Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Me, Just Different #1 Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Series

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Revell Me, Just Different #1 Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Series

Welcome to the world of Skylar Hoyt, a high school senior whose exotic Hawaiian looks have propelled her to the height of the "in" crowd, but who's no longer sure that's where she really fits. New friends, old friends, a reluctant romance, and a family crisis swirl around Skylar as she tries to keep it together and figure out who she really wants to be.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Me, Just Different #1 Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Series
Review 1 for Me, Just Different #1 Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review : Me, Just Different ( The Re-invention of Skylar Holt) -Stephanie Morrill -2009
This book is all about how one moment in your life can cause a domino effect and though it may not seem it at the time , it always ends up being for the better. Meet Skylar , She has everything Friends, Popularity, Parties , The World at her feet until one day her world comes crashing around her . Her Family's falling apart , her sister has a big secret that no-one can find out and the family down the road have moved in and are too perfect too be true. Can Skylar re-invent herself without losing her life or will she in the process realise that everything she has around her is superficial and not worth it. In this book , Skylar finds out when things come to a halt and starts crunching down that , that is the time when you start to realise who your true friends are and those who will stand by you when the going gets tough. An excellent read for teens wanting books like author Melody Carlson's or Robin Jones Gunn,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Me, Just Different #1 Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2009
This is a must-read for teen girls today. Me, Just Different reminded me of Michelle Suttons Second Glances series. Both this book and Michelles DEAL WITH ISSUES! I love that. Teens today are so deceived by the secular worldview of things, and books like this one are what they need to read. While still being fun, enjoyable reads, they really show the truth of things. They arent fluff, like most teen books are nowadays. I cried SO hard! This book will really make you feel things. I felt so sorry for Skylar and what she was going through. Since I have been raised in a Christian, homeschooled environment my whole life, some of the things in this book amazed me. Ive never had to deal with drugs, alcohol, smoking, or teen pregnancy. I feel so blessed to have been raised in such a way that I would be able to have a strong Christian foundation before having to deal with those things. So watching Skylar having to deal with them, without the strong Christian upbringing, was heartbreaking. She didnt know what to do, or how to handle what was going on around her. Im really anxious to know what happens in the rest of the series! I believe that the rest of the books will be just as good as this one. Again, a must-read for teens today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Me, Just Different #1 Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
When Eli rescues eighteen-year-old Skylar from a bad situation at a summer party, she is so relieved that she agrees to start dating him. But she is also making some life changes. No more parties, and she's going to start going to church. But her friends and family aren't making that an easy thing to do. Eli is always jealous and won't come to church with her, her little sister has a secret that Skylar is forced to keep, and her parents' marriage is falling apart. The last thing she needs is for Connor, the guy down the street, to start butting his nose in where it doesn't belong. This was an engrossing read. Stephanie Morrill writes a story as addicting as any TV teen drama. I got sucked into Skylar's circle of friends, with all their issues and cattiness, and was rooting for Skylar to ditch the wrong people and stick with the right ones. I loved how the whole story came together. It's a sweet teen romance that doesn't skimp on the backstabbing girlfriends and clueless boys. I liked it a great deal. Looking forward to the next book in the series. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Me, Just Different #1 Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Leigh DeLozier
Everybody thinks Skylar Hoyt has it all when she starts her senior year of high school -- looks, popularity, a boyfriend any other girl would love to have. What they don't know is that she's ready for some changes, thanks to an incident that gave her a serious wake-up call. Me, Just Different takes you right into the real world of high school and some big issues for teens everywhere -- partying, friendship, dating, parents, secrets. Then it looks at how one girl who's trying to figure out her faith fits all those pieces together. It's a great read and one I'll definitely recommend to my gilrs at church. I'm looking forward to the next in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Me, Just Different #1 Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sally
In her senior year of high school, Skylar loves the idea of being in love, but she does not necessarily love her boyfriend. She makes some poor choices and surrounds herself with some of the wrong crowd. Her group of friends are backbitters who don't know the meaning of loyalty.This is a book about the complex problems teens face; the redeeming feature is how Skylar finds her way through the mess in her life. I recommend it for older teens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Me, Just Different #1 Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
LynnRush
This is my first taste of Stephanie Morrills writing, and Im anxiously awaiting book two. I love how she showed, with devastating honesty and clarity, how tough peer pressure can be. I turned page after page and before I knew it, Id read the entire book in one sitting. Stephanie does a fantastic job showing me Skylars struggle to find herself while trying to fit in with her friends. Its real. Brought me back to my high school years. Same old struggle, which doesnt necessarily ONLY exist in high school either. Her writing is tight and drew me in from the first page. Each chapter ended with such a hook that it propelled me forward as I had to know what happened next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Me, Just Different #1 Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
I love a good story. This one was great! Me, Just Different was well-written, insightful, and impossible to put down. It's the real deal in that it's an authentic representation of some serious issues. I zipped right through it. There was one point in the story where I cried real tears. That, for me, is a great sign that I cared about the characters. I was so into the story world that I felt something strong enough to be sad over. But it wasn't a depressing sad. It was a healing sad. Sometimes when your life is falling apart, that's when you know who your real friends are. And I loved that in this story the hero doesn't give up but continues to be honest with Skylar. Sure, she hates it at first, but doesn't every woman really want to know the truth from someone you think is an enemy rather than being lied to and wounded by a so-called "friend?" I also adored the subplot involving her sister, Allie. Bottom line, this book is awesome and hits on all of the important things that teens often deal with. However, I didn't feel like I had to be a teen to read it. You just have to remember feeling that way and most grown people remember their high school years. Sure, we'd like to forget a lot of the stuff we did. Like lying to our parents to sneak out of the house to see our boyfriends, for example. And going to parties and getting stupid drunk so that you put yourself in a vulnerable position with someone you may not even like. Anyway, I can't say enough good things about this book. It's a must-read as far as I'm concerned and it's making my best of 2009 fiction list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Me, Just Different #1 Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sarah
This book was AMAZING!!! Finally a thoroughly entertaining and well written teen novel! I read A LOT of Christian fiction and this book is by far my most favorite. If I could give it six out of five stars I would and I am not generous with giving THAT much praise to books. I am a 16 year old and this story is just right for teenagers, as well as adults. It is not unrealistically juvenile and also not unnecessarily and overly edgy (both can be annoying). The story flows so effortlessly without dull moments and still is not rushed. By the end of Skylers journey you see a new young woman that anyone would respect. The protagonist as well as another character that I will not name (you have to read the story) have layers and it is nice to not read about boring, one dimensional people like in many other books. Morrill's debut novel will have anyone of any age not wanting to put the book down. If there is one book you read this year, read this one. It is good from beginning to end and I am looking forward to the next book in the series. As much as I read, it is rare that I find a book that I am crazy about and that leaves me without any disappointments, but this book unquestionably did the job. I cannot find one flaw. I honestly was not expecting it to be as good as it was but I was wrong and I am so glad. I commend Mrs. Morrill for creating such a great story. Even if you do not read teen fiction, I am telling you READ THIS BOOK. I recommend no other book but Me, Just Different. Yes, it was that good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Me, Just Different #1 Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Roseanna White, Christian Review of Books
Me, Just Different is the book to read for teen girls this year. It plunges the reader into the mind of Skylar and holds them captive until they turn the last page. What I absolutely adored about this book is the way Skylar is utterly relatable, utterly real, and, because of that, utterly lovable. Even in her less-than-stellar moments. She fights, she fails, and she picks herself back up. She learns the hard way that it isnt easy to be who you want to be . . . if you can even figure out who that isand that to do it at all, you need Someone a little bigger to help you out.Stephanie Morrill has penned a winner, and I cant wait to get my hands on the next two books in The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt series. Skylar is a character youre going to love to root for, one with real struggles and a real heart. Friendship, boyfriends, guy friends, and relationships with family are all challenged in these pages, and youll come away from it looking at your own life a little more closely. This is one of those books that you finish but never leave behindits going to stick in your mind and heart forever.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Me, Just Different #1 Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Roseanna White, Christian Review of Books
Me, Just Different is the book to read for teen girls this year. It plunges the reader into the mind of Skylar and holds them captive until they turn the last page. What I absolutely adored about this book is the way Skylar is utterly relatable, utterly real, and, because of that, utterly lovable. Even in her less-than-stellar moments. She fights, she fails, and she picks herself back up. She learns the hard way that it isnt easy to be who you want to be . . . if you can even figure out who that is-and that to do it at all, you need Someone a little bigger to help you out.Stephanie Morrill has penned a winner, and I cant wait to get my hands on the next two books in The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt series. Skylar is a character youre going to love to root for, one with real struggles and a real heart. Friendship, boyfriends, guy friends, and relationships with family are all challenged in these pages, and youll come away from it looking at your own life a little more closely. This is one of those books that you finish but never leave behindits going to stick in your mind and heart forever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.