Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell A Love of Her Own, Heart of the West Series #3

Revell A Love of Her Own, Heart of the West Series #3

April McBride has suffered a broken engagement once before and fully intends to guard her heart when she travels to Lewistown, Montana, to attend her brother's wedding. One look around the small mining town convinces April that this won't be difficult--just a bunch of dusty shops, bad service, and ill-bred cowboys. But a run-in with a horse trainer named Wes Owen opens up vast possibilities for frustration, embarrassment, friendship, and . . . love? Can April and Wes see past their differences in order to envision a future together?
Average Customer Rating:
4.722 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
1 out of 250%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Love of Her Own, Heart of the West Series #3
Review 1 for A Love of Her Own, Heart of the West Series #3
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sherri
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really wanted to like this book since I liked the previous book in this series. However, I didn't like the first book in the series either. The heroine ruined this story for me. She was spoiled and snobblish from the beginning of the book to the end. I can't see her future with the hero as being a happy one. I was really looking forward to Wes's story and wanted him to have a happy ending. Sadly, I don't think he got it with April. I got the impression that even at the end, April thought that she was above Wes. He needed someone that would see him for the man he was, not who they wished he was. I still plan to read more from this author and hope that her books get better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Love of Her Own, Heart of the West Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With today's book review , the statement of "Money can't buy everything" rings true as we are about to find out that though the main character had everything her heart desired except the one thing money couldn't purchase - LOVE.
Review: A Love of Her Own - Maggie Brendan - 2010
When April McBride receives news that her brother is getting married in Montana , still nursing a broken heart and engagement . Guys are the last thing on her mind and of course , she is not letting anyone break down the walls that she has built around her heart. After a series of unfortunate events, April finds herself arriving just in time for the Wedding ceremony. Having to stay in a boarding house due to the motel being full finds April who has never been one for domestic chores having to try her hands at new things. This wouldn't be too bad but April from the moment she rode into Lewiston, Montana she has had constant run-ins with horse trainer Wes Owen. Unlucky for April though she is feeling more than hatred for Wes - she is feeling a mixed bag of emotions from hate, anger, embarrassment and even love which she hates to admit. Has April found the last thing she ever wanted in Lewiston , Montana ? Can April and Wes move past their indifference's for each other in order for them to have a future together or are they both destined to grow old as spinster and spinstess ? .
A Love of her own is a novel that will lead you on into a country-western journey of adventure and love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Love of Her Own, Heart of the West Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
beverly Grider
Although this is book three in the Heart of the West series, "A Love of Her Own" can be read as a stand alone without taking anything from the story-line. "A Love of Her Own" is an adventurous, humor-filled ride through love in 1896 Montana. April McBride is the daughter of a rich Colorado rancher and as such, is used to having things her way with people waiting on her every whim. Although she is spoiled, April has a good heart, which is still recovering from a broken engagement. While her parents are abroad celebrating their anniversary, she receives word that her brother, Josh, is getting married. April has only a few days to make the trip from Steamboat Springs, CO to Lewistown, MT to make it to her brother's wedding. The trip begins as a train ride and ends with April dashing into the church as the wedding has started inappropriately dressed for a wedding. April has only a short time to visit with her brother before he and his new bride, Juliana, leave on their honeymoon. It is during this time that Josh introduces April to his good friend, Wes Owen, a horse trainer, who April met briefly before running into the church.What happens during the time April waits for Josh & Juliana to return to their ranch is a story filled with wonderful characters that help April change from the self-centered girl that arrives in Lewistown to a woman with a warm, caring heart, strength of character, a good friend, trustful, and loving. Wes undergoes some character growth as his love for April blooms and he learns to handle this head-strong woman. The story is not without a few surprises along the way that keep the reader turning the pages to find out what will happen next. Woven through out the story is the gentle reminder of how God works in people's lives when they let Him guide their steps.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Love of Her Own, Heart of the West Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2010
Sweet, touching, engaging, and heartwarming are all great words to describe this book. April is a character that I really grew fond of, and I love the person she changed into as the story progressed. I can't wait to read more from this great new author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Love of Her Own, Heart of the West Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2010
A LOVE OF HER OWN by Maggie Brendan is a delightful Inspirational Historical Romance set in 1896 Lewistown, Montana.It is the third in the Heart Of The West series, but can be read as a stand alone. It is well written with depth and detail. It has a gentle prairie romance,faith, friendship, adventure, intriguing details and lively,witty dialogue.The characters are charming, intriguing, and lively. The heroine, April, is difficult at times, hard-headed, stubborn, beautiful and used to getting her way. The hero, Wes, is handsome, rough, stubborn, and frustrated by April at times. They learn to trust each other and their feelings. April came to Montana for her brother, Josh's, wedding,and finds friendship, trust, and love along the way. Wes finds he is in love with April, from first seeing her, all battered with dirt and dust.This is a true Western, Inspirational love story. If you enjoy Inspirational Romance and Western intrigue you will enjoy this one. I would highly recommend this book. If you have not had a chance to read the other two in the series,( Book One No Place For A Lady and Book Two The Jewel Of His Heart), I would recommend reading these two also. This book was received for review and details can be found at My Book Addiction and More and Revell.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Love of Her Own, Heart of the West Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2010
When it comes to sweet romance, few do it better than Maggie Brendan, and her third book in the Heart of the West Series, A Love of Her Own, is yet another example of why Maggie is so popular. When an author starts off with a heroine who did not endear readers in book 1 and grows her into a character you root for in book 3, then that's talent, and that's exactly what Ms. Brendan has done! I thoroughly enjoyed A Love of Her Own and highly recommend it to anyone with a "heart" for gentle romance in the old West.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Love of Her Own, Heart of the West Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lynn
Maggie Brendan has done it again in her 3rd book in the Heart of the West series. "A Love of Her Own" grabs you from the first page and doesn't let go until the surprise ending. It was refreshing to see someone who was so used to having everything done for her change so much and learn how to not only do for herself but for others as well. What a great picture of how you can change for the better if you just let God guide your steps. Maggie Brendan has the gift of not only making you feel like you know her characters but that you're right there with them. I think this was my favorite book of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Love of Her Own, Heart of the West Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ashley (ibreathe2read)
I'm probably the biggest fan of western romance novels, this side of the Mississippi. So, a series, with the title "Heart Of The West",I can't help but read it. LOLI was first introduced to author Maggie Brendan when I read her first book, No Place For A Lady. Since then, I've been eagerly been waiting the last book in the series. And the book was well worth the wait.I thought A Love Of Her Own was fantastic!! We first meet April McBride in Lady and believe me, she wasn't a favorite of mine. She was a spoiled brat, who was manipulative and stubborn. But in Love, we get to see things through April's eyes, and we understand why she is the way she is. But, in A Love Of Her Own, I really enjoyed "watching" April slowly go from a spoiled daddy's girl to Lewiston's sweetheart. I also liked that April wasn't a "girly,girl" and wasn't afraid to be different from the other young ladies.Gentle romances usually aren't my thing, but Ms. Brendan writes as if she has been writing for years, and she just has a way of sweeping you right up in the story from page one. Though this might be a sweet romance, the characters sure aren't. Their real and down to earth people who add depth to the story. However, I wish the main characters would have more depth, themselves.When April first comes to Lewiston, nobody much likes her. Then she meets Wes Owens, who is just as stubborn as she is, and when they're together...Boy! youhad better stand back, cause you just might get singed by all those sparks flyin' about.One of the reasons I only gave Love 3 1/2 stars, was because I haven't yet read bk.2 , Jewel Of His Heart. I think that if had, I probably would have recognised a lot of the secondary characters that appeared in Jewel and better understood the recent history of Lewsiton . In the end, when April was meeting the town's people for the first time, so was I. Nevertheless, I loved this book and I would recommend it to anybody who is a western novel fan, like myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Love of Her Own, Heart of the West Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2010
I have become quite fond of Maggie Brendans books and her newest book, A Love of Her Own has added to my fondness of her books. There are so many things to like about this book. First of all, I found it very relaxing. I like being taken back to places like Montana during the late 1800s. It provides a lovely backdrop to this story. The author has included a lot of details that make this story feel very real. It was also fun to see the same characters that were in the previous book, The Jewel of His Heart. Although, Aprils initial perception of Lewistown was quite different from Julianas, if my memory serves me correctly.April was not the easiest character to like in the beginning. She was spoiled and selfish and did not care what others thought about her, but watching her character grow and change was fun to watch. I liked how April was written, her character was unique and despite her spoiled ways, I found myself rooting for her.Once again, Maggie Brendans writing has left me with a happy feeling that I have come to expect from her books. I highly recommend A Love of Her Own or any of Maggies books for that matter. I cannot wait to see what she writes next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Love of Her Own, Heart of the West Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alene
I could not wait to get my hands on this book and I was not disappointed when I did. Of the three main females in this series, April was the one I connected with the least. She was always so selfish and feisty that I typically felt she got what she deserved. However, as God changed her heart, I found myself beginning to relate to relate to her a little more. It's so neat to watch her heart change and realize that God can do that in all of us. I was so happy for April and Wes the way that life worked out for them. Halfway through this book, you will not be able to put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Love of Her Own, Heart of the West Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2010
A unique love story. I found this book a little difficult to get into at first because the main character, April, is generally not likable. She is a very spoiled, me-centered, prideful, arrogant person. However, it does not take long to see the influence that Godly people can have on a life just by living next to them. No one preaches a sermon to April, but rather a cast of characters lives out Christ in their lives all around her. Eventually her heart is turned toward God - and she in turn has a life change. As a reader you are drawn into April's world and invited to experience a life transformation with her. This book shows what God can do with a person willing to bend under his touch as He transforms April into an other-centered, sacrificial giving, open hearted, tender, loving person and a woman of outstanding character and faith. In the midst of all this a love story unfolds between her and a man that would before never have been considered. Thank you Revel and Baker House Publishing for this review copy. Pick up your copy of this most wonderful book at your nearest christian book store for a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Love of Her Own, Heart of the West Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Renee C.
I'm a huge fan of edgy inspirational authors Julie Lessman and Deeanne Gist but when it comes to sweet romances Maggie Brendan is my "go to" author. Her writing style puts me in mind of Janette Oke and Tracie Peterson, whose work I read when I was introduced to Christian fiction.The Heart of the West series has been really enjoyable and this last book, A Love of Her Own is a perfect ending to the series. April, who we first met in No Place for a Lady is the heroine of this book. Somewhat of a spoiled brat, she's not very likable at first but as the story goes along she gets better. Ms. Brendan does a wonderful job in making April a heroine unlike any I've ever read about, that's for sure and in my opinion, the cover design folks did a great job capturing April to a T! Of course the romance is sweet and I just love the interaction between Wes and April. When two stubborn people get together you know there's chaos. You're bound to get a few chuckles out of this book, I know I did!If you're looking for a light read on a Sunday afternoon this book is a great choice. I recommend starting with Book 1, No Place For a Lady if you want to get to know the other characters but it's not completely necessary to understand this story. Heart of the West is a series to read for lovers of faith-filled western romance!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Love of Her Own, Heart of the West Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hulah
Loved this book! The entire series was very good but I think this was my favorite. I liked the sparks that were flying between April and Wes. I didn't even like April in the first book, she needed to be told off and I was just the girl to do it! LOL Loved her in this book. Get a copy; you won't be sorry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Love of Her Own, Heart of the West Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Caroline Friday
This is another sweet and funny love story by Maggie Brendan with one of my favorite characters in the Heart of the West series, April McBride. April is rich, blonde, willowy and beautiful and sees the world revolving and herand her only. There are some really clever, funny scenes with the romantic interest, Wes Owen, who we met in Book 2. He is an unlikely match for April, but as Ms Brendan develops his character throughout the story, we grow to love him and see that he is the perfect man to bring April to a Godly place of humility. Enjoy this book while sitting on the beach, or anywhere this summer. It will not disappoint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Love of Her Own, Heart of the West Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amanda Cabot
Move over Scarlett OHara! Maggie Brendan treats readers to a spoiled, self-centered heroine whose comeuppance is a pure delight to read. In her strongest novel yet, Brendan gives us much more than a romance. We get to watch a whole cast of characters lives change, all because of one woman who wouldnt let anything stop her from attending her brothers wedding. What fun!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Love of Her Own, Heart of the West Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Margaret Besler
This was an excellent story. This was the first series of books I have read by this author and I will definitely look for more of her books. It was touching to see how the Lord changed April's heart throughout the story in circumstances she found herself in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Love of Her Own, Heart of the West Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lynne
April McBride...do you hate her? Do you love her? You'll probably do both before this book is finished!I truely enjoyed how author Maggie Brendan takes us on a ride with this feisty, often unlikable character. She does not candy-coat the heroine's flaws and sometimes you wonder if she can be redeemed, but fear not by the end you will be cheering for her and the man who steals her heart.I highly recommend this book, if you are looking for a read to immerse yourself in...this is it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Love of Her Own, Heart of the West Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeanette Skalla
This series is the first I have read by Maggie Brendan. They are all good. I like it when the author's notes tell about the research that went into the writing of the novel and the historical people and/or happenings included in the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.