Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Jenna's Cowboy, The Callahans of Texas Series #1

Revell Jenna's Cowboy, The Callahans of Texas Series #1

When Jenna Callahan's father sent Nate Langley away years ago, she never expected to see him again. But now he's back in town, and their attraction is as strong as ever. Will Nate be able to heal from the horrors he witnessed during two tours of military duty and become the man he believes Jenna deserves? 352 pages, softcover from Revell.
Average Customer Rating:
4.558 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
34 out of 3889%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jenna's Cowboy, The Callahans of Texas Series #1
Review 1 for Jenna's Cowboy, The Callahans of Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cassie Marie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
I started this book about a year ago, while being busy with school and sports I finally found time to read it in parts. This year, I took time one night and started from the beginning and read it all the way to the end. I fell in love with the characters. The detail of the characters made them feel so real. How she explained the emotions of the characters as well. I am absolutely in love with this book. I will definitely be buying this book and saving it to go back to when I need to get away from the world. I loved this book a lot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jenna's Cowboy, The Callahans of Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good story

Date:October 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
BlueLin
Location:Washington
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed this book and characters, and information about PTSD. Couldn't wait to read following stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jenna's Cowboy, The Callahans of Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for research!

Date:June 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Andrea Cox
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
During my free time over the last couple of weeks, I reread Jenna’s Cowboy by Sharon Gillenwater. I really enjoyed this book the first time, as I did this time. My sister was surprised I was reading it again since my stack of unread books looms so tall. I must admit, I was a bit surprised myself. The reason I picked up this book again is for research. My current work-in-progress (WIP) deals with Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, which is a big topic in Jenna’s Cowboy. I wanted to make sure my story didn’t echo the same ideals as Sharon’s. Thankfully, our stories are completely different. (If they weren’t, I would have helped myself to a good dose of rewrites.)
Jenna’s Cowboy is the story of Jenna Callahan Colby, a single mother who is trying to find her way in the world again after her husband left her. When Nate Langley returns from war and takes her up on a job offer, Jenna realizes he’s battle-scarred . . . and just as attractive as he was in high school, if not more so. Nate struggles with PTSD and the effects it has on his mind. In fact, he wonders if he’ll ever remember what normal looks like. Will the two of them discover a way to love each other around the struggles they both face? Or will their fears block the way to their chance at a happy ending?
This story is set in west Texas. It’s neat for me to read stories set in Texas since that’s the state I’m from. Recognizing town names (such as Odessa and Dallas) is always fun, and it means so much more when you’ve been to them. It makes it easier to connect with the story when you know exactly where on the map it takes place. Even more so, when you can draw upon your memories of a place to make it more realistic in your mind.
The character Nate and the difficulties he faced drew up a deep empathy within me. He was so believable, I felt like he was real. My heart really went out to him, especially when Dub told Jenna, “War changes men, honey. Sometimes for the better. Sometimes not.” I think having a character in my own story go through similar things (flashbacks and new fears) added to my reading experience this time around. It lent me an even greater understanding of how difficult coming home from war really must be.
Sharon, thank you for such a sweet tale of love and dealing with deep-rooted fears. It touched my heart both times I read it. The Callahans of Texas series remains a go-to for me when I need a comfort read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jenna's Cowboy, The Callahans of Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
skdr
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was easy reading and it kept my interest. I recommend the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jenna's Cowboy, The Callahans of Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Laurie
Location:Andover, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story line was excellent..really held my interest. I felt completely immersed in it, almost like I was right there! The really bizarre thing is that my son's name is Nate, and his fiance's name is Jenna..when I told them the names of the main characters in a book I was reading they thought I was making it up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jenna's Cowboy, The Callahans of Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It was alright

Date:November 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
ScoobyCheryl
Location:Guelph,ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Thebbook was okay but it took me awhile to get into the book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jenna's Cowboy, The Callahans of Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not my normal read, surprised how good it was

Date:October 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blessed in Texas
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is not a book I would normally read but am glad I did. It was very good. Would recommend to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jenna's Cowboy, The Callahans of Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Could have been better

Date:October 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Suzy
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I fell in love with the premise of the story but was somewhat dissappointed. It is a hard issue to tackle what someone in military service went through and continues to go through but I felt myself getting bogged down in the description of not just PTSD but also of farming etc. There is no doubt that the book was well researched but I would have preferred not to feel so much like it was.
I realize it is a delicate balance in tackling this real issue and providing an entertaining story but I felt it had the potential to be so much better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jenna's Cowboy, The Callahans of Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Liked it so much I'm reading the sequels

Date:August 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
prayingpeg
Location:Joplin, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the first page I began to enjoy the story. It is not your typical cowboy story and that made it really interesting. The book has a great Christian message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Jenna's Cowboy, The Callahans of Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rebeca
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oohh how romantic! just what the doctor ordered to get away for a while and enjoy a good book. ;)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Jenna's Cowboy, The Callahans of Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Jenna's Cowboy

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lynelle
Location:South Africa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have often heard of PTSD but since reading this book I heave a greater understanding for what men and women goes through once the join normal civilian life. Nate Langley was willing to seek help and with a strong support system overcome his problems so that he good fit in the normal day to day life. Although not completely healed and as I understand it from the writer a person with this disorder never really do, he learned to manage and found his strength in the Almighty. His refuge and Strong Tower.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Jenna's Cowboy, The Callahans of Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book was GREAT

Date:July 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tennlade
Location:Covington, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldn't put it down. It was interesting and well written.
I have also read several other books by this author. All were great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Jenna's Cowboy, The Callahans of Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Betsy
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Verry good book , And I would tell every one to read it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Jenna's Cowboy, The Callahans of Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great summer read

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:ON
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a light fun read. Enjoyed it. I like the way the author brought her theology to the table in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Jenna's Cowboy, The Callahans of Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Well Written

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tejas
Location:San Antonio, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I really enjoyed this book. It is so well written and doesn't keep repeating it's self like some books. I love that Jesus is first in the characters lives and they turn to Him in times of trouble and Joy. I also love the country setting. A very good book to read. :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Jenna's Cowboy, The Callahans of Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read!

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie Shreeve
Location:Portland, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book kept me flipping the pages of my IPhone! Couldn't put it down. Ready to continue the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Jenna's Cowboy, The Callahans of Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book!

Date:June 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
pggylb
Location:Louisiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I loved this book and will more than likely read it again. A book full of emotions that I loved. This is my first read from this author and series. Now, I want the entire collection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Jenna's Cowboy, The Callahans of Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Read!

Date:June 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
tanderson
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book really captured life in a small town in Texas. From the football fanatics with homecoming mums, to the UT/A&M rivalry, and the everyday workings of a ranch, this author really got it right. (By the way, I'm wearing my UT shirt as I write this review!) I really enjoyed reading about PTSD with a returning soldier, but also appreciated the emotional difficulties that the lead female character had from a failed marriage. Really good and I will probably read the rest in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Jenna's Cowboy, The Callahans of Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:June 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book right from the first chapter! I got so caught up in Nate's struggle with PTSD to the point of crying right along with him! The romance between him and Jenna, I felt, was really secondary to the main story but excellent as well. Loved it! This was a new author for me... I look forward to reading the rest of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Jenna's Cowboy, The Callahans of Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet love story

Date:June 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
LeftMyHeartInTX
Location:Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jenna is a divorced mother of a beautiful little boy whose confidence had been destroyed by a bad marriage and divorce. Nate is a vet with PTSD who has been in love with her since their early teens. This is a sweet story of the healing power of prayer, love, and support of family and community, made even sweeter because of the Texas dialogue. Made me terribly homesick, ya'll.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.