Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Touching the Clouds, Alaskan Skies Series #1

Revell Touching the Clouds, Alaskan Skies Series #1

Kate Evans is an adventurous and independent young woman with a pioneering spirit. She pilots a mail-delivery plane in the forbidding Alaskan wilderness, the lone woman in a male profession. But even that seems easy compared to finding true love. She likes a fellow pilot and would even consider marrying him--if it weren't for Paul, a mysterious man on her mail route with a gentle spirit and a past to hide. Can Kate break through the walls Paul has put up around his heart? And will her quest for adventure be her demise?
Average Customer Rating:
4.567 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Touching the Clouds, Alaskan Skies Series #1
Review 1 for Touching the Clouds, Alaskan Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Believable characters

Date:February 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
dueagle
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having lived in Alaska I found the description true to life. The characters were believable and interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Touching the Clouds, Alaskan Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
morebears
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was the first ebook I ever read and I really did enjoy the story and I have already download another one of Bonnie Leon's books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Touching the Clouds, Alaskan Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

something good

Date:December 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rebeca
Location:tx
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyed reading the book. Loved the main character Kate and the challenge
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Touching the Clouds, Alaskan Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

nice story

Date:November 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaeBelle
Location:Saskatchewan,Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the story,it started out so-so, but got better as it unfolded, the last few chapters were great, the auther had much knowledge about flying.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Touching the Clouds, Alaskan Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book

Date:October 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
CJ Lewis
Location:Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say that this author's books always grab me and take me in. I had to buy this whole series to read. I have enjoyed every series that I have ever read of this author. She does a lot of historical research on her books and they are very interesting and never drag. She has really done her research on this one. Love it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Touching the Clouds, Alaskan Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
chubbs99
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book, you need to offer more ebooks from this author.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Touching the Clouds, Alaskan Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ebook was very enjoyable.

Date:October 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dcjb
Location:Jonesborough, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story is quite good, and well researched. The setting of Alaska and the subject of bush pilots were both appealing. Enjoying this book encouraged me to purchase the other 2 books in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Touching the Clouds, Alaskan Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Explore 1930s Alaska with a young female bush pilot in this endearing novel by Bonnie Leon. Touching the Clouds is the first book in the Alaskan Skies series.
Kate Evans calls off her marriage and leaves her family's apple farm for the unknown wilds of snow and ice. She flies solo from Yakima, Washington, to Anchorage, Alaska, with only her dreams to keep her going. This successful journey boosts her confidence in her ability to succeed as a pilot in the harsh Northwest.
Kate's aviation skills are put to the test through hazardous flights and dangerous landings. In addition to the perils of nature, she must face the demon of her memory. But Kate isn't the only one running from the death of someone close. Paul Anderson has settled into life in the wilderness, trying to forget his past in San Francisco.
The other pilots reluctantly accept Kate, but Mike moves beyond acceptance to friend and hopes for more. Kate is attracted to the friendly, caring man, but is also drawn to Paul, whose life continues to become entangled with hers.
The story swells with frontier adventure as well as that of the heart. Kate learns to trust herself, and, more important, to put her trust in the God who will never fail. This is a destination I hope all readers will reach.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Touching the Clouds, Alaskan Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Alaskan Adventure

Date:January 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
abookandacuppa
Location:Prairie Village, KS
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was an excellent read! The author seemed to have conducted extensive research on the subject matter and geography of the area. What a drive the character had to excel in a profession dominated by men! I also enjoyed the relationship developments and personal growth of the characters throughout the book.
I look forward to the next book in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Touching the Clouds, Alaskan Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This Book Takes Off!

Date:December 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
bigguysmama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit, I have been so behind on getting my book reviews done. Trying to make my site more personal and keeping up with my Marvelous Mom Reviews site has left very little time to read. When I tell my friends this, they look at me with dropped mouths. They know me, and my passion for reading.
Well, reading Bonnie Leon's first book in her Alaskan Skies series has hopefully gotten me back on track. I have loved Touching the Clouds since page one. We are propelled into the wilds and harsh climate of Alaska. As a reader we are able to live through Kate Evans, a bush pilot who, as a woman has a lot to prove in this rugged land.
This book is set in the 1930's and I'm a lover of historical fiction. I felt like I was right there with Bonnie's writing! Even being in Alaska in this time period, you have a sense of being drawn back to the past.
I enjoyed reading the trials Kate goes through as she feels she has to constantly prove herself, mostly to herself, and as she's drawn into the lives of those she interacts with on her flights. So many of the people she sees rely on her for so much. I was really sucked into the story line and sometimes I felt like I was flying right along with her.
Being that we're just coming into our winter, I thought this would be a fantastic book to read and get a feel of the cold and darkness of the beautiful Alaska!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Touching the Clouds, Alaskan Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Alaskan air history

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Martha
Location:Kalispell, MT
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have always enjoyed Bonnie Leon’s books. I was a teenager when I first read her Northern Light’s series and it is still a fond memory. We were so thrilled as we worked hard to get the library to buy them!
Touching the clouds is a excellent piece of writing fiction. You will learn much of Alaskan history, and especially how planes figured in the early history of it. You also realize little has changed in some areas of Alaska, other than prices. I could have thought this a contemporary work of fiction, other than the prices were very low and I realized it was quite long ago. You will read the emotion of the characters in this book, and it will make you look forward to more of this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Touching the Clouds, Alaskan Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ann Shorey
Touching the Clouds is a strong story about the surprises God has in store for Kate Evans as she pursues her dream of being a bush pilot. Kate is a headstrong young woman whose desire for adventure pulls her away for her Washington state home and into an encounter with a mysterious stranger in the Alaskan bush. Through rich descriptions, Leon immerses the reader in Depression-era Alaska. I loved the details about Alaska that fill Touching the Clouds.Leon writes with her heart, and that skill shines through in her prose. If youre looking for a fast-moving story filled with believable characters, Touching the Clouds is for you.My thanks to Revell for providing me with my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Touching the Clouds, Alaskan Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
A J Hawke
Being in the middle of summer, I enjoy an easy read on a hot summer afternoon that has an interesting setting, 1930s Alaska, a different employment, a bush pilot, and likable characters.Having a pilot as the main character is expected, but having it a woman is different. Kate wants more than what her life will be if she stay in Washington and marries the man who adores her. So off she goes flying her red Bellanca to Alaska to become a bush pilot. There she meets several men. There is... well, read the book and discovers the men she meets.I was intrigued with the descriptions of the land and the people. I recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Touching the Clouds, Alaskan Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Hollaway
When everyone thought her plans for the future were set, Kate Evans decides to leave it all behind including her fianc for the wilds of Alaskan Territory. Her father taught her to fly, and she wants to live out her dream of being a pilot. Flying is not a hobby, but a career and she cant see herself in the traditional role of housewife. She moves away from her parents in the state of Washington to travel to a place unknown with no promise of a job, not knowing a soul, and no place to stay. Kate arrives in the town of Anchorage to find no one is hiring pilots and especially not a woman. She finds a job clerking in a general store and makes an instant connection with the owners. One particular customer intrigues her. Paul Anderson, the mysterious man who lives in the wilderness, keeps invading her thoughts. A part-time job of flying the mail plane comes up and she gets the job. Shes out to prove she can do it not only to everyone else, but to herself as well. Will she be accepted as a pilot in a mans world of flying? Will her own secret fears hold her captive and keep her from her dream and finally feeling peace? Trying hard to prove herself in a male-dominated career, she takes risks that she shouldnt. Then on a routine flight, she finds herself in trouble. Can she accept that things sometimes go bad and no one is infallible, or will she place blame on herself when things go terribly wrong? Can she move beyond her past and embrace the future? Will Paul ever come clean with his past so that he can work at what hes called to do and maybe even love again in his future? Ive always been intrigued by Alaska, and Bonnie Leons description of its beauty only enhances my desire to visit there someday. I enjoyed this story, living vicariously through Kate and her adventures. I look forward to the next book in her series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Touching the Clouds, Alaskan Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
This is the first book I've read by Bonnie Leon and it won't be the last. Though billed as a romance, it doesn't follow the typical format you'd see in a romance. The two main characters don't spend much time together in this book, but their individual stories held my attention.This historical romance takes place in Alaska. Kate, a young woman seeking a new life filled with adventure as a bush pilot, leaves all that is familar and flies to Anchorage. Things start out rough for her, but soon she fulfills her dream and is flying as a bush pilot. She isn't looking for love, but she attracts the attention of two men, one a fellow pilot, the other a wilderness man. The story follows Kate during her first year as a bush pilot and the many sticky situations she finds herself in. My favorite gentre is romantic suspense, but this book had plenty of suspense to hold my attention to the end. I'm looking forward to reading the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Touching the Clouds, Alaskan Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
LifeVerse
From the moment I started reading the new book Touching the Clouds by Bonnie Leon, I was unable to put it down. Each chapter of this book is filled with one adventure after another, as the reader follows Kate on her wedding day, making her escape into the clouds. Kate leaves behind her fiance, calling off the event and restructuring her future. With careful consideration, Kate decides to migrate to Alaska and begin a new life as a pilot.In Touching the Clouds, author Bonnie Leon shares a cultural experience with her readers. Several characters are introduced into the Alaskan homestead, such as Kate the new arrival, Paul the native from California, and local Alaskan natives. Each character adapts to the challenges of living in Alaska. In the story, we learn how they depend on one another and survive living in the wilderness. We learn that many come to Alaska to hide from their past and begin a new life filled with challenges, just like Kate.While the book does include a bit of romance, the central theme of the novel is adventure, and Kate has enough of them to fill all 364 pages in this book! As you read the story, you find yourself cheering for Kate and her friends. A bit of a warning though...the book is realistic and includes animal trapping and skinning. I found this made me uncomfortable, yet I knew it was essential to the story. The author balances this with the working dogs in the story, who carry the wood on sleds, guard their owners, and reveal a playful personality. You'll even meet a raven bird who also becomes a character in the novel!I received an advance copy of this book from Revell Books, the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Touching the Clouds, Alaskan Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2010
I love a good adventure and that is just what this book brings to the table. Set in Alaska while it is still a territory, Kate has an adventurous spirit that just isn't ready to be tamed yet. She leaves her fiancee before the wedding because even though they have been friends their whole lives growing up in Washington, she just doesn't feel ready to settle down. She has a dream and that involves the Alaska territory and piloting. She sets out to accomplish just that and it was fun to join her on her journey. This is a good beginning to a new series and I am curious to see where Bonnie Leon is going to take these characters in the future, I plan on tagging along for the ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Touching the Clouds, Alaskan Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Molly Edwards, Book Reviews by Buuklvr81
I always believe in giving my honest opinion in books and I will do no less with this book. It is wonderfully written by Bonnie Leon, a gifted and talented author. However, while this was a unique start to an interesting new series, I found that it was a bit too slow for my tastes. Definitely not a "relaxing" read. The plot and characters blend well together, but I think I was expecting something more fast-paced and adventurous when I read the blurb of Kate being a bush pilot. But, all that being said, Leon did a fantastic job with building a plot of always following your dreams, never just settling. With Kate, Paul and even Mike, adding some serious depth to the story, Leon shows her ability to take a character and detail them so much that it's like you've always known them. With all the people in this novel learning to let go, move on, praying and trusting in God, it adds a great Christian message.Back to the beginning of my review. Honesty. I give this book 4 stars for a unique and interesting story, and because it is sure to appease the reading appetite of people who enjoy a more serious, slower type story. However, as well written as it was, it was a bit too slow for me to fully 100 percent enjoy this story. I will be looking for book 2 in this series to release, in hopes that Kate's story is continued with a little more adventure this time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Touching the Clouds, Alaskan Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karin
The first book in the Alaskan Skies series, "Touching the Clouds" is a fun read. Filled with vibrant descriptions, Leon works hard to create the setting and pull the reader into the Alaska wilderness. While the characters may seem familiar, their unique occupations and setting give the story a fresh feel.---It's 1935 and Kate Evans doesn't want the "normal" life. While women her age settle down and start families, Kate hops into her plane and flies to Alaska to be a bush pilot. She pushes through many obstacles, overcoming the harsh Alaska weather as well as people's assumption about her gender.Along the way Kate meets a variety of characters, including handsome pilot Mike Conlin and mysterious wilderness man Paul Anderson. Both men capture her attention, but Kate's heart battles over her love of flying and the fear of how a relationship will hinder her passion.As Kate searches her heart, she keeps trying to prove her worth to the other pilots and passengers. While she does, she has to face her fears to fully realize her dream of flying the wild Alaskan skies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Touching the Clouds, Alaskan Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kaye
Bonnie Leon takes you on a riveting tour of 1935 Alaska as pilot Kate Evans sets out to prove herself as a female pilot that can handle anything the bush throws at her. She quickly learns that being a pilot in the territory is more difficult than she anticipated, and is fraught with danger for pilots and the people who live there. Mike Conlin, a fellow pilot, is one of the few men who dont give Kate a hard time at the airfield where they work. Soon, she realizes that Mike means more to her than just a good friend and a relationship ensues. But there is also the mysterious Paul Anderson, the rugged and good-looking loner that lives along one of her wilderness routes. Kate is immediately intrigued by him, but finds that the more she tries to get to know him, the less she really knows. But her feelings for him wont let her stop trying. In the air, Kate encounters close calls more than once, each one bringing back a haunting memory from her past, which resulted in a tragic and regrettable flying mistake. As she struggles to forgive herself, Kate is determined to prevent a situation like that from happening again but it does. My Review Because I dont normally read a lot of historical fiction, I was a little skeptical about whether or not I would enjoy the book, but Touching the Clouds took me by surprise and was a great read. A treat. A book I couldnt wait to get back to reading and wanted to read more when it ended. I cant wait for the next book in the series. Whether you read historical fiction or not, you will enjoy this book. Highly recommended. Disclaimer A complimentary copy of this book was received for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>