Cut, Backstage Pass Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Happily Ever After . . .

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
cherri71
Location:Houston, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have enjoyed reading the Backstage Pass Series but a little sorry to see it end. I look forward to reading other novels by Janice Thompson, however. Her light-hearted romances always seem, at the core, to teach some valuable lessons we can all apply to our lives.
In this story, The Director's Cut, we are placed right square in the middle of the day to action on the set of a sitcom, with all its twists and turns, both real and dramatized.
Tia, the main character, as well as some of the other characters, learn valuable lessons on what is most important in life and where we need to place the most energy.
As always, Mrs. Thompson's writing is able to portray some real life issues from a light-hearted comedic view. Very enjoyable indeed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Director's Cut, Backstage Pass Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun, light read

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
ChristianFictionLover
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like seeing behind the scenes in Hollywood. That setting has always fascinated me. Janice has been there. She’s been a screenwriter. So reading about her characters gives us an inside glimpse. Her characters are fun to watch, and she carries off an ensemble cast very well.
This is a light read, as many rom coms (romantic comedies) are. The perfect escape. However, I felt the pace moved slowly as did the romance. I did like how the story is classified as a romance, but is written entirely in first person. She’s done this before in this series, and I like it. She makes it work.
I liked the theme of control—the fact that control is a myth, that we can't really control every element of our lives. The heroine is the director of a sitcom, but she can't control (direct) her own life. Her family is out of control. Her love life isn't all she wants it to be. She'll have to learn that God alone is in control. A great theme.
The story has relatable themes without bearing the heaviness of some stories. If you enjoy a light read, an escape, you'll appreciate this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Director's Cut, Backstage Pass Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Slow to start, but loads of fun

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An entertaining read about the entertainment industry!
Tia Morales is the director of the Golden Globe winning hit TV sitcom, Stars Collide. Tia stuggles to hold on to her sanity while trying to stay strong and take care of everything all by herself. With a hit TV show comes...a lot of pressure! Will Tia be able to keep her head above water, with all the craziness going on around her?
I'm gonna be honest it took me awhile to get hooked onto this book, longer than I would have liked, somewhere around page 100. But after that, the book really took off and I became invested in the characters and the pages didn't stop turning until the last page was turned down.
I think that one of my favorite characters was Lenora, who was just the sweetest old lady, who marched to the beat of her own drum, and had fun even though she was losing her memory.
I liked the interwoven humor, and I really liked the larger than life characters. Even though I hadn't read the other books in the series I was able to enjoy it, though that might have been why I didn't jump on right away. But this was just overall a fun book, that was just a blast to read!
I received this book from the publisher in return for an honest review. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Director's Cut, Backstage Pass Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lasting Love in Hollywood!

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
KeliZ
Location:Spring, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a fabulous book! The Director's Cut is the 3rd book in a series called "Backstage Pass". Janice is a wonderful writer! Love the character's Tia and Jason! what a wonderful relationship they have! and who can not have a heart for precious Lenora! It is so good to read a story of Christian people in Hollywood!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Director's Cut, Backstage Pass Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can Love be Directed?

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tia Morales is the director of the popular sitcom Stars Collide. It’s her job to take the script the writers (Athena, Stephen, and team) have created and work with the actors and cameramen to pull the whole package together. At least on the set, Tia’s life is carefully scripted and people respect her. In her personal life, her parents’ marriage is on-again-off-again and her brothers have trouble keeping jobs. Her younger sister has just finished beauty school, and their parents are sure Tia can wave her magic wand and get Benita a job. To Tia’s dismay, it is almost that easy. Now she has to deal with her sister flirting with all the guys on the set as well, lessening Tia’s control of Stars Collide.
Jason Harris, one of the cameraman, doesn’t seem to fall under Benita’s charms. Still, he continually seems to butt heads with Tia. If only he weren’t so opinionated. If only he weren’t so popular with the cast. If only he weren’t so cute.
Jason, for his part, comes from an upper crust family. Tia is ashamed of her own family and, as her relationship with Jason begins to grow, struggles with allowing Jason to see the real Tia Morales. She’s the boss on the Stars Collide set, but in real life, it seems she’s anything but in control.
In The Director’s Cut, the final book in the Backstage Pass series, Janice Thompson wields comedy and reality to provide a glimpse into the makings of a sitcom and one woman’s issues with control.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Director's Cut, Backstage Pass Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent ending to a great series!

Date:July 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I have loved this series from Janice Thompson and really hate to see it end, but I love the way Janice wrapped it up in this 3rd book in the series Backstage Pass. She keeps all of the previous characters in the middle of everything while bringing Tia and Jason to the forefront and managing to introduce a few new characters that really add to the mix. Lots of fun calamities ensue as Tia tries to figure out how to keep personal and business lives separate (not going to happen!) and realizes that she may direct a tv show but she can't direct everything in her life or she wouldn't need God and her faith. The ride getting to that realization is so great that I really hated to put the book down when I was done. One thing I have learned - if it says Janice Thompson then I want to read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Director's Cut, Backstage Pass Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these people. It was exciting to see the ice begin to melt between Tia and Jason. And the chapter titles. Can you figure out how they relate to each other and to the book? Janice Thompson always does special things with these titles.
It’s always good to see how her characters progress through the books. We even had another wedding done by the planner from the Weddings by Bella series.
And then there’s Brock from that same series playing a bigger role here. If you’re a regular reader here, you know I really like that hunk of manliness.
But back to Tia and Jason. He has a lot of barriers to get past with this lady. This is a laugh out loud with a few tears kind of book. I’m sorry to see this series end.
I wonder what Ms Thompson has in store for us next. I hope it’s something that can carry over some of these characters. By the way, I miss those Texas ladies and their endless supply of advice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Director's Cut, Backstage Pass Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun read with some depth to it.

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoy reading books about people who are control freaks to begin with, but they eventually learn to relax and enjoy life more due to situations beyond their control. God puts me in regular situations like this, and though hard at first, I learn to accept the challenges over time. Tia's life is a great example of this scenario. Her residual shame from her upbringing tends to filter through the cracks in her heavily guarded walls, and the shame often distorts her perception of life and how she deal with things. She often feels the need to bail her family out whenever situation they are stuck in. The heroine, Tia, is majorly codependent. Despite her grumpiness, Tia is a likable character and I couldn't help enjoying the scenes where Jason shows up and provides support and encouragement. It was a delight to see him in action. The conflict and petty jealousies were believable and so was the flirtatious sister. This was all done very well.
Tia was a tough cookie, but she had a soft interior and Jason was the perfect man to bring that out. He was a great hero to the point where he was almost too amazing, but I still liked him a lot. Every woman wants a Jason in their lives, right? I was totally feeling the love on the set and enjoyed the few surprises that came with Brock's reappearance, too. And then when Tia's sister turned her life around, I was thrilled. The best part of this book was probably the fact that Tia had to come to grips with the fact that she couldn't control everything, and that sometimes letting go was the best thing a person could do. It certainly adds a few more years to your life. The ending was heart-warming, too. I really enjoyed this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Director's Cut, Backstage Pass Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Ending to a Fun Series

Date:June 29, 2012
After reading the first two novels in Janice Thompson's Backstage Pass series, I was excited to read the final book, The Director's Cut. In this book, we get to know Tia, the director of Stars Collide better. While being in control and giving orders works well in her job, it doesn't work so well off stage. As Jason and Tia get to know one another better (and stop driving each other crazy!), Tia is challenged to let her guard down and learn to be vulnerable.
As with the previous books in this series, I found The Director's Cut to be warm, romantic, and funny! Tia's family plays a large role in the story and as a result, we get to see into her past and truly understand what makes Tia the way she is. (At times, they drove me crazy too!) I especially liked how her relationship with her family evolved. I think there's a lesson there for all of us in how we interact with our families - and others whom we "have" to have a relationship with.
Jason was a strong character as well. He consistently challenged and encouraged Tia to open up, to trust God, and to be vulnerable with her friends. It was neat to see him really leading the relationship, rather than Tia chasing after him. The progression of their relationship and the growth of Tia's character was more "realistic" than some of the other stories in the series. (Or maybe I just identified more with her "control-freak" ways!) I also really appreciated the short "epilogue" that Janice included in the author's note at the end of the book - a great way to give a little more closure to our time with such great characters.
This entire series was a lot of fun and I'm so glad I read them all! If you're looking for a fun story with great life lessons mixed in, this series is for you! [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Revell in exchange for my fair and honest review.
Available June 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Director's Cut, Backstage Pass Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rel Mollet
Location:Australia
Janice Thompson’s novels are always fun and invigorating and her final Backstage Pass novel continues that trend. Displaying her personal experience as a screenwriter with a Hollywood background, all the technical details and uniqueness of a TV show setting are teamed with genuine, down to earth characters wrestling with life, love and family. Faithful readers will enjoy the little nods to characters in some of her previous series and the ever present funny moments that make Janice Thompson’s stories uniquely hers. If you are looking for a story to relax with and enjoy, pick up a copy of The Director’s Cut today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Director's Cut, Backstage Pass Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A warm and quirky story full of fun

Date:June 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Wesley
Location:Terre Haute, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
'The Director's Cut' is book 3 of the Backstage Pass series by Janice Thompson. I have read other books by Janice Thompson, but none in this series. Despite not having read the first two books of this series I had no problem enjoying this book as a stand alone. Janice is excellent at creating believable characters who are quirky and full of life. This series occurs on the set of an award winning sitcom where the stories off screen are just as interesting as the ones that make it onto the screen.
Tia Morales, director extraordinaire, has a love life and family life full of humor ... and frustration. Tia likes to keep life on the set of her sitcom, Stars Collide, nice and orderly - the complete opposite of her life off the set. Tia is the golden child in a pretty dysfunctional Hispanic American family. She has always felt pressured to help her family members ... even though they tend to cause chaos in her life every time she does. This is an entertaining read, and I believe sitcom loving women will particularly love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Director's Cut, Backstage Pass Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Peek Behind the Scenes

Date:June 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
How good it is to see Lenora Worth exiting from her pink convertible! I was delighted to meet her again along with several other characters from the Backstage Pass series. The author has the ability to write characters such that this reader feels as if they are long-time friends. The novel can be enjoyed without having read the other titles in the series; however, the entire series is worth a reader's time.
I loved peeking behind the scenes of this award-winning sit com. Hollywood personalities are magnetizing. We fans can't get enough!
If you're looking for a lighthearted summer read, get a copy of The Director’s Cut! I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Available June, 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group. Thank you to Donna Hausler for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Director's Cut, Backstage Pass Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romance, A Sit-Com And A Lot Of Fun

Date:June 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janice Thompson in her new book, “The Director’s Cut” Book Three in the Backstage Pass series published by Revell brings us to Los Angeles and gives us the director’s viewpoint of one of the most popular sitcoms in television history, Stars Collide.
From the back cover: The one thing she can’t direct is her heart.
Tia Morales is used to calling the shots. She’s the director of the popular sitcom Stars Collide, and her life on the set is calculated and orderly. Well, most of the time. Life outside the studio is another matter. If only she could get other people to behave as well as her stars do! When she starts to have feelings for handsome cameraman Jason Harris–with whom she’s been butting heads for months–it’s enough to send a girl over the edge. Will she ever learn to let go and take life–and love–as it comes?
Full of the humor and crazy family dynamics Janice Thompson fans have come to love, this colorful story gives you an inside look at Hollywood and a healthy dose of romance.
Janice Thompson used to work in media screenplays and musical comedies for the stage so she knows a lot about what she writes about. In this last outing in the Backstage Pass series this time the focus is on Tia Morales. If you are a fan of Ms. Thompson’s books, and if you are not, why not, then you know who Brock Benson is. For those of you who might have missed it Brock Benson was featured in the Weddings By Bella series so it is not only great to see him again but to have a link between the two series. Ms. Thompson is a fine writer and she puts clever little things in the book to keep us smiling like the use of the names of television shows, past and present, as chapter titles. “The Director’s Cut” is a fun read, all the characters are likable and Ms. Thompson has a way of bringing you into the story and making the lives of the characters very real. I am sorry to see this series end but I am looking forward to the next series Ms. Thompson has in store for us.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Available June 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Director's Cut, Backstage Pass Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Humor and crazy family dynamics

Date:June 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sometimes a past experience is reflected in a book you are reading. Director's Cut for me was just that book. My husband worked in television production in Hollywood for a number of years, and the stories he brought home sounded much like this book - stranger than fiction. Tia's story is just crazy enough to have happened in that crazy town.
How could an uptight, perfectionist, award-winning director cope with her off-the-wall family, boy-crazy sister, and a cast to work with that is at once fun, kind, caring, and also a little crazy, and still keep on with her life? How can she overcome her reluctance to trust anyone of the male persuasion, and find that man God has for her, if there is such a person? In Hollywood, it is no problem. The land of fantasy sometimes becomes reality. How Tia not only finds that one true love and allows him into her crazy life and her not-exactly-typical family, is a story that you enjoy. You will laugh at her inept brothers who are remodeling her house; you will breath a sigh of relief when she puts another great show into the "can", and rejoice when she admits her need of that special man. Read and enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Director's Cut, Backstage Pass Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

LOVED THE ROMANCE!

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
THE DIRECTOR'S CUT by Janice Thompson is a good contemporary romance story. It is book 3 in the "Backstage Pass"series,but can be read as a stand alone. See, "Stars Collide", and "Hello, Hollywood".I love the romance between Tia Morales and Jason Harris. They where great characters. With humor,and a crazy family,you will get a glimpse into Hollywood and all its romance and glimmer. Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details can be found at Revell,a division of Baker Publishing Group,the author's website,and My Book Addiction and More.
“Available June 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: Sweet: No sex or scenes of physical intimacy except some kissing. No graphic violence or profanity
REVIEWED BY: DorothyA, My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Director's Cut, Backstage Pass Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thompson at the top of her game!

Date:June 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a fun book!
The third and final story in the “Backstage Pass” series was such a fun (and quick) read. From the very beginning of reading Tia’s “voice” on the page, I knew I would love this girl…and I did. She completely endeared me, though she certainly has her share of troubles!
Janice Thompson is at her best upon the page in first person voice. Tia came to life with her quirky little internal one liners and great perspective. What I appreciated and loved the most though was how the faith journey was woven through every part of the story and never became preachy.
Throw in a fun setting like Hollywood, quirky and fun secondary characters and the novel is just one plain enjoyable ride.
I have to say this one has been my favorite of the three in this series. How it combines series and funny with that signature romance all makes for a neat little package wrapped up in a great cover.
It doesn’t have the typical romance formula “boy gets girl, boy losses girl, boy wins girl back” and it was a nice change. More of a relationship that has progressed across three books and taken off in this novel.
All in all, the author is at the top of her game, I loved this story, loved the characters, loved the crafting of the novel. Totally an enjoyable couple hours of entertainment.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers for my copy to review.
**Available June 2012 from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Director's Cut, Backstage Pass Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dawn Turner
Location:Bisbee, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyable, easy read that kept moving well. I enjoyed it tremendously. Great reminder about WHO is REALLY in control of life's circumstances. Plus, it's always good to find yourself stared at in a restaurant because you're laughing while reading. *G* And I have to say, I agree with every one of Tia's friends and family regarding gray clothing. he he
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Director's Cut, Backstage Pass Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Highly recommended!

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ane Mulligan
Location:Suwanee, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Romantic comedy at its best, The Director's Cut is the third book in the Backstage Pass series and I loved it! The engaging characters invite you to walk their story beside them. The only thing I didn't like was when it ended. It's a great summer read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.